Full Version: Wats Going On At Coldstream?
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > East of Scotland League
mike hock
On reading the local rag yesterday i couldn't believe my eyes when i saw a letter in it from the coldstream board severly slating the managers and players of both teams for not supporting some dinner dance,talk about airing your dirty washing,surely a meeting in private wo uld have been better?as a supporter i really do worry about wats going on behind the scenes at home park,worrying times...
egg chaser
[quote name='mike hock' date='Nov 7 2008, 11:30' post='2899218']
On reading the local rag yesterday i couldn't believe my eyes when i saw a letter in it from the coldstream board severly slating the managers and players of both teams for not supporting some dinner dance,talk about airing your dirty washing,surely a meeting in private wo uld have been better?as a supporter i really do worry about wats going on behind the scenes at home park,worrying times...
[/

The coldstream revolution could be starting to flounder, players leaving and in house discontent ; not good signs
mike hock
I fear you could be right eggchaser as i've heard 2day of more unsettled players not because of football matters but because of the constant meddling by the board with this letter being the last straw,i also hear peter is far from happy with things either and could be considering his future at home park.if only these idiots would let players play and the managers manage,mr easton and co time to go
heedthebaa
QUOTE (mike hock @ Nov 7 2008, 10:30) *

i read it this morning mike, i agree with you that it should have been kept in house, but if the letter is right, it's shan crack that the night hasnt been supported by them
insiderstreamer
I think what has happened in regards to the letter in the paper, it is a disgrace that they needed to advertise the point and make the club a laughing stock again as the matter should have been dealt with internally, however the players should be doing more to support the club in all of its fundraisers. The problem has always been the committee want to state that they are in charge of how the club is run, on and off the park. Financially they have paid for the players that play on a Saturday and they haven't delivered as of yet, failure in the Scottish being the biggest disappointment. As for the playing side, Peter 'Ranieri' McNulty's tinkering has upset a few players and the side hasn't settled and has no real balance....3-5-2, 4-4-2, 4-5-1 none have seemed to work and with 26 midfielders in the squad, will it ever....

In the great words of Mike Bassett '4-4 F*&^ing-2

the spittal gypsy
aye committee well wrong if they have no money then they shouldn't be paying players at the start of the season, they are the ones that leave when the shit hits the fan and its the poor old amatuer players who continually have to dig into their pockets while the "professional's" take take take and never give anything back. enough said
mike hock
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 7 2008, 15:22) *
<br />i read it this morning mike, i agree with you that it should have been kept in house, but if the letter is right, it's shan crack that the night hasnt been supported by them<br />
<br /><br /><br />

been doing some investigating heedthebaa and apparently only peter and 3 players were going to the dinner and nobody at all from the amateur team were going so i agree thats bad crack but i also hear the board themselves are to blame for the "huge" rift at the club at the moment,dont think we,ve heard the last about this...
fishtasteslikeshit
QUOTE (mike hock @ Nov 7 2008, 19:22) *
<br /><br /><br />

been doing some investigating heedthebaa and apparently only peter and 3 players were going to the dinner and nobody at all from the amateur team were going so i agree that's bad crack but i also hear the board themselves are to blame for the "huge" rift at the club at the moment,don't think we've heard the last about this...

Tell me did any of the players at Coldstream get signing on fees at the start of the season?
heedthebaa
QUOTE (mike hock @ Nov 7 2008, 19:22) *
<br /><br /><br />

been doing some investigating heedthebaa and apparently only peter and 3 players were going to the dinner and nobody at all from the amateur team were going so i agree thats bad crack but i also hear the board themselves are to blame for the "huge" rift at the club at the moment,dont think we,ve heard the last about this...

committee's, cant live with them, cant live without them laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
WJR
QUOTE (heedthebaa @ Nov 7 2008, 21:04) *
committee's, cant live with them, cant live without them laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Mostly the former © Mickey Lawson!
Wulliewus
I agree the article in the paper was ill advised and would have been better signed by "anonymous". But whatever is said about Coldstream FC, the truth is they are punching above their weight. The few committe who are involved work hard to do the best for the club. Trying to finance a EOS Premier League team in the city is hard enough, but in the rural areas almost impossible. It is alright going on about players being amateur or professional, but at least Coldstream have tried their best to make available to the manager the best local players, at whatever the cost.

Its maybe not happening on the pitch yet, but there is so much talk about players unsettled, to me it is up to them to knuckle down and start delivering the results on the park. The grass is always greener somewhere else, compared to some of the venues we play at, Home Park and the Pivvy is like heaven.

We lost some good characters and players last season to the "Dream Team" Berwick Town, sad to see what has happened there, but it puts into context the problems at Coldstream.
eh!
QUOTE (Wulliewus @ Nov 7 2008, 21:22) *
I agree the article in the paper was ill advised and would have been better signed by "anonymous". But whatever is said about Coldstream FC, the truth is they are punching above their weight. The few committe who are involved work hard to do the best for the club. Trying to finance a EOS Premier League team in the city is hard enough, but in the rural areas almost impossible. It is alright going on about players being amateur or professional, but at least Coldstream have tried their best to make available to the manager the best local players, at whatever the cost.

Its maybe not happening on the pitch yet, but there is so much talk about players unsettled, to me it is up to them to knuckle down and start delivering the results on the park. The grass is always greener somewhere else, compared to some of the venues we play at, Home Park and the Pivvy is like heaven.

We lost some good characters and players last season to the "Dream Team" Berwick Town, sad to see what has happened there, but it puts into context the problems at Coldstream.

Your right Wulliewus the article in the Berwickshire News should of been kept in house. You don't air your laundry in public.

It should of been kept in house, especially when you've got Spartans and Whitehill to come to Home Park!

As for the "Dream Team" at Berwick Town...Right Management, great players, wrong fucking league! End Off...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=7TAS0WHWlOA

Anyway, hope this cheers you up Lee! Here's to Whitehill...here's to waiting! x

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=zff9hVH3ptY
seb
QUOTE (eh! @ Nov 7 2008, 22:39) *
Your right Wulliewus the article in the Berwickshire News should of been kept in house. You don't air your laundry in public.

It should of been kept in house, especially when you've got Spartans and Whitehill to come to Home Park!

As for the "Dream Team" at Berwick Town...Right Management, great players, wrong fucking league! End Off...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=7TAS0WHWlOA

Anyway, hope this cheers you up Lee! Here's to Whitehill...here's to waiting! x

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=zff9hVH3ptY

hope lambo makes a full recovery.got a bad one i hear.was he counting cards again? love a bit of the mondays eh!
seb
QUOTE (fishtasteslikeshit @ Nov 7 2008, 20:58) *
Tell me did any of the players at Coldstream get signing on fees at the start of the season?

promotion season i think 2 maybe 3 players recieved money. ive heard the amounts that some players got to sign this season.totally wrong .should be an honour to play for a club like coldstream with its tradition and all.
to answer your question yes a lot of players recieved money this season.i got this info from 3 current players.

remember the legacy stuart robertson left for the club.no money and no team.
players that take money will always walk first!!!
the jackal
QUOTE (seb @ Nov 8 2008, 00:23) *
promotion season i think 2 maybe 3 players recieved money. ive heard the amounts that some players got to sign this season.totally wrong .should be an honour to play for a club like coldstream with its tradition and all.
to answer your question yes a lot of players recieved money this season.i got this info from 3 current players.

the letter to the berwickshire was wrong..but the management and players must have realised the importance of the "smoker" one of the nights the club arranges that must not be missed and a major fund raiser for the club..your right seb the ones who take money will walk first..love the youtube clips HERES TO WAITING..
fishtasteslikeshit
QUOTE (seb @ Nov 8 2008, 01:23) *

yeah some of the figures people told me they were offered this year was ridiculous, they want to hand it all back, they are doing no better this year than they did last and I'm pretty positive there wasnt the same money handed out. traveling expenses should be handed out that's it. and i agree, Coldstream offers players the highest level of football currently in the borders. if i had ambition i would be dying to playing for such a team regardless of the shambles of a set-up. As a manager too, i personally would want players who are playing for coldstream because they want to be there and not just to get the money.
baltic
QUOTE (fishtasteslikeshit @ Nov 9 2008, 00:00) *
yeah some of the figures people told me they were offered this year was ridiculous, they want to hand it all back, they are doing no better this year than they did last and I'm pretty positive there wasnt the same money handed out. traveling expenses should be handed out that's it. and i agree, Coldstream offers players the highest level of football currently in the borders. if i had ambition i would be dying to playing for such a team regardless of the shambles of a set-up. As a manager too, i personally would want players who are playing for coldstream because they want to be there and not just to get the money.

Dream on. Border players want to play wee their pals mun it's easier.
EASTO
QUOTE (mike hock @ Nov 7 2008, 13:34) *
I fear you could be right eggchaser as i've heard 2day of more unsettled players not because of football matters but because of the constant meddling by the board with this letter being the last straw,i also hear peter is far from happy with things either and could be considering his future at home park.if only these idiots would let players play and the managers manage,mr easton and co time to go

TIME FOR US TO GO EH MIKE?LET ME TELL U SOMETHING COLDSTREAM FOOTBALL CLUB WOULD CEASE TO EXIST WITHOUT MINE AND THE OTHER MEMBERS HARD WORK THROUGHOUT EACH SEASON AND YES IT WOULD BE EASY FOR US TO WALK AWAY BUT I FOR ONE DON,T INTEND TO,ALL WE ASKED WAS FOR THE PLAYERS AND MANAGEMENT TO SUPPORT OUR ANNUAL SPORTSMANS DINNER AND THEY COULD,NT EVEN DO THAT WHICH IS HUGELY ANNOYING AND DISAPPOINTING AND DISRESPECTFUL TO US AS A COMMITTEE.AS FOR THE LETTER IN THE PAPER MIKE WE DECIDED AFTER ALL THE SLAGGING WE GET IT WAS ABOUT TIME EVERYONE KNEW WHAT LITTLE SUPPORT WE GET FROM THE PLAYERS AND MANAGEMENT OF BOTH TEAMS.
oscar15
QUOTE (EASTO @ Nov 12 2008, 20:54) *
TIME FOR US TO GO EH MIKE?LET ME TELL U SOMETHING COLDSTREAM FOOTBALL CLUB WOULD CEASE TO EXIST WITHOUT MINE AND THE OTHER MEMBERS HARD WORK THROUGHOUT EACH SEASON AND YES IT WOULD BE EASY FOR US TO WALK AWAY BUT I FOR ONE DON,T INTEND TO,ALL WE ASKED WAS FOR THE PLAYERS AND MANAGEMENT TO SUPPORT OUR ANNUAL SPORTSMANS DINNER AND THEY COULD,NT EVEN DO THAT WHICH IS HUGELY ANNOYING AND DISAPPOINTING AND DISRESPECTFUL TO US AS A COMMITTEE.AS FOR THE LETTER IN THE PAPER MIKE WE DECIDED AFTER ALL THE SLAGGING WE GET IT WAS ABOUT TIME EVERYONE KNEW WHAT LITTLE SUPPORT WE GET FROM THE PLAYERS AND MANAGEMENT OF BOTH TEAMS.

The old addage you can lead the horse to water but you canny make it drink springs to mind. I agree with some of what you are saying EASTO but it really does the club no favours what so ever to air this in public. A meeting with the management and players of both teams maybe would have been sufficent, pressing home the point to the eos players that the club has paid out a lot of money this season to bring these players to the club that the minimum requirement of them is to actively support the clubs fund raising ventures. No club in the eos can run without the work carried out by committee members, sometimes the thankless tasks, and this i feel is not appreciated sometimes at player level.
CHIEF WIGGUM
BORING....... whistling.gif whistling.gif
oscar15
QUOTE (CHIEF WIGGUM @ Nov 13 2008, 13:34) *
BORING....... whistling.gif whistling.gif

Had a bit read through some of your past posts and you have some cheek! Seems to me you come on here to stir the s**t with very little constructive to say. Maybe you should stay at nursery and play withyour speak and spell! Tw*t!!!!!!!!
seb
[quote name='EASTO' date='Nov 12 2008, 20:54' post='2912780']
TIME FOR US TO GO EH MIKE?LET ME TELL U SOMETHING COLDSTREAM FOOTBALL CLUB WOULD CEASE TO EXIST WITHOUT MINE AND THE OTHER MEMBERS HARD WORK THROUGHOUT EACH SEASON AND YES IT WOULD BE EASY FOR US TO WALK AWAY BUT I FOR ONE DON,T INTEND TO,ALL WE ASKED WAS FOR THE PLAYERS AND MANAGEMENT TO SUPPORT OUR ANNUAL SPORTSMANS DINNER AND THEY COULD,NT EVEN DO THAT WHICH IS HUGELY ANNOYING AND DISAPPOINTING AND DISRESPECTFUL TO US AS A COMMITTEE.AS FOR THE LETTER IN THE PAPER MIKE WE DECIDED AFTER ALL THE SLAGGING WE GET IT WAS ABOUT TIME EVERYONE KNEW WHAT LITTLE SUPPORT WE GET FROM THE PLAYERS AND MANAGEMENT OF BOTH TEAM

your alright easto i can still mind that save you made up at the vale!!!! long live the yetholm jagger. as far as commitee vs management and players go i always got on well with the committee .others didnt mind .prof kept thinking he was going get sacked!!!!
the spittal gypsy
[qiptr name='seb' date='Nov 13 2008, 16:18' post='2914845']
QUOTE (EASTO @ Nov 12 2008, 20:54) *
TIME FOR US TO GO EH MIKE?LET ME TELL U SOMETHING COLDSTREAM FOOTBALL CLUB WOULD CEASE TO EXIST WITHOUT MINE AND THE OTHER MEMBERS HARD WORK THROUGHOUT EACH SEASON AND YES IT WOULD BE EASY FOR US TO WALK AWAY BUT I FOR ONE DON,T INTEND TO,ALL WE ASKED WAS FOR THE PLAYERS AND MANAGEMENT TO SUPPORT OUR ANNUAL SPORTSMANS DINNER AND THEY COULD,NT EVEN DO THAT WHICH IS HUGELY ANNOYING AND DISAPPOINTING AND DISRESPECTFUL TO US AS A COMMITTEE.AS FOR THE LETTER IN THE PAPER MIKE WE DECIDED AFTER ALL THE SLAGGING WE GET IT WAS ABOUT TIME EVERYONE KNEW WHAT LITTLE SUPPORT WE GET FROM THE PLAYERS AND MANAGEMENT OF BOTH TEAM your alright easto i can still mind that save you made up at the vale!!!! long live the yetholm jagger. as far as commitee vs management and players go i always got on well with the committee .others didnt mind .prof kept thinking he was going get sacked!!!!

He did get sacked in the end for being controversial. If the committee feel they're not getting support from management does that mean there is tension in the air above home park? Could it be the end for Mcnulty?
danny meehan
I've been hearing tonight that Carl Hudson and Colin Gracey are on there way back to take over the reigns at Home Park, and they are bringing the Berwick contingent back with them. Can any shed any light on the subject???????
TWEEDMOUTH BILL
QUOTE (danny meehan @ Nov 13 2008, 20:58) *
I've been hearing tonight that Carl Hudson and Colin Gracey are on there way back to take over the reigns at Home Park, and they are bringing the Berwick contingent back with them. Can any shed any light on the subject???????

Load of s**t peter is highly thought off at the club and is a far better manager than those two
fishtasteslikeshit
QUOTE (EASTO @ Nov 12 2008, 21:54) *

To be fair, i didnt realise this was the Sportmans dinner we were talking about, this should be the one night supported by all the players, i used to think that they had a cheek charging players 20 bar? to turn up but if they are dishing out huge signing on fees then i think the players in return should do their bit to support the club. As for you coming on here using full capital posts to get your point across. you are turning this into the new Berwick Rangers and this is an embarrasment for the club.
fishtasteslikeshit
QUOTE (TWEEDMOUTH BILL @ Nov 13 2008, 23:08) *
Load of s**t peter is highly thought off at the club and is a far better manager than those two

Your post in three words. Peter was a great player one of the best i have seen in this area. However he isnt a better manager than Gracey and he certainly doesn't have the experience of Hudson. I like Peter but he hasn't moved Coldstream forward.
Minstrel
Putting aside the Coldstream issue here, It is interesting to read differnt peoples opinon on club fund raisers such as a "Sportsman's Dinner".... If it is the clubs main fund raiser then yes players should support it i.e. say 20 players out of 200 people attending is only 10%. Idealy you would want each on average, the players to bring a couple of mates along and then you have around 50 equating to 25% which leaves the committee to find the other 75%. Sponsors are invited, and they also want to see the players there because that where most their money goes too. Plus it is a bloody good day and ideal for team bonding etc., biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Before I get a boring from chiefwhigam I would just like to say that our latest dinner was a total flop...due to having Norman Collier as MC and Harpo Marx as guest speaker...Lessons to be learned.
CHIEF WIGGUM
QUOTE (Minstrel @ Nov 13 2008, 22:45) *
Putting aside the Coldstream issue here, It is interesting to read differnt peoples opinon on club fund raisers such as a "Sportsman's Dinner".... If it is the clubs main fund raiser then yes players should support it i.e. say 20 players out of 200 people attending is only 10%. Idealy you would want each on average, the players to bring a couple of mates along and then you have around 50 equating to 25% which leaves the committee to find the other 75%. Sponsors are invited, and they also want to see the players there because that where most their money goes too. Plus it is a bloody good day and ideal for team bonding etc., biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Before I get a boring from chiefwhigam I would just like to say that our latest dinner was a total flop...due to having Norman Collier as MC and Harpo Marx as guest speaker...Lessons to be learned.

boring but informative, minstrel wink.gif
TWEEDMOUTH BILL
QUOTE (fishtasteslikeshit @ Nov 13 2008, 22:27) *
Your post in three words. Peter was a great player one of the best i have seen in this area. However he isnt a better manager than Gracey and he certainly doesn't have the experience of Hudson. I like Peter but he hasn't moved Coldstream forward.
Gracey and Hudson have gone to greenlaw
Andy_9
QUOTE (TWEEDMOUTH BILL @ Nov 17 2008, 22:12) *
Gracey and Hudson have gone to greenlaw

Greenlaw? Been a while since Colin was last there! Bit of a waste of a genuinely talented coach! No offence to Greenlaw, as they are one of my former clubs, but, EOS is surely where Gracey should be plying his trade!
baltic
QUOTE (Andy_9 @ Nov 18 2008, 13:52) *
Greenlaw? Been a while since Colin was last there! Bit of a waste of a genuinely talented coach! No offence to Greenlaw, as they are one of my former clubs, but, EOS is surely where Gracey should be plying his trade!

Maybe they will lead Greenlaw into the EOS. I thought Greenlaw had one of the best up and coming managers . Hope Gracey isn't gunning for his second Blakey.
starky
whocares about coldstream , this is not a site for coldstream, they are just a bottom half team, too many better teams than to star commenting on where managers are going, the y will never win anything ever ever
fishtasteslikeshit
QUOTE (starky @ Nov 19 2008, 01:01) *
whocares about coldstream , this is not a site for coldstream, they are just a bottom half team, too many better teams than to star commenting on where managers are going, the y will never win anything ever ever

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

that's it guys, starkys taking the pet. to prevent it happening again you now have to check with starky to see if the club you wish to discuss is on his list of "clubs people care about" before you post anything ok?

who cares about coldstream? obviously noone since theres not been one single reply to this thread has there starky son....?
The Mongoose
QUOTE (starky @ Nov 19 2008, 00:01) *

Bit harsh there Starky my dear boy.........I would say there are only a handful of teams that will ever win anything in the EoS and yes Coldstream are in that handful.

But still, no need to slag them off as there seems to be some problems behind the scenes as is well documented earlier in this thread.

Cuppa anyone?
heedthebaa

fucking knobhead !!!!!
shogun1
QUOTE (baltic @ Nov 18 2008, 20:31) *
Maybe they will lead Greenlaw into the EOS. I thought Greenlaw had one of the best up and coming managers . Hope Gracey isn't gunning for his second Blakey.

I would be very surprised if colin ousts doddie at greenlaw, dod and his team have got a great set up running there,and he is definately an EOS manager of the future
Gaeus Tiberius
QUOTE (TWEEDMOUTH BILL @ Nov 13 2008, 22:08) *

Carl and Gracey are top notch guys and any club would be priviliged to be associated with them.
They could probably bring out the best in the players already at the club without bringing in players wholesale.One thing that really gets up my nose(no it's, not white and itr does'nt come in a line) is players and signing fees.PLAYERS+FEES = TROUBLE,GOSSIP,JEALOUSY!!!!!!!!!
Wulliewus

This site is for all teams, the thread is about Coldstream. If you are not intressted in borders clubs, dont comment on them. Talk about your beloved toony teams Heriot Watt, Craigie Etc. All border teams play against 12 men each week, thats why we keep losing. 99% of refs come from over the hill, and quite frankly we get zero from them. There is only one borders ref, I am aware of, and he is originally from Glasgow, but stays in Berwick? Dont knock the Borders teams, we have been in the EOS the longest, and will still be here when most of the toonies have folded.
The Mongoose
QUOTE (Wulliewus @ Nov 20 2008, 08:21) *
This site is for all teams, the thread is about Coldstream. If you are not intressted in borders clubs, dont comment on them. Talk about your beloved toony teams Heriot Watt, Craigie Etc. All border teams play against 12 men each week, thats why we keep losing. 99% of refs come from over the hill, and quite frankly we get zero from them. There is only one borders ref, I am aware of, and he is originally from Glasgow, but stays in Berwick? Dont knock the Borders teams, we have been in the EOS the longest, and will still be here when most of the toonies have folded.

Sour grapes or what Wullie playing against 12 men..............away back tae yer cave son!
Keep_it_Real
Bull shit!! I've been envolved with Borders clubs and Edinburgh teams and no-one gets any preferential treatment from refs. The standard is just pish poor but without them we wouldn't have any games so you've just got to put up with it!
Wulliewus
QUOTE (The Mongoose @ Nov 20 2008, 12:23) *
Sour grapes or what Wullie playing against 12 men..............away back tae yer cave son!

The refs included in the 12, and has been as long as I know. Prefer my cave to the toon!!
CHIEF WIGGUM
6/1 streamers to beat lothian, will be having a wee tenner on that smile.gif
starky
QUOTE (Keep_it_Real @ Nov 20 2008, 13:30) *
Bull shit!! I've been envolved with Borders clubs and Edinburgh teams and no-one gets any preferential treatment from refs. The standard is just pish poor but without them we wouldn't have any games so you've just got to put up with it!

you have made the miost sense mate and thats the end of this debate