Full Version: Mechanics V Star
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Domestic Cup Football
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
dougie18
Just wondering if any dalbeattie crazies heading up to watch the star get gubbed by forres. My prediction 3-1 forres.
Sermani
Last time i heard, there's only a couple of committee members coming up on the team bus.

The Star's on a good run at the moment, fancy a draw and bring you lot back down here.
dougie18
QUOTE (Sermani @ Nov 25 2008, 10:13) *
Last time i heard, there's only a couple of committee members coming up on the team bus.

The Star's on a good run at the moment, fancy a draw and bring you lot back down here.

Not much support then, pity as it could be a really good match with the 4th round incentive at stake. Think it will be close but feel Forres will be just too strong for them although it may yet take a replay, but class will shine through in the end.
Hedgecutter
My other half's from Keith who somehow got dumped out the cup by the Can Cans and my grandmother's from Dalbeattie. Guess who I'll be supporting?!

I might have popped across to Forres for this to see my 'EoS league team of choice' as it's only 1.5 hrs on the train from Aberdeen, shame I'll be at Meadowbank on Sat afternoon instead watching us get into that other EoS side though... Edinburgh erm... something.
dougie18
QUOTE (Hedgecutter @ Nov 26 2008, 12:27) *
My other half's from Keith who somehow got dumped out the cup by the Can Cans and my grandmother's from Dalbeattie. Guess who I'll be supporting?!

I might have popped across to Forres for this to see my 'EoS league team of choice' as it's only 1.5 hrs on the train from Aberdeen, shame I'll be at Meadowbank on Sat afternoon instead watching us get into that other EoS side though... Edinburgh erm... something.

If Keith had put as much effort into taking penalties as they did whinging they might have had a chance of going through. Forres v star is like premiership v championship, always a chance of an upset but class usually wins through in the end. Wee team normally only get one bite at the cherry, so we should see forres come through this one.
ThatBoyRonaldo
my dads from forres, so we'll be going up on saturday. home game against keith was my first taste of the mosset park atmosphere, cant wait to go back

however, there was one guy behind us who kept shouting 'come on the foreeeeece!' is that normal or is he just retarded?
dougie18
QUOTE (ThatBoyRonaldo @ Nov 26 2008, 18:15) *
my dads from forres, so we'll be going up on saturday. home game against keith was my first taste of the mosset park atmosphere, cant wait to go back

however, there was one guy behind us who kept shouting 'come on the foreeeeece!' is that normal or is he just retarded?

Aye that would have been one of the youth loons from forres, tend to just ignore it after a while!! Thought there might have been a few fans from the star coming up due to the run that they're on, however looks like there won't be any!! Would have created a bit of an atmosphere. Obviously still living in the shadows of the big team down there (threave), at least they took a supporters bus up to brora in the 1st round.
dougie18
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 26 2008, 18:39) *
Aye that would have been one of the youth loons from forres, tend to just ignore it after a while!! Thought there might have been a few fans from the star coming up due to the run that they're on, however looks like there won't be any!! Would have created a bit of an atmosphere. Obviously still living in the shadows of the big team down there (threave), at least they took a supporters bus up to brora in the 1st round.

Bookies are having a laugh with this tie, all of them have star as odds on to win the game on Saturday!! Ladbrokes even offering 11/4 Forres and 8/11 Star, think I'll have some of that. Mon the can cans!!!
Sermani
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 26 2008, 19:39) *

Threave never played Brora in the 1st round, they played Golspie and they never took a supporters bus. Think it was either Newton or Wigtown in a replay. As for living in the big mighty Threave's shadows, you are having a laugh. They play in the Southern Counties, a league lower than the East league that the Star play in. Nobody is jealous of them, in fact nobody really likes them, except themselves.

The Star usually take a bus to away games in the Scottish Cup but seems that Forres is just a bit to far at this time of year. If there was am sure they would have made plenty of noise. Most of there home games are lucky to get a crowd of about 50, but usually doubles at half time when the gateman goes away and you can get in for nothing.
Sermani
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 27 2008, 15:45) *
Bookies are having a laugh with this tie, all of them have star as odds on to win the game on Saturday!! Ladbrokes even offering 11/4 Forres and 8/11 Star, think I'll have some of that. Mon the can cans!!!

Your right, Bookies are having a laugh, i was hoping the Star were going to be about 11/4, but at 8/11, not really worth a bet.
dougie18
Aye you're right sorry it was Golspie, but they did have a load of fans there that's for sure, thought they came by minibus. Threave playing in a lower league than star?? So whoever wins south league gets promotion to east league and vice versa? - no didn't think so. East for east teams, south for south teams, highland for highland teams - it's all regionalised. You telling me that the likes of selkirk and peebles are bigger and better than the likes of threave, stranraer, saints? Don't think so. They might have a few more stronger teams in the east but its not a higher league than the south. I know threave were in it then left but that was due to travelling costs ie having to travel further east!!
I could be wrong though, if star get up to 50 supporters at home then they really must be in the big league!!
Sermani
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 27 2008, 19:09) *
Aye you're right sorry it was Golspie, but they did have a load of fans there that's for sure, thought they came by minibus. Threave playing in a lower league than star?? So whoever wins south league gets promotion to east league and vice versa? - no didn't think so. East for east teams, south for south teams, highland for highland teams - it's all regionalised. You telling me that the likes of selkirk and peebles are bigger and better than the likes of threave, stranraer, saints? Don't think so. They might have a few more stronger teams in the east but its not a higher league than the south. I know threave were in it then left but that was due to travelling costs ie having to travel further east!!
I could be wrong though, if star get up to 50 supporters at home then they really must be in the big league!!

50, you maybe laugh, but some of the Southern Counties games are literarily watched by 1 man and his dog and the level of football is just a bit higher than sunday league although in the last couple of seasons it has picked up a bit.
Lower league? just look at the Southern Counties teams results in the Scottish Cup or the regional qualifying cup over the years, not to great. Threave have aquitted themselves and the league well, team of young eager players with probably the best coach in the region. Threave, Saints and maybe a couple of others probably would be competitive with the Selkirk and Peebles of this world but they never play on a regular basis to find out. As for Stranraer if the First Team goes belly up the Southern Counties team might get a chance to prove themselves in SFL Div 2. Would Annan have got into the League set up if they had stayed in the Southern Counties?
Bar the 4 teams from the Highlands that are in the league, the only games i've been to in the Highland league are at Cove and Deveronvale. Two nice grounds, well run clubs, standard of football and professionalism seems a lot higher, seem well supported by the buisness community and get a few hundred through the turnstile as well decent social clubs. I would say the Highland league is far superior than the East and South leagues, but is it Higher or lower? or are we all on a level playing field?
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (ThatBoyRonaldo @ Nov 26 2008, 18:15) *

Its entirely normal for Forres. Everyone associated with the place is a mentalist.

Also, Forres play in the worst kit in the world....

Brown and yellow hoops. laugh.gif

Will Star have more than two players booked for diving this weekend?
WJR
A lot of confident chat from Forres. What is that based on? HFL teams don't have a great record in the SC or HFL Select against the EoS Select for that matter and Dalbeattie are sitting top of the EoSL

You'll need to play very well to put away Dalbeattie. Have seen them twice in recent games against us. We won the cup game but were utterly gubbed in the second half of the league game after that.

They're a good team, I fancy them to take the tie.
dougie18
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 27 2008, 21:57) *
Its entirely normal for Forres. Everyone associated with the place is a mentalist.

Also, Forres play in the worst kit in the world....

Brown and yellow hoops. laugh.gif

Will Star have more than two players booked for diving this weekend?

Brown and yellow hoops???? Its chocolate and gold ya cnut!!!! Mon the can cans!!!!
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 27 2008, 22:25) *
Brown and yellow hoops???? Its chocolate and gold ya cnut!!!! Mon the can cans!!!!

Brown and yellow. You can pretend its gold if it makes you feel better. laugh.gif
dougie18
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 27 2008, 22:28) *
Brown and yellow. You can pretend its gold if it makes you feel better. laugh.gif

Away and shite man. Go and stick your money on forres at 11/4 and cheer yourself up by making a few quid.
dougie18
QUOTE (WJR @ Nov 27 2008, 22:20) *
A lot of confident chat from Forres. What is that based on? HFL teams don't have a great record in the SC or HFL Select against the EoS Select for that matter and Dalbeattie are sitting top of the EoSL

You'll need to play very well to put away Dalbeattie. Have seen them twice in recent games against us. We won the cup game but were utterly gubbed in the second half of the league game after that.

They're a good team, I fancy them to take the tie.

What is it based on??? We're playing a bunch of nobody's playing in a mickey mouse league!! Even lossie almost beat them!!
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 27 2008, 22:33) *
Away and shite man. Go and stick your money on forres at 11/4 and cheer yourself up by making a few quid.

If Forres play like they did against Lossie a few weeks back, Dalbeattie will have this wrapped up in half an hour. laugh.gif
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 27 2008, 22:37) *
What is it based on??? We're playing a bunch of nobody's playing in a mickey mouse league!! Even lossie almost beat them!!

You, sir, are speaking out of your hole.
dougie18
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 27 2008, 22:52) *
You, sir, are speaking out of your hole.

Aye right and lossie are the great highland hopes - think not!!! Since we played the dross of lossie (always brought down to their low standard) we have had a decent run of form. Drew at home to keith in the scottish cup (should have won), won the replay at keith!!!, lost narrowly to a late goal against huntly, drew 2-2 away to the champions at cove, beat wick comprehensively 4-1 (going on 10) last week. Based on this then it is fair to assume that forres must be in with a big shout. 11/4 at home against eos team - you're having a laugh (I will be when the dosh is paid into my account from ladbrokes!!).
WJR
Calm yersels down to a panic boys, it's only the third round.

Not sure how far Forres have ever got and Jimmy and I have exchanged posts before on us v Lossie.

But Dougie, if you take Dalbeattie lightly you are likely to get your arse felt. That's all I'm saying.
dougie18
QUOTE (WJR @ Nov 27 2008, 23:11) *
Calm yersels down to a panic boys, it's only the third round.

Not sure how far Forres have ever got and Jimmy and I have exchanged posts before on us v Lossie.

But Dougie, if you take Dalbeattie lightly you are likely to get your arse felt. That's all I'm saying.

Certainly not taking the star lightly, they may be top of the eos league just now but thats only a fluke at the moment. They are punching well above their weight and I would certainly not have been as confident against a team like spartans ( who have a bit of pedigree). Remember star only scraped through at home against lossie (who are pish) by scoring late on!!
Its only the 3rd round but remember its the big fish (teams like queens and dundee) who enter the next round!!!
WJR
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 27 2008, 23:22) *
Certainly not taking the star lightly, they may be top of the eos league just now but thats only a fluke at the moment. They are punching well above their weight and I would certainly not have been as confident against a team like spartans ( who have a bit of pedigree). Remember star only scraped through at home against lossie (who are pish) by scoring late on!!
Its only the 3rd round but remember its the big fish (teams like queens and dundee) who enter the next round!!!

Dougie, this painful to write but we were 2-1 up at half time, best I have seen us play this year (and that includes the 2 games against Pollok and the second half against Annan) and we lost 5-2.

If the game had lasted another 10 mins it might have been 8-2.

Early days sure but they have played a lot of games and are not top by a fluke - we're now needing snookers.

Enjoy your game though.
dougie18
QUOTE (WJR @ Nov 27 2008, 23:31) *
Dougie, this painful to write but we were 2-1 up at half time, best I have seen us play this year (and that includes the 2 games against Pollok and the second half against Annan) and we lost 5-2.

If the game had lasted another 10 mins it might have been 8-2.

Early days sure but they have played a lot of games and are not top by a fluke - we're now needing snookers.

Enjoy your game though.

Well if thats the case then the standard of the eos league must have dropped a fair bit. It's only been a few years since the star were struggling in the south league. Even when they made the jump to the east they found it tough to get up into the eos premier league. Its only lately, and as I say a fluke, that they have found themselves at the top of this league. Never mind they can have a swally on the bus back down on saturday to drown their sorrows. BRING BACK SKIN!!!
WJR
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 27 2008, 23:46) *
Well if thats the case then the standard of the eos league must have dropped a fair bit. It's only been a few years since the star were struggling in the south league. Even when they made the jump to the east they found it tough to get up into the eos premier league. Its only lately, and as I say a fluke, that they have found themselves at the top of this league. Never mind they can have a swally on the bus back down on saturday to drown their sorrows. BRING BACK SKIN!!!

Seems to be some chat that Skin will be back but it's only chat.

I've been surprised by their form and Heriot Watt but they are where they are.

Tell you what Dougie, I don't know how the betting among fans goes being a techno numptie but I'll bet you £20 that Star win the tie (they might need a replay).

PM me after the game and I'll tell you where to send the dosh!
dougie18
QUOTE (WJR @ Nov 28 2008, 00:00) *
Seems to be some chat that Skin will be back but it's only chat.

I've been surprised by their form and Heriot Watt but they are where they are.

Tell you what Dougie, I don't know how the betting among fans goes being a techno numptie but I'll bet you £20 that Star win the tie (they might need a replay).

PM me after the game and I'll tell you where to send the dosh!

I've already got my cash laid with ladbrokes and I'm getting better odds than what you are offering (11/4 @ ladbrokes)!!!
dougie18
Bit of an overnight frost up here last night and possibly the same on Friday night. Game should be ok though as sun forecast for saturday and should thaw out the ground no problems. Ground looking 1st class as usual so its all set for a cracker.
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 27 2008, 23:22) *
Remember star only scraped through at home against lossie (who are pish) by scoring late on!!

You have absolutely no idea what you are talking about, do you.

Forres are nothing but a team of hammer throwers.

As for the ground looking as good as ever...... laugh.gif
dougie18
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 28 2008, 10:05) *
You have absolutely no idea what you are talking about, do you.

Forres are nothing but a team of hammer throwers.

As for the ground looking as good as ever...... laugh.gif

I believe lossie were 1 up at ht against star (super joe scoring?) and it took late goals by star to win it.
Take a look at the current hl table (and previous years) - but when looking for lossie start at the bottom, it will be quicker
Aye and grant park is the san siro!!! Mosset Park is probably the best ground in the league.
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 28 2008, 10:21) *
I believe lossie were 1 up at ht against star (super joe scoring?) and it took late goals by star to win it.

Will you stop trying to tell someone who was at the game how it went, you poultice. laugh.gif

Mosset Park is probably the best ground in the league.

No enclosure, locked toilets, bad pies, a social club big enough for 6, a £2 entry fee to get into the stand and an atmosphere similar to the moon. Grand venue. laugh.gif
dougie18
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 28 2008, 10:41) *
Will you stop trying to tell someone who was at the game how it went, you poultice. laugh.gif

No enclosure, locked toilets, bad pies, a social club big enough for 6, a £2 entry fee to get into the stand and an atmosphere similar to the moon. Grand venue. laugh.gif

So that was how the game went then was it? In that case I was right star were lucky, thanks.

Bad pies are specially set aside for lossie fan(s)?? by my insider. Given a choice of grounds I would certainly pick mosset park over grant park anyday - but thats only my preference. Lets see what the atmosphere is like when we visit your refuse tip in march.

Anyway this is getting away from the point that its scottish cup weekend where the cans are about to reach the 4th round. Mon the cans!!
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 28 2008, 11:18) *
In that case I was right star were lucky, thanks.

You are wrong. About this, and plenty of other things. laugh.gif
dougie18
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 28 2008, 11:35) *
You are wrong. About this, and plenty of other things. laugh.gif

Ok then put me right then.
dougie18
Just wondering IF the unlikely happens and its a draw, will the replay next week ko at 1pm as there are no lights at dalbeattie.
HHH
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 28 2008, 12:18) *
So that was how the game went then was it? In that case I was right star were lucky, thanks.

Bad pies are specially set aside for lossie fan(s)?? by my insider. Given a choice of grounds I would certainly pick mosset park over grant park anyday - but thats only my preference. Lets see what the atmosphere is like when we visit your refuse tip in march.

Anyway this is getting away from the point that its scottish cup weekend where the cans are about to reach the 4th round. Mon the cans!!

star weren't lucky against Lossie!they pumped them!Lossie scored with there only shot at goal and star went on to run away wi the game!i wouldn't underestimate them as they are on good form at the moment and come of the back of a great result agaisnt Spartans away last week.hope they pump Forres just to shut u up coz u seem like a right numpty!
HHH
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 28 2008, 14:23) *
Just wondering IF the unlikely happens and its a draw, will the replay next week ko at 1pm as there are no lights at dalbeattie.

would imagine it'd prob be a 2pm kick-off if there was a replay.
Sermani
QUOTE (HHH @ Nov 28 2008, 16:08) *
would imagine it'd prob be a 2pm kick-off if there was a replay.

Prob be a 1.30 ko as you would need daylight in case there is extra time and penalties needed, although i am confident Star will only need 1 game
Sermani
[quote name='dougie18' date='Nov 27 2008, 23:46' post='2949868']
Never mind they can have a swally on the bus back down on saturday to drown their sorrows.

Dougie18, Star are staying in Inverness on Saturday night so am sure you could take your big winnings from your 50p you've got on at 11/4, down to them, introduce yourself and maybe buy them a drink. Thats if you are allowed out at night. Don't want to tell you where they are staying Friday night for the fear of you standing outside the hotel banging a drum in to the early hours.
dougie18
QUOTE (Sermani @ Nov 28 2008, 16:34) *
Don't want to tell you where they are staying Friday night for the fear of you standing outside the hotel banging a drum in to the early hours.

Heard they were staying in nairn on friday though can't be sure. Go on tell me where they are staying on friday and I can organise a big band reception!!!! smile.gif
dougie18
QUOTE (HHH @ Nov 28 2008, 16:07) *
star weren't lucky against Lossie!they pumped them!Lossie scored with there only shot at goal and star went on to run away wi the game!i wouldn't underestimate them as they are on good form at the moment and come of the back of a great result agaisnt Spartans away last week.hope they pump Forres just to shut u up coz u seem like a right numpty!

That' s not a very nice thing to say, you're hurting my feelings. Not underestimating star just applying logic (my logic anyway!!). Star are an average team from the eos league and they are away at a decent highland league team where the standard is much higher (thats my opinion), so applying my logic - forres to progress. Easy peasy!!!
smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 28 2008, 17:45) *
Star are an average team

Wrong

from the eos league

Correct. You got one bit right.

and they are away at a decent highland league team

Wrong

where the standard is much higher

Wrong.

The standard is better at Cove, Locos and Keith, Forres are not in that league, not even close, despite what you may think after the penalty shoot-out win over the Maroons. Forres are average. Below the top three of the HFL there is no difference between it and EOS.
dougie18
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 28 2008, 17:51) *
Forres are average. Below the top three of the HFL there is no difference between it and EOS.

Really. Where do lossie fit in then. Below average and poor compared to eos???
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 28 2008, 18:07) *
Really. Where do lossie fit in then. Below average and poor compared to eos???

I don't know why you keep bringing Lossie into it, like you telling me we're shite is like you presenting us with some kind of revelation that until now we couldn't see with our own eyes. Still. We don't play in brown, so thats something.

I don't know where Lossie fit in. We got done up like a kipper by Dalbeattie, but we also got humped off Spartans, who also humped Deveronvale and Buckie.

If you think the HFL is vastly ahead of the EOS in terms of standard, I will tell you once again you don't know your hoop from your elbow.
dougie18
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 28 2008, 18:37) *
Still. We don't play in brown, so thats something.

If you think the HFL is vastly ahead of the EOS in terms of standard, I will tell you once again you don't know your hoop from your elbow.

Chocolate and gold!!!

Am sure this is a public forum and I'm entitled to my point of view. I still say that with exception to maybe the top 3 teams in the eos, then yes the highland league is well ahead of the eos. Take a look at the likes of peebles and selkirk who are in the eos premier, you telling me they are as good as hfl? Then you've got the eos 1st division, now that's going down some. Only my view mind which could be wrong.
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 28 2008, 18:48) *
Take a look at the likes of peebles and selkirk who are in the eos premier, you telling me they are as good as hfl?

How would they fare against Brora or Rothes or Fort William? Clach got dumped by Edinburgh City. Spartans have beaten the best and the worst in recent years. Theres next to no difference between the two leagues any more

Plus, your strip is definitely brown and yellow. Or, as was remarked at Muppet Park recently, 'like looking at a jobbie with a lot of sweetcorn in it'. laugh.gif
dougie18
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 28 2008, 18:56) *
How would they fare against Brora or Rothes or Fort William? Golspie Sutherland, better than those three and almost universally touted as the only real potential entrant to the HFL from the north, got skelped 3-1 at home by Preston Athletic. Clach got dumped by Edinburgh City. Spartans have beaten the best and the worst in recent years. Theres next to no difference between the two leagues any more

Plus, your strip is definitely brown and yellow. Or, as was remarked at Muppet Park recently, 'like looking at a jobbie with a lot of sweetcorn in it'. laugh.gif

Would have to remove fort william from the debate as they are really pish, surely you must agree with that. I think the likes of brora and rothes would more than hold their own outwith the likes of the top 3 eos teams. Its very difficult to guage in one off games (although thats all we can do at the moment) but over a league season I think that hfl teams would be superior, with only about 3/4 eos teams competing.

Not heard that one about the strip. Must admit its not the best, but still bought one to wear underneath a jersey in winter!!! smile.gif

Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 28 2008, 19:10) *
Its very difficult to guage in one off games (although thats all we can do at the moment) but over a league season I think that hfl teams would be superior, with only about 3/4 eos teams competing.

If you can be bothered, go through the last few seasons cup results and see how many times the HFL comes out on top against the EOS league.
dougie18
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 28 2008, 19:17) *
If you can be bothered, go through the last few seasons cup results and see how many times the HFL comes out on top against the EOS league.

I'm not trawling through but please inform me as you obviously have. As I said cup games are one off and difficult to guage.
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE (dougie18 @ Nov 28 2008, 19:37) *
I'm not trawling through but please inform me as you obviously have. As I said cup games are one off and difficult to guage.

They're one off games, but theres been a lot of them recently. I haven't got the list on me just now. It's depressing reading. laugh.gif