Full Version: Mcdiarmid Park - Public Transport
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
TheDoctor
Can anyone tell me what buses around Perth train station would take me to McDiarmid Park, or as near to it as possible? I was going to get a taxi, but discovered I have my credit crisis to attend to.
Larsson.
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Nov 6 2008, 12:50) *
Can anyone tell me what buses around Perth train station would take me to McDiarmid Park, or as near to it as possible? I was going to get a taxi, but discovered I have my credit crisis to attend to.

Head to mill street in the middle of the town about 5 min walk from train station
and get the No1 or No 2 bus (bus stop is opposite side from cinema) the bus
takes you to near enough Mcdiarmid main entrance.
Taylorboy77
The bus stop right outside LADBROKES takes you right to McD. wink.gif
H Wragg
QUOTE (Taylorboy77 @ Nov 6 2008, 13:27) *
The bus stop right outside LADBROKES takes you right to McD. wink.gif

A bus stop will take you from Perth city centre to McDiarmid?? ohmy.gif
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Nov 6 2008, 13:40) *
A bus stop will take you from Perth city centre to McDiarmid?? ohmy.gif

Yep, sure does wink.gif . I get it most home games. Bus to town, into Ladbrokes for my bet, then jump on the Number 1 outside Ladbrokes to McD wink.gif takes the bus about 15 mins to get there though as goes past hospital etc.
perthlad
Get a taxi right from outside the station doors,should cost ya around a £5 to the ground,if not head to the public library (just along from the station) Wait at the bus stop there for a No 1,it'll have ya to the ground in about 15 mins.
COCKNEYSAINTEE
5 MINS WALK TO OUTSIDE THE LIBRARY ON THE GLASGOW ROAD NO1 BUS TO THE PARK, SAVES A WALK TO MILL STREET. EVERY 10 MINS
7-2
There is just something totally and utterly wrong about The Doctor going by train and a No1 bus to the football.

Bang goes another childhood image.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (perthlad @ Nov 6 2008, 15:02) *
Get a taxi right from outside the station doors,should cost ya around a £5 to the ground,if not head to the public library (just along from the station) Wait at the bus stop there for a No 1,it'll have ya to the ground in about 15 mins.

Why does it take so long? It takes minutes to drive along Crieff Road - add time for stopping at stops and surely you have about 7 or 8 minutes. Or does it do a tour of Letham?
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Nov 6 2008, 12:50) *

You know it is within walking distance.
Super-Mixu
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Nov 6 2008, 22:19) *
Why does it take so long? It takes minutes to drive along Crieff Road - add time for stopping at stops and surely you have about 7 or 8 minutes. Or does it do a tour of Letham?

Of course it does a tour of Letham! You can't come to Perth and miss out on all the wonderful scenery!! biggrin.gif
Exuberant
I walked last time. About 25 minutes to do so but good exercise smile.gif
TheDoctor
QUOTE (7-2 @ Nov 6 2008, 20:42) *
There is just something totally and utterly wrong about The Doctor going by train and a No1 bus to the football.

Bang goes another childhood image.

For some reason, McDiarmid's co-ordinates don't register in the TARDIS' sat-nav laugh.gif
TheDoctor
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Nov 6 2008, 22:21) *
You know it is within walking distance.

The answer to that is, quite simply, f*** that laugh.gif
TheDoctor
Just wanted to say thanks to you lads for your helpful information that got me to McDiarmid Park yesterday. Got the No 1 bus outside the library, via a wee visit to Ladbrokes.

The bus driver was a Dundee fan, who was brilliant and was wondering why I was "going to see that pish". He was very helpful, quite rare in a bus driver nowadays and was a good laugh.

Cheers again lads
SingaporeSaint
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Nov 9 2008, 17:26) *
Just wanted to say thanks to you lads for your helpful information that got me to McDiarmid Park yesterday. Got the No 1 bus outside the library, via a wee visit to Ladbrokes.

The bus driver was a Dundee fan, who was brilliant and was wondering why I was "going to see that pish". He was very helpful, quite rare in a bus driver nowadays and was a good laugh.

Cheers again lads

Pity we couldnae help you out wit the correct result tongue.gif
TheDoctor
QUOTE (SingaporeSaint @ Nov 10 2008, 08:22) *
Pity we couldnae help you out wit the correct result tongue.gif

What makes you think I was a Ross County fan? I've never indicated anything of the sort and given I'm from East Kilbride, then being a Ross fan is highly unlikely wink.gif
Mad Cyril
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Nov 10 2008, 12:09) *
What makes you think I was a Ross County fan?

Because nowhere in your previous post did you mention punching f**k out of the Coagie bus driver.
Radford
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Nov 9 2008, 16:26) *

Cheers again lads

What did you think of the game?
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Mad Cyril @ Nov 10 2008, 12:46) *
Because nowhere in your previous post did you mention punching f**k out of the Coagie bus driver.

You rascal.