Makoliunas
Nov 12 2008, 13:58
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/7723932.stm
Wonder how the anti-British bigots will justify their stance now.
Rovers_Lad
Nov 12 2008, 14:07
A lot of pish
Voting is done by FIFA members, not the FIFA committee therefore there is not one single person who can give
any assurance as members can overturn anything.
capybara
Nov 12 2008, 15:22
Id leave well alone. Always get a bit worried when i see politicians swarming all over my fav sport.
Convenor
Nov 12 2008, 16:08
I suppose a nonsense meeting like this with a FIFA stooge does give a puppet like Jim Murphy something to do with his time, seeing as his job title is pretty much meaningless these days
doulikefish
Nov 12 2008, 17:04
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Nov 12 2008, 13:58)

the meeting was with jerome valcke,he is a man that can be trusted as much as jack warner
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/p...all-398086.html

Far more easily since their stance is based on facts rather than the make believe of the anit scottish bigots. Even the number 2 at UEFA has acknowledged the risk their would be to the status quo. Unification would be a bad thing all round, not least for the Hearts fans contemplating some long trip for their Rymans league games,
Millfield Marksman
Nov 12 2008, 18:22
QUOTE (dogma @ Nov 12 2008, 17:30)

Far more easily since their stance is based on facts rather than the make believe of the anit scottish bigots. Even the number 2 at UEFA has acknowledged the risk their would be to the status quo. Unification would be a bad thing all round, not least for the Hearts fans contemplating some long trip for their Rymans league games,
I can't see how this Olympic malarkey changes the situation at all. If FIFA (or their members) want amalgamation then they can vote for it, whether there's a unified team in 2012 or not.
Can't they?
seamus
Nov 12 2008, 18:27
They should hold a foUr team nation tourney with the winner reprEsenting GB.
Big_Andy
Nov 12 2008, 20:19
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Nov 12 2008, 14:07)

A lot of pish
Voting is done by FIFA members, not the FIFA committee therefore there is not one single person who can give
any assurance as members can overturn anything.
Correct.
BOA raise this pish every two to three months. seems that they have the UK government wrapped up in their hair-brained schemes to get an 'assurance' from FIFA.
Jim Murphy is now Seb 'f**k the jocks" Coe's Bitch and by having a secret meeting with FIFA without the knowledge of the SFA has shown he's a slimy git too. The Scottish Secretary undermining the known poistion of the SFA is a disgrace and given sport is a devolved power according to the DCMS, Murphy hasn't the power to speak for scotland on any sporting issue.
until and unless there's a written guarantee on fifa headed paper and signed by every other member with sepp blatter's blood, then no thanks.
grazza
Nov 13 2008, 00:06
There is a very serious issue beside the possibility of Scotlands national teams independence beng under threat. Jim Murphy is having meeting without the presence or condonement of the SFA with FIFA. He is not in a position to represent the Scottish football Community which the SFA have been granted by FIFA. FIFA has rules against politicians intervening in the running of national teams. I think Greece was a recent example of a team suspended. Luckily for them it was resolved before any matches had to be postponed. Not just Scotland's FA that could be disciplined by Fifa but also the other UK based associations. How do they all feel about being represented by a politician who frankly should be busy with other things.
I don't think the SFA are stopping any of the other associations from entering in the olympics. If they want to have a qualifying tournament to decide who represents team GB then fine but if the SFA decide not to enter a team that should be respected and the others can decide if they want to do so.
There has been contrasting statements from FIFA on this over time which to me shows their position is very divided and irratic about it.
Weither you like or dislike Mr Salmond he has a point in this quote talking about the SFA:
"They take some knocks from time to time, but they know infinitely more about the workings of Fifa than David Cameron, Gordon Brown, or even Alex Salmond."
The English FA seem to be in favour of a team GB which is up to them though I find it funny that they turned down the proposal for the return to the home nations from the other associations which has now eventually created the Celtic Cup. If they had got involved in that then they would maybe be closer to something.
If the SFA were really acting against what Scotland wants in this situation surely there would be crowds protesting outside Hampden to pressure them to change their stance. In reality the majority of us want our national team weither we do or do not support independence for Scotland. This is just an under 23 tournament and no where near the pinacle of world football. Yes Hampden is hosting games and I'm sure there would be a good crowd there to see Argentina v Brazil etc. In reality Hampden is getting to host some games as a token gesture to make up for the vast funding gap in lottery funding we will lose to the Olympics and remember we have the commonwealth games 2 years later. The UK government realise that once the games have finished we will well and truely wise up to it so they need something to paper up the cracks. Most voices I have seen trying to push for Scotland to be involved in a team GB have come outwith Scotland.
The Olympics will be delivered well over the initial budget with a stadium with no proper planed use after the games. The Commonwealth games in contrast many of the facilities are in place and the stadiums are ready and have regular use already and is being delivered on a much tighter budgets.I have faith that Scotland can look after it's own sporting affairs.
capybara
Nov 13 2008, 08:24
Jim Murphy reminds me of Chamberlin before the outbreak of world war 2. Returning home and waving about a piece of paper declaring all is well.
Beware of Greeks baring gifts.
munro7
Nov 13 2008, 09:10
The boy Murphy was on Radio Scotland last night and couldn't even hold his argument against those bastions of journalism that are Chick Young & Jim Traynor. Every time they asked him a difficult question he did the politician thing and answered a different one!
Steer well clear.
ClydeSI
Nov 13 2008, 10:14
QUOTE (grazza @ Nov 13 2008, 00:06)

There is a very serious issue beside the possibility of Scotlands national teams independence beng under threat. Jim Murphy is having meeting without the presence or condonement of the SFA with FIFA. He is not in a position to represent the Scottish football Community which the SFA have been granted by FIFA. FIFA has rules against politicians intervening in the running of national teams.
I was thinking the exact same thing - first time I have noticed anyone mention it though. If, as Jim Murphy says, that he is looking out for the interests of Scottish football, then why is he putting it at risk in this way?
capybara
Nov 13 2008, 13:40
Dont always agrEe with Mr Salmond but he said "its a Pandora,s box" dont open it. What is Murphy trying to do. Apart from his bosses bidding.
Bordersbairn
Nov 13 2008, 14:01
A copy of a letter and email that I sent to Jim Murphy this morning.
Dear Sir
Other than through my membership of Amnesty International I don't usually feel compelled to write to elected members however I feel you were ill advised to step into the current debate over Team GB (Is that Great Britain or Gordon Brown). Firstly I wish to clarify my advise - I am neither a flag waving Nationalist or a romanticised member of the tartan army. I support the Scotland team both at home and abroad however my business takes me to London and on many occasions and I have been known to go along and watch the "Auld Enemy".
Quite frankly please can politicians of all persuasions get out of this debate and let the football people conclude quite sensibly that there is no appetite for a Team GB outside of a few little Englanders - most of whom care or no nothing about football - "Lord Moynighan and Seb Coe spring to mind" and the card carrying bigots from down Govan way who love nothing better than an excuse to wave a Union Jack. Indeed some friends of mine who are members of the England Supporters Club have expressed no interest in Team GB.
As far as I'm aware neither you, the first minister, the prime minister or Lord Coe has the mandate to discuss football matters with anyone at FIFA. Indeed it could be argued that you are attempting to politicise football matters and attempting to influence the Scottish Football Association unfairly. Actions which if I'm not mistaken could be interpreted as contravening the FIFA rules pertaining to political interference.
Whilst I can sympathise with your position as Scottish Secretary which loosely translated means "Minister without portfolio or proper job except to annoy SNP First Minister as often as possible" please can you devote your undoubted energies and talent to more pressing matters, i.e. economic downturn and credit crisis.
capybara
Nov 13 2008, 16:50
Let us know if you get a reply.
smithers-jones
Nov 13 2008, 16:57
QUOTE (Bordersbairn @ Nov 13 2008, 14:01)

Dear Sir
Other than through my membership of Amnesty International I don't usually feel compelled to write to elected members however I feel you were ill advised to step into the current debate over Team GB (Is that Great Britain or Gordon Brown). Firstly I wish to clarify my advise - I am neither a flag waving Nationalist or a romanticised member of the tartan army. I support the Scotland team both at home and abroad however my business takes me to London and on many occasions and I have been known to go along and watch the "Auld Enemy".
Quite frankly please can politicians of all persuasions get out of this debate and let the football people conclude quite sensibly that there is no appetite for a Team GB outside of a few little Englanders - most of whom care or no nothing about football - "Lord Moynighan and Seb Coe spring to mind" and the card carrying bigots from down Govan way who love nothing better than an excuse to wave a Union Jack. Indeed some friends of mine who are members of the England Supporters Club have expressed no interest in Team GB.
As far as I'm aware neither you, the first minister, the prime minister or Lord Coe has the mandate to discuss football matters with anyone at FIFA. Indeed it could be argued that you are attempting to politicise football matters and attempting to influence the Scottish Football Association unfairly. Actions which if I'm not mistaken could be interpreted as contravening the FIFA rules pertaining to political interference.
Whilst I can sympathise with your position as Scottish Secretary which loosely translated means "Minister without portfolio or proper job except to annoy SNP First Minister as often as possible" please can you devote your undoubted energies and talent to more pressing matters, i.e. economic downturn and credit crisis.
Christ, he'll be bored to tears by the end of reading that drivel.
Jim Pansy
Nov 13 2008, 21:08
QUOTE (capybara @ Nov 13 2008, 16:50)

Let us know if you get a reply.
Shouldn't have thought that likely. For any number of reasons.
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Nov 13 2008, 21:18

Dear Sir
Oh Good God!
capybara
Nov 14 2008, 10:01
http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/politics/S...mpic.4694128.jpWhat are the Labour Party at.Mind you they were supported by the only Scottish Tory MP.
I think they have badly mis judged the mood on this. Have they spoken to any on the fans.From what i can gather on P&B and on other boards nobody wants this except Jim Murphy.Gordon Brown and a Tory mp who can hold is AGM in a Phone box.
doulikefish
Nov 14 2008, 10:19
QUOTE (capybara @ Nov 14 2008, 10:01)

http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/politics/S...mpic.4694128.jpWhat are the Labour Party at.Mind you they were supported by the only Scottish Tory MP.
I think they have badly mis judged the mood on this. Have they spoken to any on the fans.From what i can gather on P&B and on other boards nobody wants this except Jim Murphy.Gordon Brown and a Tory mp who can hold is AGM in a Phone box.
why do i get the feeling they have been told what to support
Pink Freud
Nov 14 2008, 10:24

A copy of a letter and email that I sent to Jim Murphy this morning...

Me likey!
3shots
Nov 16 2008, 10:37

A couple more stories from the bbc showing how Blatters mind keeps changing
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/i...als/7611621.stmhttp://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/olympics/f...all/7541011.stmHere's a story from 7 years ago showing how long they been trying to settle this
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/1444131.stmIf they cant make up there minds in 7 years we dont want rash decisions now that will be changed in the next few years.
Sepp Blatter probably wont be in charge at FIFA by 2012, who will make the choices then?
With about 200 nations in FIFA they cant understand why the 4 UK teams have a permanent vote on the committee. What pressure will they apply in the coming years if we take part in the Olympics but also in FIFA as separate nations
This has nothing to do with being anti British, anyone who is on the Tartan Army Message Board will know the No Team GB has support from all 4 home nations, some on there have even been persuaded against taking an anti-Brit stance.
Thats the stance we take
3shots
Nov 16 2008, 10:53
The year is now 2020.
We are reminiscing of the Scotland Team we once had and the changes in football since the London Olympics. Remember the year well it was 2012 when Scotland joined with the other home nations to form Team GB. At the next meeting of FIFA in the spring of 2013 FIFA members decided that Scotland and England two of the oldest footballing associations who held the first international match could no longer exist as independant teams. Same goes for the other home nations even though they all predate FIFA.
UEFA was then forced to follow suit and revamp its setup for how many teams they could allow from the UK Football Association with regard to Champions League, UEFA Cup etc. Once upon a time Rangers and Celtic could be seen playing the likes of Manchester United and Arsenal at that level of competition.
Since FIFA and UEFA wouldnt recognise the status of the different countries the FA in each was disbanded to form th UKFA, thats why the League structure had to change, Welsh teams had played in the English league while N.Ireland and Scotland had their own league structures. UEFA said they could only recognise one league which forced Scots and N.Irish teams to join with English and Welsh.
When they joined the leagues it caused some teams to go bankrupt or just not even join the new league since they couldnt afford the extra travel costs and a lot of fans gave up for different reasons.
With the mind changes in FIFA and each member out for their own agenda, The politicians and Olympic committee also on their own agendas with no regard for the long term. Remember General elections and Independence referendum coming up.
Who is going to tell me they wont be one of those in 2020 that are reminising like that?
All politics aside, Unionist or Nationalist I am very scared that I will be reminising like that.
Jim Pansy
Nov 16 2008, 13:53
QUOTE (3shots @ Nov 16 2008, 10:53)

The year is now 2020.
We are reminiscing of the Scotland Team we once had and the changes in football since the London Olympics. Remember the year well it was 2012 when Scotland joined with the other home nations to form Team GB. At the next meeting of FIFA in the spring of 2013 FIFA members decided that Scotland and England two of the oldest footballing associations who held the first international match could no longer exist as independant teams. Same goes for the other home nations even though they all predate FIFA.
UEFA was then forced to follow suit and revamp its setup for how many teams they could allow from the UK Football Association with regard to Champions League, UEFA Cup etc. Once upon a time Rangers and Celtic could be seen playing the likes of Manchester United and Arsenal at that level of competition.
Since FIFA and UEFA wouldnt recognise the status of the different countries the FA in each was disbanded to form th UKFA, thats why the League structure had to change, Welsh teams had played in the English league while N.Ireland and Scotland had their own league structures. UEFA said they could only recognise one league which forced Scots and N.Irish teams to join with English and Welsh.
When they joined the leagues it caused some teams to go bankrupt or just not even join the new league since they couldnt afford the extra travel costs and a lot of fans gave up for different reasons.
With the mind changes in FIFA and each member out for their own agenda, The politicians and Olympic committee also on their own agendas with no regard for the long term. Remember General elections and Independence referendum coming up.
Who is going to tell me they wont be one of those in 2020 that are reminising like that?
All politics aside, Unionist or Nationalist I am very scared that I will be reminising like that.
You are off your chops mate.
doulikefish
Nov 16 2008, 19:17
3shots
Nov 17 2008, 01:25
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Nov 16 2008, 13:53)

You are off your chops mate.

We'll see, if team GB goes ahead, its the end of Scotland and the Scottish leagues as we know it. same for England, Wales and N.Ireland
Are you trying to say Team GB will have no affect, because some FIFA nobody had a conversation wi some nobody MP, Even if its written in stone the other FIFA members will apply the pressure in the coming years and do away with Scotland team under the UK.
All this of course depends on the independence referendum in two years.
Know your stories and come back with something more educated/challenging than just saying i'm off my chops.
Millfield Marksman
Nov 17 2008, 09:16
QUOTE (3shots @ Nov 17 2008, 01:25)

Know your stories and come back with something more educated/challenging than just saying i'm off my chops.
Why is the existence of the Scottish FA any more or any less threatened by 2012? IF the members of FIFA want to end the Home Nations they have the power to do so now.
QUOTE (3shots @ Nov 17 2008, 01:25)

All this of course depends on the independence referendum in two years.
Err, what referendum is this?
3shots
Nov 17 2008, 23:51
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 17 2008, 10:13)

Err, what referendum is this?
Err the one thats planned by the Scottish Government sometime in nest couple of years
Since when did politicians give a toss about what the electorate want? Doesnt matter what any of us say or do, there will a GB football team at the London Olympics, end of story.
QUOTE (3shots @ Nov 17 2008, 23:51)

Err the one thats planned by the Scottish Government sometime in nest couple of years
Oh, so we have now moved from "2 years" to "the next couple of years"?
Want to be any more vague than Alec Salmond about when this referendum bill is going to be proposed?
Swampy
Nov 18 2008, 11:25
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Nov 17 2008, 09:16)

Why is the existence of the Scottish FA any more or any less threatened by 2012? IF the members of FIFA want to end the Home Nations they have the power to do so now.
Because they will have a recent and powerful precedent with which to soften the blow.
Swampy
Nov 18 2008, 11:26
QUOTE (7-2 @ Nov 18 2008, 11:13)

Since when did politicians give a toss about what the electorate want? Doesnt matter what any of us say or do, there will a GB football team at the London Olympics, end of story.
This is correct, and Alex Ferguson will coach it.
Millfield Marksman
Nov 18 2008, 12:46
QUOTE (Swampy @ Nov 18 2008, 11:25)

Because they will have a recent and powerful precedent with which to soften the blow.
I don't buy that argument, sorry. If there was a real will to amalgamate the Home Nations then the years and years of existing precedent would be enough and FIFA would be putting pressure on UEFA and us to appease the Africans or CONCACAF or whoever is supposed to be that keen.
Swampy
Nov 18 2008, 12:56
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Nov 18 2008, 12:46)

I don't buy that argument, sorry. If there was a real will to amalgamate the Home Nations then the years and years of existing precedent would be enough and FIFA would be putting pressure on UEFA and us to appease the Africans or CONCACAF or whoever is supposed to be that keen.
Well, that's up to you. Those of us who have done even a cursory amount of reading on FIFA, though, know how they operate.
edit: In any case it is the home nations' vice-presidency, rather than the national associations themselves, that are causing most of the bother.
Still, the national associations don't help when centralist regimes wish to ensure that no other stateless peoples can be represented at the Olympics or the World Cup.
QUOTE (Swampy @ Nov 18 2008, 11:26)

This is correct, and Alex Ferguson will coach it.
Really, you have a quote from him to back that up ?
Makoliunas
Nov 18 2008, 13:35
Personally, I don't think that Scotland should be allowed their own team anyway. Fair's fair, let's just have a UK team all the time.
3shots
Nov 18 2008, 14:02
QUOTE (H_B @ Nov 18 2008, 11:17)

Oh, so we have now moved from "2 years" to "the next couple of years"?
Want to be any more vague than Alec Salmond about when this referendum bill is going to be proposed?
Being as I aint a politician I dont know exactly when but I seem to remember 2010 being the date for this, I fail to see how the exact time is relevant.
Back to the topic in question
QUOTE (3shots @ Nov 18 2008, 14:02)

Being as I aint a politician I dont know exactly when but I seem to remember 2010 being the date for this, I fail to see how the exact time is relevant.
Back to the topic in question
Well, you have said "all of this depends" on the referendum, so I would have thought the actual date of the referendum (if one ever happens) is indeed relevant.
3shots
Nov 18 2008, 14:13
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Nov 18 2008, 13:35)

Personally, I don't think that Scotland should be allowed their own team anyway. Fair's fair, let's just have a UK team all the time.
Ok so if we have one UK team then UEFA will say we have to have one league structure covering the four home nations. The qualifying for the Champions League, UEFA Cup etc will change with less UK teams going through.
Congratulations to you, you have just killed the hopes of many teams and fans in getting a European trophy, currently teams qualify from the English, Scottish and 1 or 2 from N.Ireland, your idea means that will half to just being your one league.
Your one team and one league will force teams to go bankrupt or leave the league because they have to travel further like Cally Thistle playing Portsmouth.
Wake up and think it through, your boring single team will have little passion unlike following that Scotland or England has.
If ou dont think that will happen you really are blinkered
Rovers_Lad
Nov 18 2008, 16:02
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Nov 18 2008, 12:46)

The home nations bailed out FIFA and stopped them going bankrupt
3shots
Nov 19 2008, 04:22
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Nov 18 2008, 16:02)

The home nations bailed out FIFA and stopped them going bankrupt
Banks and governments are currently bailing out companies all the time, by your reckoning that means those companies are going to have everlasting gratitude to those that helped.
Wake up and smell the roses, FIFA and the Olympic committee are known to change their minds as often as politicians. Read your history on FIFA/Olympics committees and their tournaments.
Makoliunas
Nov 19 2008, 08:30
QUOTE (3shots @ Nov 18 2008, 14:13)

Ok so if we have one UK team then UEFA will say we have to have one league structure covering the four home nations. The qualifying for the Champions League, UEFA Cup etc will change with less UK teams going through.
Congratulations to you, you have just killed the hopes of many teams and fans in getting a European trophy, currently teams qualify from the English, Scottish and 1 or 2 from N.Ireland, your idea means that will half to just being your one league.
Your one team and one league will force teams to go bankrupt or leave the league because they have to travel further like Cally Thistle playing Portsmouth.
Wake up and think it through, your boring single team will have little passion unlike following that Scotland or England has.
If ou dont think that will happen you really are blinkered
Not many teams have any hope of winning a European trophy anyway.
I don't care what the following's like. That's not the issue here, lad. It's about fairness. Catalonia doesn't get its own national team, and it's every bit as much of an independent nation as Scotland.
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Nov 19 2008, 08:30)

I don't care what the following's like. That's not the issue here, lad. It's about fairness. Catalonia doesn't get its own national team, and it's every bit as much of an independent nation as Scotland.

What they print their own currency, have their own legal system, own education system and their own parliament. Im impressed you have done so much research on the matter.
Makoliunas
Nov 19 2008, 13:22
QUOTE (dogma @ Nov 19 2008, 13:20)

What they print their own currency, have their own legal system, own education system and their own parliament. Im impressed you have done so much research on the matter.
Have their own pass...hang on.
Swampy
Nov 19 2008, 15:57
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Nov 19 2008, 08:30)

Palestine, the Faroes, American Samoa, Puerto Rico. There are four political entities with varying levels of autonomy, but not full, unencumbered independence nor international recognition. Each is a FIFA member.
To make statehood the sole criterion by which teams may gain FIFA recognition is an extremely dangerous road to go down.
As already pointed out, the main bone of contention isn't the Home Nations' existence as FIFA members, but rather their automatic vice-presidency.
QUOTE (Swampy @ Nov 19 2008, 15:57)

Palestine, the Faroes, American Samoa, Puerto Rico. There are four political entities with varying levels of autonomy, but not full, unencumbered independence nor international recognition. Each is a FIFA member.
To make statehood the sole criterion by which teams may gain FIFA recognition is an extremely dangerous road to go down.
As already pointed out, the main bone of contention isn't the Home Nations' existence as FIFA members, but rather their automatic vice-presidency.
The other issue is that none of those states are one of the two nations who started international football.
Swampy
Nov 19 2008, 16:36
QUOTE (dogma @ Nov 19 2008, 16:22)

The other issue is that none of those states are one of the two nations who started international football.
True, but IMO that is a red herring.
I can just about see the case for wanting to see the preferential vice-presidency abolished but I think that as long as the current criminal regime is in charge at FIFA we would be extremely foolish to let it go. Perhaps when the truth comes out about what goes on inside that organisation, and the cleanup begins, can the home nations become equal with all other members. Until then, it is a crying shame that the (mainly Unionist-motivated) myopics would have us sell both our national associations
and our vice-presidency down the river to prove a political point.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.