Pregnancy And Parenting

1 hour ago, PWL said:

Good to hear the three of you are getting on much better. 

Ive said on here before but the breastfeeding fascists that drum into folks heads that they are some sort of 'bad mother' for turning to formula need a good slap. 

My first was over 9lb and Mrs lost a lot of blood during delivery. She was in no fit state and baby was of a size where he needed a full tank full. Both were struggling so I just took decision to go bottle. What a difference. She got rest she needed to recover and baby got sufficient feed to settle.

Midwife's couldnt be nicer but the breast feeding Nazis treated me like a pariah. Feck em.  Second one was even bigger so we gave it 12 hours of trying before going formula. 

You've done the right thing for the three of you. 👍

It pains me having to agree with @PWL, but there we have it.

1 hour ago, PWL said:

Ive said on here before but the breastfeeding fascists that drum into folks heads that they are some sort of 'bad mother' for turning to formula need a good slap. 

My first was over 9lb and Mrs lost a lot of blood during delivery. She was in no fit state and baby was of a size where he needed a full tank full. Both were struggling so I just took decision to go bottle. What a difference. She got rest she needed to recover and baby got sufficient feed to settle.

Midwife's couldnt be nicer but the breast feeding Nazis treated me like a pariah. Feck em.  Second one was even bigger so we gave it 12 hours of trying before going formula. 

100%. We always bottle fed our kids. It meant that we could both feed them, splitting the work. And it did them no harm at all. Scott is 6 foot 2. My daughter, aged 12, is taller than her 25 year old half sister. Cannot say at all that bottle feeding them has stunted them in any way. 

3 hours ago, PWL said:

Aye, she felt guilty having to stop breastfeeding on Thursday but now she sees the difference in the baby it's just a no brainer. The midwives are all brilliant and have been fully supportive but we also had a specific breastfeeding women out to the house and whilst she was lovely, she definitely was of the mind to keep her breastfeeding in some capacity and it became a bit of a war between the midwife saying "don't listen to her" and the breastfeeding woman saying "oh its great for your baby if you can keep it going even if its just now and then". I also think the fact we hadn't been to a single ante-natal class (all classes off for "covid reasons" and we didn't have much option for private classes) it didn't really give her the opportunity to talk to people who have been through it. 

Wean just been weighed this morning and she's up on her birth weight after losing 9% in the first few days, so we're delighted. 

10 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Aye, she felt guilty having to stop breastfeeding on Thursday but now she sees the difference in the baby it's just a no brainer. The midwives are all brilliant and have been fully supportive but we also had a specific breastfeeding women out to the house and whilst she was lovely, she definitely was of the mind to keep her breastfeeding in some capacity and it became a bit of a war between the midwife saying "don't listen to her" and the breastfeeding woman saying "oh its great for your baby if you can keep it going even if its just now and then". I also think the fact we hadn't been to a single ante-natal class (all classes off for "covid reasons" and we didn't have much option for private classes) it didn't really give her the opportunity to talk to people who have been through it. 

Wean just been weighed this morning and she's up on her birth weight after losing 9% in the first few days, so we're delighted. 

Great news regarding weight. My son took weeks to regain his birth weight. Not helped but the bf nazi core.

I hadn't been to any anti natal classes either because I couldn't be arsed. 🙈 Or read any magazines or books.

3 hours ago, scottsdad said:

School awards ceremony this afternoon, and then leavers assembly tomorrow. Why they couldn't have done these together is beyond me. 

Fucking hell. Just back from this. In a sweltering sports hall surrounded by the local scum, this event went on for over an hour. It seemed like three. Will to live was certainly slipping away. 

Was at my wee lassies dance show tonight. She done really well, but what surprised me was how much I enjoyed the rest of the show. Not normally something I can be fucked with but it was class.

Could see her buzzing watching the older kids and grown ups performing and now she is determined she's going to get to their level.

Very inspirational all round.

Anybody else's child still come through to your bed during the night? My son is 6 and he has been coming through beside his mum and I every night for the last fortnight, before that he was sleeping all night in his own bed for months

17 minutes ago, FK1Bairn said:

Anybody else's child still come through to your bed during the night? My son is 6 and he has been coming through beside his mum and I every night for the last fortnight, before that he was sleeping all night in his own bed for months

All my three did.  Their maw usually directed them to my side of the bed and I'd cuddle them until they fell asleep then carry them back to their room.   It's normal.

Greatgrandson visited last night. He was a wee bit tired, I think the heat had tired him out, but he was in good enough form, sat on his mother's knee, eating chocolate biscuits and throwing soft toys about, playing with his first cousins once removed. As soon as dad came in the door after cutting our grass he was ready for the road.

34 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

Greatgrandson visited last night. He was a wee bit tired, I think the heat had tired him out, but he was in good enough form, sat on his mother's knee, eating chocolate biscuits and throwing soft toys about, playing with his first cousins once removed. As soon as dad came in the door after cutting our grass he was ready for the road.

What is a first cousin once removed? Isn't that a second cousin? 

Some times they are at their funniest when they are at their worst. Last night they were driving me nuts at bedtime. I shouted up to the youngest:-

"Orla, get away from the gate and get to bed!"

* The eldest is rabbiting on at this point as well *

"Aila, you get to sleep as well!"

"I am sleeping!"

"Well you can't be sleeping if you're talking!"

* Pause of about 5 seconds *

"I'm sleep talking"

Sometimes you have to appreciate their genius.

52 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

6 minutes ago, arab_joe said:

ob_033a67_cousin-explainer-4-2048x.jpg

Substitute greatgrandson's dad for "YOU", and that chart explains it.

I always used to call them second cousins but now I have had it explained to me (for the umpteenth time, I might add), I use the correct terminology.

My youngest has her primary school visit today. It’s a small school and a lot of the parents know each other, for better or worse. 

Some of the other parents are complete arseholes, and I avoid them. They are obsessed with the school and try to constantly be in about its business and there’s a horrible gossipy school gate culture. 

Anyway, another wee girl from some particularly tricky parents were putting their youngest in at the same time for her visit. 

Problem is, it’s been all over the internet that this child has COVID. This was announced on social media on Sunday, complete with confirmation that she has a temperature. I’m annoyed but my wife is totally raging.

Are we right to be annoyed? 

6 hours ago, Thorongil said:

My youngest has her primary school visit today. It’s a small school and a lot of the parents know each other, for better or worse. 

Some of the other parents are complete arseholes, and I avoid them. They are obsessed with the school and try to constantly be in about its business and there’s a horrible gossipy school gate culture. 

Anyway, another wee girl from some particularly tricky parents were putting their youngest in at the same time for her visit. 

Problem is, it’s been all over the internet that this child has COVID. This was announced on social media on Sunday, complete with confirmation that she has a temperature. I’m annoyed but my wife is totally raging.

Are we right to be annoyed? 

I'd say that you do have a right to be annoyed but at the same time don't believe everything people post on social media. 

Can see both sides tbh. If my wee one had asthma or something I'd maybe be a bit pissed off but I'm personally at the "we have to live with it" stage. A colleague put on our group chat a couple of days ago that he had tested positive. I was in the same room as him that day and I haven't bothered to take a test.

On 21/06/2022 at 23:02, 19QOS19 said:

Can see both sides tbh. If my wee one had asthma or something I'd maybe be a bit pissed off but I'm personally at the "we have to live with it" stage. A colleague put on our group chat a couple of days ago that he had tested positive. I was in the same room as him that day and I haven't bothered to take a test.

My b-i-l tested positive, he hasn't been in the house but his wife was, so far she's clear. Myself & my wife tested negative yesterday (we both had appointments at the GP).

On a completely unrelated note, just went over 4 different names before I got the right one when addressing granddaughter nr 8. Very reminiscent of my auntie Jenny.

2 hours ago, Jacksgranda said:

My b-i-l tested positive, he hasn't been in the house but his wife was, so far she's clear. Myself & my wife tested negative yesterday (we both had appointments at the GP).

On a completely unrelated note, just went over 4 different names before I got the right one when addressing granddaughter nr 8. Very reminiscent of my auntie Jenny.

I got it in early April. Didn't have any of the breath shortness or fever, just felt like I'd been hit by a bus and basically slept for four days. Wife and kid both managed to avoid it. And then both get it of their own volition about 3 weeks later.