Full Version: Tain Thistle On The Telly!
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Highland League
TainThistleFC
You mean nobody saw Tain Thistle in the national papers or BBC, or heard them on the radio?

tongue.gif

http://uk.youtube.com/user/tainthistlefc - for anybody who missed it!
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (TainThistleFC @ Nov 24 2008, 13:25) *
You mean nobody saw Tain Thistle in the national papers or BBC, or heard them on the radio?

tongue.gif

hehe good story. Though having been the non-league researcher with CM/FM from CM00-01 to FM06 I wish I'd taken Pollok's inclusion to the press at that time! laugh.gif
Andrewinspace
If only QOS would sign that keeper. He looks at though he could become an instant Cult Hero.
TainThistleFC
QUOTE (Andrewinspace @ Nov 26 2008, 16:43) *
If only QOS would sign that keeper. He looks at though he could become an instant Cult Hero.

That's our club secretary Alan, who is 3rd choice at the club but in his heydey he trained with County as a youth. He can still move when needed! tongue.gif
Andrewinspace
QUOTE (TainThistleFC @ Nov 26 2008, 19:48) *
That's our club secretary Alan, who is 3rd choice at the club but in his heydey he trained with County as a youth. He can still move when needed! tongue.gif

3rd choice! Criminal. his mere charisma should be able deflect goal attempts let alone his superior goal keeping skills.
your manager needs a head check.
TainThistleFC
Haha, I'll let him know of his Queens following.

We're open to a swap deal. Our 3rd choice keeper for Stephen Dobbie.
WaffenThinMint
QUOTE (TainThistleFC @ Nov 24 2008, 13:25) *

tongue.gif

Well, if you play FIFA Manager 2009, you can now play all of the following non-league sides:

All clubs with their correct badges & strips (& in some cases grounds...)

From the Highland & North...

Banchory Saint Ternan
Banks O'Dee
Brora Rangers
Buckie Thistle
Clachnacuddin
Culter
Cove Rangers
Deveronvale
Dundee North End
Ellon United
Forres Mechanics
Fraserburgh
Glenrothes
Huntly
Keith
Sauchie
Tayport

Blairgowrie
Bon Accord
Burntisland Shipyard
Fort William
Golspie Sutherland
Inverurie Loco Works
Jeanfield Swifts
King's Park
Lewis United
Lochgelly United
Lossiemouth
Nairn County
Oban Saints
Parkvale
Rothes
Wick Academy

From the West & South of Scotland

Arthurlie
Ashfield
Auchinleck Talbot
Beith
Clydebank
Girvan
Irvine Meadow
Johnstone Burgh
Kilsyth Rangers
Kilwinning Rangers
Mid-Annandale
Nithsdale Wanderers
Pollok
Rob Roy
Shotts Bon Accord
St Cuthbert's Wanderers
Threave Rovers
Wigtown & Bladnoch

Abbey Vale
Abercorn
Ayr Parkhouse
Creetown
Crichton
Fleet Star
Galston
Heston Rovers
Johnstone
Newton Stewart
Port Glasgow Athletic
Renton
Royal Albert
Stranraer Athletic
Third Lanark
Vale of Leven

And finally in the East...

Armadale Thistle
Bathgate Thistle
Bo'ness United
Broxburn Athletic
Coldstream
Craigroyston
Dalbeattie Star
Edinburgh City
Edinburgh University
Gala Fairydean
Gretna

Linlithgow Rose
Newtongrange Star

Preston Athletic
Selkirk
Spartans
Vale of Leithan
Whitburn
Whitehall Welfare

Civil Service Strollers
Easthouses Lily
Edinburgh Athletic
Eyemouth Athletic
FBC of Edinburgh
Hawick Royal Albert
Heriot-Watt University
Kelso United
Leith Athletic
Lothian Thistle
Meadowbank Thistle
Ormiston
Peebles
Penicuik Athletic
St Bernard's
Tynecastle

Just go here for the update!

Scottish League Pyramid

tongue.gif

(You can also play as Newmains United CFC and Tranent if you want)
cmontheloknow
Virtually every non-league club is in the Football Manager database, correct colours and ground included. A lot of players too.
WaffenThinMint
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Dec 7 2008, 19:39) *
Virtually every non-league club is in the Football Manager database, correct colours and ground included. A lot of players too.

Hmmm, I checked this out with the FM 2009 players at work, & they said that it doesn't actually give the non-league sides a non-league to play in - you've just got to replace one of the Division 3 clubs. Also they said it makes no allowance for what size of stadium or potential local fanbase the club may have - very much ported teams get the "one size fits all" option.

(Then again, most of them admit to have played it irregularly since release, being royal pissed off with the new version & seem to be playing Far Cry 2 instead!)

The Scottish Pyramid mod for FIFA M 09 allows you to take over a non-league team & guide them into the Scottish league proper (thereby succeeding where Gordon Smith & co failed!)

Anyway, here's what Pollok's Newlandsfield looks like in the FIFA M 09 game...some of the terracing finally giving way to that seating the auld yins have been nagging for the last decade biggrin.gif

cmontheloknow
QUOTE (WaffenThinMint @ Dec 8 2008, 22:09) *
Hmmm, I checked this out with the FM 2009 players at work, & they said that it doesn't actually give the non-league sides a non-league to play in - you've just got to replace one of the Division 3 clubs. Also they said it makes no allowance for what size of stadium or potential local fanbase the club may have - very much ported teams get the "one size fits all" option.

(Then again, most of them admit to have played it irregularly since release, being royal pissed off with the new version & seem to be playing Far Cry 2 instead!)

The Scottish Pyramid mod for FIFA M 09 allows you to take over a non-league team & guide them into the Scottish league proper (thereby succeeding where Gordon Smith & co failed!)

Anyway, here's what Pollok's Newlandsfield looks like in the FIFA M 09 game...some of the terracing finally giving way to that seating the auld yins have been nagging for the last decade biggrin.gif

Yeah there is no set league for the non-league sides as SI don't model outwith the 3rd Division, but a side can be put in Division 3.

It is however wrong to say that stadium etc is not accounted for - every club has its own stadium and correct capacity, and fanbase is also set in the database (min, max, average). The bulk of the research was done by myself around 2005 and I'm no longer involved so recent versions have been a wee bit out of date, dead teams still in etc, but the basics are there.
TainThistleFC
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Dec 8 2008, 22:38) *
Yeah there is no set league for the non-league sides as SI don't model outwith the 3rd Division, but a side can be put in Division 3.

It is however wrong to say that stadium etc is not accounted for - every club has its own stadium and correct capacity, and fanbase is also set in the database (min, max, average). The bulk of the research was done by myself around 2005 and I'm no longer involved so recent versions have been a wee bit out of date, dead teams still in etc, but the basics are there.

cmontheloknow - what is the screenshot from?
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (TainThistleFC @ Dec 31 2008, 16:45) *

Not my screenshot but it's from FIFA Manager 09. A game I don't own and don't intend to own.
WaffenThinMint
QUOTE (TainThistleFC @ Dec 31 2008, 16:45) *

It's from FIFA Manager 09 - the basic difference between it and Football Manager 09 is that the latter concentrates more on the stats side of things, which FIFA Manager 09's emphasis has always been more on the 3D match and the stadium building side of things.

FM09 tried to do a proper 3D match thing and it was a complete pigs breakfast, many sticking with FM08 in disgust.

You pays your money & takes your choice. I've tried both, and much prefer FIFA Manager 09. Both games btw offer a ridiculous array of fan based add-ons, some of which can make a real peach of things (& some which don't...so always check before you add smile.gif )