Captain Kerthorse
Nov 11 2008, 12:45
BerwickMad
Nov 11 2008, 13:06
Interesting interview, however he isn't really offering anything on how we can move forward, and how he's going to turn things around. He just doesnt seem interested enough. The players don't really seem to want to play for him, and turning up late isnt really going to get him any respect from anyone.
bandits
Nov 11 2008, 16:09
QUOTE (BerwickMad @ Nov 11 2008, 13:06)

Interesting interview, however he isn't really offering anything on how we can move forward, and how he's going to turn things around. He just doesnt seem interested enough. The players don't really seem to want to play for him, and turning up late isnt really going to get him any respect from anyone.
Exactly! He hasn't got a clue!
There is no way in the world he could turn this round as his attitude as an absolute disgrace!
Cowans a Square Heed
Nov 11 2008, 16:12
Theres no real progress there though. If he is willing to stand down then why doesn't he.
berwick-the-unbeatable
Nov 11 2008, 16:46
He may aswell have just said, I could resign, but I'll just wait to get sacked.
'And to be fair' I liked his interview.
i hope to f**k he resigns cos no offense(and this isnt a dig at the folke making the threads cos most o them do support Berwick so it is a direct interest to them) but im fed up wi seein threads aboot this fucking guy. He's an arsehole, we're all agreed so cant it be put to rest until something does actually happen?
Centre Stand Hero
Nov 11 2008, 19:42
TBH there's probably more to the interview than is on the BBC website, he obviously does think he can turn the club round although i'm yet to see any evidence of this. If anything we seem to be getting worse not better, the players genuinly don't seem to be interested and he doesn't seem to be able to motivate them so it does seem he's waiting to be sacked rather than leaving.
If he walks who will replace him?
Paul Smith?
Rowan Alexander?
Graeme Roberts?
Any other contenders?
QUOTE (hughj @ Nov 12 2008, 00:56)

Paul Smith?
Rowan Alexander?
Graeme Roberts?
Any other contenders?
Tom Hendrie.....?
Cough, splutter
Neil Oliver,you heard it here 1st.
heedthebaa
Nov 12 2008, 12:39
QUOTE (shaft @ Nov 12 2008, 12:22)

Neil Oliver,you heard it here 1st.
i hope ollie's in the frame, but he wasnt interested when JC left. concentrating on his business
Cowans a Square Heed
Nov 12 2008, 16:17
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 12 2008, 12:39)

i hope ollie's in the frame, but he wasnt interested when JC left. concentrating on his business
Yeah I've heard he hasn't got the time but you never know
BerwickMad
Nov 12 2008, 16:21
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 12 2008, 12:39)

People said after Coughlin that he wouldn't come because of who was in charge at the club, so if theres a takeover that might change.
Boredandalone
Nov 12 2008, 21:12

Paul Smith?
Rowan Alexander?
Graeme Roberts?
Any other contenders?
Boredandalone
Nov 12 2008, 21:16

Paul Smith?
Rowan Alexander?
Graeme Roberts?
Any other contenders?
If given the chance Rowan Alexander, now fully UEFA Pro Licence qualified would snap the chance up. If the club could find a sponsor, he would also be keen to tie in the day time role like Jim Chapman at Dumbarton. That seems to have worked.
Applied last time and didn't even get the courtesy of a response. He has lots to prove to doubters who screwed him over and nothing what so ever to lose...
The amount of shite written on here about him come from people who don't know him or have spent time in his company. He's way better than the clown at Berwick just now.
heedthebaa
Nov 13 2008, 10:26
QUOTE (berwick-the-unbeatable @ Nov 11 2008, 16:46)

He may aswell have just said, I could resign, but I'll just wait to get sacked.
heard he's been sacked
Martin Prince
Nov 13 2008, 10:43
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 13 2008, 11:26)

heard he's been sacked
Think he offered his resignation.
BerwickMad
Nov 13 2008, 10:52
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/2008/11...86908-20891408/BERWICK Rangers boss Allan McGonigal has his spell in charge cut short after chairman Robert Wilson accepted an offer for the club from a consortium led by members of the supporters club. (The Scotsman)
McMuffin
Nov 13 2008, 11:24
Oh no! Who's going to run Hogwarts now?
markcass
Nov 13 2008, 13:39
It has to be Neil Oliver he is a Berwicker through and through, loves the club, has been shit on it the past by the regime, he has played the game professionally and has contacts galore in the game, he still has good links with ex pro's who he has played with and are now managers no names mentioned

but most of all he is a berwick fan!!! so lets start another campaign to bring ollie home!!!!
BerwickMad
Nov 13 2008, 14:11
Probably needs someone with some experience, but Oliver could do a good job if given it. Be interesting to see who all applies.
Cowans a Square Heed
Nov 13 2008, 16:15
QUOTE (BerwickMad @ Nov 13 2008, 14:11)

Be interesting to see who all applies.
Exactly, probably a bunch of Renwick's
markcass
Nov 13 2008, 16:35
ole ole ole ole ole ollie ollie!!!!!
ollie wants to be a berwick ranger only live for sex and danger
spindlingdude
Nov 13 2008, 16:53
just as we were getting really good at beating mcgonigals teams aswell lol
Berwick till i die
Nov 13 2008, 19:18
I think we need to get all the off field problems solved first before we even think about getting a new manager. I imagine there will be a lot of work for the new owners to do off the pitch like getting locals back on side, sponsors interested again, managing the debt etc so I would be tempted to put Crease and Little in charge until the end of the season which gives the new owners time to sort things out and prepare for the 2009-2010 season plus we stand more chance of appointing a quality manager in May for a new season than what we will now with our current position.
Centre Stand Hero
Nov 13 2008, 19:31
QUOTE (Berwick till i die @ Nov 13 2008, 19:18)

I think we need to get all the off field problems solved first before we even think about getting a new manager. I imagine there will be a lot of work for the new owners to do off the pitch like getting locals back on side, sponsors interested again, managing the debt etc so I would be tempted to put Crease and Little in charge until the end of the season which gives the new owners time to sort things out and prepare for the 2009-2010 season plus we stand more chance of appointing a quality manager in May for a new season than what we will now with our current position.
Good post and totally agree we do really need to sort out our off field problems first maybe we should start to walk again before we start running again. Although Neil Oliver was hanging about on Saturday.
g-force1967
Nov 13 2008, 19:55
It wouldn't be fair to inflict this team on any manager who would be planning for the long term. We are just going to have to write this season off (a slight hope for the playoffs maybe) and get the business and community side put right before worrying about the team. A caretaker until the end of the season would be a reasonable compromise.
markcass
Nov 13 2008, 20:04
Look the only way to get the naitives on side is start as you mean to go on and in my opinion the only answer is neil oliver he is a berwicker! his heart is in the club! let him come in now and start planning for nxt season instead of waiting till may!!! ok we gotta be cautious but with the contacts he has he can have players tied up in jan for nxt season lets go positive for a change chaps!!!
Centre Stand Hero
Nov 13 2008, 20:06
QUOTE (markcass @ Nov 13 2008, 20:04)

lets go positive for a change chaps!!!
Now that would be a novelty for Berwick.
berwickscot
Nov 13 2008, 20:16
Neil Oliver has not done much since being Sandy Clark's assistant. Think there are better former players that would be suited to job but would they want it. Who is going to be new chairman?
dreamteamer
Nov 13 2008, 20:20
Jimmy Crease to be in charge of team affairs this Sat...
markcass
Nov 13 2008, 20:43
QUOTE (berwickscot @ Nov 13 2008, 20:16)

Neil Oliver has not done much since being Sandy Clark's assistant. Think there are better former players that would be suited to job but would they want it. Who is going to be new chairman?
Kevin keegan hadt done much since he left football bt his heart was always in NUFC as the same wi ollie his heart is 110% Berwick Rangers dont talk so much pish!!! he has played the game at pro level unlike many others we have had!!! if your heart is in the club your on nil up every game simple as !!!!!
Berwick till i die
Nov 13 2008, 21:22
QUOTE (markcass @ Nov 13 2008, 20:04)

Look the only way to get the naitives on side is start as you mean to go on and in my opinion the only answer is neil oliver he is a berwicker! his heart is in the club! let him come in now and start planning for nxt season instead of waiting till may!!! ok we gotta be cautious but with the contacts he has he can have players tied up in jan for nxt season lets go positive for a change chaps!!!
If Oliver was interested in the job at this current time then I wouldn't hesitate for one second to appoint him the problem is he runs his own business so presuming training is still in the Edinburgh area would he be able to commit going their twice a week which is why I think he might not be interested or able to take the job. Perhaps someone like Warren Hawke might be another good shout.
I still think a caretaker manager until the end of the season is the best way to go unless we have someone half decent who could come in now like Oliver or Hawke or someone experienced.
WoolerWeeGer
Nov 13 2008, 21:28
[quote name='Berwick till i die' date='Nov 13 2008, 22:22' post='2915661']
Perhaps someone like Warren Hawke might be another good shout.
Snap,Same Thought's!
TWEEDMOUTH BILL
Nov 13 2008, 22:04
QUOTE (berwickscot @ Nov 13 2008, 20:16)

Neil was involved with the 2nd team last year as well as looking at players for falkirk and is very highly thought off by yogie and brian rice and lets face it can things get worse
markcass
Nov 13 2008, 22:58
well said bill!!! ollie ollie ollie!!!
BerwickMad
Nov 13 2008, 23:07
No point rushing an appointment though. Seasons over, so its just preparing for next season and hoping to see some improvement. Would like to see someone in charge before the transfer window though so we have a headstart on getting ready for next year. I think we have some decent players at the club as well if they're managed correctly, so that helps. Still think we should go for a bit of experience though. Would be good if Oliver could be involved as well though, along with Yano and Robbie Horn maybe.
markcass
Nov 13 2008, 23:19
get ollie in now bri thats how to start building for next season not settling for just seeing this season out!!! get him in and start approaching players for next season lets all look foward instead of settling for finishing this season bottom of the league lets build now for finnishing top next season!!!!!!
BerwickMad
Nov 13 2008, 23:29
QUOTE (markcass @ Nov 13 2008, 23:19)

get ollie in now bri thats how to start building for next season not settling for just seeing this season out!!! get him in and start approaching players for next season lets all look foward instead of settling for finishing this season bottom of the league lets build now for finnishing top next season!!!!!!
Know what your saying like, but I would prefere them to make a decision after seeing who all applies. 2 weeks to a month wouldnt do us much harm.
Still though, at least we're looking to the future with optimism again!

Been a while.
WoolerWeeGer
Nov 14 2008, 01:08
QUOTE (BerwickMad @ Nov 14 2008, 00:07)

No point rushing an appointment though. Seasons over, so its just preparing for next season and hoping to see some improvement. Would like to see someone in charge before the transfer window though so we have a headstart on getting ready for next year. I think we have some decent players at the club as well if they're managed correctly, so that helps. Still think we should go for a bit of experience though. Would be good if Oliver could be involved as well though, along with Yano and Robbie Horn maybe.
Agree 100% with you,The only thing that worries me before things start to look up is that the gate drops below 200 & people who have found other things to do on a saturday don't come back?
Along with yourself & lots of others we will support the Dreamteam till we die,But we're not enough!
Mind you i've seen it worse in my lifetime!
Onwards & Upwards!
berwick-the-unbeatable
Nov 14 2008, 08:28
We are Berwick super Berwick Ollie is our king.
markcass
Nov 14 2008, 08:53
Will board be in place for tommorrows game???
Berwick_Canary
Nov 14 2008, 09:14
A lot has happened in the last 24 hours and I for one am more enthuiastic about the future as much as anyone.
Talk of the play-off's is way off the mark. Let the new BoD get their feet under the table and start repairing some of the damage that has been done in the community and in the football department.
Personally I would quite willing right off the this season and possibly even next just to the building blocks in place. Neil Oliver, Jimmy Crease & Ian Little or Ian Little & Robbie Horn would all be a decent shout as a new management (team) but after all the upheavel in the last year or so they are going to need time and patience from everyone around the corner.
I'm sure everyone will get behind who every it is and give them 110%
QUOTE (markcass @ Nov 13 2008, 22:58)

well said bill!!! ollie ollie ollie!!!
What a load of dross, Berwick have already appointed a manager with no experience of management at this level and it was a disaster. What Berwick need is a manager with a proven track record at this level and there are a few out there that would fit the bill who I have already mentioned. Neil oliver may be a Berwick man but you need someone who has the experience and can do a good job, you can't risk another disaster. Also due to his other interests, Oliver would be keen to move training to Berwick, this may save money but there will be major problems with the players if this happens as this will cost them much more money and time travelling. if the best idea you can come up with is Neil Oliver then you are way out of touch with what is required at Berwick which is no real surprise for someone who does not even go to Shielfield.
As I have said in previous posts, some at Berwick are glad to see the board leave, but don't be too sure that those coming in are going to do any better I don't think those coming in are going to put any more money into the club although I'd be delighted for you all if they surprise me.
markcass
Nov 14 2008, 10:10
QUOTE (hughj @ Nov 14 2008, 10:02)

What a load of dross, Berwick have already appointed a manager with no experience of management at this level and it was a disaster. What Berwick need is a manager with a proven track record at this level and there are a few out there that would fit the bill who I have already mentioned. Neil oliver may be a Berwick man but you need someone who has the experience and can do a good job, you can't risk another disaster. Also due to his other interests, Oliver would be keen to move training to Berwick, this may save money but there will be major problems with the players if this happens as this will cost them much more money and time travelling. if the best idea you can come up with is Neil Oliver then you are way out of touch with what is required at Berwick which is no real surprise for someone who does not even go to Shielfield.
As I have said in previous posts, some at Berwick are glad to see the board leave, but don't be too sure that those coming in are going to do any better I don't think those coming in are going to put any more money into the club although I'd be delighted for you all if they surprise me.
How hugh GTF will you its obvious your a berwck fan of some sort a bitter ex board member i would guess and not a gretna one im now going to choose not to even read any of your posts coz all you spowt is cod shite.
QUOTE (markcass @ Nov 14 2008, 10:10)

How hugh GTF will you its obvious your a berwck fan of some sort a bitter ex board member i would guess and not a gretna one im now going to choose not to even read any of your posts coz all you spowt is cod shite.
Have you ever considered supporting berwick? have you ever paid through their turnstiles? just curious!
BerwickMad
Nov 14 2008, 10:17
QUOTE (hughj @ Nov 14 2008, 10:02)

Its not all about pumping in cash. Most important is to repair the links in the community and give people a club to be proud of again. I think there is a huge potential to make money in sponsorship if we can get local business onside and get the website sorted. Also in the kit. A decent kit and a good outlet will mean that sales will shoot up, especially in the summer months when the town is full of holiday makers. Promoting the club in the town and region should be far easier now with a board full of ideas and willing to work together. There is so much potential with this takeover and I am chuffed its taken place.
QUOTE (BerwickMad @ Nov 14 2008, 10:17)

Its not all about pumping in cash. Most important is to repair the links in the community and give people a club to be proud of again. I think there is a huge potential to make money in sponsorship if we can get local business onside and get the website sorted. Also in the kit. A decent kit and a good outlet will mean that sales will shoot up, especially in the summer months when the town is full of holiday makers. Promoting the club in the town and region should be far easier now with a board full of ideas and willing to work together. There is so much potential with this takeover and I am chuffed its taken place.
I truely hope that your optimism is justified, genuine fans like you are the very life of the club but sometimes you can be a tad blinkered. Hopefully onwards and upwards, best luck to you.
BerwickMad
Nov 14 2008, 10:28
QUOTE (hughj @ Nov 14 2008, 10:22)

I truely hope that your optimism is justified, genuine fans like you are the very life of the club but sometimes you can be a tad blinkered. Hopefully onwards and upwards, best luck to you.
markcass
Nov 14 2008, 10:42
QUOTE (hughj @ Nov 14 2008, 10:13)

Have you ever considered supporting berwick? have you ever paid through their turnstiles? just curious!
went to my first game aged 3 been going ever since

how long hve you supported gretna???
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.