Full Version: Dunfermline 0 - Morton 1
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
DAFC
Outplayed, outfought and out-thought by a hard working team today.
Apart from Shimmin they are pretty ordinary but we didn't look up for the fight at all.
Disgusted with the way we lost challenges again and again.
Well done Morton.
Islay
QUOTE (DAFC @ Nov 22 2008, 17:25) *
Apart from Shimmin they are pretty ordinary but we didn't look up for the fight at all.

Not sure what all the hype is about Shimmin, I thought there were better Morton players on show than him today. He is a big lad who is strong in the air, apart from that he looked pretty ordinary. Granted though he wasn't tested by our attack very well today, they made the Morton defense look like a brick wall that we were trying to dismantle with a toothbrush.
DAFC
haha, that is a great analogy.

uberman
QUOTE (uberman @ Nov 22 2008, 14:46) *
Dunfermline 0-1 Morton @9/1

oh yes!
AyrshireTon
QUOTE (Islay @ Nov 22 2008, 17:31) *
Not sure what all the hype is about Shimmin,

For the first time in years, we have a defender who doesn't make you shit yourself when he gets the ball.
Very composed and rarely puts a foot wrong.

Edit - what was the disallowed goal all about?
DAFC
Dunno?
Seemed pretty harsh, there was more of a push on Shields from your number twelve a few minutes later and you should have scored off it.
BluebirdTon
Very good win.

That game is probably the biggest sign yet that we are capable of turning the corner and getting out of the relegation scrap. I don't think our mid-table hopes are too delusional considering the form we've put together over the last five games. The league is so tight though and teams that seem far worst than others still seem to be capable of hanging onto the peloton.

Regret pulling the plug on my plans to go now.
Islay
QUOTE (AyrshireTon @ Nov 22 2008, 17:38) *
For the first time in years, we have a defender who doesn't make you shit yourself when he gets the ball.
Very composed and rarely puts a foot wrong.

Edit - what was the disallowed goal all about?

Fair enough, however you could have said the same about McManus today. Still no idea why our goal was disallowed, will need to see the highlights. At the time I though it was a perfectly good goal and it would have probably changed the game.
port-ton
QUOTE (Islay @ Nov 22 2008, 17:50) *
Fair enough, however you could have said the same about McManus today. Still no idea why our goal was disallowed, will need to see the highlights. At the time I though it was a perfectly good goal and it would have probably changed the game.

I don't think Morton fans have anymore shit left inside them when it comes to McManus, maybe he knew this and its why we kept a clean sheet today.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (port-ton @ Nov 22 2008, 17:52) *
I don't think Morton fans have anymore shit left inside them when it comes to McManus, maybe he knew this and its why we kept a clean sheet today.

Boom boom?
port-ton
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Nov 22 2008, 17:54) *
Boom boom?

http://www.sadtrombone.com/
Radford
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Nov 22 2008, 17:44) *
I don't think our mid-table hopes are too delusional considering the form we've put together over the last five games. The league is so tight though and teams that seem far worst than others still seem to be capable of hanging onto the peloton.

I'm wondering if there is even going to be a mid-table this season. A few more weeks of this and it will just be one massive ten-team battle for promotion and relegation!

I'm surprised Dunfermline have lost their last couple of home matches but they seem to have a real lack of a plan B. Their plan A is usually good enough but if that doesn't work, they don't have the options to change things, or McIntyre doesn't have the ability to do so.
Muggy
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 22 2008, 18:18) *
I'm wondering if there is even going to be a mid-table this season. A few more weeks of this and it will just be one massive ten-team battle for promotion and relegation!

I'm surprised Dunfermline have lost their last couple of home matches but they seem to have a real lack of a plan B. Their plan A is usually good enough but if that doesn't work, they don't have the options to change things, or McIntyre doesn't have the ability to do so.

Look what you've did now. All the Pars fan who were tipping him as the best manager in the league a few weeks back will be foaming at the mouth, like a house troll.

tongue.gif
Radford
QUOTE (Muggy @ Nov 22 2008, 18:25) *
Look what you've did now. All the Pars fan who were tipping him as the best manager in the league a few weeks back will be foaming at the mouth, like a house troll.

tongue.gif

I've seen them defending him fiercely over the past few weeks so did think twice before posting that but the fans are continually stressing how great it is to have the players dedicated to the club again after the Kenny fiasco, so surely McIntyre has to be questioned? Not for a second suggesting he should be sacked or anything of the sort but the Pars are so inconsistent.
Grant228
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 22 2008, 18:18) *
, or McIntyre doesn't have the ability to do so.

huh.gif Very strange, ask Livingston about maccas "inabillity" to change things..

Have to say we were up against it from the start with that ref...what the hell he saw wrong with our 'goal' I would love to know...
Radford
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Nov 22 2008, 18:39) *
huh.gif Very strange, ask Livingston about maccas "inabillity" to change things..

I can counter that with your last three home games Grant. All of them saw you a goal down heading into the closing stages and from witnessing one and reading the reports on the others, you seem to totally run out of ideas.
Fife Saint

Have to say we were up against it from the start with that ref...what the hell he saw wrong with our 'goal' I would love to know...

There was an infringement of the rules in the build up. Either that or Super Kev Cuthbert was pulling the old Jedi Mind Trick on the whistler.
Mike180279
What a result, didnt see that one coming......

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Grant228
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 22 2008, 18:40) *
I can counter that with your last three home games Grant. All of them saw you a goal down heading into the closing stages and from witnessing one and reading the reports on the others, you seem to totally run out of ideas.

Well if the manager puts a differant formation in sub it more attacking players what else can he do?
When the team starts to run out of ideas that comes soley down to the players on the park, to much blame gets put on the manager.
DAFC
I don't what it is at home but I agree that against Saints, Dundee and now Morton McIntyre has done absolutely nothing to change it?
At Livvy he changed things round and we won the game.
Against Saints you could see Phinn was tired and he never changed it and this led to the winner.
Bizarre, I don't know why he is so inept at changing things at home, if it doensn't work then f**k it at least you tried.
Better than rolling over and dying with a whimper.
Radford
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Nov 22 2008, 18:45) *
When the team starts to run out of ideas that comes soley down to the players on the park, to much blame gets put on the manager.

Fair enough!

Not an opinion I agree with generally but maybe in Dunfermline's case that is true.
Grant228
QUOTE (DAFC @ Nov 22 2008, 18:46) *
I don't what it is at home but I agree that against Saints, Dundee and now Morton McIntyre has done absolutely nothing to change it?
At Livvy he changed things round and we won the game.
Against Saints you could see Phinn was tired and he never changed it and this led to the winner.
Bizarre, I don't know why he is so inept at changing things at home, if it doensn't work then f**k it at least you tried.
Better than rolling over and dying with a whimper.

He did change it today so I really dont know what your complaining about huh.gif
From what I could see he changed it into a 3-5-2 with Bell sitting just behind the front 2. If this came of and we had scored everyone would be haling him as a fecking genious.

QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 22 2008, 18:46) *
Fair enough!

Not an opinion I agree with generally but maybe in Dunfermline's case that is true.

Sadly no matter what we do our Midfield seems to have feck all creativity dry.gif
DAFC
I must have missed the tactics then, not really much difference as Bell was playing in the centre anyway.

I do agree with you about the players though, there is no excuse from the likes of Glass and Bell who we know are great passers to not be able to find a man the whole game.
What can a manager do?
The Dundee and Saints games are different though imo as we were playing well but Saints and Dundee both out-thought us tactically.
HardingsHamstring
It was a very good result for Morton, delighted with that.
saline saint
On todays showing Shimmin would walk into any first division and most premier league deffences nothing got past him.Dunfermline had a couple of good headed chances early on one of which brought out a cracking one handed save from Cuthbert.But mostly they carried little threat and despite a rash of corners in the second half they had little or no imagination in the last third.
gingapar
QUOTE (saline saint @ Nov 22 2008, 18:58) *
On todays showing Shimmin would walk into any first division and most premier league deffences nothing got past him.Dunfermline had a couple of good headed chances early on one of which brought out a cracking one handed save from Cuthbert.But mostly they carried little threat and despite a rash of corners in the second half they had little or no imagination in the last third.

from side on to that, it was really weak header and i thought the keeper made an absolute meal of what was an easy save. I thought that if we were actually capable of testing that keeper today, we might have got some joy.

We were very poor today but it still should've been one all with the goal that was disallowed for a reason that no one knows. In the last two weeks i was happy to hide behind the excuse that our team looked tired, today however, they looked more like freightened wee lassies and continually shirked out of or turned there back on every 50/50 all over the pitch, much like last year when the team were not trying a leg under kenny. Really quite a worryingly poor performance today and with the increased crowd sent away disillusioned, i think we'll be struggling to beat 2,500 for the next home game. Mcintyre has his work cut out on this one. we allow teams to get shot after shot in on us unchallenged from around the 18 yard line, not a recipe for success. And with our only centre half suspended today, we looked an absolute shambles at the back. ANd when we are not attacking on the break like we get the chance to away from home, Andy Kirk doesn't seem prepared to chase the lost causes that we could be benifitting from by applying a bit of pressure on nervous defences.
RosscoTon
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Nov 22 2008, 18:41) *
There was an infringement of the rules in the build up. Either that or Super Kev Cuthbert was pulling the old Jedi Mind Trick on the whistler.

Wouldn't surprise me, he's in the form of his life at the moment. An excellent signing so far. biggrin.gif

QUOTE (gingapar @ Nov 22 2008, 19:24) *
from side on to that, it was really weak header and i thought the keeper made an absolute meal of what was an easy save. I thought that if we were actually capable of testing that keeper today, we might have got some joy.

QOTS threw everything at him 2 weeks ago and got nowhere. 1 out of around 10 shots on target were saved Pretty good going.
Tonsilitis
I'll get the complaints out of the way first. What were Dunfermline thinking of with the entry gates for Morton fans. There were two gates open, one of which was purely for concessions and ordinary fans who were the vast majority had only one gate. That meant that people were still queing to get in 15 minutes after kick off. I don't know how many we had there today but it was certainly more than the 250 Dunfemline allowed for. Lets just say those of us who missed the kick off made our feelings clear to club officials.

On to the game and I was very happy with our win. As for the chalked off goal, I have no idea what the ref saw and can only assume it was a push on McGuffie as the Dunfermline player went through. To be fair, Mr McCurry was right next to the incident.

If Dunfermline were unlucky at that incident, they rode their luck when Brian Wake was through one on one with the keeper twice near the end and put the first straight at Gallacher and the second the wrong side of the post.

Over all we were pretty solid at the back and the best team I think won. We were very competitive in the middle and Dunfermline fed off scraps. Even in the second half when we were under the cosh for a spell, they did not create anything much in front of goal. Oh! and they did'nt manage the usual last minute equaliser.
Dunning1874

You're perfectly correct to complain about the disallowed goal, but to say you were up against it due to the ref isn't right. Both sides suffered as McCurry seemed to see fouls which no one else in the stadium could see, and regularly penalised strikers for perfectly legitimate challenges. Indeed, his match report will probably list the offence that lead to Weatherson's booking as 'persistent fair challenges for headers'.

Specifically on the goal, he seemed to think that Glass had fouled McGuffie. I didn't see a foul, but the ball was cleared out, McGuffie took a touch, Glass got in front of him and nicked the ball away then fired it into the net. As soon as Glass took the ball McGuffie shouted something at McCurry, and the whistle had gone before Glass hit it. I certainly didn't think there was a foul at the time but hopefully there'll be another chance to look at it.

QUOTE (Grant228 @ Nov 22 2008, 18:49) *
Sadly no matter what we do our Midfield seems to have feck all creativity dry.gif

A problem that's been obvious in both games against us this season. I thought at the start of the season that Dunfermline's main problem would be the lack of strength in depth up front, but your problems seem to be far greater than that.

Anyway, great result for us today. Superbly taken goal by Paartalu, and I thought as a team we played well. Grady had an off day, but other than that I thought we were very good. Jenkins and Smith in particular were impressive IMO. Don't start me on Brian Wake though.
saline saint
Were the few Pars fans behind the goal (usualy the away end) the extra punters drumed up by free tickets or whatever cause it was pathetic and on tadays perfofmance they wont be back
vikingTON

I guess that explains entirely your failure to keep a clean sheet, your dearth of creativity, almost zero clear cut chances and our golden opportunities to wrap the game up. MOTM: Mike McCurry.
The goal was disallowed for a softish foul on a Morton player - given that McCurry was giving softish fouls every 13 seconds I fail to see the need for indignant uproar. You weren't cheated, you were just not very good.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Nov 22 2008, 20:14) *
I guess that explains entirely your failure to keep a clean sheet, your derath of creativity, almost zero clear cut chances and our golden opportunities to wrap the game up. MOTM: Mike McCurry.
The goal was disallowed for a softish foul on a Morton player - given that McCurry was giving softish fouls every 13 seconds I fail to see the need for indignant uproar. You weren't cheated, you were just not very good.

Answer my texts!
(o)sean
gerritt right fechin upyeah's ya townie bams bootyshake.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
ianton
What a shower of whinging cu*ts you pars fans are.Your team was totally outclassed all day.As for the disallowed goal,the ref had already pointed for a free kick before the ball went into the net.As for saying the DOMINATOR is average,well i just have a good chuckle and think i'm so glad we have him.The other best bits from todays game was off the park.The crowd of weans trying to stand up,then polis telling them to sit on their arses.Then we had all the females getting slagged for going to their seats 5 minutes into the second half.We are starting to look like the team we should be.There are still things to get sorted come January,all in all we are now actually fighting for every ball,instead of waiting for it to come to us.As somebody said in an earlier post there might be no middle of the table.Every team is capable beating one and other.That is the type of league that it is shaping into.
da_no_1
"I thought at the start of the season that Dunfermline's main problem would be the lack of strength in depth up front, but your problems seem to be far greater than that"

hmmm interesting how morton fans are giving us advice on our many problems??

we lost a game it happens, i'm over it already. all of a sudden you are a class above & as one particular nugget on Jim Traynors show suggested "genuine title contenders"

personally i know my team would get absolutely shafted if we went up. we are not the best team in the league at the moment but we have improved from last year as anyone who has seen us this season should know. another season or two in the first will do us no harm as we settle ourselves down after years of performing above our true level & living beyond our means.

seems there's a few teams who really dont like the Pars. strange......

see you in Dingwall.
vikingTON
QUOTE (da_no_1 @ Nov 22 2008, 20:31) *
"I thought at the start of the season that Dunfermline's main problem would be the lack of strength in depth up front, but your problems seem to be far greater than that"

It is interesting. Do you have a point you wish to make or is that it?
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (Islay @ Nov 22 2008, 18:31) *
Not sure what all the hype is about Shimmin,

Best central defender in the First Division, bar none - end of! If you can't see that, you're wearing black and white tinted glasses. laugh.gif laugh.gif
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Nov 22 2008, 20:39) *
Best central defender in the First Division, bar none - end of! If you can't see that, you're wearing black and white tinted glasses. laugh.gif laugh.gif

Would that be grey tinted then, or just cancel out and be ordinary specs?
vikingTON
we lost a game it happens, i'm over it already. all of a sudden you are a class above & as one particular nugget on Jim Traynors show suggested "genuine title contenders"

We've been the better side on both occasions we've met this year. We're also the form side in the division. Yep, we can comment.
"Genuine title contenders"? None of the sides in this division look like winning it, but one of them has to - I think St Johnstone will, but there's no reason why Morton can't leapfrog Dunfermline, Livingston, Queens etc and finish in the top 4 at least. It would require a continuation of current great form but there's no tangible obstruction to that. Whisper it, a win on Tuesday night and we're close to the pack.
da_no_1
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Nov 22 2008, 21:44) *
We've been the better side on both occasions we've met this year. We're also the form side in the division. Yep, we can comment.
"Genuine title contenders"? None of the sides in this division look like winning it, but one of them has to - I think St Johnstone will, but there's no reason why Morton can't leapfrog Dunfermline, Livingston, Queens etc and finish in the top 4 at least. It would require a continuation of current great form but there's no tangible obstruction to that. Whisper it, a win on Tuesday night and we're close to the pack.

ach would you listen to yourself!!!

there's no fuukin danger you will win this league. you deserved to win today i'll give you that but no more.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (da_no_1 @ Nov 22 2008, 20:47) *

there's no fuukin danger you will win this league. you deserved to win today i'll give you that but no more.

He said top 4. It's not out of reach.
Swampy
I was sitting almost in line with the shot for the disallowed goal and the whisle went as, or perhaps even just before, the ball left the foot. It wasn't the goal that was disallowed; it's that play had halted before it was even a goal.
da_no_1
QUOTE (Swampy @ Nov 22 2008, 21:50) *
I was sitting almost in line with the shot for the disallowed goal and the whisle went as, or perhaps even just before, the ball left the foot. It wasn't the goal that was disallowed; it's that play had halted before it was even a goal.

no shit sherlock tongue.gif
DAFC
I wish my team fought and battled like Morton did today.
There are no excuses for not getting stuck in.
vikingTON
QUOTE (da_no_1 @ Nov 22 2008, 20:47) *

Will you read?
da_no_1
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Nov 22 2008, 21:53) *
Will you read?

its called a subtle hint - no surprise you didnt spot it - by saying they are close to a pack that he himself admits are much of a muchness he is "subtlely hinting" that they are in with a shout of winning the league. also he tells me they have outplayed the team with all the problems (who currently occupy 2nd place) twice this season with their free-flowing brand of football so he is "subtlely hinting" they may be in with a chance of winning the league.

have you worked it out yet?
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (da_no_1 @ Nov 22 2008, 20:58) *
its called a subtle hint - no surprise you didnt spot it - by saying they are close to a pack that he himself admits are much of a muchness he is "subtlely hinting" that they are in with a shout of winning the league. also he tells me they have outplayed the team with all the problems (who currently occupy 2nd place) twice this season with their free-flowing brand of football so he is "subtlely hinting" they may be in with a chance of winning the league.

I think he's hinting, not subtly, that you're thick.

"Since the San Miguel company don't make Lindt chocolates and the internet gave us free porn then the egg came before the chicken after all!"

huh.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (da_no_1 @ Nov 22 2008, 20:58) *

I think I am aware of my own implications.
Win on Tuesday and we're just 5 points behind your pish. I'm confident to build from our current position. cool.gif
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (da_no_1 @ Nov 22 2008, 21:58) *

Let me be unsubtle then. Morton may have had a poor first quarter of the season, but have beaten yourselves, QoS and Dundee in the last month. The fans of all these teams were claiming earlier in the season that they had a chance of winning the league. On current form, Morton are on a par only with St Johnstone over the last month or so and, consequently, our fans are perfectly entitled to claim that IF current form is maintained, we have as good a chance as anyone of winning this Division. TBH, I think St Johnstone will win it, but we'll finish in the top four of that I have no doubt. rolleyes.gif
Dunning1874

personally i know my team would get absolutely shafted if we went up. we are not the best team in the league at the moment but we have improved from last year as anyone who has seen us this season should know. another season or two in the first will do us no harm as we settle ourselves down after years of performing above our true level & living beyond our means.

seems there's a few teams who really dont like the Pars. strange......

see you in Dingwall.

I was just making an observation on the fact that Dunfermline have been completely devoid of creativity on both occasions we've played you this season.

The guy who suggested we're title contenders is off his nut, there's no chance we'll win this league. No one's said that we're a class above. On paper Dunfermline have a better starting eleven than us, but Irons would appear to have the beating of McIntyre tactically.

What makes you think people have something against Dunfermline?

vT was not hinting that we might win the league - he said that we have a chance of being in the top half of the table. As does every team in the league. I think you'll find that the majority of our fans would be absolutely delighted with a mid-table finish this season.