Full Version: Shire Prices Changed (supposedly)
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
latapythelegend
having a look on the shire website when i saw this
clicky
arent concessions 1 quid or have they suddenly changed. cos paying a fiver fucks me
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
were the shire fans not the ones moaning about the prices at shs?

is the credit crunch really hurting them that bad that they feel the need to complain over 1 golden nugget?
chub
QUOTE (latapythelegend @ Nov 26 2008, 18:41) *
clicky
arent concessions 1 quid or have they suddenly changed. cos paying a fiver fucks me

No that was for the first couple of cup games then the prices were changed to fiver for concessions and a tenner for adults, those were the prices at the Preston Athletic game aswell.
chub
QUOTE (Bring Back Paddy Flannery @ Nov 26 2008, 18:50) *
were the shire fans not the ones moaning about the prices at shs?

is the credit crunch really hurting them that bad that they feel the need to complain over 1 golden nugget?

In fairness the last couple of times that we have been there i think almost every Shire fan that was there has complained about almost everything to do with the stadium
Doink
Stenny fans are having to pay £12 on saturday.
latapythelegend
QUOTE (chub @ Nov 26 2008, 18:53) *
No that was for the first couple of cup games then the prices were changed to fiver for concessions and a tenner for adults, those were the prices at the Preston Athletic game aswell.

every league game has been a pound. so has it changed for they games too?
latapythelegend
QUOTE (Doink @ Nov 26 2008, 18:58) *
Stenny fans are having to pay £12 on saturday.

the scottish cup game?
if so that is shocking.
Fudge
I don't see how anyone can complain if a team charges one or two pounds more than another team, especially if they are spending ludicrous amounts on drink before and after a game.
Consolidate
According to one of the turnstyle operators at Ochilview, the price increase from £1 to £5 was agreed on the Wednesday before the Sons' 5-2 drubbing.
jeffro
QUOTE (latapythelegend @ Nov 26 2008, 18:41) *
clicky

Shame that, why don't you ask the council for funding? They fund everything else for your club.
Allan
I had been to a few games mainly because they were charging £1 concessions but at the Dumbarton game this had gone to £5. When I asked why they said it was because they were playing Dumbarton. Why Dumbarton ?
chub
QUOTE (latapythelegend @ Nov 26 2008, 19:03) *
every league game has been a pound. so has it changed for they games too?

Tbh i couldnae tell you ive got a season ticket mate
latapythelegend
i thought they would have kept the prices at least until half way through the season.
chub
QUOTE (latapythelegend @ Nov 26 2008, 20:35) *
i thought they would have kept the prices at least until half way through the season.

Aye i know what ye mean it does seem a bit wierd that were was a sudden change but as i only pay at the gate for cup games i couldnae tell ye exactly when it happened or why it happened tbh with you but having said that a pound to see a scottish cuo tie between a 3rd division side and a 1st division side would be a wee bit on the cheap side would it no? Cos i know clubs have to try to make it affordable as possible as without fans football would be nothing BUT the clubs have to look after themselves aswell and make sure they dont lose money through letting folk in for ridiculously low prices. like a pound. Also we have the rent to pay Stenny for each game remember
Allan
I paid £5 for the tie against Preston Athletic and could see the reason why as the two teams half the gate and they have to agree the entrance but not for some league games and not others.
I know East Stirlingshire and Falkirk complained about everything during their lodgings at Ochilview but I can't see why if you look at the decrepit "stadiums" they came from before Ochilview. It must have seemed like the Emirates compared with their grounds.
ThirdrockfromtheSon
QUOTE (Allan @ Nov 26 2008, 20:27) *
I had been to a few games mainly because they were charging £1 concessions but at the Dumbarton game this had gone to £5. When I asked why they said it was because they were playing Dumbarton. Why Dumbarton ?

Hint - Celtic vs Rangers costs more than other premier league clashes. Think back to where Stenny and Sons were in the league just before the match. Then apply the principle I started off with.
Consolidate
QUOTE (ThirdrockfromtheSon @ Nov 26 2008, 22:14) *
Hint - Celtic vs Rangers costs more than other premier league clashes. Think back to where Stenny and Sons were in the league just before the match. Then apply the principle I started off with.

Your 'principle' has nothing to do with it.
ThirdrockfromtheSon
QUOTE (Consolidate @ Nov 26 2008, 23:28) *
Your 'principle' has nothing to do with it.

Enlighten me, then.
Consolidate
QUOTE (ThirdrockfromtheSon @ Nov 26 2008, 23:04) *
Enlighten me, then.

They've put their prices up in general http://www.eaststirlingfc.co.uk/ticket_info.html

Its got nowt to do with us or Stenny.
ThirdrockfromtheSon
QUOTE (Consolidate @ Nov 27 2008, 00:32) *
They've put their prices up in general http://www.eaststirlingfc.co.uk/ticket_info.html

Its got nowt to do with us or Stenny.

Thanks for that.
latapythelegend
guess its paper boy time for me! bag.gif
holme
Hmm it was £10 for a season ticket for cons not alot of cash really

Shire were letting everyone in for a quid unless they were in full time employment and were between 16 and 60 come on you canny buy a stennie pie for that
Alloa_Shire
QUOTE (Allan @ Nov 26 2008, 21:43) *
I know East Stirlingshire and Falkirk complained about everything during their lodgings at Ochilview but I can't see why if you look at the decrepit "stadiums" they came from before Ochilview. It must have seemed like the Emirates compared with their grounds.

Tell you what Allan, give me Firs Park over Ochilview anyday. I don't say that because ones our own and the other one is the Tonka stadium, i seriously mean it. I would rather play in a tip of a stadium that has atmosphere and freedom to walk, rather than a one stand effort that is souless (even when we play there) and you have to sit down.

Exactly Holme, £10 for a season ticket for u16's and still people decide to complain and have a cheap pop at the club, bloody hell you cannae win.
Boghead Ben
At the recent 'Shire v Dumbarton match, the DISPLAYED entry fee at Ochilview was £9 for adults.

Of course, the gate checkers insisted that fans pay the £10 'Shire price. Several fans complained about the fact that the displayed price was only £9.

Under Trading Standards rules, the price you only need to pay, for any goods or services, is the displayed tariff.

For info only!
Alloa_Shire
QUOTE (Boghead Ben @ Nov 28 2008, 12:59) *
At the recent 'Shire v Dumbarton match, the DISPLAYED entry fee at Ochilview was £9 for adults.

Of course, the gate checkers insisted that fans pay the £10 'Shire price. Several fans complained about the fact that the displayed price was only £9.

Under Trading Standards rules, the price you only need to pay, for any goods or services, is the displayed tariff.

For info only!

Boghead Ben, the prices displayed are for Stenny games mate, Stenny will not take there prices down and swap and change them every 2 weeks. The next question will be "why do The Shire charge more top get into the ground than Stenny, it's the same ground?" and it's easy to answer that, The Shire have to pay rent on the place and it's a way of being able to do that.

Not having a pop at you Boghead Ben, this is a problem pretty much every week and is something The Shire board have brought up with Stenny, but Stenny are not budging on the matter, and if I am totally honest I can't blame them for not doing it, it's alot of work and hassle for someone to do.
chub

Yes we do complain Allan, and it's for one simple reason, Firs was a great ground to watch football at. Lesser Firs isn't
Fudge
Our ground is more than adequate for 3rd and 2nd div football. It has a good, steep inclined stand which is close to the pitch and a covered terrace. You really couldn't ask for much more, other than the terracing not being behind the goals.

It's not really in our club' best interests to allow a section of our ground to be deemed unfit for use because it's a safety hazard and another part have its potential capacity reduced because we don't have crash barriers in our crumbling wood and gravel terracing in the name of giving the ground 'character'.
dubs
QUOTE (chub @ Nov 28 2008, 15:21) *
Yes we do complain Allan, and it's for one simple reason, Firs was a great ground to watch football at. Lesser Firs isn't

f**k off then you ungrateful shit.
chub
QUOTE (dubs @ Nov 28 2008, 14:44) *
f**k off then you ungrateful shit.

I would if i could but Shire play at your dump now so i will keep going back
Boghead Ben
QUOTE (Alloa_Shire @ Nov 28 2008, 14:16) *
Boghead Ben, the prices displayed are for Stenny games mate, Stenny will not take there prices down and swap and change them every 2 weeks. The next question will be "why do The Shire charge more top get into the ground than Stenny, it's the same ground?" and it's easy to answer that, The Shire have to pay rent on the place and it's a way of being able to do that.

Not having a pop at you Boghead Ben, this is a problem pretty much every week and is something The Shire board have brought up with Stenny, but Stenny are not budging on the matter, and if I am totally honest I can't blame them for not doing it, it's alot of work and hassle for someone to do.

Understand completely on the pricing.

But .... how hard is it to put up a laminated sign every other Saturday?

Incidentally, the observation about the price difference has been highlighted to the SFL.
Again, for info only!!
GoTeamGaz
QUOTE (Alloa_Shire @ Nov 28 2008, 14:16) *
... this is a problem pretty much every week and is something The Shire board have brought up with Stenny, but Stenny are not budging on the matter, and if I am totally honest I can't blame them for not doing it, it's alot of work and hassle for someone to do.

put 4(?) sheets of paper over the signs, would take two seconds, would be interested to know if the 'home stand' was charged at a pound more to accomidate the extra costs? Also if stenny mind being charged £10 to get into a terrace that they charge shire fans £9 to get into?

Fair enough its only a pound (and we do charge more than anyone else!) but you cant say its a lot of work!
Alloa_Shire
QUOTE (GoTeamGaz @ Nov 28 2008, 21:56) *
put 4(?) sheets of paper over the signs, would take two seconds, would be interested to know if the 'home stand' was charged at a pound more to accomidate the extra costs? Also if stenny mind being charged £10 to get into a terrace that they charge shire fans £9 to get into?

Fair enough its only a pound (and we do charge more than anyone else!) but you cant say its a lot of work!

Being a Season Ticket holder I have not actually paid any attention but I will do and get back to you on this.

As for the Stenny fans part, I think they just except it, in the same way they except they can not use Season Tickets for there "away" game against The Shire. As for the £1 extra pricing, I don't think you can blame either club for doing it, Stenny want to make money out of The Shire being there (quite rightly so) and The Shire need to charge slightly more to cover these costs (quite rightly so) the football is still affordable and the prices for season tickets more than made up for it, although it doesn't help the away support out.

As you say about the displaying of the price, there is probably no excuse for this and it's something I will try and bring up, if it has not already been done.
Thundermonkey

Talk about delusions of grandeur.

I don't mind Ochilview, it's a tidy wee stadium and it was easier than travelling to Airdrie, Alloa or Stirling to watch Falkirk. It was too small though and having away fans stand on flat tarmac was an embarrasment. Maybe folk moaned because it was a very tough time for FFC, we had just moved from our home. Imagine how you'd feel sharing with Camelon.

I'd have given anything to have been back at Brockville though, still would.
Alloa_Shire
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Nov 29 2008, 10:40) *
I'd have given anything to have been back at Brockville though, still would.

I'd give anything to get back to Firs. These grounds might be old and decreped but there is something missing from these state of the art stadiums, give me a ground like Firs Park or Brockville over The Falkirk Stadium or SHS anyday.
sons for spl
prices for football games are a joke these days, drop them right down lets fill the stadiums!
latapythelegend
QUOTE (sons for spl @ Nov 29 2008, 12:21) *
prices for football games are a joke these days, drop them right down lets fill the stadiums!

clubs need to look at these things from a financial perspective as well though
Conjecture
[/quote]

I doubt if the Stenny Board would complain if the Shire changed the signs for their games as long as they changed them back again.

The point about justifying the extra pound by saying that Shire have to pay rent though is nonsense. If Shire were still playing at Firs Park they would surely have to pay a lot more to maintain the ground than the cost of the rent. If not, then I presume they would still be playing there.

A ground entry charge is all inclusive.
holme
QUOTE (Conjecture @ Dec 2 2008, 17:05) *
A ground entry charge is all inclusive.

Sorry mate I did not understand this bit
L14VVY
QUOTE (sons for spl @ Nov 29 2008, 12:21) *

Would dropping them to a pound for adults and a pound for kids fill the stadium or would the same folk turn up and get in for less?

IMO it's not a sliding scale of price and attendance. I do agree prices are too steep though.
Neilly
Supposing you let everyone in for a pound our attendances would still not shift much I don't think and would that would probably apply for more teams in our division as well.

More people would simply sit in a boozer all day than wasting an hour and a half watching their local side. It's sad but true.