Pregnancy And Parenting

9 hours ago, Christophe said:

Hello!

Never dipped into this thread before as Kid A is 19 now and it wasn't around when the world imploded and she was created!

Now, six months short of 20 years later, B&C are on the way. Identical twin girls due on December 22nd. 

Anyone in the twin club? I've been buzzing since that early scan back in May, though Mrs Christophe has had a few wobbles trying to get her head around it. It is quite the thing, planning and budgeting for one only for everything to double! We are only 4 weeks or so away now and i forgot how fast everything goes, the time really does run away from you!

Wow, we just got shot of our 21yo out the house earlier this year and the place almost instantly transformed to a Zen paradise.

40 years parenting to adulthood? Sir, I salute your indefatigability!

14 hours ago, Grant228 said:

With the wee one coming I moved back to Fife and am currently looking into a career change, if you do likewise we can meet at the Silver Birch and lament our lost time away! 

Sounds like a plan! Infact we can make it a yearly thing when we are thrown out of the house for blaming the kids for ruining it! 

On 21/11/2022 at 22:55, derrybiy said:

What I'm hoping for is general advice about what we should be focusing on? So of course after speaking to family/friends and before googling randomy I thought it's worth asking P&B.

Having had three and having shared a business with my ex - so being 'hands on' - I'd brain-dump as follows:

1. You'll spend the first few days looking at 'her' (or him) sleeping.  You'll think 'Out of 7 billion people this is the most perfect baby ever'.  This is normal.  Enjoy.
2. Ignore yer maw and yer Mrs' maw.  Your family is now down to you, your Mrs and the wee yin.
3. Wee weans, from Day 1, are unconditionally fascinated by you.  It's the first time in your life that has ever happened.  Engage with them.
4. Buy a sling or some sort of Baby Bjorn devise.  Strap her to your chest and take her out.  Or just walk about the house and do stuff while (s)he's with you.
5. Resist the urge to buy 'everything'.  All she needs is food, warmth, engagement and hygiene.  There's a reason why 'hardly used' baby items are everywhere.
6. Have a social life.  Go and see folk and have them back at yours.  (S)he is not a doll and will love engaging with folk - even when (s)he's days old,.
7. Buy hunners of nappies, wipes and nappy bags.  The amount of shite a wean can produce seems out of proportion their cavity size.

For me, the important thing is how you bond with and socialise a wean.  Not what you need to buy - nappies aside - for them.

3 minutes ago, Florentine_Pogen said:

Great post Kinky.........However, I'm saddened that you, as our No.1 Punctuation & Grammar Nazi, cannot spell 'device'. Therefore, I'm only able to award you 8/10.

Thanks, EH7.  I think the form is to blame autocorrect.  I can't.  I just made a baws of it.

Spent the past week teaching our 7 month old to have every nap in his cot, as we'd moved to contact napping when he was ill months ago (he wouldnt settle at all without it) and it wasnt really fair my wife was stuck with him on her for hours every day.

We've discovered he has an uncanny ability to wake up exactly 30 minutes after he starts his nap, almost to the second. Both hilarious and frustrating. Sometimes can settle him for another half hour but literally nothing we try gets him sleeping longer.

That would be my advice i think. Get them sleeping alone as early as you can, even if its a slog. Older they get the harder it gets. And dont feel like a horrible person if you want to launch them out the window every so often.

Five weeks and change we've kept this little bollix alive for. He seems happy enough, very even tempered except when he wakes up hungry and goes from zero to a hundred in the space of a few seconds. Rest of the time, he likes his kip, although still mainly in the daytime, with darkness and silence not really to his tastes. Fed him at 1915hrs last night and he slept til almost 0100hrs, so there's hope for us yet if we can eek out his last feed of the day.

There are occasions when he won't settle in a crib or basket and just wants to sleep on my shoulder, which I am a fan of during a month of football. 

20221130.jpg

Edited by Jimmy Shaker

My 12 year old daughter has got Christmas fever. Probably for the last time. Next year she'll be a teenager. 

Spent yesterday getting the decorations up. She got a saxophone playing reindeer teddy bear that she loves. Then, she got changed into her Grinch pyjamas. 

It is wonderful to see a kid get so excited. I'll miss these in future. 

12 hours ago, Jimmy Shaker said:

There are occasions when he won't settle in a crib or basket and just wants to sleep on my shoulder, which I am a fan of during a month of football. 

That won't be so handy when you take him to see Lossie...

My son is at that age now where he can suddenly appear from nowhere after a nap.  He's sleeping on the couch or on a wee cushion thing and you're just going about your day making lunch or whatever.  All of a sudden this tiny wee half-asleep dishevelled child wanders into the room with his hands up in the air for you.

Beyond cute.

29 minutes ago, The Minertaur said:

My son is at that age now where he can suddenly appear from nowhere after a nap.  He's sleeping on the couch or on a wee cushion thing and you're just going about your day making lunch or whatever.  All of a sudden this tiny wee half-asleep dishevelled child wanders into the room with his hands up in the air for you.

Beyond cute.

The making lunch and child appearing is so much like my 2 yr old daughter just now. Can't eat anything in peace, travelling back down from the highlands yesterday I was quietly trying to get the missus to open me a protein bar while I was driving and within seconds the wee yin is "Ah want a bit please" "Ah want some please" repeated over and over, the please gets me as she knows it's more likely to happen if she says that. Literally the quietest rustle of a wrapper gave me away. 

4 hours ago, thistledo said:

The making lunch and child appearing is so much like my 2 yr old daughter just now. Can't eat anything in peace, travelling back down from the highlands yesterday I was quietly trying to get the missus to open me a protein bar while I was driving and within seconds the wee yin is "Ah want a bit please" "Ah want some please" repeated over and over, the please gets me as she knows it's more likely to happen if she says that. Literally the quietest rustle of a wrapper gave me away. 

KIds that age are basically dogs that it takes longer to housetrain. 

On 27/11/2022 at 15:32, RandomGuy. said:

Spent the past week teaching our 7 month old to have every nap in his cot, as we'd moved to contact napping when he was ill months ago (he wouldnt settle at all without it) and it wasnt really fair my wife was stuck with him on her for hours every day.

We've discovered he has an uncanny ability to wake up exactly 30 minutes after he starts his nap, almost to the second. Both hilarious and frustrating. Sometimes can settle him for another half hour but literally nothing we try gets him sleeping longer.

That would be my advice i think. Get them sleeping alone as early as you can, even if its a slog. Older they get the harder it gets. And dont feel like a horrible person if you want to launch them out the window every so often.

We have this exact problem. Put her in her cot during the day and it's a 25 minute nap regardless. She only sleeps longer if you hold her or if she's in her pram. At night she'll happily sleep 10-12 hours in her cot with only the odd wee cry now and then. It's bizarre.

1 hour ago, The Moonster said:

We have this exact problem. Put her in her cot during the day and it's a 25 minute nap regardless. She only sleeps longer if you hold her or if she's in her pram. At night she'll happily sleep 10-12 hours in her cot with only the odd wee cry now and then. It's bizarre.

Its so annoying. We read lots about it them being overtired etc., but attempts to put him down earlier just led to us trying to get him to sleep later, so we just kept plugging away with the set routine.

We now get the odd 1hr+ nap, and ive no idea why. Two teeth have come through so maybe less teething pain, but he also seems to sleep better on his side rather than back. Think we just need to wait it out and see if he grows out tbh.

13 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Its so annoying. We read lots about it them being overtired etc., but attempts to put him down earlier just led to us trying to get him to sleep later, so we just kept plugging away with the set routine.

We now get the odd 1hr+ nap, and ive no idea why. Two teeth have come through so maybe less teething pain, but he also seems to sleep better on his side rather than back. Think we just need to wait it out and see if he grows out tbh.

I try not to read stuff because there's so much anecdotal advice that you'll drive yourself up the wall wondering what to do, we've just tried to do our own thing to get her enough sleep, bit of a pain having her lie on you for an hour or two through the day but as long as she keeps sleeping at night I'm happy enough to do it.

Bringing the two wee ones down the road, when the Bairn exclaimed, "Look, Granda, look!"

The cause of this excitement? An aeroplane!
Oh for the ability to see life through the eyes of a 2 year old when everything is new and fascinating and exciting.

2 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

Bringing the two wee ones down the road, when the Bairn exclaimed, "Look, Granda, look!"

The cause of this excitement? An aeroplane!
Oh for the ability to see life through the eyes of a 2 year old when everything is new and fascinating and exciting.

When ours spot an aeroplane now (still always a moment of excitement) they have graduated to ordering us to find out where it's going and where it's flown from.