Full Version: Manager Meets The Fans
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
farflung lichtie
Uunder-pressure Arbroath manager John McGlashan will be holding a Q & A at Tuttie's on Thursday 6th November @ 7pm. John is urging all fans who can attend to come along and air their views and offer their points of view on the season so far.

Democratic accountability in Scottish fitba? An alternative outlet for the voice of the disenfranchised and discontented? A cheap stunt to try and retain tenure? This sort of worthy exercise will never catch on... or will it?

I think I can hurry them along to the main part of the agenda. Point of view on season so far. Sh*te. Next
TOM HENDRIE
So how many do you expext at Tutties one man and his dug probs tongue.gif tongue.gif

P.S Is he taking you lot to the fairground accross the road afterwards to cheer you all up wink.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mel Hutchwright
It's very much to John's credit that he's prepared to do this. He's a braver man than I.

Hopefully it proves to be constructive as, despite our recent woes, I'm still willing him to win our support back over. Could prove to be futile though I fear.
JimLichtie
QUOTE (TOM HENDRIE @ Nov 4 2008, 16:33) *
Is he taking you lot to the fairground accross the road afterwards to cheer you all up wink.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I believe the term you're looking for is 'large amusement arcade' you cretin.

As for the whole Q&A thing it's a good effort by the manager although I can't see him saying anything that has not been said before.

However just by organising the event shows a respect for the club, and his job, that few managers would be wishing to display.

I hope all the BEEEEEEEEEW boys will take the most of this opportunity.
Lichtielegend
QUOTE (JimLichtie @ Nov 4 2008, 16:55) *
I hope all the BEEEEEEEEEW boys will take the most of this opportunity.

Half of them will shite it when it comes to making their point to McGlashan in person.
abner doubleday
Thought it would be obvious why Arbroath are bottom of the league!

Finishing 4th in the Third last year and hoping to adjust without some signings was asking for trouble.

Maybe one season too soon?

But good luck to McGlashan for taking this step.
1320Lichtie
I wont be going but someone needs to tell him Sellars is not the right choice for captain , ALWAYS play Gatesy , get rid of the players we dont need , Tosh and Raeside are part of the squad but dont move people out of position to play him , , RECALL REILLY , and get Steven Weir as far away as possible he is a wee w****r.

nice sig agner doubleday off of south park aye.
Stevo Fife
Brave step. Guy must have ba's like watermelons. Shows he`s keen if anything.

Good luck to him.
JimLichtie
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Nov 4 2008, 17:28) *
I wont be going

Good news 1320. I believe that under-16s are allowed in the bar if accompanied by a responsible adult.
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (JimLichtie @ Nov 4 2008, 16:36) *
Good news 1320. I believe that under-16s are allowed in the bar if accompanied by a responsible adult.

Why is that relevant I am not under 16 huh.gif
dubs
Why are any Arbroath fans surprised they are struggling this season?
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (dubs @ Nov 4 2008, 16:46) *
Why are any Arbroath fans surprised they are struggling this season?

Nah its more of the fact that apart from saturday and maybe Brechin away , we have competed and nearly/should have got soemthing out of every game.
ARoverinLeeds
I hope Arbroath FC get it sorted, i'd hate to see my 2nd favourite team go down. Mon the lichtie's smile.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Nov 4 2008, 17:51) *
I hope Arbroath FC get it sorted, i'd hate to see my 2nd favourite team go down. Mon the lichtie's smile.gif

Why should it bother you? You'll be up in the 1st remember.
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Nov 4 2008, 17:16) *
Why should it bother you? You'll be up in the 1st remember.

Who said that? You must be confusing "if" and "are" as meaning the same thing blink.gif
JimLichtie
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Nov 4 2008, 17:50) *
Nah its more of the fact that apart from saturday and maybe Brechin away , we have competed and nearly/should have got soemthing out of every game.

SO why do you wan't McG to 'GTF' then?

Surely if we were getting horsed in every game a change if manager would be more apt.
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (JimLichtie @ Nov 4 2008, 17:49) *
SO why do you wan't McG to 'GTF' then?

Surely if we were getting horsed in every game a change if manager would be more apt.

Because Alloa and East Fife are the 2 most recent examples , its clear that McGlashan wanted to sit in his own box and try to defend the 1-0 lead which never worked , and only bringing on Scott and Gates for the last 20 mins meant we spent nearly all 2nd half attacking there 9 men with 6 defenders (against East Fife).

Aso the fact that even though Tosh didnt even make the bench last week he walked straight into the team , and the fact he does his best to play Raeside , ie Rennie getting dropped to the bench , Bishop put to right back just so Raeside fits into the team.

Also that he has given Reilly one game all season yet has gave Wright (the most awaful AFC player i have seen) and Weir ( whos just as bad ) more game time than he has got , also that Gates our best attacking player by far doesnt feature when we have 3 strikers on the pitch , Enough reasons ?
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Nov 4 2008, 17:51) *

Thank you! It could be a bitter/sweet season, Raith winning the league and Arbroath.....no
Ever the Optimist
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Nov 4 2008, 15:59) *
Half of them will shite it when it comes to making their point to McGlashan in person.

The old AU travel club arranged one of these when the late Ally McLoed was coming to the end of his tenure. He arrived 20 minutes early buttered up the fans with old stories and then got an exceptionally easy ride from the punters that turned up. You can say what you like about the man, but when it came to having the gift of the gab, there was none could compete with him.

But as has been said, fair play to McGlashan for putting his head above the parapet.
Captain Kerthorse
How is the (sizeable) ex Forfar contingent getting on this season?
1320Lichtie
Rattray good and solid when hes played but too injury prone , Sellars Good , Tosh shiyte , Lunan Really good , Fraser haf decent , any more ?
Lichtielegend
First couple of weeks of this season aside, Lunan has been pretty crap.
Xbass Threepwood
...Edited because I am incapable of remembering what day of the week it is.
Blazes Boylan
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Nov 5 2008, 16:21) *
Rattray good and solid when hes played but too injury prone , Sellars Good , Tosh shiyte , Lunan Really good , Fraser haf decent , any more ?

I would say: Rattray, while not particularly outstanding (of course neither is he poor) is a gritty player and is very vocal appearing to be the de facto captain when playing, worth his place on this basis alone; Sellars has been something of a passenger throughout games this season (I know he gets on the scoresheet) and I personally expected alot more from him; Tosh gets far too much unwarranted criticism from the terraces and is perhaps as little undervalued as our only physical attacker, as well as our only attacker that is over 5'1"; Lunan had a real run of form at the end of last season but has been very disapointing this season; Fraser has done a good job for us but has flown under the radar a bit when it comes to people noticing his performances - which at Gayfield with its eddying pools of negative energy is probably a very good thing.
Lichtielegend
Opportunity missed for the anti-McGlashan brigade.

Nearly 2 hours of Q&A and barely a question that really challenged him. Half of them had already been answered in previous editions of the Herald.
Chief Scout
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Nov 6 2008, 21:19) *

Nearly 2 hours of Q&A and barely a question that really challenged him. Half of them had already been answered in previous editions of the Herald.

haha does that surprise you?? "opportunity missed" ... some fans, most if not all who are shouting their mouths off on fans forums demanding change, spouting sh*te from the terraces never have the bottle to stand up face to face and repeat what they say on these forums!

i posted somewhere else that football fans have the shortest memory ever and dont really have a clue... and those that are so quick to jump on the offensive against someone without taking all things into cosideration is frightening.

Arbroath for example have the smallest wage budget in div.2 and there are also teams in div.3 who spend more money on wages. Yet in the past few years that the current management team of arbroath have been in charge, they have yet to fail to finish in a playoff position. Though obviously this season will be different. Arbroath FC by all acounts were very very unlucky not to come away with maximum points in the first few games of the season in matches they either drew or lost by the odd goal. Missed chances, good goalkeeping, luck all counting against them.

At this level, players and managers will always make mistakes, and i grant its a fans right to moan about it, but some act as if they know better and should be manager... again the majority of these people havent even played a half decent standard of football im guessing!

but like you said, opportunity missed eh? more than likely those who run their mouths off were away playing some manager game, pretending to be a footballing genius!

edited for spelling
Mel Hutchwright

You do surprise me. I balk at using the word 'cowardly' but.......

No doubt they'll be in fine voice on the terraces this weekend though, should we be having another difficult afternoon.
edinlichtie

Must have been enthralling. Obviously The Herald only ever posts pro-lichtie, never a bad word said about the big man. Didn't fancy getting off the fence yourself and asking a challenging question? Or is it only someone who has booed from the terraces that's allowed to ask something daring?
Lichtielegend
QUOTE (edinlichtie @ Nov 7 2008, 03:13) *
Must have been enthralling. Obviously The Herald only ever posts pro-lichtie, never a bad word said about the big man. Didn't fancy getting off the fence yourself and asking a challenging question? Or is it only someone who has booed from the terraces that's allowed to ask something daring?

laugh.gif Good night out, m8?

Also, confirmation before 12:30 please.
farflung lichtie

For those of us who don't stay near Arbroath, what were the main points?
JimLichtie
QUOTE (edinlichtie @ Nov 7 2008, 02:13) *

Well somebody got drunk off the mini-bar in their travelodge. smile.gif

Anyway,

Credit to McG for hosting the big meat which attracted about 40 fans

The main points raised were:
Where's the passion?
How can we stop this run?
Is Sellar's the correct captain?
Tactics used.
The EF debacle.

Nothing too challenging for the manager in all honesty and little that had not been covered in the press.

He noted that he's made mistakes over the past few years but also how far the club has came in the 3 seasons he's been in charge.

One of the more interesting was that after the EF game he contemplated resigning. 'A knee-jerk reaction' he said.

Notable, despite the extensive mutterings on fan's forums, was a lack of anything really challenging.

The guys who typically trot out the "McG only plays his mates, does not give others a chance" were either not there or too scared.
Lichtielegend
*snigger*

You said big meat.
1320Lichtie
My Opinion is changed of McGlashan , most people are just getting carried away me myself with what has happened the last 3 games , he said he wants to stay up this season , and then establish next season , taking it a step at a time , he has got the money to spend but doesnt want to see AFC reach debt like they did last time they went up to division 1.

Instead promoting the youth policy and bringing in quality players once were established , his main goal over the next 5 years is to be challenging for the 1st division but he doesnt want to overspend.

They have the wages to spend but McGlashan would rather keep them for bringing in loan deals of quality and Scans for players etc etc.

Good session but lasted far too long. Missed the footy.
Blazes Boylan
QUOTE (Chief Scout @ Nov 7 2008, 00:34) *
Yet in the past few years that the current management team of arbroath have been in charge, they have yet to fail to finish in a playoff position. Though obviously this season will be different.

Let's not be so pessimistic as to rule out finishing 9th just yet. C'mon the Lichties, the season starts here. Well, not 'here' so much as Gayfield on Saturday.
Lichtielegend
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Nov 7 2008, 12:55) *
Good session but lasted far too long. Missed the footy.

The 'footy' isn't until Saturday.
danlichtie
If he wants to use the youths, then why is he signing players like Steven Weir and then loaning Andy Reilly out to the Vics?

Lichtielegend
QUOTE (danlichtie @ Nov 8 2008, 11:57) *
If he wants to use the youths, then why is he signing players like Steven Weir and then loaning Andy Reilly out to the Vics?

What was his answer when you asked him that?
danlichtie
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Nov 8 2008, 10:02) *
What was his answer when you asked him that?

I live in Edinburgh mate so I was unable to make the Q&A session.