Full Version: St.johnstone V Ross County...8/11/08
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
The ghost of Jim Morton
Another tough game ( aren't they all ) against a side who are playing well and who have beaten us already this season (in the diddy cup). We secured a very good three points at Victoria Park earlier which started our present good run , but we should take nothing for granted. They may take their eye of the ball with the Diddy cup final looming but I doubt it. Hopefully the Saints players and the management will approach this with exactly the same attitude as the Pars game. If they do, I can see Saints winning 3-0 or 3-1. If not we will definitely get turned over.I am confident all will be well though and the three points will be ours.......

Team wise , I would be delighted to see Del send out the same eleven as last Saturday.MMM who picked up a knock will return to training tomorrow and Mooner seems to be fine...

Main

Irvine , Rusty, Caff, Craig

Millar, Mooner, Hardie, Sheerinio

Savo, Holmer

Subs.....A goalie, Morris, Swankie, Sammy, Ando.....

Injured. Mclean still I think......

No place for...Morgan, McKoy, Peaso, Jacko or James

Come on you Saints..............................
7-2
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Nov 5 2008, 17:36) *
Hopefully the Saints players and the management will approach this with exactly the same attitude as the Pars game. If they do, I can see Saints winning 3-0 or 3-1. If not we will definitely get turned over.

From what you can pick up about such things without actually being in the know, it looks as if any attitude problems have thankfully been overcome. I cant see them thinking that because of the recent good run they can relax now weve gone back to top.

County are going well and this will be a hard game. 1-0 will do me just fine.
Steve McQueen
I think were going to give them a doing! 5-0 or 6-0!!!
yangus
confident of giving them a hammering after recent results at least 3-0 (i know its not that much of a hammering) aslong as we have Millar, Savo and Craig fit then i am more than confident of this.
Dev Alahan
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Nov 5 2008, 18:56) *
I think were going to give them a doing! 5-0 or 6-0!!!

QUOTE (yangus @ Nov 5 2008, 19:59) *
confident of giving them a hammering after recent results at least 3-0 (i know its not that much of a hammering) aslong as we have Millar, Savo and Craig fit then i am more than confident of this.

Over-confidence. Cue a defeat.
Only 1 Mad Martin
i know that ando isnt comfy at left back but i think if craig plays in midfield we gain another dimention, and craig who is left footed struggled against harper, but when and came on he had harper in his pocket

also sheerin needs a rest he is letting games by pass him and his lack of pace is begining to worry me

main
irvine ruti caff ando
swankie hardie millar craig
milne holmes

although samuel only ever seems to score against county 3 in 2 so?
thejailender
I'm not overly confident about this game, St, Johnstone have been going well of late. We've done well but all the teams we have played in the last six weeks or so have ben against teams in the lower end of the league with the exception of Queens - the only game in which we have lost.
Added to the fact the cup final is the following week, I am concerned the minds of the players will be other things.

A point for County would be regarded as a good result.. But I suspect we'll loose this game.
sainteesean
QUOTE (Dev Alahan @ Nov 5 2008, 20:01) *

yeah sad.gif

i genuinley feel we might drop points to them. theyr a peristant bunch.
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Dev Alahan @ Nov 5 2008, 20:01) *

In Steve McQueen's defence I think he was taking the piss. He is normally a sensible lad.
Steve McQueen
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Nov 5 2008, 23:00) *
In Steve McQueen's defence I think he was taking the piss. He is normally a sensible lad.

wink.gif Certainly tongue in cheek. Nobody in this division can seriously predict huge wins.

But I do think that one day quite soon we'll click & someone's going to get a hiding.
bubs
Think JE hits the nail on the head if you look at our run its been against teams around or below us and our defeat was against a very stuborn Queens side, And although County will say they are focused on the game they will surely have thoughts on next weeks final, So with all this in mind 2-0 saints although i dont think it will be easy for them with the exception of who ever is marking Dyron the phrase back pocket may be used!!!!!!!
Radford
We've got ourselves to the top of the table in the past but then always hit a dreadful run. The difference this season I hope is that the players have actually taken a couple of pastings and will know only too well that they can be turned over by anyone in this league. We'd gone years without a heavy defeat before the Pars and Thistle games but I hope they will always be in the back of the players' minds.

As for our side, I'd start Samuel on Saturday. He's scored three times against them already this season and their defenders will be dreading facing him. It's harsh on Holmes but he's not had much joy out of their centre backs in either of the matches so far. As great as a settled line up is, McInnes regularly speaks about picking sides to specific matches (and alluded that it had always been in his mind to start Mooner at EEP) so we may as well use our squad when it's available. I'd also start Swankie with it being our home match and the onus being on us to go and win the game.
Taylorboy77
Agree with Radders here, time to rest Holmer for this one.

Samuel looked in good nick when came on at EEP and as previously mentioned, a great record against County this season.

Another change for me would be Sheerin. I would rest him for this game and bring Swankie into the starting line up.

central staggie
Not sure about this one. Were playing alright at the moment although thats twice this season where we have been playing teams that we should be looking to finish above to avoid relegation that we've needed a late scoring spree to beat. Were also playing the team top of the league, and also the form team in the league. Add to that I don't seem to remember us having that good a record at MDP, or against St Johnstone for that matter (Carlos might correct me) all things point towards a home win. In saying that, were not expected to get anything from this game and even if the players are thinking of the cup final some might be playing for starting places (Daal especially). It could work for us rather than against us. A lot more pressure on St Johnstone than us. We have to start Higgy for this one, from what I've heard Daal has been pish, and Higgy is scoring goals. Maybe Gardyne from the start instead of Strachan. Apart from that, same team as last week if it's working!

Prediction - Sneaky 1-1.
PerthSaintBob
QUOTE (central staggie @ Nov 6 2008, 12:40) *
Not sure about this one. Were playing alright at the moment although thats twice this season where we have been playing teams that we should be looking to finish above to avoid relegation that we've needed a late scoring spree to beat. Were also playing the team top of the league, and also the form team in the league. Add to that I don't seem to remember us having that good a record at MDP, or against St Johnstone for that matter (Carlos might correct me) all things point towards a home win. In saying that, were not expected to get anything from this game and even if the players are thinking of the cup final some might be playing for starting places (Daal especially). It could work for us rather than against us. A lot more pressure on St Johnstone than us. We have to start Higgy for this one, from what I've heard Daal is pish, and Higgy is scoring goals. Maybe Gardyne from the start instead of Strachan. Apart from that, same team as last week if it's working!

Prediction - Sneaky 1-1.

Corrected it for you tongue.gif

No doubt that'll come back and bite me in the ass!

I'll take any sort of win as always, think it'll end up 1-0 or 2-1 to us...
supersaint44
I have to say i think this will prove to be an extremely hard game for us, county are a persistant bunch as someone else said and they do seem to enjoy taking points off of us. i thin we should really stick with the same line up maybe put Swankie in from the start at the expense of Moon. I think this is a game we should take lightly so put out a balanced team and then if things are going bad and we need a goal we have Samuel, Moon, Peaso or James to bring in as subs to add a scoring threat. i predict a draw 2-2 (i just have a bad feeling that county will grab a late goal to gain a point) go with a team of

Main
Irvine Rusty McCaffery Craig
Millar Hardie Sheerin Swankie
Milne Holmes

Subs: Goalie (prob Kelly), James, Moon, Peaso, Samuel
thejailender
I'm hearing whisper today that County will be without Tony Bullock for this game. Seemingly he has been suspended by Ross County for two weeks.
So we should have Derek Soutar in goals I imagine.

I haven't seen him play since he arrived at County. I would imagine he will be fine, I do remember that he is prone to the odd mistake, but then what keeper at this level isn't !

I would imagine him and Bullock are of similar capabilities.
Jamie_Beatson
We really have to avoid any hint of complacency and over confidence in the team. We have been on a great run, and we should be looking to win against Ross County at home, but it is by no means a foregone conclusion.

I'd like us to line up with the same team as Saturday. Holmes and Milne are forming a great partnership and it would be silly IMO to break it up. Samuel would be extremely useful coming off the bench if necessary. If I was to make a change it might be Swankie for Mooner if he hasn't fully recovered from his knock on Saturday. Sheerin would move in to the centre with Swankie out left.

Plenty of options for Saints on Saturday - you could easily make a case for starting with the team that finished the game against Dunfermline. What I really hope for is that we can go in to the game away at Dundee with enough of a lead at the top of the league that we could drop points without plunging down the table.
bubs
Ther must have more than meets the eye with regards to the fan incident against qos, but to suspend him for two weeks does appear a bit harsh at first view however at present we are in the dark with the details. Souter will be a more than able deputy as although he made some shockers last season at aberdeen for a while he did keep langfield out of the side. Still think we will lose reffer to earlier post!!!!!!!
1993staggie
1 point from this game would be good for County, i would say both teams are on some kind of form recently. So this game could be quite an interesting one. I would probely say that St Johnstone will win this one but i think if we could sneak a few goals we could definatly hold a lead
thejailender
QUOTE (bubs @ Nov 6 2008, 16:57) *
Ther must have more than meets the eye with regards to the fan incident against qos, but to suspend him for two weeks does appear a bit harsh at first view however at present we are in the dark with the details.

I posted this story on the OTB site, but since then have had a call regarding it. Seemingly Bullock is not being Suspended but "Is being rested for the next two weeks"
Seemingly it also has nothing to do with the incident with the fan at the Queens game, and him being rested is purely because he has been tired in recent weeks.

GHU1967
Mmm, strange news about Bullock. Don't 'buy' the official club line.

Can't see us returning home with any points unfortunately. 3-1 fake saints.
7-2
QUOTE (GHU1967 @ Nov 6 2008, 19:32) *
3-1 fake saints.

They havent scored more than 2 in a league game this season so thats a bit optimistic no matter how bad Hearts are at the moment. Anyway, its got sod all to do with our game.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (7-2 @ Nov 6 2008, 19:50) *
They havent scored more than 2 in a league game this season so thats a bit optimistic no matter how bad Hearts are at the moment. Anyway, its got sod all to do with our game.

Nice reply to the supporter of the 3rd best team in the Highlands
Staggie forever
Can't see us getting anything from this game but a draw would be a very good reeult.

Surely Higgy has got to start instead of Daal.
steve-o
ok, st johnstone are a good team, and on form, but as county fans we should be a little more optimistic! its sad reading this seeing all the county fans saying we'll lose dry.gif ! st j 1 - 2 ross county biggrin.gif craig & hart! smile.gif

GHU1967
QUOTE (7-2 @ Nov 6 2008, 19:50) *

Ooooo, touchy are we? laugh.gif

Get over it FFS. tongue.gif
7-2
QUOTE (GHU1967 @ Nov 7 2008, 12:29) *
Ooooo, touchy are we? laugh.gif

Get over it FFS. tongue.gif

Nope.

Get over what exactly? Never quite understood the total misuse of that expression in playground speak.
Kyle
Never understood the 'Fake Saints' thing. Seems pretty stupid in all honesty.

Anyway, I usually agree with Radford when it comes to team matters, but I'm not sure I do this time. I would bring in Swankie from the start, probably for the unfortunate Moon, but I wouldn't drop Holmes. He's been dynamite in pretty much every game I've seen him in (granted I have missed one or two) and deserves to keep his place. Couple it with the fact he'll have a winger, I'd say he will hopefully receive quality crosses from, he might be good for a goal tomorrow.

Other than the Swankie change, I'd leave the team the same as what started at Dunfermline.

Hopeful of a win, but got a few wee nagging doubts about tomorrow. I think Saints fans are all too used to false dawns.
Radford
QUOTE (Kyle @ Nov 7 2008, 18:21) *
Anyway, I usually agree with Radford when it comes to team matters, but I'm not sure I do this time. I would bring in Swankie from the start, probably for the unfortunate Moon, but I wouldn't drop Holmes. He's been dynamite in pretty much every game I've seen him in (granted I have missed one or two) and deserves to keep his place. Couple it with the fact he'll have a winger, I'd say he will hopefully receive quality crosses from, he might be good for a goal tomorrow.

Other than the Swankie change, I'd leave the team the same as what started at Dunfermline.

Hopeful of a win, but got a few wee nagging doubts about tomorrow. I think Saints fans are all too used to false dawns.

On your last point, there's no danger I'm going to get carried away as like you say, this situation is nothing new. The problem is that this is usually the stage where we lose three or four games. The hope this time is the pastings off Thistle and the Pars provide a reminder for the players that they aren't anything without hard work. In previous seasons we hadn't really suffered pain like that.

I expect McInnes to go with Holmes tomorrow and it's hardly an outrageous decision on current form. Like I said, I just think the County defenders will be worried about facing Samuel and that could have worked to our advantage. I'm sure he'll still play his part from the bench. I expect Swankie to start too but then I'm not sure how McInnes will work the bench as Moon and Morris are both similar and can really just play the same role. Can he leave Morris out after having him in the XVI last week and saying a few days ago that he was back to full fitness?
nelsjfc
QUOTE (Radford @ Nov 7 2008, 19:15) *
On your last point, there's no danger I'm going to get carried away as like you say, this situation is nothing new. The problem is that this is usually the stage where we lose three or four games. The hope this time is the pastings off Thistle and the Pars provide a reminder for the players that they aren't anything without hard work. In previous seasons we hadn't really suffered pain like that.

I expect McInnes to go with Holmes tomorrow and it's hardly an outrageous decision on current form. Like I said, I just think the County defenders will be worried about facing Samuel and that could have worked to our advantage. I'm sure he'll still play his part from the bench. I expect Swankie to start too but then I'm not sure how McInnes will work the bench as Moon and Morris are both similar and can really just play the same role. Can he leave Morris out after having him in the XVI last week and saying a few days ago that he was back to full fitness?

Yes we have had "one or two" false dawns in the last 6/7 seasons!!! I have to say the confidence is beginning to return for the first time in quitea while though (oh dear). I think tomorrow could be difficult depending on how the game starts. However, i think we have that wee bit of steel about us at the moment, which has being seeing us through in a lot of the wins we have had recently. Lets be honest, a large number of games in this division turn in to wars of attrition, we suddenely look like coping with that. I am aware that the last paragraph will probably haunt me tomorrow night.

As for the team tomorrow, i agree with kyle that swankie should start, espically with the likelyhood that county will be relatively happy with a point. A few weeks a go at McDiarmid I thought that, in spells, we played our best football of the season, mainly due to the mobility of the midfield. Having miller and swankie in the same team meant when we went forward, we did with pace and with plenty of movement. I would maybe add moon in to the equation as well, as he is another with the ability to get box-to-box. Playing moon may mean dropping sheerin or hardie, which seems incredibly harsh given their performances the last month or so.

I appricate what you are saying about samuel, but i think it would slighly foolish to break up the partnership of savo and homer. Its the most settled we have looked upfront for a while, and both are causing there own special problems to defences each week. I think we will see samuel on at some point tomorrow, probably in a wide position towards the end. Thats not where I think he is best, but seems to be where he is brought on, and to be fair he did cause problems playing there in the last 5-10 minutes at EEP.

Its a great problem we have got at the moment in terms of selection.......long may it continue!

Pity i will miss the game tomorrow due to work though sad.gif
glenrothes 1884 saint

Same starters as last week,with Swanks in for Mooner,to give us natural width and pace at home.Sammy to get a run out,injuries permitting with 30 mins to go.Del believes in horses for courses,so think he'll be slightly more offensive in the middle.
GHU1967
QUOTE (7-2 @ Nov 7 2008, 14:06) *
Nope.

Get over what exactly? Never quite understood the total misuse of that expression in playground speak.

The fact that you bit again!! laugh.gif

'playground speak' quality!
The ghost of Jim Morton
Well Saturdays here again and I'm hopeful of a great game today and 3 points for Saints .Weather seems fine at the moment but the forecast is for heavy showers and possibly very strong winds.If this does indeed arrive before kick-off it could make playing conditions very difficult. We did handle these type conditions against Partick well so I,m not overly concerned but you never know. It's going to be a tough game with the added pressure of Saints being league leaders, but we must be able to win these games and handle the pressure if we are to be successful come May. I hope Del sticks with the same 11 as last week but if he does change it, as long as he only tweaks the line-up I,ll be very happy... 3-0 Saints...................

COME ON YOU SAINTS..............................
7-2
QUOTE (GHU1967 @ Nov 8 2008, 01:38) *
The fact that you bit again!! laugh.gif
'playground speak' quality!

Factually incorrect but I suspect that wont matter to you so feel free to continue on your own.
Anyway, to more important issues….

QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Nov 8 2008, 12:26) *
It's going to be a tough game with the added pressure of Saints being league leaders, but we must be able to win these games and handle the pressure if we are to be successful come May. I hope Del sticks with the same 11 as last week but if he does change it, as long as he only tweaks the line-up I,ll be very happy... 3-0 Saints...................

I think this week and Clyde are the 2 most important games of the season. We've done the hard work to get back to the top and are expected to win both of these matches, even though Clyde can be a bit of a bogie side for us. Traditionally this is when Saints let us down!

If we can now build on what weve done and win both I think that will show we actually do have what it takes to go on and win the league. 3-0 would really back this up and I'd love it if we do that but we are Saints..........!