++Ammo - Airdrie++
Nov 8 2008, 17:23
pretty much a pi*h game, first half was very even, both teams having a goal chopped off for offside, rightly or wrongly only the linesmen will know as no Airdrie/Livi supporters that far down either side. Robbo had 2 decent saves, 1 from the free kick and another one from an 18 yard shot he saved with his chest. on the other hand he passed straight to Rocco Quinn after comin out for a through ball, and its a good job Quinns not really a proven striker and shot badly wide/over. the Livi number 7 also had a great chance from the corner of the 18 yard line but curled it over when it would have been easier to hit the target. all in all both teams would have been disappointed with a really bad game. Callum Elliot and our number 11 Joe Cardle both had a wee try to con the ref, something we can all do without n the game.
2 games in a row Kevin McDonald has been RANK ROTTEN. hardly 1 pass hittin a diamond shirt all day, soon as Donnellys back, McKenna and McLaughlin centre of the park please.
lazarus814
Nov 8 2008, 17:46
Completely agree Ammo, one of the worst performances this season from Airdrie today, the only thing that saved us was the fact Livi were just as bad, although they at least had shots on goal. Kev was awful, we need Donnelly back NOW!!!
Wrong subs from Kenny as well I thought, Darren was looking a lot better in the 2nd half and was wrongly hooked for Dougall who did absolutely nothing. This also led to Livi ripping us apart down our right hand side.
Need to play much much better if we want to win the cup next week.
el bawbag
Nov 8 2008, 18:11
cant believe we didnt win
Gartleahill
Nov 8 2008, 18:27
We played better on Tuesday agin Dunfermline and lost. Probably the worst performance of the season from us. Livingston look like they have some promising divers for the next Olympics, mind ye.
Hen Broon
Nov 8 2008, 18:37
QUOTE (Gartleahill @ Nov 8 2008, 18:27)

We played better on Tuesday agin Dunfermline and lost. Probably the worst performance of the season from us. Livingston look like they have some promising divers for the next Olympics, mind ye.
Your number 3 & 11 were also doing Jacques Cousteau.s
wee-dude
Nov 8 2008, 19:20
really cannot understand why we took off darren smith

he looked brilliant and we took him off and put on mcdougal who looked terrible
defence looked a bit shakey for the most part of the game
bring on the final
Not exactly a classic and although we were the better side in the second half, a draw was probably the right result.
I wasn't convinced by the offside decision for either of the disallowed goals and maybe if one of them had been given the game might have been different.
From a Livi perspective we missed Griffiths badly again. It's days like this that he can be the difference. Elliot has ability, but he needs to a long hard good look at other aspects of his game, like the amount of time he spends debating decisions with the officials and going down too easily.
Airdrie were guilty of it as well, particularly the 11, but I was disgusted with the way Elliot reacted to the challenge from the Airdrie keeper.
The game lacked that we bit of quality a player like Griffiths can inject. Airdrie are a tidy side but they don't have much quality up front, or at least they didn't today. We were the same and Quinn should certainly have done better with the chance handed to him on a plate by the keeper.
There were plus points for us, particularly the performance of Davidson, while we looked pretty solid in defence for most of the game.
Ultimately, though it was another illustration of why we won't come close to winning the league. When our key players are missing, we have nothing to back them up.
Gartleahill
Nov 8 2008, 19:37
Aye! . Its very true, we were shit today, sometimes laughable. Unlike our match programme which was absolute class today..............
Big G...
Nov 8 2008, 19:41
I honestly thought we were trying to lose today. The amount of times we gave the ball away in midfield and then didnt bother chasing back was unbelievable. Livi were running rings round us by playing the simple ball into space and supporting the player on the ball at all times.
Again, the long ball over the defence was catching us out, which is very unlike us. We are definitely missing the Boaby, which woul then allow us to push McKenna into that area between midfield and back 4 where he has been most effective this year.
Sorry to say, MacDonald needs a week or 2 on the bench. I am a big supporter of Kevin, but he has been completely off the pace bothh today and the other night against Pars. McKenna and McLaughlin seems to be the answer in that area.
Lovering hasn't done a lot wrong since his return from suspension, but would like to see Hazely back in to inject some extra pace down that left hand side.
Livi looked a reasonably good side without having to do too much to be better than us. The guy McPake looks as if he could make the step up to SPL without much difficulty. McKenzie looks as dodgy in goal as he has ever been anytime I've seen him. The wee number 7 also looks quite a good player, and the rest look competent players.
Difficult to give an opinion on both "goals" from where I was sitting, so I cant argue for or against.
Probably better point for us than it was for Livi in my opinion. I just hope we see a vast inprovement for the Cup Final
Speaking to one of the Livi players earlier, he said it was one of the worst games he's ever been involved in.
I'm not sure whether it was quite that bad... although depends on who said it
The Robertson era alone probably contained at least ten games which were less entertaining than today's game.
Diamonds are Forever
Nov 8 2008, 20:27
We were awful, Livi looked good up until the final third but were pretty toothless when they got there. That is about it.
el bawbag
Nov 8 2008, 21:45
QUOTE (LLD @ Nov 8 2008, 19:46)

The Robertson era alone probably contained at least ten games which were less entertaining than today's game.
+the Lambert era
+the Preston era
Hen Broon
Nov 8 2008, 22:01
Picture of Livis offside goal on Livi Lions website shows that Callum Elliot was on side.
el bawbag
Nov 8 2008, 22:32
FFS he's a mile on!
He was
just on
el bawbag
Nov 8 2008, 22:39
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Nov 8 2008, 22:36)

He was
just on

he's a bodywidth on after the shot has been hit, the linesman clearly didnt see it at the time(if he was looking along the line he wouldnt have given it) and just guessed when he saw elliot standing on his own infront of goal
naeguid
Nov 8 2008, 22:51

Airdrie's offside 'goal' was onside as well, so the two decisions were evened out
Livi 293
Nov 8 2008, 23:47
QUOTE (LLD @ Nov 8 2008, 20:46)

For sure.
Cannot argue with much that has been said. However, thought McKenzie was a class apart in his command of his area from Martini. Thankfully his fumble didn't count for much.
Elliot and the Airdire 11 both need to look at themselves. The attempt to get Davidson sent off (already on a yellow) was not even a good dive. Cards away today, ref? No, unless it's for a strong, fair challenge from Murray. Clueless.
Not a bad second half, though. Decent support and performance from us. Again, we miss Griffiths.
QUOTE (Gartleahill @ Nov 8 2008, 19:27)

[cough] [cough] your number 11 right in front of the Livi support. It was easily worth 8.5
strathbrock
Nov 9 2008, 00:52
First half was eminently forgetable. From a Livi point of view the second half was much better apart from the fact that we couldnt put the ball in the net. Looks from the photos like both goals were legitimate which just emphasises how incompetent officials are these days. I say this because even without the benefit of pictures I thought the same at the game. A point away from home should be welcomed but I felt that we should have got more out of this one. Haste ye back Sparky.
Pesadilla
Nov 9 2008, 01:03
Dear, oh, dear. That was an advertisment for taking the Mrs out.
Quite simply, pish.
Must say, the Livvy fans should get a grip on the rules (all 25 of them).
"Passback!" Really?
Fucking imbeciles.
Pesadilla
Nov 9 2008, 01:05
Must add, what a shite game.
el bawbag
Nov 9 2008, 01:10
QUOTE (Pesadilla @ Nov 9 2008, 01:03)

Dear, oh, dear. That was an advertisment for taking the Mrs out.
Quite simply, pish.
Must say, the Livvy fans should get a grip on the rules (all 25 of them).
"Passback!" Really?
Fucking imbeciles.
That coming from THE pishest home support i have seen this season(you made almondvale look like the fucking San Siro). There were under 1k Airdrie fans today and we heard you very briefly and quietly about twice.
Livi Crazy
Nov 9 2008, 01:14
Ermm, he kicked the ball deliberately back towards the keeper (albeit via the sky) and the keeper caught it, blatantly a passback.
Plus, I dont think Airdrie can criticise anyones support after todays home support.
Onto the game, thought it was a pretty even affair over the part, with Livi maybe slightly edging it. Both teams were guilty of diving, especially Murray and Elliot and the Airdrie No11.
Best players for Livi were Innes and Quinn, which doesnt happen very often, but both worked their socks off, and seemed very competitive today. McParland was quite poor I thought, one shot, which he skied when it would be easier to score, and the rest of the time, he would burst towards goal, turn around once he got past the defender hold it ad pass to Fox, who would pass it back to the keeper or something stupid like that. Also thought Talbot was awful, never finding a Livi player with his passes.
Roddy once again impressed me, didnt have much to do shot wise, but that was partly down to the fact that he had his defence working well, closing down every slight attack.
Fair result in the end.
Pesadilla
Nov 9 2008, 01:17
QUOTE (Livi Crazy @ Nov 9 2008, 01:14)

Ermm, he kicked the ball deliberately back towards the keeper (albeit via the sky) and the keeper caught it, blatantly a passback.
The defence rests, your honour.
Fucking clueless.
el bawbag
Nov 9 2008, 01:22
QUOTE (Pesadilla @ Nov 9 2008, 01:17)

The defence rests, your honour.
Fucking clueless.
erm how?he
did deliberatley guide the ball back to the keeper using his feet, the keeper then caught the ball which should have resulted in an indirect freekick to livi.
also notice you've canned the crowd jibes having made an arse of yourself
QUOTE (LLD @ Nov 8 2008, 19:46)

Footballers have notoriously short memories. Most of them couldn't remember what they had for breakfast
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Nov 9 2008, 09:43
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Nov 9 2008, 01:22)

erm how?he
did deliberatley guide the ball back to the keeper using his feet, the keeper then caught the ball which should have resulted in an indirect freekick to livi.
also notice you've canned the crowd jibes having made an arse of yourself

get a fuckig grip, he bent his leg out to the side coz the ball was goin by him, he connected with it, diverting the course of the ball from where it was goin . . . just so happens it was directed into the course of the keeper who caught it. So unless that was Christiano Ronaldo in his Steven McKenna outfit, there was no way it was intentional.
Also about the comments earlier about McPake, easily the best Centre Half in this division, he absolutely STROLLED that game.
strathbrock
Nov 9 2008, 10:39
QUOTE (++Ammo - Airdrie++ @ Nov 9 2008, 10:43)

get a fuckig grip, he bent his leg out to the side coz the ball was goin by him, he connected with it, diverting the course of the ball from where it was goin . . . just so happens it was directed into the course of the keeper who caught it. So unless that was Christiano Ronaldo in his Steven McKenna outfit, there was no way it was intentional.
Agreed! That was never a pass back in a million years. He'd have to have been a candidate for footballer of the year to have meant the ball to go where it did.
diamonds2002
Nov 9 2008, 12:49
I think this game has been summed up pretty well so far - Terrible.
The amount of unforced errors, slips and poorly placed passes for both teams beggars belief.
Rocco Quinn was the only bright spot in my opinion, why Landi took him off is anyones guess as he looked like the one that was going to hurt us.
The were a number of dubious offside decisions not including the "goals".
I think both teams are fortunate that they played each other today.
Pesadilla
Nov 9 2008, 12:51
QUOTE (strathbrock @ Nov 9 2008, 10:39)

Agreed! That was never a pass back in a million years. He'd have to have been a candidate for footballer of the year to have meant the ball to go where it did.
At last, a little sense. I doff my cap to you.
90% of the Livi fans screamed for it, in mostly pre-pubescent voices.
Clueless.
wee-dude
Nov 9 2008, 13:02
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Nov 9 2008, 01:10)

That coming from THE pishest home support i have seen this season(you made almondvale look like the fucking San Siro). There were under 1k Airdrie fans today and we heard you very briefly and quietly about twice.
yes. theres nights i lie awake praying that one day we will have a people as cool as the "drum beat mafia" following our club
Ade Eyemond
Nov 9 2008, 13:42
Worst game I have ever been at bar none - I got in for nothing, and still feel it wasn't worth it.
If there was ever a case for "No goals = No points" i.e Neither team gets any points for a 0-0 draw, that was it.
Both teams should be utterly embarassed to get a point for that total garbage.
Craigus_Maximus
Nov 9 2008, 16:27
"Roddy once again impressed me, didnt have much to do shot wise, but that was partly down to the fact that he had his defence working well, closing down every slight attack."
perhaps the dodgiest keeper i have seen in a long long long long time at airdrie.
Livi 293
Nov 10 2008, 09:33
Never a pass-back. 90% of the Livi fans around me didn't shout for it, anyway.
McKenzie, apart from the fumble at the offside goal, commanded his area very well.
QUOTE (Livi Crazy @ Nov 9 2008, 01:14)

One of the most fantastically clueless posts I have ever read on here.
It was Steven McKenna, ya clown, not Ronaldinho!!
Airdrie thought they'd scored but Lynch (2nd from right) was flagged offside
Match highlights of last Saturdays game between Airdrie and Livingston
el bawbag
Nov 12 2008, 00:05
having watched that the airdrie keeper, however good he is, is a dirty cunto!
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Nov 12 2008, 00:05)

having watched that the airdrie keeper, however good he is, is a dirty cunto!
Yip, just watched the highlights. Robertson's lucky the ref didn't see his stamp on Elliot.
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Nov 12 2008, 14:34)

Yip, just watched the highlights. Robertson's lucky the ref didn't see his stamp on Elliot.
Aye, Airdrie keeper is dirty player. Just a pity the beaks don't look at video's in the SFL or else he would be up in front of them
LIVIFOREVER
Nov 12 2008, 15:24
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Nov 12 2008, 14:34)

I'd have been surprised if the ref did anything even if he had seen it, gave him sod all, all game.
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Nov 12 2008, 13:34)

After watchin the highlights I have to agree and say Robbo is lucky the ref didn't spot it or he would have been off.
Gorgie boy
Nov 13 2008, 19:04
how is clum gettin on these days? hope he moves away permanantly
Ade Eyemond
Nov 13 2008, 19:07
QUOTE (LFCtv @ Nov 11 2008, 16:31)

Airdrie thought they'd scored but Lynch (2nd from right) was flagged offside
Match highlights of last Saturdays game between Airdrie and Livingston
"Highlights" ? What f******* highlights ? Does one of the players dye his hair or something ?
el bawbag
Nov 13 2008, 21:53
QUOTE (Gorgie boy @ Nov 13 2008, 19:04)

how is clum gettin on these days? hope he moves away permanantly
i'd happily have him at livi permanantly

7 in 8 i think it is
The highlights show, above all else, that the officials got the three big decisions in the game.
The Elliot goal should have stood, as should the Airdrie one while Robertson should have been sent off.
It's not even as if the referee alone can take the blame - all three officials were involved. It's a sad indictment of the refereeing standard in Scottish football at the moment.
Diamonds are Forever
Nov 14 2008, 02:26
Robbo, dirty b**tard

Elliot is a fanny though so good on him
Big Grant
Nov 14 2008, 09:35
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Nov 9 2008, 01:10)

Flatten the supermarket move back to Old Broomfield
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.