Full Version: Ford Super Sunday 30/11
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Misc Other Fitba Chat
Pages: 1, 2
RiG
Man City v Man Utd and Chelsea v Arsenal this Sunday which means it's a good reason to go to the pub or head round to the pals for two exciting 0 - 0 draws that will be built up beyond belief by Sky Sports.

I see Ferguson has already stoked the fires by chastising Citehs chances of becoming a force in the EPL. Cue City winning 4 - 0!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/e...rem/7754059.stm
Shengus Khan
At last!!!! A Super Sunday that's worth watching. Well at least on paper anyway. I was getting a bit fed up giving Sky my hard earned so they could treat us to diddy games like Sunderland - West Ham.

I quite fancy a couple of home wins. City are playing well at the minute whereas United just haven't got going this season. Hopefully Ronaldo will get booted in the air again and United get humped biggrin.gif . 3-1 City for me

Chelsea again are playing well below their expected levels but I still think they should have too much for Arsenal (again in shite form!!!) and I think they'll notch up a nervy victory. 1-0 to Chelsea I feel.
H_B
I can feel another couple of horrible games coming up...
shameless
i fancy wins for United and Arsenal, bringing United closer to Chelsea with game in hand, however can see Liverpool winning and being top on their own for couple of weeks
vlad is the man
Looking forward to Sunday. Two good games and then heading out up town with my mates.

Although I would say that I reckon the game at 11.15 will be the best. Swansea v Cardiff.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (vlad is the man @ Nov 28 2008, 14:44) *
Looking forward to Sunday. Two good games and then heading out up town with my mates.

Although I would say that I reckon the game at 11.15 will be the best. Swansea v Cardiff.

Shall be mental.

Swansea beat a weakened Cardiff side in the Carling Cup and so Swansea hold the bragging rights in South Wales at the moment. All will change come Sunday afternoon.

C'mon The Bluebirdddddssssssssssssssss !
DomDom
I thought the last few big games have actually been pretty entertaining. Much better than the pish that we got last season. So I'm expecting a couple of decent games this weekend.
RiG
I think the last big game I saw was the Arsenal v Man Utd game and I thought that was excellent. Hope at least one of these games is going to be half as good as that.

Chelsea look formidable on the road and will have to start as favourites?

Man Utd have been ropey Away from Home and although City haven't be at their best I don't think United will win this one.
vlad is the man
QUOTE (RiG @ Nov 28 2008, 15:53) *
I think the last big game I saw was the Arsenal v Man Utd game and I thought that was excellent. Hope at least one of these games is going to be half as good as that.

Chelsea look formidable on the road and will have to start as favourites?

Man Utd have been ropey Away from Home and although City haven't be at their best I don't think United will win this one.

Chelsea are at home.
PTFC27
I have my prelims on Monday, so it'll only be one game for me. C'mon you Gunnnnnnerrsssssss!
RiG
QUOTE (vlad is the man @ Nov 28 2008, 16:31) *
Chelsea are at home.

Technicality! wink.gif
morrison
Are you heading to the Bobbin for the games, RiG? One of these games surely has to be decent...

BluebirdTon
Super Sunday's started off not too badly.

Brilliant first half, Swansea's first goal was offside, Scotland's (I think) run started atleast two yards into no-mans-land. Brilliant finish from Joe Ledley infront of the wankers. Cardiff's penalty to take the lead was dubious, but I suppose the offcials had to make up for their incompetance with the opening goal. wink.gif

Then we had Stephen McPhail, who for the second time this season in the same derby at the same ground gets sent off. His sending off in the first game wasn't a sending off but today was all his doing - and he didn't half fucking know it. Totally changed the game aswell - and as expected we had all Swansea from then on, just when Cardiff seemed to be onto a win. An equaliser came and then it was atleast half an hour of constant pressure from Swansea, two great saves from Enckelman spared disaster. McCormack had half a chance but the game was burried. Frustration got Swansea's Britton sent off in injury time, both tackles that earned him a yellow probably could have got him sent off alone.

Swansea weren't good enough to find a winner, Cardiff survived and a point goes both sides of the divide..
H_B
Man City are piss. They need about 8 players to challenge for top 4.
AyrshireTon
1-0 Utd at HT.
City haven't turned up it seems.
H_B
My quest to finally see Richard Dunne have a good game is taking on Holy Grail like proportions.

Maybe next time.
Bloobell
QUOTE (RiG @ Nov 28 2008, 13:18) *
Man City v Man Utd and Chelsea v Arsenal this Sunday which means it's a good reason to go to the pub or head round to the pals for two exciting 0 - 0 draws that will be built up beyond belief by Sky Sports.

I see Ferguson has already stoked the fires by chastising Citehs chances of becoming a force in the EPL. Cue City winning 4 - 0!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/e...rem/7754059.stm

LOL, can I have your Lotto numbers .................. NOT
Reina
Ronaldo - what the hell?! Priceless! laugh.gif laugh.gif
the_saints_are_coming
A little bit of common sense would be nice Mr Webb.
Steve McQueen
QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Nov 30 2008, 15:02) *

& just ignore the rules?
DomDom
Common sense really can't come into it there. That's a deliberate handball. If you're going to give the foul, you HAVE to give the red card. I do sympathise with Ronaldo but I don't think Webb had much of a choice. I don't think it's the moment of madness that it looked like, simply because I can't imagine why Ronaldo would have his hands where he did, especially when he looked to be heading the ball.
Reina
QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Nov 30 2008, 15:02) *

What common sense needed to be shown?! What was Ronaldo doing?
DomDom
QUOTE (Reina @ Nov 30 2008, 15:05) *
What common sense needed to be shown?! What was Ronaldo doing?

I reckon that he heard a whistle. That's his excuse anyways, and I honestly can't see any other reason for him doing what he did, when he did it.
Reina
QUOTE (DomDom @ Nov 30 2008, 15:06) *
I reckon that he heard a whistle. That's his excuse anyways, and I honestly can't see any other reason for him doing what he did, when he did it.

Even if he heard a whistle (or a beep, as he's now saying, wtf?), he should have gone through with his head rather than his hands. The ref *had* to send him off.
the_saints_are_coming
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Nov 30 2008, 15:04) *
& just ignore the rules?

QUOTE (DomDom @ Nov 30 2008, 15:04) *
Common sense really can't come into it there. That's a deliberate handball. If you're going to give the foul, you HAVE to give the red card. I do sympathise with Ronaldo but I don't think Webb had much of a choice. I don't think it's the moment of madness that it looked like, simply because I can't imagine why Ronaldo would have his hands where he did, especially when he looked to be heading the ball.

Ronaldo and Man United gained no advantage from his actions, infact quite the opposite happened, they were disadvantaged by it. It is a derby and there is no way he should be punished for hearing a noise from the crowd. A free kick obviously should have been giving but i really don't think a second yellow was neccesary.
DomDom
Did Howard Webb hear it ?

He can't just go on the word of Ronaldo and his mates you know. He did his job.

The ref *had* to send him off.

Oh, I agree. Even if the referee did hear the whistle, and it doesn't matter if there's an advantage of not, it's a deliberte handball and a yellow card. Therefore a second yellow and a red.
the_saints_are_coming
QUOTE (DomDom @ Nov 30 2008, 15:11) *

Oh, I agree. Even if the referee did hear the whistle, and it doesn't matter if there's an advantage of not, it's a deliberte handball and a yellow card. Therefore a second yellow and a red.

Do you think Di Canio should have been booked when he caught the ball against Everton?
DomDom
Yes.
the_saints_are_coming
QUOTE (DomDom @ Nov 30 2008, 15:11) *

I would argue against it being a deliberate handball. He thought the whistle had gone therefore meaning play had stopped and then a handball offense cannot be commited so he did not deliberetly foul by commiting a handball.
the_saints_are_coming
QUOTE (DomDom @ Nov 30 2008, 15:14) *
Yes.

at least your consistent. smile.gif
DomDom
He deliberately handled the ball. That's all he needed to do for that yellow. The circumstances are irrelevant.
the_saints_are_coming
QUOTE (DomDom @ Nov 30 2008, 15:17) *
He deliberately handled the ball. That's all he needed to do for that yellow. The circumstances are irrelevant.

Of course the situation is relevant. He did not mean to handle the ball during play. Therefore it wasn't deliberate.
DomDom
at least your consistent.

Well, it's something that I feel strongly about. There are already too many grey areas with the rule as it is. I'd prefer the ONLY grey area to be if the ball was going to strike the body anyways.
Steve McQueen
QUOTE (the_saints_are_coming @ Nov 30 2008, 15:16) *
I would argue against it being a deliberate handball. He thought the whistle had gone therefore meaning play had stopped and then a handball offense cannot be commited so he did not deliberetly foul by commiting a handball.

???

He was wrong & committed a foul. It's a mistake, his mistake, not the refs but it doesn't look like costing his team.
Raving On
If Ronaldo hadn't sarcastically clapped Webb for giving him the first yellow card, he could've expected more lenient treatment on the second occasion. IMO, it was his reaction to the first booking that got him the second.

I just read on the BBC's live text commentary, Harte's save described as "one of the best saves you're ever likely to see". Fair enough he did well to get back but I'd hardly class it as great.
Reina
Chelsea v Arsenal now. Arsenal have been poor recently, Chelsea not much better. I expect Arsenal to win. sad.gif
the_saints_are_coming
QUOTE (Raving On @ Nov 30 2008, 15:37) *
If Ronaldo hadn't sarcastically clapped Webb for giving him the first yellow card, he could've expected more lenient treatment on the second occasion. IMO, it was his reaction to the first booking that got him the second.

I just read on the BBC's live text commentary, Harte's save described as "one of the best saves you're ever likely to see". Fair enough he did well to get back but I'd hardly class it as great.

I agree with both points. Put it this way if Hart had not saved that he would no doubt have been said to have been at fault for it.
Scott_HAFC
Ronaldo hand ball was a yellow card unfortunley. The 1st yellow he got was pathetic, he won the ball. If thats a yellow then Ireland should been sent off for the tackle he done on Fletcher.

Least Utd won wow biggrin.gif
Napolean Dynamite
I think Hart done really well.

He's running the same direction as the ball is travelling at some pace. He's managed to keep hi eye on the ball, sprint almost at the same speed as the ball is kicked then twists his wrist to palm it away from goal.
DomDom
William Gallas took a pot-shot at former club Chelsea as well as his Arsenal team-mates in his recent scattergun criticism of all things football - and that has ensured him an uncomfortable afternoon back at the Bridge. He is given a resounding raspberry from Chelsea's fans when his name is announced before kick-off.

Excellent.

"Meg !" *rasp* "Meeeeeeeeeeeg !" *raaasssssp*
heedthebaa
QUOTE (Scott_HAFC @ Nov 30 2008, 15:57) *
The 1st yellow he got was pathetic, he won the ball. If thats a yellow then Ireland should been sent off for the tackle he done on Fletcher.

Least Utd won wow biggrin.gif

i agree. thought webb was a twat today. SWP the best for the bitters, rooney brilliant for Utd. ronaldo should have been subbed at ht, done sweet f**k all, as did robinho
staggy4life
1-0 Chelsea O.G cool.gif
Mr. Brightside
1-0 Chelsea biggrin.gif
KnightswoodBear
laugh.gif laugh.gif THE CORRIDOR OF UNCERTAINTY!!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif

Andy Gray, you sir are a legend laugh.gif
Mr. Brightside
I kinda feel sorry for Djourou I done the exact same as him three weeks ago for my team sad.gif
Reina
Fuxaches, that was offside. mad.gif
Reina
No complaints about that one, though. sad.gif
The Naitch
2-1 Arsenal.
the_saints_are_coming
yesss. smile.gif

staggy4life
Great... Malouda is on for us now. huh.gif