Full Version: If Your Team Went Bust....
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Soccer Dark Blue
If your team were to go out of buisness, is there any other team that you would support? Would you give up on football and change sports? What's your thoughts?
veteran
QUOTE (Soccer Dark Blue @ Dec 2 2008, 00:47) *
If your team were to go out of buisness, is there any other team that you would support? Would you give up on football and change sports? What's your thoughts?

Dundee United - definitely.
vikingTON
A subject undeniably close to every Dundee fan's heart.
strathbrock
Now I wonder what inspired this thead. whistling.gif
Soccer Dark Blue
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Dec 2 2008, 00:53) *
A subject undeniably close to every Dundee fan's heart.

We nearly went out of buisness and I have to say if we did, then I probably would have supported a junior team such as Tayport or Cupar Hearts, I would certainly not have picked another professional team in Scotland. I would have chosen a junior team and continued to support my English team.
Dunning1874
I'd probably go to Greenock Juniors home games, the occasional Greenock Wanderers rugby game and I'd try to make it to more Scotland games.
Diamonds are Forever
Ayr probably as I'm from there, or maybe Stirling as I now live here.
Muggy
I'd support Rangers.
The Mongoose
I'd still support Hibs as we will never go out of business with Rod 'El Tighto' Petrie at the helm!!!!

PTFC27
Arsenal.
lzreid
I'd probably realise my long held dream of supporting Rangers or Celtic depending on who is top at the time.

Either that or I'd devote more time to my wee sport; Snooker.
Skyline Drifter
I'd probably watch Annan at home. I doubt I'd get seriously enough into it to travel away with them. I might start to take in games all over the place. Might try to get to an NFL game in the States, that sort of thing.
Günther
Would probably go and watch St Mirren as they're my local team. Before I would've said Morton, but have quickly learned to hate those c***s since they came up to this division...
Allstars #9
sit in the pub with a coupon and play the 10p game
vikingTON
QUOTE (Günther @ Dec 2 2008, 09:11) *
Would probably go and watch St Mirren as they're my local team. Before I would've said Morton, but have quickly learned to hate those c***s since they came up to this division...

...and breathe.
Jealousy is a foul emotion.
central staggie
If County went bust (not a kick in the arse away from it a couple of years ago) I'd spend my time going to watch more Edinburgh Rugby games. Might even try to get to some of the away games.

QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Dec 2 2008, 09:03) *
Might try to get to an NFL game in the States, that sort of thing.

Was thinking almost the same thing this morning. Quite like my ice hockey ever since I went to Vancouver with the school, and have supported the Canucks ever since. They managed to persuade the NFL to host a game over in England, I'd love to see them persuade the NHL to host a game too. I would imagine there is more grounds for a hockey game here than there is an NFL game, seeing as there is an Elite League that consists of teams from England, Scotland, Wales and NI. Would love to go back to Canada though to watch a game.
Larbert_Par
Couldn't actively support anyone else. Would watch Stenhousemuir and East Stirling occasionally, but that'd be about it.

I'd travel a lot more away with Scotland and take in more Everton games.
BluebirdTon
I couldn't make that decision while my club exists, without being hypocritical anyway. I certainly wouldn't cross over to a arsehole sport like Rugby or any other for that matter.
Muggy
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Dec 2 2008, 10:34) *
I couldn't make that decision while my club exists, without being hypocritical anyway. I certainly wouldn't cross over to a arsehole sport like Rugby or any other for that matter.

Rugby - if you're big, fat, ugly, hungry and mentally instable then you've made it. It really is pish!
Muggy
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Dec 2 2008, 10:34) *

Rugby - if you're big, fat, ugly, hungry and mentally instable then you've made it. It really is pish!
bubs
I would have to think about it hard as would you have the same passion, and love of the New Team, maybe not as i couldnt see me wanting to go to Elgin against Forfar on a tuesday in Feb, but County against say Clyde no competition vicky park here we come, one thing thats certain I wouldnt be going to watch the tinks down the dump id rather a season ticket at saughton than watch brewster and his bum chums.
SQUIDGER
Im afraid i'd be a bit of a glory hunter, and by the time this would happen there would only be one team to follow, Dundee Athletic cool.gif
Exuberant
Cove Rangers.

Or rather, I'd go to see their games, but wouldn't really "support" them as such.

Would probably take in a few games at Starks Park too.
Red White and Black
The Kirky Rob Roy more than likely.

Might attend some thistle games too.
uberman
I'd support my nearest local team, St Mirren. It would be a pleasant change to watch SPL footy
MacWatt
I'd go to Firhill and support the opposition.
KingfaetheSooth
This subject comes up now and again. Surely the fans of ANY cub would work to reform the club at whatever level as has happened with Gretna 2008 playing in the EOL and Clydebank playing in the Juniors.

Or are so called fans of clubs saying they would turn their back on their reformed team and go and support another team or sport. You have to make up your minds if you are supporters or customers. mad.gif

A football club is for life not a plaything or for Christmas or to be picked up and dropped. I reckon that unless you have lost the football club you love or at least come close, you cannot really understand how it affects you. sad.gif
Exuberant
QUOTE (KingfaetheSooth @ Dec 2 2008, 12:55) *
This subject comes up now and again. Surely the fans of ANY cub would work to reform the club at whatever level as has happened with Gretna 2008 playing in the EOL and Clydebank playing in the Juniors.

Or are so called fans of clubs saying they would turn their back on their reformed team and go and support another team or sport. You have to make up your minds if you are supporters or customers. mad.gif

A football club is for life not a plaything or for Christmas or to be picked up and dropped. I reckon that unless you have lost the football club you love or at least come close, you cannot really understand how it affects you. sad.gif

Once a club dies, resurrecting it is never quite the same. The name might be similar, the place they play might even be similar but it's not the same club.
midTONs
I would get to as many Sheff Utd games as I could but I reckon I would take an active interest in Stirling Albion as well.
David W
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Dec 2 2008, 12:59) *
Once a club dies, resurrecting it is never quite the same. The name might be similar, the place they play might even be similar but it's not the same club.

Aye. I love Clyde and would support the club anywhere in the SFL but I think I'd struggle to enjoy watching a team playing in the Juniors or whatever. That standard of football just doesn't appeal to me.

I'd not support any new team in particular (would go to more Liverpool games though) but would still go to a game every Saturday. Probably go to Hamilton more than most as I like Equi's.
Diamonds 666
CLYDEBANK tongue.gif
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Dec 2 2008, 12:59) *

Indeed. It's still the same group of supporters though. And without the fans what is a football club anyway?

f**k all I would suggest.
Exuberant
QUOTE (Diamonds 666 @ Dec 2 2008, 13:07) *
CLYDEBANK tongue.gif

On that issue, would you not say that your annexation of Clydebank was not too dissimilar to that of Austria by Germany, proving further that you are in fact, all just a bunch of Nazis?

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Diamonds 666 @ Dec 2 2008, 13:07) *
CLYDEBANK tongue.gif

Airdrieonians tongue.gif
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (KingfaetheSooth @ Dec 2 2008, 13:08) *
Indeed. It's still the same group of supporters though. And without the fans what is a football club anyway?

f**k all I would suggest.

Squeezing the logic to the limit: If the 'same group of supporters' decided en masse to move camp from East Stirlingshire to Stenhousemuir, say, displacing the original inhabitants as they came, would Stenhousemuir now become East Stirlingshire and East Stirlingshire disappear?

Obviously not. So there is something more to a club than just the fans. Saying otherwise is just a wee bit self-important
Dunning1874

I think this thread is on the assumption that there is no reincarnation of our own clubs. If there was one starting in the juniors, that would be who I'd support, but if everyone just said that this thread would be pointless.
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Dec 2 2008, 13:18) *
Squeezing the logic to the limit: If the 'same group of supporters' decided en masse to move camp from East Stirlingshire to Stenhousemuir, say, displacing the original inhabitants as they came, would Stenhousemuir now become East Stirlingshire and East Stirlingshire disappear?

Obviously not. So there is something more to a club than just the fans. Saying otherwise is just a wee bit self-important

But why would a group of East Stirlingshire fans decide to suddenly support Stenhousemuir? It just wouldn't happen.

Of course things like the community that a club represents, it's history and honours, it's players, it's stadium, it's colours and crest are important...but without supporters there really is no football club I'd argue.
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Dec 2 2008, 13:30) *
I think this thread is on the assumption that there is no reincarnation of our own clubs. If there was one starting in the juniors, that would be who I'd support, but if everyone just said that this thread would be pointless.

Perhaps the thread should be amended to ask who your second favourite football club or sport is then? wink.gif
Diamonds are Forever

I couldn't support a Junior team, certainly not a rubbish one which a reformed team would obviously be, for a while at least. I couldn't bring myself to watch a standard of football which is barely better than my footballing ability, and I'm not particularly good.
Michael W
No-one. I refer you all back to Eddie Thompson's famous quote.

You can change your wife, your house, your car, but you can never change your team. Chairmen come and go, boards come and go, but the fans remain. They are the one true constant. I've just been a custodian of the Club.

I'd probably end up going to a few Hibs games with my mates at uni, but apart from that, I'd probably just travel to random games to watch them. I'd make an effort to go and see Liverpool a few times a year too.

I'd still have Scotland games, but that would never, ever replace club football.
QC Casual
I'd probably get myself a Man United season ticket, I go down quite regularly but generally not if Queens are at home.

I'd go and watch Carlisle before Annan.
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (KingfaetheSooth @ Dec 2 2008, 14:09) *
But why would a group of East Stirlingshire fans decide to suddenly support Stenhousemuir? It just wouldn't happen.

It's the beauty of an inquiring mind biggrin.gif
Of course things like the community that a club represents, it's history and honours, it's players, it's stadium, it's colours and crest are important...but without supporters there really is no football club I'd argue.

I think that supporters play more of a passive role than perhaps you do. I wouldn't class them them just as mere 'consumers', as there is usually an emotional attachment, but most of those who turn up do so without wanting to do anymore than chuck £5/£20/£whatever at the turnstile and perhaps buy a wee bit of merchandise. If a club looks like its going tits up then you *do* see more activity but that's hardly what your average punter wants to be doing
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Dec 2 2008, 14:25) *
I think that supporters play more of a passive role than perhaps you do. I wouldn't class them them just as mere 'consumers', as there is usually an emotional attachment, but most of those who turn up do so without wanting to do anymore than chuck £5/£20/£whatever at the turnstile and perhaps buy a wee bit of merchandise. If a club looks like its going tits up then you *do* see more activity but that's hardly what your average punter wants to be doing

The soul of football and all that. It's a much bigger subject. Many modern football fans are indeed mainly selfish and just want success. A few change their teams like their girlfriends.

I could argue that the fans that support FC United of Manchester are bigger fans of the Red Devils than most Manyoo fans. (opens a can of worms)
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (QC Casual @ Dec 2 2008, 14:20) *

I'd watch Gretna 2008 before Annan!! laugh.gif
TeeMan
QUOTE (Diamonds are Forever @ Dec 2 2008, 16:12) *
I couldn't support a Junior team, certainly not a rubbish one which a reformed team would obviously be, for a while at least. I couldn't bring myself to watch a standard of football which is barely better than my footballing ability, and I'm not particularly good.

If a pyramid structure was introduced and Airdrie got relegated out of the SFL would you stop going to watch them?
FC_1919
QUOTE (QC Casual @ Dec 2 2008, 14:20) *
I'd probably get myself a Man United season ticket, I go down quite regularly but generally not if Queens are at home.

Down to Brunton to see United, don't really get why Queen's fans hate them.

QUOTE (KingfaetheSooth @ Dec 2 2008, 14:39) *
The soul of football and all that. It's a much bigger subject. Many modern football fans are indeed mainly selfish and just want success. A few change their teams like their girlfriends.

I could argue that the fans that support FC United of Manchester are bigger fans of the Red Devils than most Manyoo fans. (opens a can of worms)

Tell us why then? Are fans of Stranraer better or worse than us. What about Rangers or Celtic? MK Dons vs AFC?
staggy4life
Probably Rangers as im based in Glasgow now but if i still lived up north probably in the away end at every caley home game.
Diamonds are Forever
QUOTE (TeeMan @ Dec 2 2008, 15:10) *
If a pyramid structure was introduced and Airdrie got relegated out of the SFL would you stop going to watch them?

Not sure tbh, I certainly wouldn't watch them as much as now, would probably just go to the odd home game.

LFC 95
If Livi went bust I could never love another team as much as I do now. happy.gif
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (Diamonds are Forever @ Dec 2 2008, 15:46) *
Not sure tbh, I certainly wouldn't watch them as much as now, would probably just go to the odd home game.

Glory-hunting? ohmy.gif