Dislike - St. Johnstone, Dundee, Livi, Dunfermline
No feeling either way - Clyde, Airdrie
Grant228
QUOTE (MTJ @ Nov 26 2008, 22:08) *
For me:

Enjoy - Morton, Ross County, Queen of The South
Dislike - St. Johnstone, Dundee, Livi, Dunfermline huh.gif
No feeling either way - Clyde, Airdrie

I take it because you always seem to get beat at eep?
Larbert_Par
Enjoy- QoS, Morton, Dundee.

The rest are decent enough, don't dislike any away games (Airdrie and County excluded as I haven't been to either).
goodevening
Dislike Clyde.. it's awfy cold.
thejailender
Hard to say I dislike any away ground as a trip is always what you make it yourself.
Maybe results have an adverse effect but in terms of the trip their all good.

Queen of the South maybe less good due to the distance involved in getting there (although I find the hospitality from their fans make up for that), and it's been years since I've been to Morton.. another one not so easy to get too !

I enjoy all away days though - especially if we win !
MTJ
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Nov 26 2008, 22:10) *

Well we have a good record at Livi and I hate going there.

OTT stewarding, shit atmosphere (atmosphere at Firhill is normally dire too) and the final nail in the coffin was the fact they put us in that poxy wee hut stand, where you can't see a thing.

I'll look forward to those few extra pennies lying in my piggy bank in future unless its a cup tie or a game of extra importance.
The ghost of Jim Morton
Enjoy...Dens, East End,Firhill, Palmerston and Victoria Park..

Dislike...Livi, Clyde, Morton,

Never been to the Shyberry Excelsior or what ever it's called

MTJ
QUOTE (thejailender @ Nov 26 2008, 22:20) *
Hard to say I dislike any away ground as a trip is always what you make it yourself.
Maybe results have an adverse effect but in terms of the trip their all good.

Queen of the South maybe less good due to the distance involved in getting there (although I find the hospitality from their fans make up for that), and it's been years since I've been to Morton.. another one not so easy to get too !

I enjoy all away days though - especially if we win !

I'm not sure I agree with that. The two league games at Ayr a couple of years ago the Thistle fans mad a terrific atmosphere yet when we play at any of the many lego grounds the atmosphere is usually extremely flat.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Nov 26 2008, 23:10) *

Why do you take offence every time someone has a low opinion of Dunfermline or anything related?

Or were you just concerned and genuinely intrigued?
el bawbag
enjoy-County, Partick, QoS, Pars
not bothered-Airdrie, Dundee, Morton
dislike-St J, Clyde
Dark Blue
Enjoy saints and dunfermline away and i dislike queens and partick away.
PTFC27
Enjoy - Cappielow, Palmerston & Royal Victoria Park (only been once though)
Don't Enjoy - Almondvale and Perth
LIVIFOREVER
Like, or prefer going to as they're close

EEP, NDP, Tynecastle (my fave away ground), Airdrie

Don't like

Morton (was too cramped)
VanderDalgarno
Enjoy Firhill and McDiarmid (usually get decent banter in the 208), Livi is so-so (may enjoy going a bit more now they have a student gate)

Dislike Broadwood (cold, in the middle of nowhere, really)
David W
I like any ground that gives me a decent view - therefore not Thistle, Dunfermline or Dundee.
Grant228
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Nov 26 2008, 22:26) *
Why do you take offence every time someone has a low opinion of Dunfermline or anything related?

Or were you just concerned and genuinely intrigued?

It would also appear that you take offence every time somone has a low opinion of Morton or anything related.
I was generally inregued to why he dislike eep, at epp you get decent facilities a decent view (if you can take enough fans) and atm were giving away 3 points to all who visit...it should be everyones highlight of the calendar.
Dunning1874
I enjoy Palmerston particularly as we always do well down there and we've always been allowed to stand if we're up the back, except for our game there a few weeks ago. I like EEP as it's a good ground with an atmosphere despite the seats and the bridies are fantastic.

Almondvale is my least favourite, mainly because Morton have lost every single game we've played there, although arsehole stewards and getting rained on even when you're in the back row don't help.
vikingTON
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Nov 26 2008, 22:43) *
It would also appear that you take offence every time somone has a low opinion of Morton or anything related.
I was generally inregued to why he dislike eep, at epp you get decent facilities a decent view (if you can take enough fans) and atm were giving away 3 points to all who visit...it should be everyones highlight of the calendar.

The Elizabethan has the nerve to charge £2.70 for a pint of Strongbow. EEP is truly within the 'meh' boundary. Almondvale is a horrid away trip, des and Mcdiarmid are rendered null and void by arsehole stewarding and the Tayside Gestapo.
Thistle's too close to be considered a journey too. Airdrie on the 27 December has potential.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Nov 26 2008, 22:43) *

No I don't. Have you seen how many people are discrediting our promotion push?

I tell you, we're just getting started.
19QOS19
Couple of posters saying they enjoy Palmerston. Can I just ask what away fans make of the view from your allocation? I sat there last season when Morton played Gretna and I thought the view was actually mince, it felt like we were quite far from the pitch and the goal infront of the terracing seemed miles away.
vikingTON
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Nov 27 2008, 00:52) *
Couple of posters saying they enjoy Palmerston. Can I just ask what away fans make of the view from your allocation? I sat there last season when Morton played Gretna and I thought the view was actually mince, it felt like we were quite far from the pitch and the goal infront of the terracing seemed miles away.

It's not much different than any other plastic stand.
BigAl024
QUOTE (David W @ Nov 26 2008, 22:40) *
I like any ground that gives me a decent view - therefore not Thistle, Dunfermline or Dundee.

Why wouldnt you get a decent view at any of those grounds?
EastFootball
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Nov 27 2008, 01:05) *

I may be wrong, but I think he's one of the (small) band who dislike sitting behind the goal.

Yet people were quick to complain when we put visiting supporters in the main stand ("why stick us in there behind pillars when there's a nice new stand sitting empty"). Go figure...
BigAl024
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Nov 27 2008, 01:08) *
I may be wrong, but I think he's one of the (small) band who dislike sitting behind the goal.

Yet people were quick to complain when we put visiting supporters in the main stand ("why stick us in there behind pillars when there's a nice new stand sitting empty"). Go figure...

Maybe he has sat in the stand. Clyde usually bring about 50 away fans, so they prob get shoved in the main stand rather than opening the Shankly.
BluebirdTon
Enjoy: Firhill, always a decent sing-song on the go. Palmerston, we always do well down there and again, its good for an atmosphere.

Don't Enjoy: Broadwood, the stadia version of a public library. Amondvale, the general cost of the away day itself is extortionate.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Nov 27 2008, 01:22) *
Enjoy: Firhill, always a decent sing-song on the go. Palmerston, we always do well down there and again, its good for an atmosphere.

Don't Enjoy: Broadwood, the stadia version of a public library. Amondvale, the general cost of the away day itself is extortionate.

Don't think its that bad cost wise as long as you can get a supporters bus. Only £1.80 a pint in the pub in the shopping center. Games drag it down right enough.

I can understand totally why coming to our gaffe is unappealing to the away fan. Not particularly appealing to me at the moment.

My favourite away days are St Johnstone and QOS.

Least favourites Airdrie and Dundee probably.
David W

Behind the goal at Dens/Thistle, shoved in a corner at EEP (although the steak bridies are outstanding).

The irony with Dens Park is that the view is actually better from behind the goal than in that other bizarre stand that you have.
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Like - Palmerston - good train journey, good pubs in Dumfries, welcoming locals, not too far from station, decent stewarding

Dislike - Almondvale - plastic ground, plastic fans, inflated prices, no good pubs, miles from train station

The others all have good and bad points.
BigAl024
QUOTE (David W @ Nov 27 2008, 08:56) *
Behind the goal at Dens/Thistle, shoved in a corner at EEP (although the steak bridies are outstanding).

The irony with Dens Park is that the view is actually better from behind the goal than in that other bizarre stand that you have.

I take it your just not a fan of sitting behind the goal? Your right though, the view from the main stand at Dens can be pish, as its such an old place with beams and pillars in the way.

Do you not get the new stand behind the goal at EEP?
David W
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Nov 27 2008, 11:45) *
I take it your just not a fan of sitting behind the goal? Your right though, the view from the main stand at Dens can be pish, as its such an old place with beams and pillars in the way.

Do you not get the new stand behind the goal at EEP?

I hate sitting behind the goal. Dundee is actually one of the better stands in terms of seeing the other end but you see a guy hit a shot from 25 yards and think it's a tap-in and he should score. Can't stand it and if I went to the games myself I'd just sit with the home fans.

We got stuck in the corner of the home stand at EEP - not enough fans to justify opening a whole stand for us. I think there's about five seats in the section we get where you get a decent view.
Livi_Lyon
1st Division

Enjoy- East End Park (my personal favourite), Firhill (decent ground, good away trip), New Broomfield (quite similar to Almondvale)

Average- McDiarmid Park

Dislike- Crappielow (dilapidated shithole), Den's Park (mainly because we've lost whenever I've been)

Never been- Broadwood, Victoria Park, Palmerston

SPL

Enjoy- Ibrox, Easter Road, Tynecastle, Celtic Park, Pittodrie

Average- Rugby Park, Fir Park, Tannadice

Dislike- New Douglas Park, Love Street

Never Been- Falkirk Stadium, Caledonian Stadium
AyrshireTon
Assuming we are only talking about current 1st division clubs.

Like - Firhill (usually decent atmosphere) & Palmerston (good day out). Quite like trips to Airdrie's place too. Ross County is actually a good trip despite the distance.

Dislike - Livi (awful, awful record there and it's pretty soulless) & Clyde (freezing all year round and deathly quiet). Dens & McDiarmid have to be on this list on account of Tayside's "sit down or you'll get chucked out" policy.

Not been to EEP since it was terracing - good night out in their supporter's pub one time, though.
BullyWeeBoy
Best:Almondvale or East End

Worst:Excelsior and RC Ground
MuthillSaintee
Dispite Cappielow being a s**thole i think it is the best away ground, always a good atmosphere and also your right on top of the action.

Broadwood is by far the worst, always cold and very windy
sandboy
I quite like going to Almondvale, dislike Broadwood and Cappielow's main stand.
blairgowriedee
I must admit to liking most away grounds especially if you can get a decent pint in a decent boozer with half decent opposition fans. Ones that spring to mind are Partick(main stand), Ross County(Station Hotel ?) and Livi when the nightclub is open.
marty the bullwee man
Good Palmerston firhill New Bromfield only cause you can watch a junior game outside the ground
Dislike Dens McDiarmid Due to jobsworth stewards haven't been back since 2006
Never been to Almondvale or EEP.
el bawbag
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Nov 27 2008, 11:42) *
Like - Palmerston - good train journey, good pubs in Dumfries, welcoming locals, not too far from station, decent stewarding

Dislike - Almondvale - plastic ground, plastic fans, inflated prices, no good pubs, miles from train station

The others all have good and bad points.

sling yer hook

inflated prices?Adult-£16 Student-£10 Concession-£7 fairly average for the 1st div(although football in Scotland is to expensive in general)
StevenC
I think he means the £29,00.12 for a pie and £12,300.65 for watered down cola. Bloody stupendous prices.

I like Ross County as an away day biggrin.gif No been yet this year, but love it up there County / Caley / Aberdeen etc. I like EEP as well sheerly for the food. nom nom nom.

Dislike Airdrie as it's too close so doesn't feel like an "away day", Partick because we're shite there and it's a nightmare to get parked and Clyde because It's always fucking freeezing!
David W
QUOTE (David W @ Nov 26 2008, 22:40) *

If we're naming favourites as well now, then probably Livi. St Johnstone is the best in terms of a view/leg room but I'm fed up going there.
Mon The Clyde
Enjoy - Palmerston, Firhill, New Broomfield, Victoria Park, East End Park and McDairmid maybe too

Dislike - Almondvale, Dens, Crappilow

I'm sat here thinking of how much of a shit away day Clyde is, it must be really bad!
Tory Boy
I love - Morton, Ross County & Queen of the South. Proper football grounds. Although Morton & QotS would be better if the away support got some terracing as well. Why did Morton do away with the fence in the shed?

Quite like - Dunfermline & Partick Thistle. Although they are all seater grounds you are close enough to the home fans to get a bit of atmosphere going.

Hate - Airdrie, Livi & Clyde. Crappy soulless legoland grounds.

Wont go to - St Johnstone or Dundee. Soulless grounds + Tayside police. Shame as I used to love going to both clubs. sad.gif
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (Tory Boy @ Nov 28 2008, 10:35) *
I love - Morton, Ross County & Queen of the South. Proper football grounds. Although Morton & QotS would be better if the away support got some terracing as well. Why did Morton do away with the fence in the shed?

Quite like - Dunfermline & Partick Thistle. Although they are all seater grounds you are close enough to the home fans to get a bit of atmosphere going.

Hate - Airdrie, Livi & Clyde. Crappy soulless legoland grounds.

Wont go to - St Johnstone or Dundee. Soulless grounds + Tayside police. Shame as I used to love going to both clubs. sad.gif

I don't know the real reason why, possibly because the away section holds about 3,000 without giving away fans half the Cowshed and thats more than enough.

I don't think many Morton fans would dispute the fence being brought back, I certainly wouldn't.
Tory Boy
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Nov 28 2008, 10:41) *
I don't know the real reason why, possibly because the away section holds about 3,000 without giving away fans half the Cowshed and thats more than enough.

I don't think many Morton fans would dispute the fence being brought back, I certainly wouldn't.

As I said it is still one of my favorite grounds (and wish it was ours sad.gif ) but having part of the shed for away fans the way it was would make for a much better atmosphere.

Even sh!t games at Morton made for a right good laugh with fans giving verbal back and forth through the fence.
Grant228
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Nov 26 2008, 23:52) *
The Elizabethan has the nerve to charge £2.70 for a pint of Strongbow. EEP is truly within the 'meh' boundary. Almondvale is a horrid away trip, des and Mcdiarmid are rendered null and void by arsehole stewarding and the Tayside Gestapo.
Thistle's too close to be considered a journey too. Airdrie on the 27 December has potential.

Thing is thought the Elizabethan has feck all to do with EEP, so if your grudge is with a pub then why don'tyou go to another one?

Clyde do not bring a big enough support so get put in the Main Stand..Witch still has a cracking view.

QUOTE (Tory Boy @ Nov 28 2008, 10:35) *

Actually being to far away from the fans is usually the grudge for games at eep huh.gif laugh.gif
GingerSaint
I know this isnt in the 1st Div, but Gayfield has to be the coldest and windiest ground in Scotland.
Kirky_Clyde
I pretty much like every away day.
Kirky_Clyde
QUOTE (Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth @ Nov 27 2008, 02:16) *
Don't think its that bad cost wise as long as you can get a supporters bus. Only £1.80 a pint in the pub in the shopping center. Games drag it down right enough.

I can understand totally why coming to our gaffe is unappealing to the away fan. Not particularly appealing to me at the moment.

My favourite away days are St Johnstone and QOS.

Least favourites Airdrie and Dundee probably.

Never thought you'd mention that. rolleyes.gif
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Nov 28 2008, 20:14) *
Never thought you'd mention that. rolleyes.gif

laugh.gif I know my priorities.
BullyWeeBoy
Dont know why but i like Almondvale great stadium and the food is nice tongue.gif
Also like EEP Even though when i sit down i feel i will fall off because its so steap laugh.gif