Full Version: Eyemouth Utd V Gretna 15/11
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > East of Scotland League
Marko A
Just wondering how many fans Gretna will be expecting to bring to the game?
freedomwriter
QUOTE (Marko A @ Nov 11 2008, 11:22) *

dunno if it is right but i heard 5,000 marko, oblo will be loving it!
ChorleyTony
QUOTE (freedomwriter @ Nov 11 2008, 13:11) *
dunno if it is right but i heard 5,000 marko, oblo will be loving it!

I suspect it will be the same old suspects, so I would imagine about the usual 80ish.
heedthebaa
QUOTE (Marko A @ Nov 11 2008, 11:22) *

something tells me we'll be outnumbered marko, think i'll book my pie online now.
gretnagirl
QUOTE (ChorleyTony @ Nov 11 2008, 12:25) *
I suspect it will be the same old suspects, so I would imagine about the usual 80ish.

I suspect you re right Tony.Ive booked my seat on the bus and am really looking forward to it.
freedomwriter
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 11 2008, 12:29) *
something tells me we'll be outnumbered marko, think i'll book my pie online now.

will you book me one now aswell?
ChorleyTony
QUOTE (gretnagirl @ Nov 11 2008, 13:35) *
I suspect you re right Tony.Ive booked my seat on the bus and am really looking forward to it.

I'm in the car again with ChorleyMary and the TT man. 4 hour journey there for us but like you, am really looking forward to the game on Saturday.
freedomwriter
anyone got any predictions on the game?

i reckon 2-0 gretna
heedthebaa
QUOTE (freedomwriter @ Nov 11 2008, 12:47) *
will you book me one now aswell?

will i f**k as like, you know me well enough that i dont share when it comes tae pies tongue.gif
freedomwriter
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 11 2008, 13:00) *
will i f**k as like, you know me well enough that i dont share when it comes tae pies tongue.gif

haha, fair enough. i will be a few miles away anyway at muirkirk lol
heedthebaa
QUOTE (freedomwriter @ Nov 11 2008, 12:55) *

2 2
dougalldogg
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 11 2008, 13:16) *
2 2

optimistic, il go 7-0 Gretna..... in the first half lol
heedthebaa
QUOTE (dougalldogg @ Nov 11 2008, 13:22) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif i hope thats no you looking for a bite from mr skillen again dogg
dougalldogg
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 11 2008, 14:01) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif i hope thats no you looking for a bite from mr skillen again dogg

me? ohmy.gif No never what do you take me for..... ph34r.gif
KingfaetheSooth
No suprise to see that the bigot brothers have a good following from the Eyemouth Yoof who don't have the train fare to Glasgow. dry.gif
skunk
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 11 2008, 16:46) *
2 2

1 1 a hope!Looking forward to game.No checked forecast but pitch in good condition just soft.

Heedthebaa they tell me you shot bairns on cliffs when you were a laddie you sniper of berwick.No shooting players on sat mind!

Gretna probably the best team in league av heard.But see Edinburgh city also beat them 4 1.

Exciting times to be involved
gretnagirl
Apart from the pies,what hospitality is there at Eyemouth?Which pubs are near ground?(ones that will welcome the Gretna support of course!).
dougalldogg
QUOTE (gretnagirl @ Nov 12 2008, 08:45) *
Apart from the pies,what hospitality is there at Eyemouth?Which pubs are near ground?(ones that will welcome the Gretna support of course!).

There is a very good pub not so far away in a small town near by called Ayton the pub is called the Black Bull always willing to lay on food if given prior notice, but the pub the team usually head to after the game is the Oblo, not sure if all 500 + teams will fit in there so you are always all welcome to come to the Black Bull.
heedthebaa
QUOTE (skunk @ Nov 12 2008, 08:27) *
Heedthebaa they tell me you shot bairns on cliffs when you were a laddie you sniper of berwick.No shooting players on sat mind!

laugh.gif laugh.gif who the f**k have you been speaking too, that was 25yrs ago, in my yoof. although i could be tempted if the scoreline gets oot of hand laugh.gif
Marko A
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 12 2008, 10:52) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif who the f**k have you been speaking too, that was 25yrs ago, in my yoof. although i could be tempted if the scoreline gets oot of hand laugh.gif

If he doesn't get his half time pie then nobody is safe laugh.gif laugh.gif
heedthebaa
QUOTE (gretnagirl @ Nov 12 2008, 08:45) *

golf club overlooks the pitch and has the space to accomodate 80, but dont know how welcome you'd be. failing that, it's across the town to oblo's, the ship, ( pazzi's chippy in between the two )
heedthebaa
QUOTE (Marko A @ Nov 12 2008, 10:57) *
If he doesn't get his half time pie then nobody is safe laugh.gif laugh.gif

not a pretty picture being painted about me today, pack of cnuts laugh.gif
shogun1
QUOTE (freedomwriter @ Nov 11 2008, 12:55) *

i reckon 2-0 gretna

I reckon eyemouth playing at the top of thier game could manage a draw from this one, they are not the bad team some people make out, could surprise gretna,eyemouth are very capable of scoring goals,2-2 for me wink.gif
skunk
QUOTE (gretnagirl @ Nov 12 2008, 12:15) *

Golf club does look over the pitch,snobbery factor ther is no more .food good and very reasonable.As the heed said you have 3 good bars in town all next to each other,oblo,ship,and fleet.
come over,you will have plenty of fun. cool.gif
EUFC
Looking forward to this one. Hardest game of the season so far for the Gulls but I'm sure they will be up for having not played for 3 weeks. Looks like Eyemouth are almost full strength for the first time since the pre-season so should be a good game.

MON THE GULLS!!
heedthebaa
QUOTE (EUFC @ Nov 13 2008, 11:04) *
Looking forward to this one. Hardest game of the season so far for the Gulls but I'm sure they will be up for having not played for 3 weeks. Looks like Eyemouth are almost full strength for the first time since the pre-season so should be a good game.

MON THE GULLS!!

how far off is windy ?? been a big miss sad.gif
heedthebaa
eyemouth 2 gretna 3
Marko A
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 15 2008, 16:26) *
eyemouth 2 gretna 3

Should of been out of sight in the first half, one perfectly good goal chalked off and several other missed chances cost us dearly.
heedthebaa
QUOTE (Marko A @ Nov 15 2008, 16:32) *
Should of been out of sight in the first half, one perfectly good goal chalked off and several other missed chances cost us dearly.

our inability to pass the ball, keep posession for more than 2 seconds and fitness in the 2nd half cost us the game marko. gretna also missed several chances you know
jeckwithesneck
serveral chances means about the 7 or 8 chances mark. Sorry to say marko but Eyemouth didny have anywere near that many chances. Unless my view of a chance and your view of a chance must b guy different
Marko A
QUOTE (jeckwithesneck @ Nov 15 2008, 18:21) *
serveral chances means about the 7 or 8 chances mark. Sorry to say marko but Eyemouth didny have anywere near that many chances. Unless my view of a chance and your view of a chance must b guy different

Ok i'll clear it up, i mean clear cut chances i.e. ones on target like the goal that was chopped off, Swordy's flick which was saved and James's shot which was cleared off the line. Gretna had a lot of pressure but a lot of their shots were off target.
jeckwithesneck
Any road marko. good to see you was positive about united today. Your prediction was 3-1 to Gretna is see. Why do you go and watch there drivel if you clearly dont support or rate them
Marko A
QUOTE (jeckwithesneck @ Nov 15 2008, 19:04) *
Any road marko. good to see you was positive about united today. Your prediction was 3-1 to Gretna is see. Why do you go and watch there drivel if you clearly dont support or rate them

My prediction was an unbiased one and was based on results so far. Obviously the weather played a big part today. Yes i'd like to see us win every game however we have to be realistic.
pantaloon
Gretna just deserved to win on their second half performance but I don't think the wind helped our style of play wink.gif who ate all the pies couldn't get one at half time laugh.gif nice pub for the after match hospitality with plenty of pies tongue.gif
heedthebaa
QUOTE (pantaloon @ Nov 16 2008, 12:32) *
Gretna just deserved to win on their second half performance but I don't think the wind helped our style of play wink.gif who ate all the pies couldn't get one at half time laugh.gif nice pub for the after match hospitality with plenty of pies tongue.gif

nae complaints from me, as you say, you deserved the win on your second half performance. 4th goal was always gonna be decisive and when you got it, we all just new your third was coming as well. PS i swear i didnt touch the pies, honest laugh.gif
Gaeus Tiberius

Nothin beats a bit o' soor grapes.When yir no gettin a game wi the ammies(which ah dae think'll be too long in comin)then ye'll have a poke at them.Still there's always pool or darts ye have tae be average at somethin.
pantaloon
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 16 2008, 12:45) *
nae complaints from me, as you say, you deserved the win on your second half performance. 4th goal was always gonna be decisive and when you got it, we all just new your third was coming as well. PS i swear i didnt touch the pies, honest laugh.gif

You must have ate the pies at halftime....there wasn't a 4th goal....typographical error? What a nice town Eyemouth is....first time I've been there and nice to wave cheerio to the boat leaving the pier with the 3 fillipinos? and the "Scottish" skipper and 2 others on board heading for a hard 6 days fishing...seriously good luck to them what a hard job the've got huh.gif
Gretna2008
QUOTE (pantaloon @ Nov 16 2008, 20:21) *
You must have ate the pies at halftime....there wasn't a 4th goal....typographical error? What a nice town Eyemouth is....first time I've been there and nice to wave cheerio to the boat leaving the pier with the 3 fillipinos? and the "Scottish" skipper and 2 others on board heading for a hard 6 days fishing...seriously good luck to them what a hard job the've got huh.gif

Was there no room for you to join the crew Pantaloon?? laugh.gif laugh.gif Am sure Mrs Loon wouldn't have missed ya for 6 days!! wink.gif wink.gif By the way, you made up for missing the pies at the game by eating 6 in the Oblo bar laugh.gif

Also have to say that the golf club was very good before the game, would be very tempting to watch the game from the bar on a wet day biggrin.gif

Oh .. and for the game, very tough match, not many teams will come away from there with any points. Excellent spirit tha lads showed to come back from 2 - 0 and win, good never say die attitude. Good game in difficult conditions.
Gretna
QUOTE (pantaloon @ Nov 16 2008, 19:21) *
there wasn't a 4th goal....typographical error?

Aye there was..............we scored it to make the score 2-2 rolleyes.gif
heedthebaa
QUOTE (Gretna @ Nov 16 2008, 19:38) *

thank you "gretna", at least you know what i mean laugh.gif .. pantaloon, that beautiful, fresh, sea air must have went tae ya heed, get a grip and try to keep up eh wink.gif ps. pantaloon, more fillipino fishermen than eyemouth fishermen now. they come over for £85 a week ( wouldnt keep you in pies and pints ) and go home very rich
Gaeus Tiberius

nothin like a bit o' soor grapes,pity ye couldnae hauld a place wi Utd.,Never mind,jist persevere at beein' average at everythin ye dae.Try pool or darts!!!!!!!
dougalldogg
QUOTE (Gaeus Tiberius @ Nov 16 2008, 18:45) *
Nothin beats a bit o' soor grapes.When yir no gettin a game wi the ammies(which ah dae think'll be too long in comin)then ye'll have a poke at them.Still there's always pool or darts ye have tae be average at somethin.

haha lol now now I was only jokin. Ur hurtin ma feelings now..... sad.gif

Jst noticed you posted the same thing twice basically, u really that bothered about tryin 2 get a bite out of me? laugh.gif
Marko A
I was surprised at how many actually made the trip, very friendly and supportive bunch of fans, just what the young side needs. You have to be hardy to travel and watch your team in Eyemouth tongue.gif so well done!!
dillinger
QUOTE (Marko A @ Nov 17 2008, 09:01) *
I was surprised at how many actually made the trip, very friendly and supportive bunch of fans, just what the young side needs. You have to be hardy to travel and watch your team in Eyemouth tongue.gif so well done!!

Yes, Gretna have a great support home and away. Even a guy comes over from ire to see them at times! Team are good addition to the league. Good for the teams to have a decent crowd watching them at the matches. Come on GRETNA.
pantaloon
QUOTE (Gretna @ Nov 16 2008, 19:38) *

huh.gif huh.gif huh.gif biggrin.gif
the gaffer
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 15 2008, 18:15) *
our inability to pass the ball, keep posession for more than 2 seconds and fitness in the 2nd half cost us the game marko. gretna also missed several chances you know

heed - there is no question about it this team are VERY fit. it is the fourth or fifth time i have watched them and i have been very impressed with their fitness. weather didnae help rite enuff but the first goal just before half time was a stupid mistake and no doubt skillen would tell them that, and the last goal was another mistake, certain players didnt close down quickly enough.