Full Version: Future Stars Of Scotland
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Zahana-Oni
There is big things expected of the young boy at Liverpool Ryan Flynn. He is in Liverpools first team squad and close to breaking into first team apparantly but yet to feature and is a regular in their reserves after graduating from their academy.

Profile - http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/team/squad/flynn/
Zahana-Oni
Actually Liverpool have a few other Scottish youngsters in their ranks as well - Alex Cooper and Gary MacKay-Stevens oth from Ross County originally?

I wonder if any of these kids will break through in next few years
Zahana-Oni
Barry Bannan at Aston Villa is another who is close to breaking into 1st team and is producing class displays for the reserves week in week out including a few days ago scoring a couple goals and impressing management again

http://www.sundaymercury.net/midlands-spor...66331-22227827/
Zahana-Oni
Bryan Hodge is in Blackburn Rovers 1st team this season but yet to feature

http://www.rovers.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Pro...3~39261,00.html
Zahana-Oni
Liam Cooper at Hull City - 17 year old centre back who has already been on the bench for a coupe of premiership games for them

http://www.hullcityafc.premiumtv.co.uk/pag...8~43525,00.html
Zahana-Oni
James Hall is an attacking midfielder at Everton

http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/james-hall
Accies1
Brian Easton, the best left back in the SPL, and still only 20.
Zahana-Oni
A few young 18/19 year olds in the championship in their first teams and in squads on a regular basis

Alex MacDonald - 18 year old striker for Burnley

Kris Renton - 18 year old Norwich Striker

Alex Pearce - 19 year old Southampton defender

Peter Ramage - 24 year old ex Newcastle now QPR defender?

arab_joe
Scott Robertson, though not the youngest, is yet to feature for Scotland, thus I reckon he can count as a star-of-the-future. Would certainly teach Ferguson and Thomson a thing or two.
Michael W
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Nov 12 2008, 12:25) *

You don't honestly believe that.
DJP
QUOTE (Zahana-Oni @ Nov 12 2008, 12:23) *
James Hall is an attacking midfielder at Everton

http://www.evertonfc.com/player-profile/james-hall

I just hope Ireland don't try and poach any mad.gif

As for James Hall, I sacked him when Everton on football manager as he picked some other country laugh.gif

BullyWee1878
QUOTE (Zahana-Oni @ Nov 12 2008, 11:45) *
There is big things expected of the young boy at Liverpool Ryan Flynn. He is in Liverpools first team squad and close to breaking into first team apparantly but yet to feature and is a regular in their reserves after graduating from their academy.

He isnt close at all to getting into the first team to be honest. He should be loaned out to a Championship side for the rest of this season and probably next season as well.
Wug
The boy McCarthy at Accies surely, he's a future Scottish star.
extraordinAYRy
QUOTE (Michael W @ Nov 13 2008, 00:10) *

You don't honestly believe that.

Brian has been called up to the u21s for their game against NI at NDP on tuesday night.
Thundermonkey
QUOTE (Zahana-Oni @ Nov 12 2008, 11:45) *

Isn't he the boy signed from Falkirk?

Recognise the name.
Shengus Khan
Let's face it, we're shit at football. None of these guys mentioned are going to amount to anything other than journeyman level*. It's the Scottish way.

*Apart from Scott Robertson of course. He's destined to be the next Scotland captain and World Player of the Year cool.gif
Michael W
QUOTE (extraordinAYRy @ Nov 13 2008, 11:39) *
Brian has been called up to the u21s for their game against NI at NDP on tuesday night.

A sure sign he's the best left back in the SPL rolleyes.gif
TheScarf
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Nov 12 2008, 13:25) *

Very good son. I've never heard of him.
FilthyMack
QUOTE (Zahana-Oni @ Nov 12 2008, 11:50) *
Actually Liverpool have a few other Scottish youngsters in their ranks as well - Alex Cooper and Gary MacKay-Stevens oth from Ross County originally?

I wonder if any of these kids will break through in next few years

Mackay Stevens has broken into their reserves I think. From what I'm told about Cooper (son of Neale) he's a real prospect, naturally gifted. Seemed to make an impact too in his few schoolboy internationals. Was also being monitored by Chelsea before he went to Liverpool.
extraordinAYRy
QUOTE (Michael W @ Nov 13 2008, 13:10) *
A sure sign he's the best left back in the SPL rolleyes.gif

Didn't offer it as proof for or against the fact that he is the best left back in the SPL. Just offered a fact rather than personal opinion.

I can vouch for the fact that Franz Beckenbauer has had a discussion involving Ayr United in answer to your sig. Hamilton FC, Brian Easton, Westerlands AFC, The Wee Train Pub football team (Galston, Ayrshire) were all discussed as well in the same conversation. tongue.gif

Edited to spell Beckenbauer correctly
Edited for a second and hopefully final time to add: I have just recalled that Michel Platini and Gerard Houllier were involved in the same conversation.
shaft
QUOTE (Zahana-Oni @ Nov 12 2008, 12:34) *
A few young 18/19 year olds in the championship in their first teams and in squads on a regular basis

possibly one of the worst footballers ever to grace St James Park....truely dreadful,I just hope he has no scottish blood in him!
Gin and Juice
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Nov 13 2008, 12:54) *
Isn't he the boy signed from Falkirk?

Recognise the name.

Aye they signed him for something like 50 grand. We were well screwed
Rinky Sidebottom
Word of caution, we had a player at Leeds who for a few years was considered the future captain of Leeds and probably a regular for Scotland.
The pish written about him on Wikipedia is bull, His family is from Aberdeen and he was born in Sydney.
He played a few times for the first team and was nothing great, he then decided he was actually Australian, though as I said his parents and other siblings were born in Scotland and he was "scottish" until he failed at Leeds.
That player was Jamie McMaster and who knows where the bloke is now, he must be in his late 20's now.
He didn't make it and at that time Leeds had a great team doing really well, so I would always air on the caution side as many so called players for the future don't even get past the first hurdle.
Cliche Guevara
Last I can see he was released by Australian A-League side Central Coast Mariners in 2007.

Incidentally the following ex SPL players play there: Grant Brebner, Charlie Miller, Kevin Muscat, Craig Moore, Eugene Dadi and Bobby Petta
Supras
QUOTE (Zahana-Oni @ Nov 12 2008, 12:09) *
Barry Bannan at Aston Villa is another who is close to breaking into 1st team and is producing class displays for the reserves week in week out including a few days ago scoring a couple goals and impressing management again

http://www.sundaymercury.net/midlands-spor...66331-22227827/

His lack of height could really cost him though sad.gif

From Saints Sean Crighton, and of course me biggrin.gif
chris123
Theres a guy at Newcaslte, used to play for Portsmouth I think, that is actually born in England but has chosen to represent Scotland (think his Parents are from Glasgow.)

Supposedly very good.
Accies1
Easton is the best left back in the SPL at this moment of time, look at the SPL team of the season so far thread and Easton or Papac is in everyones team so far.
Trotter
QUOTE (Zahana-Oni @ Nov 12 2008, 12:34) *

Kris Renton was called up to the Ireland squad but got injured and he is now playing for Scotland. Youngest player to ever play for Norwich first team at 16 years old.
Zahana-Oni
Alex Pearce scored for Southampton today biggrin.gif
gav-ffc
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Nov 13 2008, 10:48) *
He isnt close at all to getting into the first team to be honest. He should be loaned out to a Championship side for the rest of this season and probably next season as well.

Should be loaned back to us due to being ripped off.
Michael W
QUOTE (Trotter @ Nov 15 2008, 19:12) *
Kris Renton was called up to the Ireland squad but got injured and he is now playing for Scotland. Youngest player to ever play for Norwich first team at 16 years old.

Revenge.
Muggy
Kevin McDonald from Burnley - a 500k buy from Dundee. He had a bid by Celtic rejected before he signed for Burnley. Everton, Norwich City, Hearts and Spurs were looking at him also. He's a phenominal player who I've no doubt will go on to become a very good player for Scotland.
Radford
QUOTE (Muggy @ Nov 17 2008, 11:00) *
Kevin McDonald from Burnley - a 500k buy from Dundee. He had a bid by Celtic rejected before he signed for Burnley. Everton, Norwich City, Hearts and Spurs were looking at him also. He's a phenominal player who I've no doubt will go on to become a very good player for Scotland.

What do you make of the decision to call Robertson up ahead of McDonald? I really like Scott Robertson as a player but there's no danger he's as good as McDonald.

Also the fact that Robertson was continually overlooked for the U21s sort of sums us up at that level. Minute he moves to an SPL club, he's in the full squad. Easton at Hamilton doesn't get near the U21s, moves up the SPL and is in the squad. I'm not saying players at this level can't get into the U21 squad (McDonald and McArthur prove otherwise) but it is harder for them.

The notion that Steven Lennon is a better player than Andy Jackson is also hilarious.
The Arch
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 17 2008, 12:08) *
The notion that Steven Lennon is a player is also hilarious.

Fixed
Radford
QUOTE (The Arch @ Nov 17 2008, 12:13) *
Fixed

It's not just him though. Paul Lawson and Rocco Quinn are two that have been part of the U21 set up in recent years and I bet Lennon, Mark Millar and Rory Loy all go the same way, whilst guys like Robertson and Jackson continue to be overlooked because of the clubs they play for and the level they play at.
Accies1
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 17 2008, 12:30) *
It's not just him though. Paul Lawson and Rocco Quinn are two that have been part of the U21 set up in recent years and I bet Lennon, Mark Millar and Rory Loy all go the same way, whilst guys like Robertson and Jackson continue to be overlooked because of the clubs they play for and the level they play at.

It's not just being an SPL player that helps you get selected, it's being an Old Firm player. Use the example of Barry Robson, he was constantly one of the better players in the SPL while at Dundee Utd and iirc only ever got one call-up in his time at Tannadice, he then moves to Celtic and he is now one of the first names in the Scotland squad. It's bias towards the Old firm, not SPL clubs. Yesterday Caldwell was horrific against us but he'll still, most likely, be a starter on Wednesday.
The Arch
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Nov 17 2008, 13:01) *
Yesterday Caldwell was horrific against us but he'll still, most likely, be a starter on Wednesday.

Caldwell's had a very good season to be fair. One bad game doesn't mean he should lose his spot, as that would count out the majority of the Scottish squad.

Radford's point is true, and the majority of the poor performers in the u20 world cup side, were the Old Firm "starlets". Alan Lowing is at this stage in his career, a far poorer full back(albeit on different sides), than Robert Harris, but it's obvious which of the two is more likely to get a call-up.

Hopefully Brian Easton carries on his form, and makes it into the full squad. I think he's an excellent player.
arab_joe
QUOTE (arab_joe @ Nov 12 2008, 12:40) *
Scott Robertson, though not the youngest, is yet to feature for Scotland, thus I reckon he can count as a star-of-the-future. Would certainly teach Ferguson and Thomson a thing or two.

Maybe Burley read the thread...
Iain7_mfc
Jamie Murphy could be a real star for the Scotland team in a few years. We have a lot of players coming through the ranks at the moment with high prospects. Paul Slane along with Rab McHugh are also great talents but Murph is the one to watch for. Resemblances of Faddy in his early days but not as aggressive. He also needs to spend a little more time in the gym to bulk up his muscles. He's in the U-21 squad for tonights game in Hamilton. Hopefully he'll be a started and end the game with a good performance and maybe bag a goal!
gav-ffc
Arfield.
ExiledSaint
Aaron Spears I think his name is. Apparently the E****** are trying to poach him but I'm sure I read somewhere that he wants to play for Scotland. We'll see.