Full Version: For Bawwwwwyyy
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
ChampionsElect
Celtic with 8 first team injuries and a no contact rule put in place at training still have 6 players in the Scotland squad.

Yet despite the injuries in their own squad, they have decided to stick with the National squad and try and get a game in the friendly vs Argentina.

Think Mr Ferguson, who pulls out of most non compettive or low key ties should applaud his national team mates and take note.
Pink Freud
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Nov 11 2008, 18:55) *
Celtic with 8 first team injuries and a no contact rule put in place at training still have 6 players in the Scotland squad.

Yet despite the injuries in their own squad, they have decided to stick with the National squad and try and get a game in the friendly vs Argentina.

Think Mr Ferguson, who pulls out of most non compettive or low key ties should applaud his national team mates and take note.

The first, and I suspect only, time I agree with one of your posts. biggrin.gif
ChampionsElect
QUOTE (Pink Freud @ Nov 11 2008, 18:59) *
The first, and I suspect only, time I agree with one of your posts. biggrin.gif

I should of included an anti-Midden rant. tongue.gif
Pink Freud
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Nov 11 2008, 19:05) *
I should of included an anti-Midden rant. tongue.gif

Your sig absolves you. biggrin.gif
LordHawHaw

Celtic should pull all our players out of this non event, if anyone picks up an injury then given our current status and the implication of further missing players it's tantamount to incompetence I'd suggest
ChampionsElect
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Nov 11 2008, 20:03) *
Celtic should pull all our players out of this non event, if anyone picks up an injury then given our current status and the implication of further missing players it's tantamount to incompetence I'd suggest

Strachan said something along the lines of he gave them the choice, they all wanted to play for the National side. Might be stupid in the long run but you have to comend their loyalty.
myshkin
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Nov 11 2008, 21:14) *
Strachan said something along the lines of he gave them the choice, they all wanted to play for the National side. Might be stupid in the long run but you have to comend their loyalty.

Loyalty doesn't pay the wages. Having said that if they can get Diego to sign a few strips for them that should keep them ticking over..
khenny

I would agree.

However the reason I would agree is that every feckin Scotsman should pull out the squad till that Inglish nobend gets out our national team set up.

Think that may be covered on a few other threads though.

smile.gif

Rant over.
No8.
I am sure Strachan will have pulled out a couple nearer the game...Are these the same 'Loyal' Scotsmen who pulled out the Kirin Cup a couple of years ago. Incidentally it is the only competition Scotland have won since the Rous Trophy tongue.gif

Barry Ferguson has made himself available although he has not even played a full game for Rangers this season tongue.gif
SmellTheGlove
It's a shame for you Scots that TRAITORboyd and TRAITORmcculloch turned their backs on their country, I'm sure you would have been glad to have had them warming the bench for this game. They must be learning of TRAITORwattie.
glasnost

Fully agree. If only our players had the mindset of Lee McCulloch and Kris Boyd.
BOD Red
QUOTE (glasnost @ Nov 12 2008, 10:04) *
Fully agree. If only our players had the mindset of Lee McCulloch and Kris Boyd.

I wish Caldwell and McManus had the same mindset , Scotland might get 2 centre halfs who can actually run and not have to defend on their own 18 yard line for the whole game cos they have no pace.
Ally's honest man
QUOTE (BOD Red @ Nov 12 2008, 14:32) *
I wish Caldwell and McManus had the same mindset , Scotland might get 2 centre halfs who can actually run and not have to defend on their own 18 yard line for the whole game cos they have no pace.

Like?
BOD Red
QUOTE (Ally's honest man @ Nov 12 2008, 14:37) *
Like?

Although he is injured at present , Russell Anderson is better than either.
WeAreThePeople

You mean last season when he was playing through the injury which just set him back a few months due to the surgeory.

The guy could barely play for f*cking Rangers last season, and you wanted him playing for Scotland too?

TBH I'd rather have seen him get the surgeory last season, but you'll see he is in contention to captain the side for the Argentina friendly.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Nov 12 2008, 10:02) *
It's a shame for you Scots that TRAITORboyd and TRAITORmcculloch turned their backs on their country, I'm sure you would have been glad to have had them warming the bench for this game. They must be learning of TRAITORwattie.

Traitor McCulloch? McCulloch retired from International Football FOR GOOD, due to family reasons, nothing to do with the country.

Traitorish retired players for not playing? dry.gif
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Nov 12 2008, 16:57) *
Traitor McCulloch? McCulloch retired from International Football FOR GOOD, due to family reasons, nothing to do with the country.

Above two players walked on their country when needed as did TRAITORsmith.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Nov 12 2008, 20:42) *

You are offered the managerial job at Celtic FC.

Do you:

a) take the job, as you support them

cool.gif tell them to f*ck off your managing scotland.

No doubt you will lie and pick B, the truth is you'd pick A.

McCulloch can quit scotland for good if he chooses, you won't see him ever back in a Scotland top, everyone who has quit Scotland now is a Traitor in your eyes then?

And I see you are stalking me, AGAIN, do you have some creepy obsession with me you smelly c*nt?
ChampionsElect
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Nov 12 2008, 16:56) *
You mean last season when he was playing through the injury which just set him back a few months due to the surgeory.

The guy could barely play for f*cking Rangers last season, and you wanted him playing for Scotland too?

TBH I'd rather have seen him get the surgeory last season, but you'll see he is in contention to captain the side for the Argentina friendly.

No. I mean for years now.

Unless Scotland are playing well or in a 'glamour' tie.
Beren
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Nov 13 2008, 17:21) *
No. I mean for years now.

Unless Scotland are playing well or in a 'glamour' tie.

Ferguson made his international début just over 10 years ago. Since then he has featured in less than 50% (43) of Scotland's 90 matches. Given that he is the 'best' Scottish player of the current generation, why is this?

In contrast, James McFadden has featured in 41 games since his début 4 years after Ferguson (out of 62 games). He also featured in a number of U21 matches during this period as well. Darren Fletcher has played for the national team on 40 occasions in pretty much half the time that Ferguson has managed 43. Making his international début for Bulgaira a week or so after Ferguson, was a certain Mr Petrov, who in the ten years since has managed to accumulate another 73 caps.
smithers-jones
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Nov 12 2008, 20:42) *

As an "Oirishman", supposedly, why are you so interested in who plays for the Scottish national team?
Beren
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Nov 13 2008, 19:18) *
As an "Oirishman", supposedly, why are you so interested in who plays for the Scottish national team?

Scottish Diaspora? unsure.gif

lol
The Dog
McCulloch and Boyd both quit when they weren't getting picked laugh.gif

I through grandparents can play for Ireland, Scotland and Italy but seen as im not getting picked then im withdrawing my services and no wish to be eligible for selection for any of them.
ChampionsElect
QUOTE (Eönwë @ Nov 13 2008, 18:13) *
Ferguson made his international début just over 10 years ago. Since then he has featured in less than 50% (43) of Scotland's 90 matches. Given that he is the 'best' Scottish player of the current generation, why is this?

In contrast, James McFadden has featured in 41 games since his début 4 years after Ferguson (out of 62 games). He also featured in a number of U21 matches during this period as well. Darren Fletcher has played for the national team on 40 occasions in pretty much half the time that Ferguson has managed 43. Making his international début for Bulgaira a week or so after Ferguson, was a certain Mr Petrov, who in the ten years since has managed to accumulate another 73 caps.

Nice figures sir.

I seem to sense that none of the Rangers fans will be able to reply to this. Or reply with a decent response should I say.
LAGer
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Nov 14 2008, 01:16) *
Nice figures sir.

I seem to sense that none of the Rangers fans will be able to reply to this. Or reply with a decent response should I say.

It's all very petty. Definetly, if Barry gave the same commitment to Scotland as he does Rangers, he'd have I'd say around 60 caps. He is injury prone, but plays through for Rangers. He doesn't for Scotland.

On Boyd & McCulloch, I don't agree with their decisions. Although McCulloch should be applauded, he surely recognised that he's just awful, and withdrew for the sake of the fans, a nice gesture I'd say.

I am a big fan of Rangers & Barry Ferguson, but in this situation I can, and have never been able to defend him. In saying that, he is continually picked, so he must do something right (I mean on the pitch or training ground and NOT between the sheets).
glasnost
QUOTE (LAGer @ Nov 14 2008, 13:04) *
It's all very petty. Definetly, if Barry gave the same commitment to Scotland as he does Rangers,

And that's the heart of the matter - he shouldn't.
No8.
Of course he shouldn't and nor should Rangers let him!! I cant believe Burley will play all the Celts for the full 90 minutes. Surely he would have spoken to strachan before naming the squad and an agreement will most likely have been made.

You have to laugh at the Diddy supporters who hate the OF but want to borrow their players to represent their country rolleyes.gif . The OF invest 10s of millions in these players yet they are expected to let them play even when carrying an injury?
paul-r-cfc

Did anyone really care when he retired?
JUMPURS

What family reasons would make you stop playing football for your country, but not stop you playing for your club?

And according to the BBC he quit because "He wants to concentrate on club football and getting back to fitness and playing for his club."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/i...als/7604890.stm

That is turning your back on your country, but keep making excuses up.
No8.
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Nov 14 2008, 17:43) *
What family reasons would make you stop playing football for your country, but not stop you playing for your club?

And according to the BBC he quit because "He wants to concentrate on club football and getting back to fitness and playing for his club."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/i...als/7604890.stm

That is turning your back on your country, but keep making excuses up.

Making excuses for what? He wasn't 1st choice for Scotland and cant get near the Rangers 1st team. He quit international football to try and prolong his club career as Dozens have done before him.
JUMPURS
QUOTE (No8. @ Nov 14 2008, 17:51) *
Making excuses for what? He wasn't 1st choice for Scotland and cant get near the Rangers 1st team. He quit international football to try and prolong his club career as Dozens have done before him.

The family reasons, is an excuse the wearethepeople made up.
No8.
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Nov 14 2008, 18:01) *
The family reasons, is an excuse the wearethepeople made up.

Maybe it is but he doesn't need excuses. McCulloch has simply made a choice to retire from International football to concentrate on his club career which opens up a place in the squad for a younger player. As i said McCulloch was finished at Scotland anyway.
patto
If fergerson gets picked over brown fletcher or robson, george berties off his head!
Top Cat

So it's still yer national squad after all! rolleyes.gif

I think it's been said before that Barry has already been through the pain barrier for his country. Ask the national team doctor if yer wanting tae use facts when ye write pish like this! It should also be 'remembered' [although you geezers over at the EECC don't do this I know], a few of yer own mob are grateful for the opportunity and of course aren't injured which is still a key factor for international players being able tae play for their country. tongue.gif

Btw, make sure yer around on this site when the prizes get given oot! wink.gif I'm so looking forward tae seeing ye delete 'Champions Elect' fae yer avatar, delete yer comment like above and yer league table showing yer just ahead of us currently! tongue.gif No hiding and disappearing come the time noo!! biggrin.gif
No8.
QUOTE (patto @ Nov 15 2008, 19:53) *
If fergerson gets picked over brown fletcher or robson, george berties off his head!

Robson is absolutely shite and should be nowhere near International football!! In fact he gets shown up increasingly in the Champions League games.
The boy with the blues
QUOTE (No8. @ Nov 15 2008, 20:44) *
Robson is absolutely shite and should be nowhere near International football!! In fact he gets shown up increasingly in the Champions League games.

all celtic players get shown up in the champions league!
KTID05AND4EVER
QUOTE (No8. @ Nov 11 2008, 22:39) *
I am sure Strachan will have pulled out a couple nearer the game...Are these the same 'Loyal' Scotsmen who pulled out the Kirin Cup a couple of years ago. Incidentally it is the only competition Scotland have won since the Rous Trophy tongue.gif

Barry Ferguson has made himself available although he has not even played a full game for Rangers this season tongue.gif

Whoop-dee-fuckin-doo!!

Ferguson is shite better off without him, or all the ****

Edited to say, I would have Broadfoot though, because he actually wants to play for Scotland
No8.
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 17 2008, 13:27) *
Whoop-dee-fuckin-doo!!

Ferguson is shite better off without him, or all the ****

Edited to say, I would have Broadfoot though, because he actually wants to play for Scotland

Whoop-dee-fuckin-doo

I would withdraw them all.

Hopefully Ferguson takes it easy and uses it as a practice session to get match sharpness back..Other than that it is a pointless game and should be treated as such by any OF player
BOD Red
QUOTE (No8. @ Nov 17 2008, 14:15) *
Whoop-dee-fuckin-doo

I would withdraw them all.

Hopefully Ferguson takes it easy and uses it as a practice session to get match sharpness back..Other than that it is a pointless game and should be treated as such by any OF player

They certainly did that all right. They were all shit.
No8.
QUOTE (BOD Red @ Nov 21 2008, 00:05) *
They certainly did that all right. They were all shit.

They usually are. You know you have problems when the 2 players with the highest marks are Kris Commons and Kirk Broadfoot wink.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (The Dog @ Nov 13 2008, 22:48) *
McCulloch and Boyd both quit when they weren't getting picked laugh.gif

I through grandparents can play for Ireland, Scotland and Italy but seen as im not getting picked then im withdrawing my services and no wish to be eligible for selection for any of them.

Do you know McCulloch or something? Or just making it up?

McCulloch quit for "family reasons" as he said, and said he wouldn't come out retirement. Boyd said he would once Burley left.

I think there is a difference.