Full Version: Toon V Ton
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Domestic Cup Football
doulikefish
nice to welcome old friends back at balmoor and hopefully meet some new ones!
should be a good game but morton are in form just now so should expect to win but i reckon we will run them close
Dunning1874
In two minds about going to this one, probably going out on Friday night so getting up at 9 for the bus to the game could be a challenge. If I go it'll be my first time there since the playoff game. sad.gif

I'm bloody sick of away games, this'll be our seventh cup game this season and our sixth away from home. Anyway, we're obviously the favourites but you never know with the way things have gone for us at Balmoor in the past.

I predict a scrappy, slightly lucky victory by one goal.
BluebirdTon
If true, what cock socket made this an all ticket match ?

Anyway, I hope we don't make too many changes to the squad, if any - we always tend to do shit up there asides the odd occasion.
doulikefish
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Nov 24 2008, 22:17) *
If true, what cock socket made this an all ticket match ?

i was surprised when i heard about this on saturday aswell!!
morton got 500 for the stand you had for the play off game
home fans are also having to get a ticket aswell,fecking never sell out
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (doulikefish @ Nov 25 2008, 09:05) *
i was surprised when i heard about this on saturday aswell!!
morton got 500 for the stand you had for the play off game
home fans are also having to get a ticket aswell,fecking never sell out

I don't even think it was a complete sell out for the play-off game.

Madness !
doulikefish
there will be tickets on sale on saturday aswell at stadio dela balmoor
vikingTON
I expected a defeat when the draw was made but it's fair to say we've picked up a bit since then. On current form I'd expect a fairly comfortable away win: 2-0.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Peterhead are a decent team but they seem to get turned over big style by first divie teams for some reason.

3-0 Morton
BluebirdTon
If we go out close to full strength then we'll win this one comfortably, otherwise we might be in for a bit of a difficult day out - I'd imagine Irons won't make too many changes but certainly a couple, some forced. McAlister will surely be rested as will Grady, maybe Shimmin. Other than that I hope we stick to what we've been playing with, otherwise we might just see ourselves out early.
The Naitch
I'm sure we'll make hard work of it, as per usual, but reckon we'll win this one 2-0.
Tonsilitis
1-0 to Morton at half time and a load of chances missed.
vikingTON
Congrats to Peterhead, hopefully you'll get a decent draw in the next round.
Needless to say I'm fucking hacked off about that.
port-ton
Congratulations Peterhead, now all you need to do is win the cup so we can say we were beaten off the winners. thanks in advance smile.gif
Mon The Clyde
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
BullyWee1878
lazyjack
laugh.gif Beaten by a Diddy team in a not so Diddy cup laugh.gif
Red White and Black
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Nov 27 2008, 00:19) *
I expected a defeat when the draw was made but it's fair to say we've picked up a bit since then. On current form I'd expect a fairly comfortable away win: 2-0.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

You reap what you sow.

Edited for the sake of the wee fanny that is Vikington.

vikingTON
QUOTE (lazyjack @ Nov 29 2008, 17:52) *
laugh.gif Beaten by a Diddy team in a not so Diddy cup laugh.gif

You can be the judge of that after your impending relegation. biggrin.gif

QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 29 2008, 17:53) *

You reap what you sew.

Actually, Morton had several chances to get the second goal before the daft red card. I was nigh spot on. biggrin.gif
Frustrated? Oui.
Concerned? Non.
port-ton
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 29 2008, 17:53) *

You reap what you sew.

You keep saying that, when i very much doubt you even know what it means.

thats the way the cookie crumbles.
vikingTON
QUOTE (port-ton @ Nov 29 2008, 18:08) *

Particularly when the 'sew' he refers to would be on clothes, rather than the plantation of crops. I'm sure he knew that though. laugh.gif
EdinburghLivi
Ah, how the Latest Scores thread backfired...
RosscoTon
Not a good result atall and the players should be ashmed. Not sure if they took Peterhead too lightly and got what they deserved as couldn't make it due to a massive hangover.

Well done Peterhead though, always give us a good game and I like their supporters.

Good luck in the next round and rest of the season.
RkClyde
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

That is all.
doulikefish
QUOTE (RosscoTon @ Nov 29 2008, 18:32) *
Not a good result atall and the players should be ashmed. Not sure if they took Peterhead too lightly and got what they deserved as couldn't make it due to a massive hangover.

Well done Peterhead though, always give us a good game and I like their supporters.

Good luck in the next round and rest of the season.

cheers to all the ton fans best wishes!!
we rode our luck today the game should have been dead and buried at half time
sending off changed the game and i missed it as i was in the bog laugh.gif
but hey ho 2 good goals that sees us in the next round
Red White and Black
QUOTE (port-ton @ Nov 29 2008, 18:08) *

thats the way the cookie crumbles.

Just to put it in simpler terms.

When you come onto internet forums and start "bigging" up your team and bringing down mine. You have to accept that one day you will slip up and your team will get beaten. Thats happened, and all the weeks of pish that you and some of your other deluded fans have been subjecting fans of other first division teams has come back to haunt you. So yes, I know what it means.

Now go get a life its Saturday night. You might pick up a minger in donnachies.
Kirky_Clyde
laugh.gif laugh.gif
port-ton
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 29 2008, 21:06) *
Just to put it in simpler terms.

When you come onto internet forums and start "bigging" up your team and bringing down mine. You have to accept that one day you will slip up and your team will get beaten. Thats happened, and all the weeks of pish that you and some of your other deluded fans have been subjecting fans of other first division teams has come back to haunt you. So yes, I know what it means.

Now go get a life its Saturday night. You might pick up a minger in donnachies.

Where have i bigged up my team, and when have i brung down yours? Morton and Clyde will be fighting it out to avoid relegation this season, Clyde are the worst team in the division for me but not by much, and with the transfer window still to come anything could happen. Morton fans have been subjecting other fans of the division by saying we could potentially finish fourth ohmy.gif wow, we really need to get a reality check there, because of the outstanding talent there is this season. oh wait, despite being the most competitive first division season ever, it is also the poorest in terms of quality. There is not one good team in it that would survive in the SPL. If you don't think your team could potentially finish fourth in this league then it is you who is deluded and not Morton fans.

go get a life he says as he posts after 9pm on a saturday. Im watching my niece so my mother can get a well deserved night out, so i'll stay where i am thanks. And i've never been out in the port in my life, infact the furthest i've been from my house in the last three years is to the bus stop outside my house.

just trying to kill two birds with one stone, y'know?
Red White and Black
QUOTE (port-ton @ Nov 29 2008, 21:37) *
Where have i bigged up my team, and when have i brung down yours? Morton and Clyde will be fighting it out to avoid relegation this season, Clyde are the worst team in the division for me but not by much, and with the transfer window still to come anything could happen. Morton fans have been subjecting other fans of the division by saying we could potentially finish fourth ohmy.gif wow, we really need to get a reality check there, because of the outstanding talent there is this season. oh wait, despite being the most competitive first division season ever, it is also the poorest in terms of quality. There is not one good team in it that would survive in the SPL. If you don't think your team could potentially finish fourth in this league then it is you who is deluded and not Morton fans.

Im not saying YOU in particular has bigged up your team or brought mine down, you just chose to answer on behalf of your supporters, there are a select few who make it their one purpose on P&B to have a go at anyone who doesnt support Morton, and to try and wind up other supporters with the crap they type. Again, im not adding you to that because I honestly can not remember you posting anything in that vein. You have got yourself caught in an arguement that really isnt yours. Im not sure how our team will finish this season, although after today, im doubtful even after a convincing win, that we'll move up many (if any places) in this league, as performance was scrappy to say the least.

go get a life he says as he posts after 9pm on a saturday. Im watching my niece so my mother can get a well deserved night out, so i'll stay where i am thanks. And i've never been out in the port in my life, infact the furthest i've been from my house in the last three years is to the bus stop outside my house.

Being the full time carer of my wife who has Multiple Sclerosis, I dont have a life except for the 90 minutes of Football that I get on a Saturday. Thats an honourable thing to be doing watching your neice - did you know its Britney night on the X Factor tongue.gif . As for nights out in the Port. I dont blame you one bit. The place is a dump. Thats the reason im where I am now. Im sorry you havent been out your house except to the bus stop for three years. Perhaps you should try and get out more -I'm Not being cheeky or funny, just a bit concerned. Its shit being stuck in a lot. I know!!!

Dont take it personally . Its only a forum.

just trying to kill two birds with one stone, y'know?
port-ton
I only got into an argument with you because you called Morton fans deluded fools, for what i seen as nothing other than saying we could finish 4th in a very poor league filled with very poor teams, including ourselves. our league is going to be decided on little runs that teams go on and get as many points as they can in that time. There are obviously some fans of Morton who like to go on the wind up and get reactions from people, but so has every team, and most of them are ignored. Like Savo, used to get a rise out of just about every Morton supporter, but now struggles to get one, as you learn what he's upto and just ignore it, after the same tiresome act again and again.

well that is a very honourable thing you do aswell, and i apologise for my comment about you not having a life. I did know it was Britney night on the X Factor, as i made my niece watch it tongue.gif then she made me watch im a celebrity sad.gif.

laugh.gif i get out all the time, i just get the bus to greenock or the train to glasgow. I just would never go out anywhere in the port, not even to the shops down the street. When i said i only go to the bus stop i meant to get on the bus, to get the hell out of here.

im sure we can put this behind us and it could be the start of a very beautiful friendship. tongue.gif

as usual i go off on one when i get into a heated debate, but once i've calmed down im alright, so sorry if i've offended you at all. Just don't tar all Morton fans with one brush, espescially when the ones you don't like are mostly Wind up merchants who don't actually believe what they're saying. I didn't mean to call you stupid either, although i do seem to go down the grammar/punctuation a lot on here when im in heated debate. just ignore me when i say stuff like that. tongue.gif

i feel like a hug now, if anyone wants to join i think a group hug is in order. wub.gif
Garrowhillclyde
'Ton fans must be glad about the Shire Vs Livi result - takes the attention of them somewhat!
port-ton
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Nov 29 2008, 23:08) *
'Ton fans must be glad about the Shire Vs Livi result - takes the attention of them somewhat!

Partick and County both struggled aswell it seems, it just shows you how poor the quality is in the First division this year.
blueone

Morton have only themselves and their number nine in particular to blame. Comfortably cruising through the game although only one goal ahead Morton looked the most likely to add to their score when the striker lost it in a moment of madness. Sharpie flicked the ball against him for a throw in and somehow he didn't like this and picked up the ball and threw it straight into Sharpie's face. The linesman was less than a yard away and the ref had a good view too. He had no other option than the red card.

After that Peterhead began to find some spaces which were not there before and managed to get an equaliser and finally the winner in the last minute. It brought back memories of the time we beat Morton 4-1 in the cup and the centre forward was sent off for using an elbow on our defender.

When the ref was announced as Scott McDonald my heart sank but although he had his usual quota of silly decisions he got the main correct - the red card obviously and when Skinner handled the ball I thought a yellow was correct as it was twenty five yards from goal and there were lots of other players around.

By the way I don't mind hugging a Morton fan, or a Clyde fan for that matter.
Dunning1874
I'd like to make it clear before I start my match report that I don't intend to patronise Peterhead here, as something I say probably will come across as patronising, and now I've said that bit, I already sound patronising. sad.gif Apologies but I'm half cut, needed to be for that bus journey home. wink.gif

Anyway, a basic summary of the game is that for all that over the piece Morton were the better team, Peterhead still deserved to win as Morton didn't come out of first gear from the opening goal to the equaliser. There's the patronising part out the way. laugh.gif

Right from the start it just looked like a completely dull game that would fizzle out, and it appeared that way after just five minutes. Looked like two teams that were so cold they couldn't be arsed with a game of football. Both knocked it about a bit in midfield but never offered any real threat of a goalscoring chance. Then after the umpteenth time one of our full backs (on this occasion, McGregor) floated a high ball up to the centre forwards more in hope than expectation, Weatherson won the header and knocked it down to Wake who neatly touched it past his man into Masterton's path, and he had a fairly simple finish past the keeper from ten yards. Then it was back to dull crap with the half fizzling out. I gave up with five minutes to go to half time and stood with my hands under the hand drier to keep hypothermia at bay, very much doubt I missed anything.

Second half, same old shite, but you could already sense the nerves creeping through the Morton fans, knowing that most teams would be fine when looking perfectly comfortable with a one goal lead against a lower league team, but knowing that if any team lacks some bottle when it's badly needed it's Morton, ever since 03/04. The first decent effort of the half was a Masterton freekick that was heading low into the bottom corner of the net but the Peterhead goalkeeper saved well and parried well away from the goal. The keeper had a good game, didn't rise to the harsh stick he was getting until he turned round with a massive grin at the final whistle.

That freekick was the only real chance until the pivotal moment of the game. Didn't see it myself as I was busy contemplating heading back to the hand drier to keep my hands warm again so I'd turned away for a second after Peterhead had a throw in, heard the Peterhead fans roar and turned back to see the ref showing Weatherson a red card. I'm not going to comment as I was told he chucked the ball off the Peterhead player's face, but I didn't see it myself so don't know if it was intentional or accidental in throwing the ball to him for the throw, so I can't possibly say if the ref made the right decision or not. Anyway, we'd already put Russell on for Wake by this point, so you couldn't help but pity Russell having to play on his own at centre forward. Also nothing Davie Irons could do so you can't criticise him on that, he can't legislate for a centre forward getting sent off out of nothing.

From that, Peterhead took heart and the general consensus was if they got one, they'd get two, so it was vital to keep it tight. Everything was going down Peterhead's left as they were getting a lot of room to swing it in up against McGregor, but we dealt with it at first. Sure enough though, once the goal came, it was down that side. Absolutely criminal from our centre backs though. Ball comes over and there's Ross in five yards of space (discounting our goalkeeper of course) inside the six yard box and it was a simple header for him. I'm sorry as Greacen and Shimmin have both had great seasons so far, but it's utterly unforgivable for centre backs to allow a man so much room so close to goal when a cross comes in. I don't know who was meant to be picking Ross up, but he should be ashamed of himself whoever it was.

From then, we all knew what was going to happen. It was a foregone conclusion that we would be seeing a Peterhead win, even though we did have our chances and had been the better team for the majority of the game. Bavidge received a pass out on the left and cut inside McGregor before having a great shot, but it just flew wide beyond the far post. Maybe we can ride our luck and get a replay at Cappielow we thought? Perhaps we hoped for even better than that for a second as McGuffie nodded it down for Jenkins in the box. A sitter, and nine times out of ten he'd have stuck it bang in the corner of the net and gave the keeper no chance whatsoever, but he sliced it and it went a good few yards wide.

Peterhead looked more and more likely as the game went on, but we still had our chances, despite Finlayson failing to beat the first man a single time with his set peices athough he was dangerous from open play. Anyway, Finlayson passes it inside to Jenkins, who's closed down and forced to go backwards. Plays it back to McGregor on the half way line, who puts a good ball in for the first time all afternoon, and Greacen nods it down to McGuffie who smashes it towards the net but the goalkeeper brings off a great save to get it clear, and the ball falls to a Peterhead defender who smashes it up the park to Gunn in the centre circle. Off he dribbles. Smith tries to take him down 30 yards from goal and fails miserably, he skips away, only McGregor ahead of him now and he's in the box. Cuthbert charges to narrow the angle and who appears, bursting in on Gunn's left but the man who nearly scored ten minutes before, Martin Bavidge. With Cuthbert anticipating Gunn trying to stick it away, he knocks it into Bavidge's path towards the post and Cuthbert had no time to get back and cover it. 2-1. Game, set, match.

No final match with St. Mirren at Love Street, and I just have a horrible feeling that the fourth round draw will bring out St. Mirren v Peterhead. I might cry if it does.

Anyway, for all that I hate your ground and I'll never be able to stomach a trip to Balmoor again, good luck to Peterhead in the cup. Just don't get promoted, I'd like to avoid games with Peterhead completely for quite some time. We had the joy of winning the Third Division, but since then the games with you have largely brought misery.

I'm away to melt the ice on my toes now.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (port-ton @ Nov 29 2008, 23:11) *
Partick and County both struggled aswell it seems, it just shows you how poor the quality is in the First division this year.

No it doesn't, we could have atleast turned up today.

I would have been surprised if we were even that bad when we played Airdrie away - not once were we ever ontop of the game. Peterhead deserved their victory, although they're shite, not quite as bad as Clyde quite frankly - but still shite.

A much deserved reality check for us, our approach to that game was quite obviously far too big headed and we deserved to get gubbed in the fashion we did.

Best of luck to the Blue Toon in the next round. wink.gif
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Well done Peterhead. I predicted a 3-0 Morton win so Ive got egg on my pus, thanks to that useless kunt Weatherston who seems to have screwed it up big time for Morton.
Good luck in the next round.

PS - we wur pish.
RosscoTon
Like I said well done Peterhead and good luck in next round.

I hope the homosexual invasion of Clyde fans on this thread doesn't spoil the Toon' fans reading.
AyrshireTon
Seems we were in little danger until the red card - thanks a feckin bunch Peter.

Well done Peterhead - hope you get a decent draw in the next round.
vikingTON
I guess this defeat yesterday made Clyde fans' day - after the big lunchtime kick-off ended in such disappointment too.
RosscoTon
I hope the draw takes Clyde to Balmoor.
BishyTON
QUOTE (RosscoTon @ Nov 30 2008, 16:55) *

Yeah after the load of pish some of their fans have spouted recently they deserve that frozen torture!
BlueToonTV
Video highlights from the game are now available online:

Peterhead v Morton
clyde til we die
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Nov 30 2008, 14:32) *
I guess this defeat yesterday made Clyde fans' day - after the big lunchtime kick-off ended in such disappointment too.

Our game kicked off at 3 as usual, wierdo laugh.gif

QUOTE (RosscoTon @ Nov 30 2008, 16:55) *

QUOTE (BishyTON @ Nov 30 2008, 17:17) *
Yeah after the load of pish some of their fans have spouted recently they deserve that frozen torture!

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (BlueToonTV @ Dec 1 2008, 07:56) *
Video highlights from the game are now available online:

Peterhead v Morton

Kick us while we're down, ya p***k. tongue.gif