Pregnancy And Parenting

Wife expecting number 2 three weeks today (c-section this time)! Very excited. Darling son, 2 and a 1/2 thankfully now in big boys bed freeing up cot for baby. Phew.

Not sure how number 1 will take to number 2. Any tips? He seems excited at prospect.

In my experience, primary schools don't tend to have the resources to diagnose/deal with certain needs - or if they do, they're generally spread pretty thin over a cluster group of schools - whereas in secondary schools there's usually a team of SEN specialists available to work with the kids. Unfortunately, SEN/SfL tends to be where cuts are made when there are cuts to be made in education. It looks like we might lose our auxiliary support over the next few years, which will be a major blow.

I doesn't help when the headteacher digs in her heals and says and i quote"She is inherently bad" <_<

That is a disgusting attitude for a teacher to have.

I'm dyslexic, spelling isn't too bad but I have a reading age of about 12. I'd always struggled with reading but I'm not stupid and was (then) very academically driven so I found ways round it, but even with my Dad being the depute at the school it was a fight to get the psychologist to assess me before I started highers as it was clear I needed a bit extra help (extra half hour for exams and disponsation for spelling). Guy was an idiot and acted as such in a meeting, he decided to sign off the head of SEN's recommendations but didn't do any formal assessment himself. We then paid for a full Educational Psychologist assessment when I went to uni. Mum told me years later that the P7 teacher had told her I was just lazy, which mum knew was wrong.

Wife expecting number 2 three weeks today (c-section this time)! Very excited. Darling son, 2 and a 1/2 thankfully now in big boys bed freeing up cot for baby. Phew.

Not sure how number 1 will take to number 2. Any tips? He seems excited at prospect.

you'll be surprised by how much you've forgotten. you'll also suddenly realise how huge number one is!

It wasn't so much a lack of resources as the teachers total lack of understanding, half an our on the net would have hugely helped some that I had to deal with. AD/HD is becoming common enough that teachers should have even the most basic grasp of what is going on but I just got the impression that they didn't want to know where their knowledge on the matter was coming short, and not from a lad like me.

Sitting watching kids TV (as you do) with my 3 year old and the sponsor a tiger for £3 a month advert came on.

She turned to me with an astonished look on her face and said 'buy a tiger for £3, that's a good deal'.

She then went on to say we should not get one as it would just jump up on people.

She is priceless.laugh.gif

My oldest has AD/HD, he was diagnosed in primary 3, he struggled all though primary school and we were constantly at the head of each year in turn wanting more help with his work and a visit from the educational psychologist, as was recommended by the Doctors at Dudhope in Dundee. At one point the teacher at the unit where he went for extra help said he wasn't struggling any more than the other kids she had, he's so far behind it scares me.

He's just finished his first year at secondary school and a few months ago we got a 3 page report on him outlining strong dyslexic tendencies and coordination issues (hence his atrocious hand writing), at last someone has taken an educated interest in him.

I'm sure I went to the psychiatrist or psychologist there when I was in Primary 7. Nothing to do with AD/HD or that, I just had a few other issues.

They're a top notch place.

Here's a question for all parents of girls.

How do you politely tell friends, relatives etc to stop buying horrible pink shit for your baby without hurting their feelings?

Have they never heard of the supposed end of gender stereotyping? Do they not think that pink is just the most twee shit you can get for a baby girl?

Do they not think that if you named your baby using Bob Marley's middle name you might just like her to have some red gold and green clothing, bedding, toys etc?

Do other folk hate dressing their kids up in girly colours or is it just me (and the wife). Fine the odd thing which is pink and frilly but not everything.

I went through the same SD. Eventually they will buy her other things but for a wee while, everything will be pink.

I bet the wean will not even have half the stuff on as she will grow so quick.

All we done was politely say she has enough clothes, went and got her other outfits ( various colours ) and people seemed to notice the change.

Please note, we were not ungrateful for the gifts but sometimes it can get a wee bit too much

I went through the same SD. Eventually they will buy her other things but for a wee while, everything will be pink.

I bet the wean will not even have half the stuff on as she will grow so quick.

All we done was politely say she has enough clothes, went and got her other outfits ( various colours ) and people seemed to notice the change.

Please note, we were not ungrateful for the gifts but sometimes it can get a wee bit too much

The trouble is that people have been overgenerous. She's got enough clothes to last her until she's about 2. My mates have been slightly better at buying stuff but it's the auld aunties, grandparents that are the worst for buying frilly pink shit.

Anybody know where we can find a rasta sleepsuit? biggrin.gif

Good stuff :D

But when it is coupled with ADHD it is a nightmare as PJ always wants the last word and gets frustrated and lashes out,Some people see her as just a bad kid,But they don't see her crying in her bed at night asking for this thing to get out her brain. :(

I love her as much as i love my own kids.

As it should be, unfortunately a lot of people don't do the same.

Did anyone on here have their child christened? And are you religious? We are stuck in 2 minds on this one, really can't decide.

None of my kids have been christened/baptised as I'm not religious, my grandaughter was christened/baptised in a chapel last week, and I must admit I shed a tear, glad I got rid of my overbearingly negative thoughts about religion in case of such an eventuality.

Did anyone on here have their child christened? And are you religious? We are stuck in 2 minds on this one, really can't decide.

We didn't. I'm not religious and I feel it's his decison to make when he's older. Like weddings, I don't see the point in pitching up to a church for the day when you don't go from one year end to the next.