The Wrestling Thread

Mo Wonderboy

I find it strange the concern over Punk wrestling in AEW. Even if he some how he could do bugger all. They seem to forget how they've worked around limitations like Sting, Tully Blanchard, DDP, and maybe i'm forgetting some others.

The guy can talk, is adored by the fans, sells merch, and everything else can be worked around as it's wrestling.

50 minutes ago, FairWeatherFan said:

I find it strange the concern over Punk wrestling in AEW. Even if he some how he could do bugger all. They seem to forget how they've worked around limitations like Sting, Tully Blanchard, DDP, and maybe i'm forgetting some others.

The guy can talk, is adored by the fans, sells merch, and everything else can be worked around as it's wrestling.

Plus he's a guy who undoubtedly got himself in the best condition of his life after  he left Pro wrestling 

30 minutes ago, cb_diamond said:

Plus he's a guy who undoubtedly got himself in the best condition of his life after  he left Pro wrestling 

Aye, MMA training will have banged him up a bit, but his cardio should be as good as it’s ever been - and he’s not a guy that ever really relied on his physicals for great matches. 

14 hours ago, cb_diamond said:

Add "Matt Cardona has won the GCW title after beating Nick Gage in a death match bloodbath" to the list of sentences I thought I would never type.

Absolutely mental scenes afterwards 

Never got the love for him to be honest but by f**k he's making himself the biggest heel on the indies by being the WWE guy who has decided he can hang with the rough kids. Putting the title on him is just an amazing bit of booking, letting him cut promos laced with wee WWE language nods sends it to another level.

10 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

Never got the love for him to be honest but by f**k he's making himself the biggest heel on the indies by being the WWE guy who has decided he can hang with the rough kids. Putting the title on him is just an amazing bit of booking, letting him cut promos laced with wee WWE language nods sends it to another level.

A guy that can truly take a gimmick and run with it. His work just now is stellar and that promos is amazing, as is his twitter work in the aftermath.

I know it’s Twitter, but just baffled at the Guerrero discourse. An amazing wrestler before his car crash - still great after, but being such a good character (face or heel) carried him. He was so good in whatever role he was given. Will always be sad we never got him and HBK at Mania 22. 

17 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

6 hours ago, cb_diamond said:

The follow up angle to Gage Cardona last night https://streamable.com/cowlsp

I like the promos and drawing the heat from the crowd type-stuff, but do any of you guys actually enjoy that  weapons and blood gimmick wrestling stuff? I can’t even get my head around why precisely I don’t like it so much.

I guess I just see it as being “Old ECW gone-too-far for gutter-USA” if that makes any sense??

Edited by 8MileBU

2 hours ago, 8MileBU said:

I like the promos and drawing the heat from the crowd type-stuff, but do any of you guys actually enjoy that  weapons and blood gimmick wrestling stuff? I can’t even get my head around why precisely I don’t like it so much.

I guess I just see it as being “Old ECW gone-too-far for gutter-USA” if that makes any sense??

I can enjoy it once in a blue moon, but would never watch a promotion like GCW regularly. Their fans also appear, in general not just in this instance, to be complete arseholes.

It has a place. Constantly I couldn’t take it which is why I’ve never dug CZW, but when there’s a good feud around it (Ryder/Gage) it’s great.  

A well placed and well gimmicked one is OK as a massive blowoff to a storied feud. But like the glass lights and pizza cutter shite for the sake of showing a gym hall how much you can bleed? Nah, 14 year old edgelord pish. ECW was excellent for its time but it was of a time when shock factor and boundary pushing was truly in. ECW also had a ton of immense wrestling and was more built on the basis of 'f**k the establishment' rather than 'check how many things I can stab my opponent with'

I have no want or need to watch folk mutilate themselves. Someone like Cardona has the wrestling ability, look and physique not to have to do it either. Whilst I can understand why he has, I definitely wouldn't be scarring a physique ive spent my life crafting to f**k for it.

You can understand guys like Gage and formerly folk like New Jack, Public Enemy, Vic Grimes and Balls doing it. They had no discernible wrestling talent to speak of.

But the story they are telling is just superb and something genuinely a bit different. The best stories are always the ones that blur the line between fiction and reality and this is definitely one of those.

Edited by djchapsticks

11 hours ago, TheGoon said:

I know it’s Twitter, but just baffled at the Guerrero discourse. An amazing wrestler before his car crash - still great after, but being such a good character (face or heel) carried him. He was so good in whatever role he was given. Will always be sad we never got him and HBK at Mania 22. 

It’s one of the most bizarre takes I’ve seen. An innovative and brilliant wrestler way ahead of his time who’s influence - even to the extent of literal spots of his being copied - is still being felt to this day. A truly captivating and charismatic performer who could do it all. Comedy, emotion, pathos, an equally great face or heel and someone who was always willing to work with others and put them over. Easily up there on any all timer lists and is more or less exactly the sort of wrestler you’d want in your promotion. Saying he was a B+ player or not a main eventer is clearly a nonsense. Beat Brock for a world title and was primed for a Mania match with Shawn Michaels and at least one other world title run before his death. Not to mention he’d have clearly won more had he not lost his life, not had to face his specific demons or wrestled in a different era. 

12 hours ago, cb_diamond said:

A guy that can truly take a gimmick and run with it. His work just now is stellar and that promos is amazing, as is his twitter work in the aftermath.

I’ve always liked Cardona so I’m delighted he’s found a gimmick that’s getting him some (relatively) major traction once again.  Getting it round GCW fans is clearly the dream gimmick. 

I can go a death match although, like most wrestling, you need the right wrestlers, right story, crowd and setting. Obviously some of the genre is real garbage stuff but a good and violent death match can add a lot to a wrestling match. 

2 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

A well placed and well gimmicked one is OK as a massive blowoff to a storied feud. But like the glass lights and pizza cutter shite for the sake of showing a gym hall how much you can bleed? Nah, 14 year old edgelord pish. ECW was excellent for its time but it was of a time when shock factor and boundary pushing was truly in. ECW also had a ton of immense wrestling and was more built on the basis of 'f**k the establishment' rather than 'check how many things I can stab my opponent with'

I have no want or need to watch folk mutilate themselves. Someone like Cardona has the wrestling ability, look and physique not to have to do it either. Whilst I can understand why he has, I definitely wouldn't be scarring a physique ive spent my life crafting to f**k for it.

You can understand guys like Gage and formerly folk like New Jack, Public Enemy, Vic Grimes and Balls doing it. They had no discernible wrestling talent to speak of.

But the story they are telling is just superb and something genuinely a bit different. The best stories are always the ones that blur the line between fiction and reality and this is definitely one of those.

I think that post sums up what I was getting at earlier. 

Given the credit some of them are due for their wrestling skills and ability to cut a promo, the glass light tubes and pizza cutter gore just to impress a gym hall full of hick trash is absolute gutter entertainment and spoils a good story.

13 minutes ago, airdrieman said:

It’s one of the most bizarre takes I’ve seen. An innovative and brilliant wrestler way ahead of his time who’s influence - even to the extent of literal spots of his being copied - is still being felt to this day. A truly captivating and charismatic performer who could do it all. Comedy, emotion, pathos, an equally great face or heel and someone who was always willing to work with others and put them over. Easily up there on any all timer lists and is more or less exactly the sort of wrestler you’d want in your promotion. Saying he was a B+ player or not a main eventer is clearly a nonsense. Beat Brock for a world title and was primed for a Mania match with Shawn Michaels and at least one other world title run before his death. Not to mention he’d have clearly won more had he not lost his life, not had to face his specific demons or wrestled in a different era. 

I think if Eddie Guerrero had been signed by WWE 10 years earlier and hadn’t passed away before his time then he would absolutely be being spoken of in the same breath as the likes of Shawn Michaels. To suggest he was a second-rate performer is simply just ignorance and plain disrespectful of his untimely death. The guy had it all, and his in-ring skillset would’ve been a perfect fodder for Shawn’s “showstopper” wrestling style. Both had a completely different but equally appealing type of charisma by the ton. 

On 23/07/2021 at 16:31, TheGoon said:

Can’t justify the £120 for meet and greet but tempted to head along to this, think it could be one of the better ones. 

5C69DB5B-B784-4007-9D03-25E7CC57E2FB.jpeg

That should be good, will definitely try and get a ticket for it. I’ve been to a few of the Inside the Ropes shows now and it’s always a good night. They’re one of the better interview/live show companies and Big Show has had a long and interesting careers full of highs and lows. Plus he’s a charismatic guy and good public speaker so should be a decent night. 

9 hours ago, TheGoon said:

Boy, this is going to be something 

I’m looking forward to how awful and egregiously false this will be actually.