Full Version: Celtic V Inverness Caledonian Thistle
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > SPL General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
myshkin
Might as well get this one started with the lows, and further lows of European football gone for another season.

It's going to be as flat as a pancake but I still take Celtic to stumble over the line against Inverness despite their impressive recent away form.

Prediction: 2-1 to Celtic as we head full tilt into the bid for four in a row. Inverness refused a shy after fourteen minutes which will prove to be the turning point in the match.

First person to quote that Super....... phrase wins a balloon and shiny new toy. smile.gif
TheScarf
4-0 to the Bigots.
SandyCromarty
If an obscure wee diddy team in the north of Denmark can rip Celtic a new ersehole I see no reason why a wee diddy team from the north of Scotland can't do the same.
myshkin
QUOTE (SandyCromarty @ Nov 26 2008, 10:19) *
If an obscure wee diddy team in the north of Denmark can rip Celtic a new ersehole I see no reason why a wee diddy team from the north of Scotland can't do the same.

Indeed that is true. Celtic are vulnerable and Inverness travel with a very good chance. It will be tight but I would imagine the award of said erronious shy will be the difference between them on the day.
shameless
Celtic to take out their frustrations on ICT and win 3-1
jay_7
It's got to the stage now where I genuinely don't know what to expect from ICT. Obviously we have a bit of history with Celtic and I'd like to think we're capable of continuing our winning tradition, but with the obvious striker selection being Gary Wood to strike fear into the heart of the Celtic defence, I can't see us putting up much of a fight.

3-0 to the green and manky grey cretins.
SandyCromarty
Well I lost heavily last night on Villareal and Pertick Whistle ( ya gadgie b*****ds RC!!) so I might just might put a dollop on The Caley.
capybara
ICT have cost me points in the predictor the last 2 weeks..You have to fancy Celtic to come roaring back here,but stranger things have happened.

Celtic to win, i wonder what the crowd will be like. Size and attitude.
ChampionsElect
3-0.
ICTChris
Caley win 3-0 with a Garry Wood hat-trick.

LordHawHaw
I'm hoping that we tear ICT apart to make up for going out of Europe completely, I'm pretty sure the fans will not be accepting anything other then 100% effort

5-1 Celtic
SandyCromarty
So where was your 100% effort the other night? you can have all the feckin effort in the world but if you don't have the feckin skill and knowhow yoiu can kiss yer erse cheerio in the real football world, 58,000 arses on seats at Parkhead and you have a twat like Samaras as your striker?? 50,000 odd season tickets and you can't attract players that the like of Arsenal can with a lot less feckin seats.
Wakey wakey Celtic fans.
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (SandyCromarty @ Nov 27 2008, 09:10) *
So where was your 100% effort the other night? you can have all the feckin effort in the world but if you don't have the feckin skill and knowhow yoiu can kiss yer erse cheerio in the real football world, 58,000 arses on seats at Parkhead and you have a twat like Samaras as your striker?? 50,000 odd season tickets and you can't attract players that the like of Arsenal can with a lot less feckin seats.
Wakey wakey Celtic fans.

What???
RiG
QUOTE (SandyCromarty @ Nov 27 2008, 09:10) *
50,000 odd season tickets and you can't attract players that the like of Arsenal can with a lot less feckin seats.
Wakey wakey Celtic fans.

Eh? The Emirates only has about 500 fewer seats than Celtic Park. Arsenal had 50,000 at a Carling Cup game agains Wigan recently. Celtic are lucky if they get over 25,000 for CIS Cup games at Home. I would imagine Arsenal have a similar number of ST holders as well.
Wellboy1978
I predict that Celtic will get some dodgy refereeing decisions.
SandyCromarty
Feck me Rig, how did the hair splitters convention go this year??

The Emirates is a new deal up until a couple of years ago when Arsenal at Highbury had circa 40,00 bums on seats whereas Celtic have had 58,000 for a decade.

Lets see now, thats roughly 18,000 less than Celtic and putting Sky tv money to one side thats still a lot of dosh, plus Celtic are guaranteed a european place year in year out.
RiG
QUOTE (SandyCromarty @ Nov 27 2008, 13:31) *
Feck me Rig, how did the hair splitters convention go this year??

The Emirates is a new deal up until a couple of years ago when Arsenal at Highbury had circa 40,00 bums on seats whereas Celtic have had 58,000 for a decade.

Lets see now, thats roughly 18,000 less than Celtic and putting Sky tv money to one side thats still a lot of dosh, plus Celtic are guaranteed a european place year in year out.

Wasn't aware how far back you were looking at and I was going on the last few seasons. Arsenal are pretty guranteed European football each year as well and I know you say take the Sky money out of the equation but is a big factor as to why players would rather play for some English dross like Bolton over teams like Celtic and Rangers. They simply cannot compete on that level.

Even when Arsenal were at Highbury they were getting better players on bigger contracts despite having a smaller crowd. Bergkamp and Henry for example.

Hair Splitters convention was grand by the way wink.gif
EWS
Arsenal play in a better league and have higher ticket prices?

Plus they get a hell of a lot more money from TV.
Donnelly
QUOTE (Wellboy1978 @ Nov 27 2008, 11:25) *

I predict ICT will get a similar amount of dodgy decisions but they wont receive anywhere near as much press.
jay_7
QUOTE (Donnelly @ Nov 27 2008, 14:37) *
I predict ICT will get a similar amount of dodgy decisions but they wont receive anywhere near as much press.

laugh.gif You actually believe that, don't you?...

1eye.gif
Donnelly
QUOTE (jay_7 @ Nov 27 2008, 14:44) *
laugh.gif You actually believe that, don't you?...

1eye.gif

It's happened in just about every other game we've played this season. Smart money says it'll happen again.
jay_7
QUOTE (Donnelly @ Nov 27 2008, 15:25) *
It's happened in just about every other game we've played this season. Smart money says it'll happen again.

1eye.gif
sophia
Super
Caley
Go
Ballistic
Celtic
Are
Atrocious

Which one of your balloons do I win and what type of toy do you have in mind?

RiG a "hair splitter"! Well done. Can we expect fewer posts from now on?
ChampionsElect
Ian Black to get booked, then make a worse challenge and stay on the pictch. But Celtics dodgy throw in awarded deep in their own half will be the match winner.
chris123
QUOTE (sophia @ Nov 27 2008, 20:59) *
Super
Caley
Go
Ballistic
Celtic
Are
Atrocious

Which one of your balloons do I win and what type of toy do you have in mind?

RiG a "hair splitter"! Well done. Can we expect fewer posts from now on?

Sophia in RiG obsession shocker ohmy.gif

rolleyes.gif
SandyCromarty
On the Arsenal - Celtic spending I'd like to remind the younger footballing punter among us that way before the big bucks tv era you have now Celtic were notorious for being parsimonious when shelling out for players, when The Whites ran the show and Billy McNeil found himself in serious financial problems with a lomond side Hotel he invested in he went to the board and asked for help and sadly was shown the door forcing him to resign, much the same hapened to Jock Stein and who can forget Jimmy Johnstone driving Lafferty's lorries to the building sites delivering bricks etc.
Teams like Arsenal built for the future by investing in football talent, whether it came from Govan or Ghana was immaterial.

If only Celtic did the same they would be massive now and maybe more young scottish boys would be kicking balls around instead of kicking granny's and stealing their pensions.

No Celtic haven't shown much mercy over the years and for too long believed that local glasgow or central belt footballing talent would suffice as these boys loved the club and played for peanuts while the board got fat and greedy, sure that home grown talent did well with winning the European Cup but nothing since then and now they find themselves being the whipping boy of urope puerly because they will not risk their money on real footballing talent instead of Man City failures.

And just for the Rangers Fans among us it wasn't that long ago as I stood in a bar in Fuengerola that Willie Henderson was shuffling through the bar selling replica Lacoste shirts etc out of a plastic bag.

Is it any wonder that Scotland hasn't bid for the Olympics when the price of the Sunday Post is at all time high, shocking!
Highland1
QUOTE (Wellboy1978 @ Nov 27 2008, 12:25) *

I thought that was normal procedure.
I think Celtic will be out to erase Wednesday nights result and hammer ICT 6-1.
RiG
QUOTE (chris123 @ Nov 28 2008, 00:57) *
Sophia in RiG obsession shocker ohmy.gif

rolleyes.gif

Wellboy1978
Scot McDonald will get caught offside about 15 times.
khenny
Time to go 7pts clear with a 4-0 humping of ICT.

Will have to change me sig after this game I think to ...

4 in a row!!
seamus
QUOTE (khenny @ Nov 29 2008, 14:34) *
Time to go 7pts clear with a 4-0 humping of ICT.

Will have to change me sig after this game I think to ...

4 in a row!!

Not yet im Superstitious huh.gif
JUMPURS
Thank f**k Rangers lost today with ICT being a big of a bogey team for us, puts less pressure on us. But hopefully we will be in a mood to go rip a team a new one after the result midweek and the terrible press.
Davie Bhoy
Need a link....Anyone sad.gif
JUMPURS
SOP Cast but it is quite delayed and not smoothe.
Davie Bhoy
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Nov 29 2008, 15:33) *
SOP Cast but it is quite delayed and not smoothe.

SOP Cast...to the technophobics like me....WTF?
ICTChris
Sounds like we've played alright but were just undone playing a little bit too high up the park. From the radio commentary we've had a few chances but aren't taking the right options.
Beyemystic
Totally unacceptable.
Davie Bhoy
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 29 2008, 16:57) *
Totally unacceptable.

C'mon a tad harsh. 3pts was the important thing today esp after having to play away in Europe in midweek. We've had some games this season where we have played good football but today was all about bouncing back and getting the 3pts. Caley would have known our players were on a downer and tried to capatlise on it and we managed to get through it. Proffesional enough from us
IDG
That sounded much better than I was expecting. If only our players had actually had a shot between them. Sounded on the radio as if they got stage fright and kept trying to pass the buck, and Wood is too inexperienced for games like this to be up front on his own. Still, fairly encouraging. Hope we can keep up this level of performance for a while. A striker in January and with any luck we should be comfortable this season.

Cue next weeks mauling at home.
Beyemystic
QUOTE (IDG @ Nov 29 2008, 17:09) *
That sounded much better than I was expecting. If only our players had actually had a shot between them. Sounded on the radio as if they got stage fright and kept trying to pass the buck, and Wood is too inexperienced for games like this to be up front on his own. Still, fairly encouraging. Hope we can keep up this level of performance for a while. A striker in January and with any luck we should be comfortable this season.

Psst ... you're supposed to be apoplectic with some innocuous refereeing decision. wink.gif
IDG
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 29 2008, 17:56) *
Psst ... you're supposed to be apoplectic with some innocuous refereeing decision. wink.gif

Ah. Thanks for that. Though I was doing something wrong.

Grrr mad.gif .
bernie
QUOTE (Donnelly @ Nov 27 2008, 14:37) *

They did to.
H_B
f**k off Strachan.
guacamole
QUOTE (IDG @ Nov 29 2008, 17:09) *

As I am going, that will not happen. You heard it here first.
RiG
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 29 2008, 21:32) *
f**k off Strachan.

I must admit I found this comment...

Inverness will be proud of their performance in terms of making sure they did their job right and not wanting to get beat heavily.

....generously drenched in a wonderful irony sauce.
Beyemystic
Another tactical masterstroke from Strachan I see.

"Hmm things aren't really happening for us again today, let's freshen things up with our exciting free transfer signing from the other side of the world."

"But let's wait until the NINTIETH minute"
H_B
Time to bring in Roy Keane.

This 36 points out of 36 business just isnt the Celtic way. Roy will sort that out.
Beren
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 29 2008, 21:59) *
Time to bring in Roy Keane.

This 36 points out of 36 business just isnt the Celtic way. Roy will sort that out.

Sarcasm aside, you do have a point - that was only one goal for the natives today, whereas down in Sunderland, the locals were treated to a five goal feast. Entertainment indeed.
H_B
QUOTE (Eönwë @ Nov 29 2008, 22:10) *
Sarcasm aside, you do have a point - that was only one goal for the natives today, whereas down in Sunderland, the locals were treated to a five goal feast. Entertainment indeed.

Exactly.

Roy would bring 5 goal thrillers AND the fans would be home by half past 4. He is the perfect manager for Celtic.
Beyemystic
I'd welcome Roy with open arms as long as he didn't bring that big glipe of a goalkeeper with him.

Although tbf at this juncture I'd welcome Roy Cropper with open arms.