Wellboy1978
Nov 27 2008, 14:58
Can't make the trip up north for this one due to family commitments but probably be as well not to go as we have been playing like a bunch of coos this past couple of weeks.
If we play with the same lacklustre commitment as last week then we'll be on the end of another pasting, but ever the optimist I'll be hoping the boys get something from the game (Depending on how the teams line up).
A win is a must if we want to push up the table but a score draw is more likely.
1-1 Mackie for the home team, Sutton for the away.
PS. McGhee please don't play McGarry. He's rotten!
allezlesrouges
Nov 27 2008, 15:23
My prediciton:
Aberdeen Zzzzz Motherwell Zzzzzz
HanoMaSano
Nov 27 2008, 15:28
I actually fancy a win up there, not that this feeling is based on anything logical, least of all the way we've played the past 2 games.
However, happy clappy as ever I choose to believe that the past couple of weeks have been the exception rather than the rule as before that we looked to be putting a wee bit of form together. Good to see Klimpl getting a run out for the reserves as the defence does need a bit of a shake up, if only to add a bit of competition for places and give Reynolds a much needed rest (I know theres call for Big Bob to lose his place but aside from the shocker in the Hibs game he's done ok at centre half.)
Dons 1 - 2 Well
Wellboy1978
Nov 27 2008, 15:43
Boab Malcolm has played well since he came in as centre half, but you saw last week that he cannot deal with pacey or tricky attackers. (Riordan and Shiels tore him a new one last weekend).
No idea how Klimpl plays having never heard or seen of him till he came to us and I doubt he can be that match fit as he only played an hour for the reserves after such a long time out.
Stick with the centre half pairing for now I'm afraid and hope Aluko doesn't take the piss out of Boab too much.
Mozzamozza
Nov 27 2008, 15:55
Dons to finally hit top gear.
1-0.
madwullie
Nov 27 2008, 16:33
Worried about this. Home win on predictor
HanoMaSano
Nov 27 2008, 16:55
QUOTE (Wellboy1978 @ Nov 27 2008, 15:43)

Boab Malcolm has played well since he came in as centre half, but you saw last week that he cannot deal with pacey or tricky attackers. (Riordan and Shiels tore him a new one last weekend).
No idea how Klimpl plays having never heard or seen of him till he came to us and I doubt he can be that match fit as he only played an hour for the reserves after such a long time out.
Stick with the centre half pairing for now I'm afraid and hope Aluko doesn't take the piss out of Boab too much.
Yeah I wasn't suggesting he walk straight into the team, only that when he get's match fit it'll be good to have some competition for places in that area of the park. I do think Reynolds does need some time out, he's been a stand out for the past 2 seasons but I think he's needing a rest, I'd hate to think of the lad getting burnt out.
tweed275
Nov 27 2008, 21:03
Had a feeling we'd draw with Rangers, had a feeling we'd take a doing off Hibs. My feeling this week is more positive and I think we'll get all three points - no idea why.
Bloobell
Nov 27 2008, 21:05
QUOTE (Wellboy1978 @ Nov 27 2008, 14:58)

Can't make the trip up north for this one due to family commitments but probably be as well not to go as we have been playing like a bunch of coos this past couple of weeks.
If we play with the same lacklustre commitment as last week then we'll be on the end of another pasting, but ever the optimist I'll be hoping the boys get something from the game (Depending on how the teams line up).
A win is a must if we want to push up the table but a score draw is more likely.
1-1 Mackie for the home team, Sutton for the away.
PS. McGhee please don't play McGarry. He's rotten!
29th December?
Nothing like posting early
wiggam
Nov 27 2008, 22:32
Can't see us winning this. 3-1 Abderdeen
SS RED
Nov 27 2008, 23:49
2-1 Aberdeen usual pish boring fitba.
glasgow-sheep
Nov 28 2008, 01:22
Motherwell have a great record up at Pittodrie in recent years, however if JC controls the tombola we should win comfortably.......ie play Seve in MIDFIELD you doss c**t!!
Motherwell often come upto Pittodrie with the aim of kicking us off the park which makes for a slightly more lively 90mins than the usual dismal SPL fair of St Mirren and Killie.
Being drunk and an optimist I'll go for
Dons 3-1 Well.....as long as JC doesn't pick an absolute stinker from the tombola
R.Mutt
Nov 28 2008, 08:47
QUOTE (glasgow-sheep @ Nov 28 2008, 01:22)

play Seve in MIDFIELD you doss c**t!!
it wont happen. fatty fanta face has no clue how to pick a team from the players he has and as you stated......he's a doss c**t.
its now we cant afford to lose any more points. we've got killie(A),falkirk(H),inverness(A) and hearts(H) before new year. all winnable but if we dont take at least 10 or 12 points from these games we'll struggle to be in the top six at the end of the season.
im going for a 1-0 dons win to get the ball rolling. lee miller goal set up by sone aluko in the opening 10 mins. then 80 odd minutes of questionable football from both teams.
capybara
Nov 28 2008, 09:13
Can Motherwell be as bad as last week? So many games could go either way,tough call i think i may go for a draw.
Mozzamozza
Nov 28 2008, 09:54
This is "fat fanta face's" 200th game in charge apparently. Fucking feels like his 2000th.
Wellboy1978
Nov 28 2008, 10:06
No Motherwell team news yet but for the Dandies.
"Aberdeen striker Darren Mackie should return after missing last week's defeat at Ibrox with a hamstring injury. Zander Diamond and Lee Miller aim to shrug off minor knocks in time but Jamie Smith, Stuart Duff and Tommy Wright remain on the sidelines."
QUOTE (capybara @ Nov 28 2008, 09:13)

Can Motherwell be as bad as last week?
No.
And im not saying that from an "oh we'll be fine" or a "we're too good it was just a blip" point of view. Im saying it because thats the actual answer. We might lose, and we might be pish, but it's physically impossible for a team to be THAT bad, twice
Wellboy1978
Nov 28 2008, 11:52

Can Motherwell be as bad as last week?
Surely not. If we are there may be some problem behind the scenes we don't know about.
HanoMaSano
Nov 28 2008, 11:54
QUOTE (Al B @ Nov 28 2008, 11:46)

No.
And im not saying that from an "oh we'll be fine" or a "we're too good it was just a blip" point of view. Im saying it because thats the actual answer. We might lose, and we might be pish, but it's physically impossible for a team to be THAT bad, twice

I'm just hoping Buzz keeps up his good form. We were horrendous last week, but despite losing 4 goals I thought he was outstanding. It could easily have been 5 or more at half time.
Wellboy1978
Nov 28 2008, 13:01
No new injury worries for us, just Craigan and McLean not featuring for the first team tommorrow.
Klimpl may make some contribution but I'm sure he won't start.
I was looking at the first team and apart from Sutton up front we have not really strengthened the squad at all. In fact it looks more paper thin than it did last year with some under 19's making up the subs ( know you have to have 2-3 under 21's in your team but still).
Milners
Nov 28 2008, 13:24
Pitch is in a right mess after the rugby match last saturday.
Wellboy1978
Nov 28 2008, 13:32
QUOTE (Milners @ Nov 28 2008, 13:24)

The Motherwell boys should be used to that then.
shameless
Nov 28 2008, 13:36

Can Motherwell be as bad as last week? So many games could go either way,tough call i think i may go for a draw.
There is no way Motherwell can be as bad as they were last weekend. McGhee will have been working hard all week and i expect a totally improved performance. With both sides needing a win after last weekend, i fancy a draw in this one
QUOTE (HanoMaSano @ Nov 28 2008, 11:54)

I'm just hoping Buzz keeps up his good form. We were horrendous last week, but despite losing 4 goals I thought he was outstanding. It could easily have been 5 or more at half time.
Most definately. I said at the end of the game that somethings badly wrong if you can come out of a game having lost 4-1, with your keeper being your man of the match.
R.Mutt
Nov 28 2008, 14:21
just got my ticket!!! bumped into mackie in my way out the pittodrie shope. he's pretty short, and he better score tomorrow. or we better win tomorrow coz ive got work after at 6 and dont wanna be in a bad mood.
Wellboy1978
Nov 28 2008, 14:27
QUOTE (R.Mutt @ Nov 28 2008, 14:21)

just got my ticket!!! bumped into mackie in my way out the pittodrie shope. he's pretty short, and he better score tomorrow. or we better win tomorrow coz ive got work after at 6 and dont wanna be in a bad mood.

Is he pretty short or are you pretty tall?
R.Mutt
Nov 28 2008, 14:34
QUOTE (Wellboy1978 @ Nov 28 2008, 14:27)

Is he pretty short or are you pretty tall?
i wouldnt say im pretty tall. he's about 5'8 or there abouts. but i guess its not the size that counts
glasgow-sheep
Nov 28 2008, 15:04
QUOTE (Milners @ Nov 28 2008, 13:24)

Oh shit!
That's going to ruin our expansive passing game.........
oh wait a minute.
Mackie may be fit but I'd probably prefer to start with Sone through the middle again.
As for Motherwell, was it not the case that last year you hardly had an injured player between August and May and so had a settled side and didn't have to use your fringe players often. Now this season you haven't been so fortunate and these replacements can't match up?
QUOTE (glasgow-sheep @ Nov 28 2008, 15:04)

Oh shit!
That's going to ruin our expansive passing game.........
oh wait a minute.
Mackie may be fit but I'd probably prefer to start with Sone through the middle again.
As for Motherwell, was it not the case that last year you hardly had an injured player between August and May and so had a settled side and didn't have to use your fringe players often. Now this season you haven't been so fortunate and these replacements can't match up?
Amongst other things yeah. I think over the course of the season only 14 or 15 players started a game. We were EXTREMELY lucky last year. This year has been the complete opposite though, we've only had 3 fit and eligible defenders for the last 5 or 6 weeks, and a couple of games ago we only had two!
albertsteptoe
Nov 28 2008, 16:40
Stop the rot here 2-1 Motherwell
welldaft
Nov 28 2008, 21:26
Alright boys - time to stop pussyfooting about. Our record at Pittodrie used to be mince with a capital M. But the last few seasons has seen an upturn. Probably syas more about the mediocrity of the Dons side recently.
Another performance like last week and NO chance, but if we can start the game well who knows we may only lose 3-1 this week
Still I am confident we will take a point. 1-1 is my prediction. Zander Diamond with 2 goals - one an OG of course!
Pride of Lanarkshire
Nov 28 2008, 21:39
A boring 3-3 draw. Id take a point.
bopolopoluss1
Nov 28 2008, 22:45
Klimpl might start tomorrow. From what i hear he has been ultra impressive in training and nothing gets past him.
I cant make it tomorrow for the first time the season but i think it'l be a 3-0 dons victory.
welldaft
Nov 28 2008, 22:48
QUOTE (bopolopoluss1 @ Nov 28 2008, 22:45)

Klimpl might start tomorrow. From what i hear he has been ultra impressive in training and nothing gets past him.
That is code for red card in the first 30 mins.
Not going either and I have been to 15 out of the 18 games we have played this season inc Europe + CIS. I would be surprised if more than 100 or so made the trip.
Piss poor I know but it is very cold after all
Bushel o' Bricks
Nov 29 2008, 08:50
I've not missed a 'Well game since the 4-1 defeat at Dunfermline in Malpas' ill-fated season in charge so I'll be there, but I'm starting to question my sanity given the weather, the expense, the prospect of six hours on a bus and the way we've been playing recently.
Would be great to see Klimpl get a start. Malcolm had a nightmare against Hibs but he's been otherwise pretty solid in recent weeks. Reynolds' season has, on the whole, been very disappointing so far and we really should give Klimpl a chance. I'd like to see this starting line-up:
--------------------G Smith--------------------
Quinn-----Malcolm-----Klimpl-----Hammell
Murphy----Lasley-----Hughes----O'Brien
------------Porter----------Sutton----------
Subs: Nielsen, Reynolds, Fitzpatrick, D Smith, McGarry, Page, Archdeacon.
After last weekend's capitulation at home, I'd be happy with a point from this one.
Ya Bezzer!
Nov 29 2008, 13:57
I went for 2-0 for Aberdeen in my predictor, Aberdeen are unlikely to play as well as Hibs did cos they just don't have players like Fletcher, Riordan etc but I'm not over flowing with hope. We do have a pretty good record at Pittodrie in recent seasons though.
Will be interesting to see if Klimpl plays and if he's actually any good. He's achieved some sort of legendary status among some 'Well fans even though they have only seen a few clips on YouTube.
Anyone know what's happen the the SteelmenOnline forums? Down all week, is it coming back?
xaviermaw
Nov 29 2008, 13:59
'Mon the 'Well.
A wee 2-1 win would do nice.
Porter with the goals to put us 2-0 up at the seaside.
Just like last season
bopolopoluss1
Nov 29 2008, 14:09
Any team news? Line ups etc?
Ya Bezzer!
Nov 29 2008, 14:44
The Motherwell line up today is....
Smith - Quinn, Klimpl, Reynolds, Hammell - Lasley, Fitzpatrick, Malcolm, Hughes, Murphy - Porter.
Could be a 4-4-2 but I think a 4-5-1 looks more likely.
likely_lad
Nov 29 2008, 14:50
Could it be a 5 - 3 - 2 like we saw at E.R. last game of last season
Ya Bezzer!
Nov 29 2008, 15:00
QUOTE (likely_lad @ Nov 29 2008, 14:50)

Could it be a 5 - 3 - 2 like we saw at E.R. last game of last season
There isn't much width in that team so I think Fitzpatrick will have to play on the left side which means Malcolm will play in midfield. That gives you Hughes and Lasley in midfield with Malcolm behind them and Murphy on the right side with Porter up on his own.
That's my take anyway, that team looks a little unbalanced for me but we'll see what happens.
likely_lad
Nov 29 2008, 15:07
No smith or o'brian on the bench
MP_MFC
Nov 29 2008, 16:25
Another awful performance, looks like its going to be 5 lossses in a row, absolutely abysmal.
Ya Bezzer!
Nov 29 2008, 16:57
QUOTE (MP_MFC @ Nov 29 2008, 16:25)

Another awful performance, looks like its going to be 5 lossses in a row, absolutely abysmal.
And only 1 goal in those 5 games and that was a free kick. No creativity whatsoever.
xaviermaw
Nov 29 2008, 17:36
If it wasn't for such poor St Mirren and Accies sides we would be in deep sh!t this season. Right enough as much as we are having banter with the 'piss on their BBQ' patter on 3rd of Jan can any 'Well fan see anything other than defeat? The game @ Accies on the 20th is hardly guarenteed points either so you actually never know..
Perhaps a relegation fight is what this team needs. The 'Big Names', Porter, Hughes, Malcolm and McGhee himself will be lucky to get a job in the Irn Bru League on current form let alone cement their Championship 'Aspirations'
And the ONE signing in Jan needs to be a half decent Right Back and get that utter Haddie Paul Quinn TO FUKC! Never a footballer in a bijillion years - total liability.
McGhee has been found out big time and if he could he would do a runner, shame there is no-where to run to.
Poor stuff.
badger_whacker
Nov 29 2008, 17:38
Motherwell.....third place?
xaviermaw
Nov 29 2008, 17:49
I never said anything about 3rd place.
Yes we were 3rd place last year, A MILLION times better than ANYTHING Accies will EVER achieve.
But, why can't you just comment on what was actually said in my post?
What a tadger.
badger_whacker
Nov 29 2008, 17:54
QUOTE (xaviermaw @ Nov 29 2008, 17:49)

I never said anything about 3rd place.
Yes we were 3rd place last year, A MILLION times better than ANYTHING Accies will EVER achieve.
But, why can't you just comment on what was actually said in my post?
What a tadger.
CODE
By writing like THIS I will EMPHASISE my insecurities about not being heard and how the accies are going to finish ABOVE the Smell.
I wasn't commenting on your post anyway, what you have to say is of no concern to me.
Enjoy the relegation fight.
minijc
Nov 29 2008, 18:24
We played well, destroyed Well in the second half and their keeper is a dirty c**t.
FastestTown
Nov 29 2008, 18:43
Thought the Dons played really well today, especially in the 2nd half. A performance like that should hopefully give us some confidence / motivation / belief so we can move forward.l
Motherwell look a shadow of the team they were last season, which is a real pity IMO.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.