Full Version: Brian Carrigan
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Junior Football
Pages: 1, 2
mighty meadow
Just heard that Hamilton have accepted bids for Carrigan by Irvine Meadow and Linlithgow. Up to the player now. Did hear on Saturday that travelling to Irvine is a bit of a problem for him as he doesn't drive.

No matter where he decides to go it still poses the question, is Chris Strain's job safe? Would he be given such a sum of money to spend if he was leaving the club anytime soon?
FuzzyBear
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 24 2008, 15:05) *
Just heard that Hamilton have accepted bids for Carrigan by Irvine Meadow and Linlithgow. Up to the player now. Did hear on Saturday that travelling to Irvine is a bit of a problem for him as he doesn't drive.

No matter where he decides to go it still poses the question, is Chris Strain's job safe? Would he be given such a sum of money to spend if he was leaving the club anytime soon?

Would be very surprised if Linlithgow committee released the funds for him but would be delighted if they did.
mighty meadow
QUOTE (FuzzyBear @ Nov 24 2008, 15:08) *
Would be very surprised if Linlithgow committee released the funds for him but would be delighted if they did.

As I said m8 it is unconfirmed but the person who told me was the person who originally put Meadow in touch with the player so he is pretty reliable.
FuzzyBear
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 24 2008, 15:15) *
As I said m8 it is unconfirmed but the person who told me was the person who originally put Meadow in touch with the player so he is pretty reliable.

Wouldnt be surprised if he ended up at your mob but the Rose committee are notoriously tight with cash. The £15k we got for Carrots and the Scottish Cup run money last year has all disappeared with virtually none being invested in the team.
mighty meadow
QUOTE (FuzzyBear @ Nov 24 2008, 15:22) *
Wouldnt be surprised if he ended up at your mob but the Rose committee are notoriously tight with cash. The £15k we got for Carrots and the Scottish Cup run money last year has all disappeared with virtually none being invested in the team.

The figure I heard that Hamilton accepted was exactly half that amount Fuzzy.
lyt
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 24 2008, 15:23) *
The figure I heard that Hamilton accepted was exactly half that amount Fuzzy.

havent heard any ambulance sirens going of in lithgy the night m8. seven and a half grand ffs that would wipe oor three amigos oot in one go laugh.gif
newport county
QUOTE (lyt @ Nov 24 2008, 20:34) *
havent heard any ambulance sirens going of in lithgy the night m8. seven and a half grand ffs that would wipe oor three amigos oot in one go laugh.gif

Who are your 3 amigos?.are they the comittee. ohmy.gif
lyt
QUOTE (newport county @ Nov 24 2008, 21:18) *

they are the three of many who think they are the only ones sitting at the table
Joethistle
QUOTE (newport county @ Nov 24 2008, 21:18) *

They dictate eveything that is to happen at lithgy NC. Bit like the old sfa selectors that picked the team for international games. A bygone age rolleyes.gif
lazyjack
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 24 2008, 15:05) *

imo it says hes going nowhere unless the bid has come from above?
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (lazyjack @ Nov 24 2008, 22:00) *
imo it says hes going nowhere unless the bid has come from above?

Good rumour on Lok forum that Accies have accepted a high four figure bid from M£dda and as a a sweetener non-driver Carrots will be chauffeured to training and matches!
lazyjack
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 24 2008, 22:25) *
Good rumour on Lok forum that Accies have accepted a high four figure bid from M£dda and as a a sweetener non-driver Carrots will be chauffeured to training and matches!

laugh.gif The chauffer bit did cross my mind, So that means Strains here for the forseeable sad.gif
Waspie
Last weeks rumour was that he was bound for Alloa. Nothing came of it.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (Waspie @ Nov 24 2008, 23:04) *
Last weeks rumour was that he was bound for Alloa. Nothing came of it.

Could Alloa afford £7500?
mighty meadow
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 24 2008, 22:25) *

Jamie, it was one of my pals who phoned Chris Strain last Tuesday to give him Carrigan's phone number. I won't go into detail here but he knows friends of Carrigan through work and they had asked him for a contact number for Meadow. Anyway he was talking to two high ranking Meadow men when we were in the club at half-time on Saturday and they said that Linllitgow had put in a bid of 7k but that Meadow were still interested, the only problem being transport (thnk he lives in Condorrat). Anyway, my m8 phoned me again yesterday saying that both Meadow and Rose had bids of 7.5k accepted by Hamilton and it was now up to the player. I don't think that will be far off the truth to be honest considering the source that it came from.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 25 2008, 08:21) *
Jamie, it was one of my pals who phoned Chris Strain last Tuesday to give him Carrigan's phone number. I won't go into detail here but he knows friends of Carrigan through work and they had asked him for a contact number for Meadow. Anyway he was talking to two high ranking Meadow men when we were in the club at half-time on Saturday and they said that Linllitgow had put in a bid of 7k but that Meadow were still interested, the only problem being transport (thnk he lives in Condorrat). Anyway, my m8 phoned me again yesterday saying that both Meadow and Rose had bids of 7.5k accepted by Hamilton and it was now up to the player. I don't think that will be far off the truth to be honest considering the source that it came from.

It was the taxi service part I found most amusing! laugh.gif
star214
is that at 15% vat or 17.5%.
Waspie
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 24 2008, 23:57) *
Could Alloa afford £7500?

Depends. The club aims to stay within its playing budget every year and going on that probably not. The owner is however a millionaire and if the gaffer made a hearfelt appeal for £7500 to buy Carrigan he might get it. The rumour I heard though was that Carrots was coming on loan to Alloa, but it appears to have been bullsh*t.
lyt
who told you carrigan didnt drive,
lyt
Set to eclipse all these moves, however, is a sensational bid by Irvine Meadow boss Chris Strain to land Scotland Juniors midfielder Stevie Docherty from troubled Bathgate Thistle.

Another West Region club, reportedly Arthurlie, were said to have enquired after ex-Airdrie skipper Doc, whose non-cup tied status means he is eligible for this weekend's Citylink Scottish Junior Cup third-round ties.

However, word has it that gaffer Strain's determination to get his man has won the day and, assuming there are no last-minute hitches, the likelihood is Doc will be included as part of the Medda travelling party heading through to face Cambuslang Rangers on Saturday

who are meadow no going to buy this week. taken from the evening news £££££££££££££££ for the manager whos going to walk or get the sack

drs
QUOTE (lyt @ Nov 25 2008, 14:52) *
Set to eclipse all these moves, however, is a sensational bid by Irvine Meadow boss Chris Strain to land Scotland Juniors midfielder Stevie Docherty from troubled Bathgate Thistle.

Old News : http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=96005 wink.gif
mighty meadow
QUOTE (lyt @ Nov 25 2008, 14:52) *

Another West Region club, reportedly Arthurlie, were said to have enquired after ex-Airdrie skipper Doc, whose non-cup tied status means he is eligible for this weekend's Citylink Scottish Junior Cup third-round ties.

However, word has it that gaffer Strain's determination to get his man has won the day and, assuming there are no last-minute hitches, the likelihood is Doc will be included as part of the Medda travelling party heading through to face Cambuslang Rangers on Saturday

who are meadow no going to buy this week. taken from the evening news £££££££££££££££ for the manager whos going to walk or get the sack

From what I heard yesterday it looks more likely Carrigan will be going back to Linlithgow.
HighstRose
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 26 2008, 11:18) *
From what I heard yesterday it looks more likely Carrigan will be going back to Linlithgow.

PLEASE.Tell us more biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Auld Heid
It's all went quiet, what is happening is he coming or not- where is he heading for??
mighty meadow
QUOTE (Auld Heid @ Nov 27 2008, 08:34) *
It's all went quiet, what is happening is he coming or not- where is he heading for??

Heard again today that he is heading back to Linlithgow. 3rd hand news though so don't take it as gospel although it did come from one of Carrigans' pals.
sconnybotland
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 27 2008, 12:06) *
Heard again today that he is heading back to Linlithgow. 3rd hand news though so don't take it as gospel although it did come from one of Carrigans' pals.

Don't worry "Mighty" Medda no one takes anything you say on this or indeed any other site as gospel. Have you got a day off school today then? ohmy.gif
mighty meadow
QUOTE (sconnybotland @ Nov 27 2008, 13:24) *
Don't worry "Mighty" Medda no one takes anything you say on this or indeed any other site as gospel. Have you got a day off school today then? ohmy.gif

Aye m8. Decided to plunk it this afternoon. U doing the same? Was just reading the local papers there. Hope that's not you that's been stealing the fake tan from Boots in Irvine rolleyes.gif
lyt
carrigan is back at linlithgow OFFICIAL
newport county
QUOTE (lyt @ Nov 27 2008, 21:24) *

Can anyone else confirm this??(not that i doubt you LYT.It just sounds very sudden). P.S. God help the rest of the east teams if this is true or you may as well present Linlithgow with the leauge trophy before february ohmy.gif .(Has the Bathgate sugar daddy melted to a gooey mess Joe tongue.gif ).
OneJamesMcCarthy
It is confirmed on Accies site.
Shame really that his off field antics have let him down again.
newport county
QUOTE (OneJamesMcCarthy @ Nov 28 2008, 08:12) *

Can you please explain?and let us all know what "alleged "antics were. ohmy.gif
OneJamesMcCarthy
QUOTE (newport county @ Nov 28 2008, 08:34) *
Can you please explain?and let us all know what "alleged "antics were. ohmy.gif

Allegedly,socialising during the week and nights out before matches.

I honestly did think Carrots was good enough for the SPL,but not once was he in the 18 man squad.
coolio
QUOTE (newport county @ Nov 28 2008, 08:00) *
Can anyone else confirm this??(not that i doubt you LYT.It just sounds very sudden). P.S. God help the rest of the east teams if this is true or you may as well present Linlithgow with the leauge trophy before february ohmy.gif .(Has the Bathgate sugar daddy melted to a gooey mess Joe tongue.gif ).
Was Bathgate ever intrested in Carrigan, the boy is a right good player but what a waste. A dream move from junior to SPL surely to god he could have moved to first division or at least a better standard than junior. He chose lithgae because he knows he can do whatever he wants. Big fish small pond. cool.gif
Towser's Mate
QUOTE (OneJamesMcCarthy @ Nov 28 2008, 08:12) *

Interesting that he didn't join the Irvine Rehab Unit.

Sponsors perks too tempting there perhaps?????
newport county
QUOTE (coolio @ Nov 28 2008, 09:12) *
Was Bathgate ever intrested in Carrigan, the boy is a right good player but what a waste. A dream move from junior to SPL surely to god he could have moved to first division or at least a better standard than junior. He chose lithgae because he knows he can do whatever he wants. Big fish small pond. cool.gif

I am led to believe Linlithgow already has big fish wink.gif but not in a small pond but a rather beautiful loch tongue.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
drs
Carrigan has had a well publicised battle with drink since at least 2001 and to think he'd be in any fit state to play at SPL level is laughable and it's a damning inisght into the mindset of Billy Reid that he thought he would be able to.
HTG
QUOTE (drs @ Nov 28 2008, 10:07) *
Carrigan has had a well publicised battle with drink since at least 2001 and to think he'd be in any fit state to play at SPL level is laughable and it's a damning inisght into the mindset of Billy Reid that he thought he would be able to.

Well if not SPL, he'll certainly do a job in the juniors. And to be fair, he'd have done a job at Stirling's level too. In his 2 years with us before he went back to Accies, his effort levels on the pitch stood comparison with any of the rest. There may be an element of big fish/small pond but what about a boy that just wants to be happy playing his football?? He could have sat and strung Hamilton out on full time wages through the remainder of his contract or he could have earned more money even in the small pond of junior football (see Lister). But he's back playing football with a club where he clearly enjoyed his time and I'm absolutely chuffed to bits that he's made that decision once it became clear that Accies wasn't going to work out.
mighty meadow
QUOTE (Towser's Mate @ Nov 28 2008, 09:44) *

Meaning?????

coolio
QUOTE (newport county @ Nov 28 2008, 10:00) *
I am led to believe Linlithgow already has big fish wink.gif but not in a small pond but a rather beautiful loch tongue.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Great signing for your team but what a let down as an individual. Sounds like a move to carlton athletic is not to far away? cool.gif Ps heard Mcsween is on the list can you confirm?
Towser's Mate
QUOTE (coolio @ Nov 28 2008, 12:11) *
Sounds like a move to carlton athletic is not to far away?

Carlton Athletic or Irvine Meadow, is there a difference??
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (OneJamesMcCarthy @ Nov 28 2008, 09:08) *

I honestly did think Carrots was good enough for the SPL,but not once was he in the 18 man squad.

I can confirm this. I have seen Mr Carrigan in the Masonic Arms in Condorrat on a number of occasions in recent weeks.
ldk
QUOTE (lyt @ Nov 27 2008, 21:24) *

wiil he play against kelty tommorow then
mighty meadow
QUOTE (Towser's Mate @ Nov 28 2008, 09:44) *

Think I've got it now Towser. Big mouth, small brain. You MUST be a Talbot supporter. PMSL biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
lyt
QUOTE (OneJamesMcCarthy @ Nov 28 2008, 09:08) *

sorry to burst your bubble m8 but i will get conformation.but im led to believe its a loan deal untill the end of junior season.but in saying that if hes a drunk as your making out it might be for longer HOPEFULLY
lyt
forget last post its a two year deal. ya dancer. girfuy
Ronson
Carrigan's off field habits are his to deal with. Me, I am just chuffed to bits that he's back. He has never caused any problems at Prestonfield and can't wait to hopefully see him against Kelty, who will no doubt have their own plans of dealing with him.
Great to see a lad who is simply the best player in junior football and as someone else has mentioned could have gone for really big bucks to IM or stayed at HA and drawn a decent wage.
Terriffic news for junior fans who want to watch a craftsman at work.
mighty meadow
QUOTE (Ronson @ Nov 28 2008, 17:39) *
Carrigan's off field habits are his to deal with. Me, I am just chuffed to bits that he's back. He has never caused any problems at Prestonfield and can't wait to hopefully see him against Kelty, who will no doubt have their own plans of dealing with him.
Great to see a lad who is simply the best player in junior football and as someone else has mentioned could have gone for really big bucks to IM or stayed at HA and drawn a decent wage.
Terriffic news for junior fans who want to watch a craftsman at work.

From what I heard on Tuesday m8 he didn't have that option.
rrm
QUOTE (ldk @ Nov 28 2008, 15:48) *
wiil he play against kelty tommorow then

If he's sober. laugh.gif
scobby doo
coke heed next whytie will be back andthe lines will be flying
roseyposey
QUOTE (scobby doo @ Nov 28 2008, 21:15) *
coke heed next whytie will be back andthe lines will be flying

and your a fanny