Full Version: Irish Fans Petition Against Celtic Tops
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
JohnMac
It seem many Republic of Ireland fans have had enough of the bigotry and sectarianism associated with Celtic. If you are seen wearing a Celtic top in Dublin these days you are usually referred to as a Barstool Republican.

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/roishirtsonly/index.html

Last week I highlighted how Manchester United fans have also had enough of their supposed links with Celtic.

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=95896

The verbal support that Celtic fans still give to the Provisional IRA is a big turn off for most people whether they are Scottish, English or Irish.
Pink Freud
QUOTE (JohnMac @ Nov 27 2008, 13:57) *
It seem many Republic of Ireland fans have had enough of the bigotry and sectarianism associated with Celtic. If you are seen wearing a Celtic top in Dublin these days you are usually referred to as a Barstool Republican.

Last week I highlighted how Manchester United fans have also had enough of their supposed links with Celtic.

The verbal support that Celtic fans still give to the Provisional IRA is a big turn off for most people whether they are Scottish, English or Irish.

No surprise at all. Ive stated repeatedly that any Irish people I've met want to get on with their lives and their future. Links with Glasgow's shite are not welcome.
Millfield Marksman
My guess is that Forbes Robinson-Knox is Lord HawHaw
Jordo1872
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Nov 27 2008, 14:02) *

Its clear that the Irish are just not celtic-minded!!
sev

Big Grant
I rather like their new orange top!
Colin M
I imagine it's different depending where in Ireland you are. Having been over in Kerry a few times this year in Killarney, they're not really interested in Celtic, and are all mad for the Premiership (Man U and Liverpool mostly). That said, there was one pub decked out in Celtic memorabilia, so they're not completely disinterested, but I was there the day of an Old Firm game last year and there was literally nobody else in the two pubs watching it.

I imagine other places further north might be different - Donegal might well have a larger proportion of Celtic fans.

On topic, I don't really see that as any sort of evidence but it's not really a surprise that while Celtic associate themselves with Ireland, Ireland doesn't automatically associate itself with Celtic (or any other club).
H_B
Any times I've been in Ireland it's always been Man U and Liverpool tops that have dominated.

There are many excellent reasons why the Irish people would want to have nothing to do with Celtic FC and the baggage it carries.
The big chair
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 28 2008, 11:07) *
Any times I've been in Ireland it's always been Man U and Liverpool tops that have dominated.

There are many excellent reasons why the Irish people would want to have nothing to do with Celtic FC and the baggage it carries.

That's my experience of Ireland as well. I also noticed that it appeared to be people from the lower end of the social spectrum that felt the need to wear Celtic merchandise 24/7 which just goes to prove we must have a shared heritage.
Pink Freud
QUOTE (The big chair @ Nov 28 2008, 12:18) *
I also noticed that it appeared to be people from the lower end of the social spectrum that felt the need to wear Celtic merchandise 24/7 which just goes to prove we must have a shared heritage.

biggrin.gif Every country has its share of "it's aw they b*****ds fault" types.
H_B
That's my experience of Ireland as well. I also noticed that it appeared to be people from the lower end of the social spectrum that felt the need to wear Celtic merchandise 24/7 which just goes to prove we must have a shared heritage.

True. I imagine they all have a suitably rebellish ringtone on their mobile phone.

I've always thougt that was a nice scummy touch.
youroldda

This must be right up there for," the most boring thread ever" award 2008...

ps do you work here?.........
YIBBIDAY YABBA
QUOTE (Colin M @ Nov 28 2008, 10:35) *
I imagine it's different depending where in Ireland you are. Having been over in Kerry a few times this year in Killarney, they're not really interested in Celtic, and are all mad for the Premiership (Man U and Liverpool mostly). That said, there was one pub decked out in Celtic memorabilia, so they're not completely disinterested, but I was there the day of an Old Firm game last year and there was literally nobody else in the two pubs watching it.

I imagine other places further north might be different - Donegal might well have a larger proportion of Celtic fans.

On topic, I don't really see that as any sort of evidence but it's not really a surprise that while Celtic associate themselves with Ireland, Ireland doesn't automatically associate itself with Celtic (or any other club).

i work over in southern ireland every 2nd week and have worked in almost every county. its the same everywhere, even donegal, they are all mad man utd, liverpool and arsenal supporters. last year i was in south tipperary in a town called clonmel when celtic were playing that russian mob to qualify for the CL and to my disbelief i struggled to find anywhere that was showing the game (even in a town where it seems like theres a pub for every two people). Everywhere was rammed full with Liverpool supporters because they were playing at the same time. eventually found somewhere that was showing the celtic game, and believe it or not, this place claimed to be the chelsea supporters club HQ. it is a total myth that everyone in ireland supports celtic, the vast majority aren't interested in scottish football in the slightest.
The big chair
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 28 2008, 13:22) *
True. I imagine they all have a suitably rebellish ringtone on their mobile phone.

Do you know that if I was to say that they always seemed to have a crucifix prominently displayed around their neck that I'd be accused of being a bigot for noticing. Gerald Ratner must have made a fortune in that country.

QUOTE (Pink Freud @ Nov 28 2008, 12:24) *
biggrin.gif Every country has its share of "it's aw they b*****ds fault" types.

I suppose it makes their lives seem more bearable if they can blame someone else for their shortcomings and believe they're being held back by the powerful hand of the establishment.
youroldda
QUOTE (YIBBIDAY YABBA @ Nov 28 2008, 13:53) *
i work over in southern ireland every 2nd week and have worked in almost every county. its the same everywhere, even donegal, they are all mad man utd, liverpool and arsenal supporters. last year i was in south tipperary in a town called clonmel when celtic were playing that russian mob to qualify for the CL and to my disbelief i struggled to find anywhere that was showing the game (even in a town where it seems like theres a pub for every two people). Everywhere was rammed full with Liverpool supporters because they were playing at the same time. eventually found somewhere that was showing the celtic game, and believe it or not, this place claimed to be the chelsea supporters club HQ. it is a total myth that everyone in ireland supports celtic, the vast majority aren't interested in scottish football in the slightest.

ATTENTION RETARDS ATTENTION RETARDS...
everybody knows most Irish people support man u or liverpool and that none of them are interested in Scottish football or Celtic ohmy.gif ... just because Celtic has an Irish heritage and the fans are proud of it , dosn't mean that people in Ireland have to support them. There is no "myth" just the usual anti celtic shite by Hunnns and the media , that every celtic supporter supports ireland and vise versa just goes to show how easily the bigots and morons can led in this country............

OMG people in Ireland dont support celtic.... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif wot a fuckin fud
Winston Ingram
Online petitions tend to be the calling card of the lunatic these days tbh.

When you go abroad to places like Torremolinos and Santa Ponsa it is chock full of Irish wearing Celtic tops.
Maybe not so much in Ireland, because people want to fly the flag when they go abroad.

But plenty of Irish people either support Celtic or have an affection for them. Making unfounded statements about 'Irish people don't want to be associated with Celtic' doesn't really change that. Some don't more do. I'd imagine the majority of complainers would be West Brits from Dublin, who're more into their egg chasing anyway.
I've been told that we have more foreign season ticket holders than any other club, all of whom come from Eire.

Dunno if you'd call Dermot Desmond 'from the lower end of the social spectrum' btw. What a snobby, middle-class statement.
Colin M
QUOTE (Winston Ingram @ Nov 28 2008, 14:38) *
Making unfounded statements about 'Irish people don't want to be associated with Celtic' doesn't really change that. Some don't more do.

Isn't that an unfounded statement in itself? wink.gif
Colin M
Also interesting to hear Irish Celtic season ticket holders described as foreign - don't let Beyemystic hear you talking like that tongue.gif
Pink Freud
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 28 2008, 13:22) *

QUOTE (The big chair @ Nov 28 2008, 13:55) *
Do you know that if I was to say that they always seemed to have a crucifix prominently displayed around their neck that I'd be accused of being a bigot for noticing.

QUOTE (Winston Ingram @ Nov 28 2008, 14:38) *
When you go abroad to places like Torremolinos and Santa Ponsa it is chock full of Irish wearing Celtic tops.

Errrrmmmmm.............. shutup.gif

I'd imagine the majority of complainers would be West Brits from Dublin, who're more into their egg chasing anyway.

CODE
I know they're Irish people who are rather embarrassed at being represented by a bunch of Luddites and fantasists.

banterman86
Can't say i've ever bought into the myth that Ireland is 100% celtic daft, if that ws the case, wouldn't the club be playing some sort of money spinning glamour friendly there every preseason? Something like celtic liverpool at Landsdowne road?

Of course if the idea that Ireland doesn't care about celtic is correct, wouldn't that make the whole international expansion idea,expecially in reference to america,a bit silly?

I say this in reference to the following article, although its a few years old now...

"Exploiting the club's global following via multi-media - Celtic is said to be the fifth-best supported club in the world, behind Barcelona, Juventus, Real Madrid and Manchester United - was one of former chief executive Allan MacDonald's aspirations, and is now being pursued by his successor, Ian McLeod, and David McNally, the club's brand director.

For third, fourth or even fifth generation Irish-Americans - around 40 million people - their perception of Irishness often amounts to a vague, romanticised blend of Catholicism, Guinness, a party on St Patrick's Day, good music, good craic, and supporting Celtic.

There are 66 Celtic supporters' clubs in North America.

Add in Celtic's self-styled reputation as Scotland's anti- establishment club and the appeal broadens further. Why else would it seem so natural for Noel Gallagher (English, but of Irish descent), Bono or Roy Keane to profess to be Celtic supporters? Why else would 50 Westminster MPs have formed a Celtic Supporters' Club? "
Source - http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn41...13/ai_n13960047
H_B
It is traditional for Celtic chief executives to have fantasy land ideas about extending the club's global fanbase.

Brian Quim embarrassed himself regularly with his ludicrous "Gah, the Premiership is nearly within our grasp" witterings. At least Lawwell has to my knowledge avoided that particular humiliation.
banterman86
I have a vague memory of Lawwel, or perhaps John Reid, claiming Celtic had a potential fan base of 50 million at some point this year, though a google search couldn't really find such a comment, anyone?

Regarding "extending" the global fanbase...i wouldn't say thats the same as wanting to be in the premiership, although i suppose the two can be conected
Pink Freud
QUOTE (banterman86 @ Nov 28 2008, 16:07) *
For third, fourth or even fifth generation Irish-Americans - around 40 million people - their perception of Irishness often amounts to a vague, romanticised blend of Catholicism, Guinness, a party on St Patrick's Day, good music, good craic, and supporting Celtic.

Add in Celtic's self-styled reputation as Scotland's anti- establishment club and the appeal broadens further. Why else would it seem so natural for Noel Gallagher (English, but of Irish descent), Bono or Roy Keane to profess to be Celtic supporters? Why else would 50 Westminster MPs have formed a Celtic Supporters' Club? "

That is exactly what I think about Celtic. Self styled anti establishment, and yet every bit as establishment as Rangers (50 MPs for fucks sake laugh.gif ), and the Irishness being that of the diaspora rather than the reality.
banterman86
I actually like the first paragraph of the quote - the plastic paddy identity abused by many on here is arguably celtics best hope for braodening their business appeal!
Broxi_Bear_Eire
QUOTE (Colin M @ Nov 28 2008, 11:35) *

Donegal does have a fairly large Celtic fan base in fact from my area alone there is normally about 5 coaches go every week
But I do find that the younger people ie from 12 to 18 tend to only see them as there second team as a result the Celtic fan base is falling
MacDonald Jardine
QUOTE (banterman86 @ Nov 28 2008, 16:07) *
Can't say i've ever bought into the myth that Ireland is 100% celtic daft, if that ws the case, wouldn't the club be playing some sort of money spinning glamour friendly there every preseason? Something like celtic liverpool at Landsdowne road?

Of course if the idea that Ireland doesn't care about celtic is correct, wouldn't that make the whole international expansion idea,expecially in reference to america,a bit silly?

I say this in reference to the following article, although its a few years old now...

"Exploiting the club's global following via multi-media - Celtic is said to be the fifth-best supported club in the world, behind Barcelona, Juventus, Real Madrid and Manchester United - was one of former chief executive Allan MacDonald's aspirations, and is now being pursued by his successor, Ian McLeod, and David McNally, the club's brand director.

Of course.
To get the view of the real irish you go to the US of A.
FFCinthearea

No difference from Scotland then wink.gif
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (FFCinthearea @ Nov 28 2008, 21:05) *
No difference from Scotland then wink.gif

'shared heritage' wink.gif
Wishaykillie
QUOTE (Winston Ingram @ Nov 28 2008, 15:38) *
Maybe not so much in Ireland, because people want to fly the flag when they go abroad.

So they wear an Scottish teams replica top? huh.gif
Beyemystic
QUOTE (Pink Freud @ Nov 28 2008, 17:10) *
That is exactly what I think about Celtic. Self styled anti establishment, and yet every bit as establishment as Rangers (50 MPs for fucks sake laugh.gif ), and the Irishness being that of the diaspora rather than the reality.

ohmy.gif So the diaspora are unreal?

Naturally British-born Irish people might have a different set of experiences to their native born cousins. But I certainly wouldn't suggest this gives them any less of a right to identify with the Irish national football team.

We Irish are a travelling race, so it stands to reason our 'wild geese' will be prominent in any analysis of ourselves as a whole.

Famously, Joyce left the mainland in his early 20s but never wrote about anything else his whole life. Likewise Celtic will never forget its roots.
Davie Bhoy

What a load of Bollocks. One look at the signatures shows this. It's one guy with a bee in his bonnet who has started it. He's also not having a go at any Scottish people who are Celts as some have hinted at. look at the signatures and all you'll see is how it's been hijacked by Rangers fans....Poor bait
findis89
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 29 2008, 16:55) *
Naturally British-born Irish people Are British.If you were born here you are British.I would love to claim to be British but i was not born in this country so i don't claim to be something i am not.
We Irish laugh.gif laugh.gif Just where abouts in Ireland were you born then??You really are a sad pathetic little man

Dr Koop
Interesting petition. I went to the Republic v Columbia game at Craven Cottage in the spring. The worst behaved, most belligerent and wilfully ignorant spectacles among the 'Irish' support were wearing Sellick tops.

I wish they wouldn't.
Beyemystic
Note to findus89: Birthplace is not the sole determinant of someone's cultural affiliations.

QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Nov 29 2008, 19:46) *
Interesting petition. I went to the Republic v Columbia game at Craven Cottage in the spring. The worst behaved, most belligerent and wilfully ignorant spectacles among the 'Irish' support were wearing Sellick tops.

I wish they wouldn't.

The Irish support has always enjoyed an unblemished reputation and our inevitably large %age of behooped supporters have played their part in that. In fact many 'English' supporters embrace their famiy heritage and follow the boys in green because they dislike the large lunatic element of the ingerlund fanbase. Likewise the tartan army wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea and no wonder!

So exactly what nightmarish visions were loosed on the world that fateful evening at sleepy Craven Cottage? No doubt the provisional IRA were in attendence? Were they dismembering and devouring innocent babies in the street?
Dr Koop
No, they were just making spectacles of themselves and embarrassing the company. I am very happy with my Irish heritage but I'm selective about when I try too hard. wink.gif
findis89
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 29 2008, 21:18) *
Note to findus89: Birthplace is not the sole determinant of someone's cultural affiliations.

so what kind of passport do you have then?
One of these

or one of these

i think most people on here know the answer to this one
Beyemystic
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Nov 29 2008, 21:30) *
No, they were just making spectacles of themselves and embarrassing the company. I am very happy with my Irish heritage but I'm selective about when I try too hard. wink.gif

Precisely what did these reprobates do to offend your delicate sensibilities?

You evidently tried hard enough to fork out for a ticket, travel to London and publicly identify yourself as a supporter of the Irish football team.

Sad then that you feel the need to kow tow to folk who might disapprove. Your profile says Partick but, to me, your attitude screams Hibs FC! Don't become one of these ashen faced fellows who walk around with their eyes on the floor and no fire in their belly because they've internalised pernicious ideological garbage!

QUOTE (findis89 @ Nov 29 2008, 21:53) *
so what kind of passport do you have then?

i think most people on here know the answer to this one

I think most people know you are the most pointless wee twerp on the forum.

findis89
god he takes his time typing a reply
findis89
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 29 2008, 22:09) *
I think most people know you are the most pointless wee twerp on the forum.

hmm,dodge and deflect ,the Celtic way.
Have you ever answered a question that you have been asked on this forum?
What kind of passport do you have?An Irish one or a UK one?
Quite a simple question
Frank Booth
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Nov 27 2008, 14:02) *

It's not the most Sellick-minded name ever is it?
Beyemystic
QUOTE (findis89 @ Nov 29 2008, 22:11) *
hmm,dodge and deflect ,the Celtic way.
Have you ever answered a question that you have been asked on this forum?
What kind of passport do you have?An Irish one or a UK one?
Quite a simple question

happy.gif Enough about me, findus.

I'm dying to hear about your native land.
findis89
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 29 2008, 22:16) *
happy.gif Enough about me, findus.

I'm dying to hear about your native land.

you still have not answered the question though bigotmystic.
lets try again,what kind of passport do you have?A UK one or an Irish one?
SON76
QUOTE (findis89 @ Nov 29 2008, 22:22) *

Maybe he has both..
findis89
QUOTE (SON76 @ Nov 29 2008, 22:23) *
Maybe he has both..

aye,right he does rolleyes.gif
H_B
Leave John Hurt alone...
findis89
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 29 2008, 22:27) *
Leave John Hurt alone...

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Beyemystic
QUOTE (findis89 @ Nov 29 2008, 22:22) *

Well this is after all a discussion forum, so there has to be some reciprocation.

If people's morbid obsessions lead them to make peremptory demands for my biographical data, then why shouldn't I ask something of them in return?

Frank Booth
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 29 2008, 22:34) *
Well this is after all a discussion forum, so there has to be some reciprocation.

If people's morbid obsessions lead them to make peremptory demands for my biographical data, then why shouldn't I ask something of them in return?
FFS, you show him yours and he'll show you his.
findis89
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 29 2008, 22:34) *

Here is my passport

so now,what kind do you have ?
No8.
This should be interesting. Is Beyesmystic a subject of her majesty?