Full Version: Clyde V St.johnstone..15/11/08
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
The ghost of Jim Morton
Another tough game coming up with Saints seeming to always struggle against Clyde for some reason.Having already managed to lose to them at McD this season at least we will know that in order to win the match , we will have to be at our best especially defensively. The goals we lost to them at McD were pretty shocking though and it would seem that McInnes has sorted our rearguard out thank goodness. Without taking Clyde lightly I think if we apply ourselves as we have over the last few games, we should leave Broadwood with all 3 points.It's another great chance to extend our lead at the top with the other sides up against each other.Somethings gotta give with Livi and The Pars and Dundee and QoS taking each other on.

I'm going for 2-0 Saints

Team wise I would go with a very similar starting 11 to the team that beat Ross County.McCaffery might be a doubt though after being taken off on Saturday.If we have the full squad available.

Main

Irving, Caff (Ando), Rusty, Craig.

Millar, Morris, Hardie, Sheerin

Savo, Holmes.

Subs. Kelly, Swankie, Samuel, Ando, McDonald, ( Morgan)

Injured . James????, McLean.

No place for. Jacko, Mooner or McKoy

If we do pick up the boy Smith on loan I'd have him straight in at Left Back.Move Craig into midfield and drop Sheerin to the bench and drop McDonald from the squad.

Whatever happens , there are some tough decisions ahead for McInnes
BullyWeeBoy
TBH i dont know how this will pan out if brown leaves i think we have a change otherwise a ST J win dry.gif
Web
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Nov 9 2008, 21:06) *
Another tough game coming up with Saints seeming to always struggle against Clyde for some reason.Having already managed to lose to them at McD this season at least we will know that in order to win the match , we will have to be at our best especially defensively. The goals we lost to them at McD were pretty shocking though and it would seem that McInnes has sorted our rearguard out thank goodness. Without taking Clyde lightly I think if we apply ourselves as we have over the last few games, we should leave Broadwood with all 3 points.It's another great chance to extend our lead at the top with the other sides up against each other.Somethings gotta give with Livi and The Pars and Dundee and QoS taking each other on.

I'm going for 2-0 Saints

Team wise I would go with a very similar starting 11 to the team that beat Ross County.McCaffery might be a doubt though after being taken off on Saturday.If we have the full squad available.

Main

Irving, Caff (Ando), Rusty, Craig.

Millar, Morris, Hardie, Sheerin

Savo, Holmes.

Subs. Kelly, Swankie, Samuel, Ando, McDonald, ( Morgan)

Injured . James????, McLean.

No place for. Jacko, Mooner or McKoy

If we do pick up the boy Smith on loan I'd have him straight in at Left Back.Move Craig into midfield and drop Sheerin to the bench and drop McDonald from the squad.

Whatever happens , there are some tough decisions ahead for McInnes

Can I just ask why is your avatar a picture of Mr James Hamilton?
Kyle
Quite looking forward to this game. Broadwood is always tough for us, so we know it wont be easy. If the game goes to form, you would expect a saints victory but against Clyde, a side we notoriously struggle against, you can't be so sure.

If I were the manager, I'd bring Moon back in for Swankie (if fit) and drop Peaso off the bench.

So it would a little something like;

Main
Irvine Rusty McCaffrey (if fit) Craig

Millar Moon Hardie Sheerin

Savo Holmes

Obviously this is based on the assumption that we don't pick up any injuries this week and that McCaffrey's injury from saturday wasn't a bad one.

Also, if we bring in Smith, I'd put him in for Sheerin and put Smith at left back.

Sammy made a great case for a start on Saturday, but at the moment I can't think of a better impact player to have at this level coming off the bench.
Broadwood is a very cold stadium sad.gif
Fast_Action
I suggest that you rest your players and stick 11 wheelie bins. Your worst case scenario will be 1 point, but probably 3.

As for Clyde, we will probably line up:-

Wilson

McCusker Clark McSwegan Gemmell

Higgins Hutton Waddell Emslie McKay

Lowing
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Nov 9 2008, 21:20) *
I suggest that you rest your players and stick 11 wheelie bins. Your worst case scenario will be 1 point, but probably 3.

As for Clyde, we will probably line up:-

Wilson

McCusker Clark McSwegan Gemmell

Higgins Hutton Waddell Emslie McKay

Lowing

Not a chance.

Emslie is playing in the right position wink.gif
7-2
Rather than bring back Mooner, is Del not likely to go with Morris, given he had a run out in the second half on saturday? He's fit so now we need to get him match fit.

Hopefully Caff will be ok to play. If he isnt id go with Anderson instead of James. In fact, Id go with one of FA's wheelie bins before James.

Again a 1-0 win do me fine even though Brrrrrroadwood would be a good bet for bringing our run to an end given recent results.

Fast_Action
QUOTE (7-2 @ Nov 9 2008, 21:30) *
Rather than bring back Mooner, is Del not likely to go with Morris, given he had a run out in the second half on saturday? He's fit so now we need to get him match fit.

Hopefully Caff will be ok to play. If he isnt id go with Anderson instead of James. In fact, Id go with one of FA's wheelie bins before James.

Again a 1-0 win do me fine even though Brrrrrroadwood would be a good bet for bringing our run to an end given recent results.

I don't want to be the one to burst your bubble, but with due respect to the Saintees, it does not matter a monkey's who you will play.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Web @ Nov 9 2008, 21:16) *
Can I just ask why is your avatar a picture of Mr James Hamilton?

It goes like this.Last week when we were playing Plastic Whistle I for some reason got it into my head that Hamilton had left The Pars and signed for Thistle.OOPS. My second mistake was to confuse the number 10 of Thistle with the afore mentioned Hamilton. Cue me giving the boy plenty verbals including the now emortalised in Nizzys signature

" yer a carthorse Hamilton, a carthoooorse"...The boy of course was totally unaware I was even slagging him off...( My eyesight and my excitement sometimes let me down.)

Now Nizzy was sitting behind me at the game ( why??? you'll have to ask him).eventually after a sufficient amount of time had passed and I had made a good c**t of myself ( again) He decided to spare me anymore embarrassment and pointed out my error.This then appeared in a match report for Thistle of the game.

laugh.gif Hence the Hamilton Avatar laugh.gif laugh.gif
7-2
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Nov 9 2008, 21:35) *
I don't want to be the one to burst your bubble, but with due respect to the Saintees, it does not matter a monkey's who you will play.

I suspect youre right, but I've been watching football and especially Saints too long to take any game for granted.
Web
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Nov 9 2008, 21:38) *
It goes like this.Last week when we were playing Plastic Whistle I for some reason got it into my head that Hamilton had left The Pars and signed for Thistle.OOPS. My second mistake was to confuse the number 10 of Thistle with the afore mentioned Hamilton. Cue me giving the boy plenty verbals including the now emortalised in Nizzys signature

" yer a carthorse Hamilton, a carthoooorse"...The boy of course was totally unaware I was even slagging him off...( My eyesight and my excitement sometimes let me down.)

Now Nizzy was sitting behind me at the game ( why??? you'll have to ask him).eventually after a sufficient amount of time had passed and I had made a good c**t of myself ( again) He decided to spare me anymore embarrassment and pointed out my error.This then appeared in a match report for Thistle of the game.

laugh.gif I'm actually laughing at that.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Web @ Nov 9 2008, 21:39) *
laugh.gif I'm actually laughing at that.

http://www.oneteaminglasgow.co.uk/ma...ick-thistle-0/
So am I..There's no point in taking it too seriously. ( also it's unfortunately not the first time I have spent an entire game roaring abuse at a player who was not even on the pitch)
7-2
My eyesight and my excitement sometimes let me down.

Is this the first time you've used that excuse without a Clerk of Court writing it down????!
PERTH
are we likely to be sitting in main stand again?
Fast_Action
QUOTE (PERTH @ Nov 9 2008, 21:48) *
are we likely to be sitting in main stand again?

Yes. You will probably have 90% of it to yourselves.
Web
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Nov 9 2008, 21:46) *
http://www.oneteaminglasgow.co.uk/ma...ick-thistle-0/
So am I..There's no point in taking it too seriously. ( also it's unfortunately not the first time I have spent an entire game roaring abuse at a player who was not even on the pitch)

Really? Do tell.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (7-2 @ Nov 9 2008, 21:48) *
Is this the first time you've used that excuse without a Clerk of Court writing it down????!

laugh.gif tongue.gif ...I'd like another 5 offences taken into account M'Lud
David W
I think we're going to win. One thing you can guarantee about Clyde is that we'll play well and possibly beat Livi and St Johnstone.

Hopefully we'll have some of the comments from the Clyde site and on here stuck up in the dressing room and come out firing on all cylinders. McKay and Trouten to start - no McLennan please!
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Web @ Nov 9 2008, 21:51) *
Really? Do tell.

Frankly I cannot recall the others clearly. I have expunged them as far as possible from my memory. I'm sure one was a goalie though????
Web
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Nov 9 2008, 21:54) *
Frankly I cannot recall the others clearly. I have expunged them as far as possible from my memory. I'm sure one was a goalie though????

I bet you were right behind him too laugh.gif
Fast_Action
QUOTE (David W @ Nov 9 2008, 21:52) *
I think we're going to win. One thing you can guarantee about Clyde is that we'll play well and possibly beat Livi and St Johnstone.

Hopefully we'll have some of the comments from the Clyde site and on here stuck up in the dressing room and come out firing on all cylinders. McKay and Trouten to start - no McLennan please!

I do hope that you are right. I can already feel my heart sinking at the thought of heading for broadwood next Saturday.
lazyjack
Bit early for this pish sad.gif Canny be arsed even thinkin about our next game sad.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (lazyjack @ Nov 9 2008, 22:01) *
Bit early for this pish sad.gif Canny be arsed even thinkin about our next game sad.gif

It's never to early when your top of the league matey tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif . And if you cannae be arsed then dinnae. wink.gif
Muggy

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

That's hilarious.

Is Nizzy the guy that wrote that match report?
Kirky_Clyde
If I pick up the managers reign before the game I will be telling the players that there is such a thing as a "first half" so fuckin try in that as well as the second half!

My first sixteen as gaffer would be;

Hutton

Lowing Gibson Higgins Ohnesorge

Trouten Kettlewell Wilson McLaren

Clarke Gemmill

Subs: Cherrie, Brown, Waddell, McKay, McSwegan.

A much different performance from John Browns. Clyde race to a 2 goal half time lead but St Johnstone half the deficit before a deadly double from substitute McKay kills the game off, giving Chris Muir an emphatic winning start by four goals to one.

Realisticly, 3-1 Saints.

GypsyTillIDie
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Nov 9 2008, 22:51) *
Hutton

Clarke Gemmill

I think that, with that team and our record against St. Johnstone, we're capable of getting something out of the game. Of course it's too much common sense to be playing players in their correct positions for John Brown, so we'll have a completely different team and formation resulting in an embarassing defeat.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Nov 10 2008, 17:13) *
I think that, with that team and our record against St. Johnstone, we're capable of getting something out of the game. Of course it's too much common sense to be playing players in their correct positions for John Brown, so we'll have a completely different team and formation resulting in an embarassing defeat.

Lets hope that something, tongue.gif is pumped
Kirky_Clyde
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Nov 10 2008, 17:13) *
Of course it's too much common sense to be playing players in their correct positions for John Brown, so we'll have a completely different team and formation resulting in an embarassing defeat.

Absolutely.
Red White and Black
Aye, and could the rotten B******D that knicked my car antenna on South Street in Perth on Friday night please bring it doon to broadwood with you if you happen to be reading this. Just noticed it missin this morning. Mine was the car with the big Clyde FC sticker on the rear window.

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
SQUIDGER
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 10 2008, 22:28) *
Aye, and could the rotten B******D that knicked my car antenna on South Street in Perth on Friday night please bring it doon to broadwood with you if you happen to be reading this. Just noticed it missin this morning. Mine was the car with the big Clyde FC sticker on the rear window.

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

You must be joking, the knuckle draggers that do that in Perth cant read anything unless it contains the words buck super fast tennents, Fechkers, I've given up having lost 4 arials to date. Reckon they are using them for some sorded ritual up at the Plough inn.
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 10 2008, 21:28) *

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

If it was parked opposite the Scaramouche then I have to hold my hands up. Its a small hobby of mine, I'm trying to construct a scaled replica of the Eiffel Tower in my garden using only car antennae and cat saliva as a makeshift adhesive. Apologies.
7-2
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 10 2008, 21:28) *

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

Have to ask that if you didnt notice the aerial missing until this morning, how do you know it definately went on friday in South Steet?
Red White and Black
QUOTE (7-2 @ Nov 10 2008, 21:57) *
Have to ask that if you didnt notice the aerial missing until this morning, how do you know it definately went on friday in South Steet?

Because the whole way down the road on Saturday night, I had virtually no radio reception, yet had great reception the whole way up. I forgot to check when we got home and didnt notice as it was pitch black , didnt go out to the car yesterday, so it was only today I noticed. Incidentally Fife Saint, I was parked opposite the Scaramouche, just at the lights, We had dinner in there on Friday Night. ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

Oh well poundland here I come!!
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Nae luck lol.

As for this game - oh God just anothe one I am dreading. I can't believe it is only November. The way things are going we are going to be cast adrift at the bottom by the turn of the year by maybe 9 or 12 points unless a sharp improvement is made. Somehow we managed a win at McDirmad Park a couple of months ago and if we repeat this feat on Saturday I will be pleasently shocked. I just hope Brown manages to pick players in their right position - even Hendry usually did that.

Im not saying it is a 100% chance that we will get beat on Saturday but our chances are as slim as a chance can be for a First Division match imo.

I will finish with a half hearted rallying call (they were my speciality at the back end of last season.

Mon The Fuckin Clyde!
SingaporeSaint
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 11 2008, 01:51) *
Because the whole way down the road on Saturday night, I had virtually no radio reception, yet had great reception the whole way up. I forgot to check when we got home and didnt notice as it was pitch black , didnt go out to the car yesterday, so it was only today I noticed. Incidentally Fife Saint, I was parked opposite the Scaramouche, just at the lights, We had dinner in there on Friday Night. ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

Get yourself an old coat hanger and stop f*cking moaning.
Red White and Black
QUOTE (SingaporeSaint @ Nov 11 2008, 02:22) *
Get yourself an old coat hanger and stop f*cking moaning.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mad Cyril
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 11 2008, 00:51) *
I was parked opposite the Scaramouche, just at the lights.

Not a good choice of spot. There's a lot of smackheads hang about that alleyway bit, although it was probably just some bam who snapped your arial. My mate lives across the road from the Scaramouche, down the other direction a bit and he is always chasing junkies from his close. Brazen b*****ds think nothing of injecting themselves in broad daylight in his close.
Red White and Black
QUOTE (Mad Cyril @ Nov 11 2008, 10:24) *
Not a good choice of spot. There's a lot of smackheads hang about that alleyway bit, although it was probably just some bam who snapped your arial. My mate lives across the road from the Scaramouche, down the other direction a bit and he is always chasing junkies from his close. Brazen b*****ds think nothing of injecting themselves in broad daylight in his close.

Funnily enough there were a few dodgy characters hanging about, but the antenna was actually unscrewed, ive got a feeling its been knicked by a passing boy racer or the likes for thier corsa nedmobile type thingy.
Shame too, I really think Perth is a great place. Still all cities have dodgy characters i suppose.
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 11 2008, 10:35) *
Funnily enough there were a few dodgy characters hanging about

rolleyes.gif
Mad Cyril
Vermin the lot of them
7-2
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 11 2008, 00:51) *

Hmmmmm, sounds like you may have a case!

I think you get buses to Dundee just next to Scaramouche. Maybe just a coincidence of course. whistling.gif
Shawfield Stallion
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Nov 9 2008, 22:51) *
Hutton

Clarke Gemmill

That looks like a promising team. As we all know though, John Browns team wont look anything like that.
Red White and Black
QUOTE (7-2 @ Nov 11 2008, 12:47) *
Hmmmmm, sounds like you may have a case!

I think you get buses to Dundee just next to Scaramouche. Maybe just a coincidence of course. whistling.gif

ROFL laugh.gif laugh.gif

In all seriousness though, you folks really have a great city. We were up there for the MS convention and everyone was brill. Just a shame that the hotel didnt have private parking.

Back to the fitba anyway, I think we're in for a hammering on Saturday. Hope not, but not hopeful.
Taylorboy77
we are notoriously pish at clyde and i expect it to be a right scrappy game.

I would drop swankie for this game and bring in Morris.
WendyWho?
QUOTE (Mad Cyril @ Nov 11 2008, 11:09) *

What's wrong with that? We've all been caught short after a dalliance with a rent boy up a close.
RkClyde
Hutton
Gibson Brown Higgins Ohnesorge
Wilson
Kettlewell MacLennan
Trouten
McCusker Clarke

or just a simple 4-4-2

Hutton
Gibson Brown Higgins Ohnesorge
McKay Trouten Kettlewell McLaren
McCusker Clarke

Although the team line-up will be nothing like that, 1-4 St Johnstone
Radford
The referee for this match is Stephen Finnie, the same guy who was in charge when Clyde beat us 1-0 at Broadwood a couple of years ago. He sent Paul Lawson off in that match but that was about the only decision he got right. He was disgraceful, so much so that I can remember he was referee that day!

Really not feeling good about this game.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 11 2008, 17:54) *
The referee for this match is Stephen Finnie, the same guy who was in charge when Clyde beat us 1-0 at Broadwood a couple of years ago. He sent Paul Lawson off in that match but that was about the only decision he got right. He was disgraceful, so much so that I can remember he was referee that day!

Oh Goody huh.gif another fucking idiot......
Kirky_Clyde
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 11 2008, 17:54) *

There was nothing wrong with our goal that day. ohmy.gif
Jack Burton
It's about time somebody gave Brown a slap and stopped him mucking about with the team. I may be wrong but I dont remember him playing players out of position towards the end of last season & the play-offs when he took over so why the bloody hell has he started now?

We should line-up with 11 previously posted by a few others but given Brown's record it may be the same 11 but with completely different positions.