Full Version: Brechin City V Ayr United
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
shameless
A win for Brechin City this coming Saturday against Ayr, another one of the pre-season favourites, would put Brechin in great position for promotion this season
doulikefish
QUOTE (shameless @ Nov 23 2008, 14:10) *
A win for Brechin City this coming Saturday against Ayr, another one of the pre-season favourites, would put Brechin in great position for promotion this season

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif forgot something laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Diehard
I think you will find that it is Scottish Cup day next week .
shameless
QUOTE (Diehard @ Nov 23 2008, 15:14) *

Next home league game then
raithfortheleague
i would like a draw with a few injuries biggrin.gif
chef1973
QUOTE (raithfortheleague @ Nov 23 2008, 15:20) *

running scared are we biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
raithfortheleague
no but every little helps
Nocturnal Groove
QUOTE (raithfortheleague @ Nov 23 2008, 15:20) *

Another result like yesterdays will do me fine, coupled with Stirlings gubbing of Raith
Shibuya
We'll lose by a the odd goal in three.
shameless
QUOTE (Shibuya @ Nov 23 2008, 16:43) *
We'll lose by a the odd goal in three.

should be a close game but have to agree on 2-1 brechin
PETE-AFC-BCFC
why you speaking about football in two weeks time when we have a scottish cup tie next week wink.gif
Jeff Venom
Id be most happy just not to lose at brechin. We have a stinking record there. Sadly i've a sly feeling our good form of late may come to an end.
AllanJM
Wait a minute I'm pretty sure you're only allowed to start a match thread this early when it's a match involving the mighty Rovers tongue.gif

Oh and a wee draw would do me nicely thank you.
CitizenSmith
QUOTE (Diehard @ Nov 23 2008, 15:14) *

Agreed. I find this thread slightly disrespectful. smile.gif

He who disses the 'big City' ermmmm..... probably wins.

Don't think we have much of chance, it sounds like Brechin have a pretty good thing going under O'Neil. Have spoken to a bunch of folk who watch second division football and the consensus is that you are the best team in the league by some way. My sample includes Raith fans. tongue.gif
'Steve
QUOTE (CitizenSmith @ Nov 24 2008, 20:58) *
Agreed. I find this thread slightly disrespectful. smile.gif

He who disses the 'big City' ermmmm..... probably wins.

Don't think we have much of chance, it sounds like Brechin have a pretty good thing going under O'Neil. Have spoken to a bunch of folk who watch second division football and the consensus is that you are the best team in the league by some way. My sample includes Raith fans. tongue.gif

You really think you don't have a chance? Any players to look out for? I hear you have a striker who has been talking to the press saying he wants to prove himself to O'Neill hoping for a January move, not sure if he's just being hopeful or there's actually been previous contact.

Is Meadowbank still a shithole? Are you expecting a decent turnout?
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (shameless @ Nov 23 2008, 14:10) *

QUOTE (doulikefish @ Nov 23 2008, 14:19) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif forgot something laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

It doesnt change the point hes making. rolleyes.gif
CitizenSmith
QUOTE ('Steve @ Nov 24 2008, 22:42) *
You really think you don't have a chance? Any players to look out for? I hear you have a striker who has been talking to the press saying he wants to prove himself to O'Neill hoping for a January move, not sure if he's just being hopeful or there's actually been previous contact.

Is Meadowbank still a shithole? Are you expecting a decent turnout?

Of course we have a chance but you have a much more experienced side than us and will be that bit sharper than us. We have two very good strikers, but strikers need opportunities to show their stuff, whether we will create enough, who knows.

I'd imagine the striker you are talking about is the same striker a number of SFL clubs are looking at, Robbie Ross. Not sure about a January move but I have no doubt that if he stays fit Robbie will be playing SFL football next season and he'll do so with our best wishes. Robbie played for our U19 side and has been a revelation since stepping up 3 years ago. He has improved year on year and scored over 30 goals last season, already bagged 15 this term.

Meadowbank still a shithole? - lets put it this way it is tonnes better than half the grounds in the SFL. As to the size of the crowd would hazard a guess at 250-350 depending on how many Brechin fans show.

How many are you likely to bring down?
Javier Mascherano
Hard to tell how many we'll take, we usually get more for a cup game but being away to a side from Edinburgh, and with the weather being shit lately I don't think it will boost numbers many.

I think we might take about 100 at a push.
'Steve
I think around 100 would be a safe assumption.
GoRdY_b
QUOTE (AllanJM @ Nov 24 2008, 13:28) *
Oh and a wee draw would do me nicely thank you.

Aye, a wee draw for the Rovers against Alloa would do me nicely too!
Honestmen
Wonder when this will be played now with the Scottish Cup game now moved to next sat.
Shibuya
Feb, I was told.
PETE-AFC-BCFC
we heard it was to be played midweek, before christmas huh.gif
Cliche Guevara
December 16 is it not?
Beren
Has it been rearranged?

Fuxake! I thought we'd play two games at the same time with quantum split players.

If only someone had started a thread about this mad.gif
Honestmen
It's official unless the cup games rumble on

Amendments to the IRN-BRU S.F.L. Fixtures for Season 2008-2009 Tue, 02 Dec 2008

Please note the rescheduled date for the following matches:-

IRN-BRU Second Division
Saturday 6th December 2008
Brechin City v Ayr United
Postponed due to re-arranged 3rd Round Scottish Cup matches.

WILL NOW BE PLAYED ON TUESDAY 16th DECEMBER 2008 KICK-OFF 7.45 p.m.

dudley
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Dec 4 2008, 18:46) *
December 16 is it not?

This is what I've heard. Why are Raith and Alloa being permitted to play their replay on Monday the 8th and play league games on Saturday. Surely some fixing of fixtures here to try to gain some advantage in the league? cool.gif
we r the raith
QUOTE (dudley @ Dec 5 2008, 21:21) *
This is what I've heard. Why are Raith and Alloa being permitted to play their replay on Monday the 8th and play league games on Saturday. Surely some fixing of fixtures here to try to gain some advantage in the league? cool.gif

raith play on tuesday in the scottish cup. advantage my arse, its any excuse noo.
Yoss
QUOTE (dudley @ Dec 5 2008, 21:21) *

It's Tuesday rather than Monday; and it's already a replay not the original tie so there's less pressure of fixture congestion. Those ties which have still to go ahead at all have to be played sooner so that any subsequent replays and things can still be out the way in good time for the next round, particularly with more weather issues looming.
dudley
QUOTE (we r the raith @ Dec 5 2008, 22:18) *
raith play on tuesday in the scottish cup. advantage my arse, its any excuse noo.

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
we8killie
brechin tae beat us laugh.gif no chance. AYR UNITED 2ND DIVISION CHAMPIONS 08/09 BRING ON THE KILLIE!
Beren
QUOTE (we8killie @ Dec 7 2008, 16:22) *
brechin tae beat us laugh.gif no chance. AYR UNITED 2ND DIVISION CHAMPIONS 08/09 BRING ON THE KILLIE!

re: your username - why did you eat Killie? unsure.gif
Kerr'Crate
3-0 or 2-1 to ayr i predict
Ayrgirl
Apparently now being played on the 30th

Rescheduled game
onejamesgrady
QUOTE (Ayrgirl @ Dec 9 2008, 10:42) *
Apparently now being played on the 30th

Rescheduled game

laugh.gif What a f*cking joke
Kerr'Crate
ayr should win this one ohmy.gif