Full Version: Loans
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Muddy Feet
Curious how many loan players does your club have? And have they made an impact?

Do you agree with them?

BCFC currently have John Baird in - so far the jury is in his favour.
staggy4life
East Fife have Dene Shields on loan from us.

Peterhead also have Craig Gunn and Daniel Moore on loan from us.

Would be interesting to see how they are getting on?
lzreid
We currently have Kevin Smith of Dundee Utd.

His scoring record has been tremendous and I'm of the opinion that if we lose him in January our season will suffer massively unless Wales' current form continues unti lthe end of the year.

I don't have a problem with loans per se. I have a problem with the way in which loans are run. I'm not happy that the parent club has the right (in most cases) to recall the player from loan for example or the limits to the numbers of loans each team can make use of.

Obviously there are different reasons for the 2 rules above and you could make the argument that the player being available to be recalled increases the number of decent quality players available but it still concerns me.

Fraser_QPFC
We have Paul Cairney and Ricky Little on loan-both from Partick Thistle. Cairney has been fairly disappointing this season compared to the last 2 seasons and Little has done well at right back. Little has another few weeks before being due back at Thistle and Cairney is until January-but it can be extended for the rest of the season I believe. Both have been allowed by Thistle to play in the cup game at Albion Rovers next week.
Shibuya
Thistle are obviously keen on em...

My mate gave me a loan of Fifa 2008, so I can practise and beat his ass at it.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Nov 23 2008, 16:55) *
East Fife have Dene Shields on loan from us.

Peterhead also have Craig Gunn and Daniel Moore on loan from us.

Would be interesting to see how they are getting on?

Shields is a good player. In a similar mould to Bobby Linn. Decent on the ball and fast. It`s just a pity we`re rudderless at the moment.
Would like to see Dean stay after January. A decent manager at the helm and things should improve for him.
1320Lichtie
Steven Doris great wee player from St Johnstone and Craig Forsyth big b*****ding left back from Dundee who can be good and bad.
Allan
Are there any rules regarding players on loan ? is there a limit on how many are allowed ?

In the past we have had a few loans, e.g. Simon Mensing , John Baird but I have always thought it was OK if you were part of the old boys network of football and were pally with the managers of some of the top clubs, but if not you had to make do with who you had signed in the signing windows.
Is there anything wrong with picking a team from your own players ?
Enigma
QUOTE (Allan @ Nov 24 2008, 00:18) *
Are there any rules regarding players on loan ? is there a limit on how many are allowed ?

I don't think there is a limit on loans coming from outside Scotland, hence why Hearts have at time has so many from Lithuania. I think the rules are no more that 5 domestic loans in one season and 4 domestic loans at one time, or so Football Manager tells me rolleyes.gif wink.gif .
GoRdY_b
We've nobody at the moment, our respectable league position is all down to the prudent signings made by Reid. I'd still like to see one or two loans in, but apparently Reid needs to move one or two on before he can do that.

As for who he moves on, Weaver must be top of the list.
drs
We currently have -

Scott Gibb - CB from Falkirk - looks good at this level.
Mark Docherty - MF from St Mirren - looks dreadful at this level.
RedWeb
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Nov 23 2008, 22:36) *
Shields is a good player. In a similar mould to Bobby Linn. Decent on the ball and fast. It`s just a pity we`re rudderless at the moment.

Aye, Dene is a cracking player at Division 2 level and was excellent for us in our promotion season. Would love to see him back at Forthbank in January cool.gif
bsd
Jamie Stevenson from Morton - woohoo!!

He's been mostly pish.

Robbo
We have a big loan from the bank. wink.gif
Gnash
QUOTE (RedWeb @ Nov 25 2008, 12:59) *
Aye, Dene is a cracking player at Division 2 level and was excellent for us in our promotion season. Would love to see him back at Forthbank in January B)

Wasn't like that in the first half of his loan - as I remember his most notable attribute was going down like a fairy. But around October, he suddenly turned into a really useful player.
young_red
QUOTE (drs @ Nov 25 2008, 11:12) *
We currently have -

Scott Gibb - CB from Falkirk - looks good at this level.
Mark Docherty - MF from St Mirren - looks dreadful at this level.

It's Craig Molloy we have on loan from St Mirren. Docherty was freed by them and signed by us.
RedWeb
QUOTE (young_red @ Nov 26 2008, 07:58) *
It's Craig Molloy we have on loan from St Mirren. Docherty was freed by them and signed by us.

To be fair to drs the two players are equally anonymous and so one could be forgiven for getting them mixed up huh.gif