We coudl've been a few up at HT. Made it difficult for ourselves in the second-half. Buchanan took his goals well and McKeown's goal was a beauty! Buchanan, McKeown, Paton, Tuffey and Donnelly all had good games. Clyde could've easily, and probably should've, been down to 9 men because of an awful 'tackle' on Sid by their number 7 and Higgins stopped Gray on his way through it was last man should've been off but got a yellow.
Job done, nothing really special. Clyde were utter pish especially in the first half. Superb second goal from Dosser. BTW other than that shot that deflected off of Patons head I don't remember another concrete chance in the first half. Should have been three or a red card at the end but the game was well over by then.
You can thank me later for locking my thread.
Exuberant
Nov 8 2008, 17:36
Nice result. And a striker scored!
Dr. Name
Nov 8 2008, 17:41
Well controlled goal for Buchanan, keeper and defender coulld have done better.
2nd goal for McKeown came at the perfect time when Clyde were on top of us.
Other than that, the tackle on Sid was disgraceful, should have been a straight red, hope he's alright. Apart from that, easy.
Good three points, despite trying to shoot ourselves in the foot in the second half by allowing Clyde back into the game. Key moment for me was a superb save by Tuffey after Kinniburgh's short passback. Great to see Liam scoring again, and it obviously meant a lot to him.
Superb strike by McKeown as well, who had his best overall performance in some time. A deserved MoM, and good to see Paul Paton continuing his good form of late.
Incidentally, that was a simply outrageous challenge on Simon Donnelly. He was extremely lucky not to break his leg.
Clyde 78
Nov 8 2008, 18:19
QUOTE (Jumps @ Nov 8 2008, 19:16)

Good three points, despite trying to shoot ourselves in the foot in the second half by allowing Clyde back into the game. Key moment for me was a superb save by Tuffey after Kinniburgh's short passback. Great to see Liam scoring again, and it obviously meant a lot to him.
Superb strike by McKeown as well, who had his best overall performance in some time. A deserved MoM, and good to see Paul Paton continuing his good form of late.
Incidentally, that was a simply outrageous challenge on Simon Donnelly. He was extremely lucky not to break his leg.
I thought he we extremly unfortunate not to break the wee c***s leg!
Brown must go and take Bell and Bollan with him
Exuberant
Nov 8 2008, 18:20
QUOTE (Jumps @ Nov 8 2008, 18:16)

I wonder what on earth could have possessed the Rangers Reserves to hack an ex-Celt in a vicious manner?
Clyde 78
Nov 8 2008, 18:22
QUOTE (For the Banter @ Nov 8 2008, 19:20)

I wonder what on earth could have possessed the Rangers Reserves to hack an ex-Celt in a vicious manner?

The c**t would not know the difference between him and the ball. He is like all Browns, signings a total waste of a jersey.
PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF
Nov 8 2008, 18:23
the wheels on your house go round and round
easy 3 points for the jags
a break until we go on and beat livi
about time we climb the table
Mon The Clyde
Nov 8 2008, 18:46
QUOTE (PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF @ Nov 8 2008, 18:23)

the wheels on your house go round and round
easy 3 points for the jags
a break until we go on and beat livi
about time we climb the table

I take it your one of the wee 12 year old neds down the corner?
Anyway, I have now lost all faith and confidence in John Brown and the players. Sack the lot of them.
searchlight1876
Nov 8 2008, 18:46
Good to see Buchanan on the score sheet and him a striker too

perish the thought.
Kirky_Clyde
Nov 8 2008, 19:24
Absolutely pish.
Story of the season, we were dire for the first forty-five, a little better in the second half and perhaps McLaren should have capatalised on Kinniburgh's error. Good save from Tuffey right enough. The second goal well and truly killed us off.
Brown must go.
Red White and Black
Nov 8 2008, 19:43
QUOTE (For the Banter @ Nov 8 2008, 18:20)

You know, Until today I bitterly opposed us being referred to as the Rangers Reserves, I now oppose this for a different reason. We should be known as the Rangers Rejects! Brown get to FCUK and take your shower of useless duds back to Ibrox with you.
QUOTE (Clyde 78 @ Nov 8 2008, 18:19)

What an awful thing to say. I would never wish that on a player, even Nacho Novo.
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Nov 8 2008, 19:24)

Absolutely pish.
Story of the season, we were dire for the first forty-five, a little better in the second half and perhaps McLaren should have capatalised on Kinniburgh's error. Good save from Tuffey right enough. The second goal well and truly killed us off.
Brown must go.
How do you feel?
Kirky_Clyde
Nov 8 2008, 20:20
QUOTE (CRM @ Nov 8 2008, 20:08)

How do you feel?
Tipsy. You?
QUOTE (Clyde 78 @ Nov 8 2008, 19:19)

gie fester(bollan) a game at left back cos yer pish!
get goram back aswell f**k it and gies all a laugh
Virtual Insanity
Nov 8 2008, 20:34
Tackle on Donnelly was a shocker but I suspect the Clyde fans have other things to be worrying about than apologising for that. We didn't need to get out of second gear today.
Virtual Insanity
Nov 8 2008, 20:36
Also, poor crowd from Clyde today although it's understandable, full credit to those that showed up and gave their team very good backing when they were getting nothing in return.
David W
Nov 8 2008, 20:47
I have to say, things aren't looking good for JB now. For the first time in months we had a good squad available for the game today but his team selection was baffling. Wilson at LB? Brown at RB? McLaren up front? McLennan playing at all? Trouten dropped to the bench. Absolutely crazy.
First half was embarrassing but Thistle remarkably failed to add to Buchanan's goal; probably Gibson's fault for losing out the header to Kinniburgh. Indeed, I'm struggling to remember a serious effort on goal for the home side which is a testiment to the fact that both Gibson and Higgins put in excellent performances. Brown's tackle on Donnolly was terrible; god knows why the referee thought it was only a booking.
Second half wasn't much better but McLaren should have gained as an undeserved equaliser after a shocking passback by Kinniburgh only for Tuffey to save well. That incident, in addition to the introduction of McKay and Trouten swung things in our favour and McKay and Clarke both spurned chances to level. Even after McKeown scored the second, Trouten missed when clean through. We were terrible and deservedly lost but we should have netted at some point.
Hutton had little to do and the defence played well once the ridiculous experiment of playing Wilson at LB was ended. Wilson and Kettlewell were neither good or bad given that they had to cover for McLennan who was terrible. Clarke is exceptionally good at getting in front of defenders but needs to keep his body in the way of the ball. Gemmill isn't a wide player. McLaren returning gives us something different and all three subs did well; I'm not convinced McSwegan is worth starting next week but the other two should be in the 11.
Günther
Nov 8 2008, 21:02
QUOTE (Virtual Insanity @ Nov 8 2008, 20:36)

Also, poor crowd from Clyde today although it's understandable, full credit to those that showed up and gave their team very good backing when they were getting nothing in return.
To be honest mate. A fair amount of Diehards never showed today as they knew what to expect from today. Which is a sad reflection of times at Clyde just now. Years of bad management upstairs at Broadwood have came to bite us in the baws.
Our support which were there was fantastic today. Especially that showing in the 2nd half with the singing. That's the loudest I've heard it at Firhell from us in a long time. Ironically - Clyde played better football during the singing! But yous broke up the park and killed the game so obviously the singing slumped after it and so did the team out on the park.
milhouse
Nov 8 2008, 22:20
QUOTE (Günther @ Nov 8 2008, 22:02)

Our support which were there was fantastic today. Especially that showing in the 2nd half with the singing. That's the loudest I've heard it at Firhell from us in a long time. Ironically - Clyde played better football during the singing! But yous broke up the park and killed the game so obviously the singing slumped after it and so did the team out on the park.
I couldn't hear any clyde fans singing...pretty pish if that's the best you can do
Sao Paulo
Nov 8 2008, 22:23
Brown's fault. Simple as.
I think going into this fixture we had an excellent pool of players to choose from, our strongest since opening day perhaps? So for many the starting eleven would have served to baffle. Two names spring to mind immediately. Marvyn Wilson & Mark Brown. I don't know what JB thought he was doing here? To throw these players into those positions, particularly in a derby, was a poor call. Fielding Willie McLaren as a centre forward wasn't exactly a master-stroke either; a player whom is far more adept when operating on the left hand flank. And off the back of Alan Trouten's two best performances in a Clyde shirt it was seen fit to sideline him along with natural full back Alan Lowing. Then to totally omit Michael Ohnesorge, also a natural full back, from the squad. Unfathomable.
First half; just ridiculous. Far too easy for Thistle. Billy Gibson must take the blame for the opener.
Second; Got in and about it. Moved the ball about quickly, good tempo, played with an excellent energy and in doing so camped Thistle in for prolonged spells. Despite all this huffing and puffing however we hadn't quality enough to get one back. Clyde went all in I suppose and leaving Buchanan on the halfway with Higgins/Gibson or indeed anyone really is a risk and we were caught out in the end. Stephen 'Dosser' McKeown killing us off with a cracking finish.
Try and adhere to one shape and a reasonably consistent XI within that please John.
QUOTE (milhouse @ Nov 8 2008, 22:20)

I couldn't hear any clyde fans singing...pretty pish if that's the best you can do
I sit on the half-way line and I could hear them. Well done those who came

especially them players
Kirky_Clyde
Nov 8 2008, 22:28
QUOTE (milhouse @ Nov 8 2008, 22:20)

You weren't exactly choir master yourselves.
Fast_Action
Nov 8 2008, 22:42
Thanks to having to attend a wedding today, I did not make it to Firhill. The first Thistle Clyde game that I have missed for years.
If what junior F_A says is true about team selection, it ties up with what has been posted on here. I can only assume that either Broon is taking the mick, or he has les of a clue than I had first feared.
Junior F_A's take on the game was that while he expected better from the Luvvies, they did not have to play well today.
And as I have said on another thread, we laughed long and hard when DC was their manager. Now it is their turn to laugh at us.
Glesga Frm
Nov 8 2008, 23:03
You never had a shot in that first half or even a chance, that says it all really about Clydes performance today.
moneajags!!
1 John Lambie
Nov 8 2008, 23:10
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Nov 9 2008, 00:03)

You never had a shot in that first half or even a chance, that says it all really about Clydes performance today.
moneajags!!
Same as QotS last week. Wonder if that is why Tuffey has came out early the last 2 weeks & had some shots taken into him?
Clyde01
Nov 8 2008, 23:12
QUOTE (Sao Paulo @ Nov 8 2008, 23:23)

Brown's fault. Simple as.
Try and adhere to one shape and a reasonably consistent XI within that please John.
Or preferably just fcuk off and let the tea lady pick the team. Useless tw@t.
Garrowhillclyde
Nov 8 2008, 23:58
QUOTE (Clyde01 @ Nov 8 2008, 23:12)

Or preferably just fcuk off and let the tea lady pick the team. Useless tw@t.
Unfortunatley Brown had the tea lady in the laundry lady's position today, so she was a bit confused.
Fast_Action
Nov 9 2008, 00:04
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Nov 8 2008, 23:58)

Unfortunatley Brown had the tea lady in the laundry lady's position today, so she was a bit confused.

And you were able to see that from Munn's Vaults? Some eyesight you have.
Garrowhillclyde
Nov 9 2008, 00:07
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Nov 9 2008, 00:04)

And you were able to see that from Munn's Vaults? Some eyesight you have.
That is the old GC double vision kicking in again.
Stayed in the ground until the second goal went in, which was pennance enough.
The Arch
Nov 9 2008, 09:51
I don't really remember all the ins and outs of the game, but I'll focus on the bits I can
Good finish from Buchanan after a Kinniburgh knockdown. Kinniburgh played a part in both the goals, but as usual he has his one moment of madness with a horrible back pass, that was intercepted by Willie McLaren. Good save from Tuffey but I can never relax with a defender like bombscare around.
Second goal was a nice driven finish from McKeown, after a quick dummy from the ref. Pretty much petered out after that. We were in first gear for most of the game, and Clyde didn't look much better than the side we beat 4-0 at the start of last season.
Some really odd tactical decisions from Brown today, and nobody from Clyde bar your central defenders looked like they knew what they were supposed to be doing. As poor a team as I've seen this season, and although I've complained about our performances, we atleast have players that can change a game. Clyde don't have many, if any.
Paton was good again, and his pinged 60 yard balls over the top for Buchanan to run onto, are a good option to have. Damon Gray's absolutely shit, and the difference in standard between him and Buchanan is obvious. MOTM for me was McKeown. He was everywhere, and also a threat in front of goal, which is needed with only one "real" striker
RosscoTon
Nov 9 2008, 09:59
Thank you Thistle, again.
Dr Koop
Nov 9 2008, 10:33
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Nov 8 2008, 22:28)

You weren't exactly choir master yourselves.
Don't even go there, Kirky. You'll find Thistle choirmaster thread on another website.
Dr Koop
Nov 9 2008, 10:34
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Nov 8 2008, 22:42)

Thanks to having to attend a wedding today, I did not make it to Firhill. The first Thistle Clyde game that I have missed for years.
Did you score at the wedding and did the bride blush as much as John Brown?
Wullie McLaren upfront? Gemmill out wide? Pat Clarke in midfield? The man clearly doesn't have a clue.
Thought the ref got the major decisions right.
Brown's tackle was slightly late and high, but I'm not a fan of Arsene Wenger's softly softly approach to football and thought a yellow was correct on that occasion. Higgins simply put his body between Gray and the ball and Clyde could have rightly felt aggrieved if the punishment was any more severe than that meted. Our striker could have used a bit more strength and won the ball, but he chose to wimp out and take the free kick.
Decent performance without being great and we scored the killer goal at just the right time. Job done.
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Nov 9 2008, 11:20
Clyde are a terrible terrible team
Fast_Action
Nov 9 2008, 12:00
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Nov 9 2008, 10:55)

Wullie McLaren upfront? Gemmill out wide? Pat Clarke in midfield? The man clearly doesn't have a clue.
Did you work that out all by yourself?
Red White and Black
Nov 9 2008, 12:30
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Nov 9 2008, 11:20)

Clyde are a terrible terrible team

F*ck Me!!
Did it take you long to think that comment up?
Nothing Like stating the obvious now is there?
We fcukin know they're terrible.
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Nov 9 2008, 12:31
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 9 2008, 12:30)

F*ck Me!!
Did it take you long to think that comment up?
Nothing Like stating the obvious now is there?
We fcukin know they're terrible.

There is terrible...then there is the Clyde team we played against yesterday.
Enjoy the 2nd division next season sonny.
Red White and Black
Nov 9 2008, 12:43
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Nov 9 2008, 12:31)

There is terrible...then there is the Clyde team we played against yesterday.
So they are'nt terrible then?? Now im confused, you should really make yer mind up! Silly Boy.
Thanks for referring to me as sonny, no ones done that in at least 40 years, Now away and play with boys yer own age son.
Worm or Maggot, which bait do you prefer??
Kirky_Clyde
Nov 9 2008, 12:45
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Nov 9 2008, 12:31)

We will, don't worry. Anyway, what is it like? You would know.
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Nov 9 2008, 12:46
QUOTE (Red White and Black @ Nov 9 2008, 12:43)

So they are'nt terrible then?? Now im confused, you should really make yer mind up! Silly Boy.
Thanks for referring to me as sonny, no ones done that in at least 40 years, Now away and play with boys yer own age son.
Worm or Maggot, which bait do you prefer??

Clyde are rotten, terrible, pish, shite, etc.
Still it will be good for you next season, your caravans will be more at home in diddy seaside towns and you'll probably be able to punt more pegs and heather as well.
1 John Lambie
Nov 9 2008, 12:47
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Nov 9 2008, 13:45)

We will, don't worry. Anyway, what is it like? You would know.
Shite, enjoy.

Only thing is, you MIGHT see your team win more often (which will no doubt make you world beaters).
Red White and Black
Nov 9 2008, 12:52
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Nov 9 2008, 12:46)

Clyde are rotten, terrible, pish, shite, etc.
Still it will be good for you next season, your caravans will be more at home in diddy seaside towns and you'll probably be able to punt more pegs and heather as well.
Nah, son, its a winnebago that I've got, I like my luxury.
Im looking forward to it TBH, might actually manage to win a game. Enjoy a mediocre season finishing somewhere in the middle.
You see we're shite and we know we are , no-one is denying the fact (well except Bombscare Broon)
We have no expectations anymore.
Kirky_Clyde
Nov 9 2008, 13:00
QUOTE (1 John Lambie @ Nov 9 2008, 12:47)

Shite, enjoy.
Only thing is, you MIGHT see your team win more often (which will no doubt make you world beaters).

Haha. Where did you finish in your division 2 season? I know you won the play offs but where did you actually finish in the league?
The Arch
Nov 9 2008, 13:17
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Nov 9 2008, 13:00)

Haha. Where did you finish in your division 2 season? I know you won the play offs but where did you actually finish in the league?
A very respectable 4th position. Just above mid table.
Kirky_Clyde
Nov 9 2008, 13:19
It looked as if we started out with the follows;
Hutton
Brown Gibson Higgins Wilson
Gemmill Clarke Kettlewell MacLennan Waddell
McLaren
I mean, wtf?
Sort it Brown or piss off.
Kirky_Clyde
Nov 9 2008, 13:22
QUOTE (The Arch @ Nov 9 2008, 13:17)

A very respectable 4th position. Just above mid table.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.