Full Version: Partick Thistle Vs Clyde
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Kirky_Clyde
May aswell get this started early. Was ruined at Dingwall but heard we were OK up until the last 8 minutes. Thistle will be confident after their great win at the weekend and I'm sure we should up our tempo a little.

Providing we have the same available players as the County game, I would play;

Hutton

Gibson Lithgow Higgins

Trouten Kettlewell Wilson Ru.MacLennan Waddell

Clarke Gemmill

Subs: Cherrie, Lowing, Ro.MacLennan, McSwegan, McCusker.

Head says comfortable Thistle win - heart says an away triumph by a single goal.

Fast_Action
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Nov 3 2008, 22:48) *
May aswell get this started early. Was ruined at Dingwall but heard we were OK up until the last 8 minutes. Thistle will be confident after their great win at the weekend and I'm sure we should up our tempo a little.

Providing we have the same available players as the County game, I would play;

Hutton

Gibson Lithgow Higgins

Trouten Kettlewell Wilson Ru.MacLennan Waddell

Clarke Gemmill

Subs: Cherrie, Lowing, Ro.MacLennan, McSwegan, McCusker.

Head says comfortable Thistle win - heart says an away triumph by a single goal.

Is Emslie injured?
TOM HENDRIE
I can see Thistle running out 4-0 winners with a Buchanan hatrick and Maxy piledriver tongue.gif
Exuberant
QUOTE (TOM HENDRIE @ Nov 3 2008, 23:06) *
I can see Thistle running out 4-0 winners with a Buchanan hatrick and Maxy piledriver tongue.gif

heh.

I'm confident of thrashing Clyde 1-0. Own Goal 90th minute.
Dr Koop
QUOTE (TOM HENDRIE @ Nov 3 2008, 23:06) *

And I will win the Euro lottery on Friday and the national draw on Saturday.
Red White and Black
Not confident going into this one.

Unless a miracle happens I think this will be 3 pointer to Thistle based on our form this season.

Not going to predict the score.
David W
I think we're going to win.

Before anyone asks why - blind stupidity, just like before the Livi/Airdrie games.
Virtual Insanity
QUOTE (David W @ Nov 3 2008, 23:23) *
I think we're going to win.

Before anyone asks why - blind stupidity, just like before the Livi/Airdrie games.

Are these the only two games you have had this hunch for this season? Please let me know because I wont bother showing up on Saturday if I know we're going to lose.
Mon The Clyde
If Brown doesnt get the players motivated for this one then nothing will. All depends if the players want the win, if they do, I think we will win. If not, comfortable home win.
David W
I thought we'd beat Livi at Almondvale as well. They're the only three league games I've genuinely thought we'd win, though I'm generally fairly optimistic.

Also picked out a 1-1 draw when we played each other at Broadwood biggrin.gif
Garrowhillclyde
I cant see anything other than a win for the Thespians, so much so I aint going. (altogether now, GC cannae take it, GC cannae take it). I'll be giving my entrance money to the bookies on a Thistle win. Even if it does not come in at least we have a point.

Fuctifano
I normally predict a draw in these matches and I think I will this time as well. Our only draw thus far has been against Clyde if memory serves, and I see another 1-1 on the cards.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
I think we will nick a draw. Either 0-0 or 1-1. We are at times a poor excuse for a football team but I think we will be more up for this and a point here will give us a bit more false hope before we get tanked again the next couple of fixtures.
clyde til we die
We will get pumped.
jagtastic
QUOTE (Fuctifano @ Nov 3 2008, 23:59) *
I normally predict a draw in these matches and I think I will this time as well. Our only draw thus far has been against Clyde if memory serves, and I see another 1-1 on the cards.

Dundee as well.

With Buchanan back in the team I feel so much more confident in us creating chances and pushing teams back. I hope he can get himself in behind the defenders again right from the start as QOTS just didn't know what to do about it, eventually resulting in red card and pen. I reckon a lot will depend on our midfield, it could be similar to the Morton game where we looked comfortable for long spells then 10/15 mins of sitting too deep in the second half allows them to press us, fortunatley the Ton did f all with it in that time. Clyde might be playing shite at the moment but unlike last year it would seem they are capable of raising their games (probably why the fans are so pissed off at poor performances) and they generally seem to reserve the biggest effort for us. Sack predicting a result but I'm not worried about the prospect of playing anyone at Firhill when we are capable of creating chances.
SouthLanarkshireWhite
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Nov 3 2008, 23:47) *
I cant see anything other than a win for the Thespians, so much so I aint going. (altogether now, GC cannae take it, GC cannae take it). I'll be giving my entrance money to the bookies on a Thistle win. Even if it does not come in at least we have a point.

How times have changed !

I too will pass and have arranged something else again, a thought which would not go through my head a couple of seasons back.

off to a Spanish game, so the quality should be better! biggrin.gif
The Arch
Clyde fans were predicting they'd get pumped last time around, and in the end they were most likely to snatch a winner last time, so I'm not really sure.

This time around we have Buchanan fit, who I think you'll struggle to deal with. If he's on his game, we'll probably nick it.
Fast_Action
My concern is not about us getting beaten - there is little doubt about that. My concern is about us making a fool of ourselves in theway that we did at our first Firhill game last season. That was a real low point, and precious little evidence to suggest that we are that much better this season.

So will we be utterly humiliated again?
Shawfield Stallion
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Nov 4 2008, 10:29) *
My concern is not about us getting beaten - there is little doubt about that. My concern is about us making a fool of ourselves in theway that we did at our first Firhill game last season. That was a real low point, and precious little evidence to suggest that we are that much better this season.

What is really terrifying is that John Brown inspires as much confidence in me as Colin Hendry did. At least Hendry had the excuse of a dying wife to bail him out - all Brown can churn out is gripe after gripe relating to injuries and referees. I fear that he really does genuinely believe that he's doing nothing wrong and all our problems will be solved when Marc McCusker and Marvyn Wilson return to full fitness laugh.gif

As for the game, I plan to start drowning my sorrows at about 11am so I'm not sure how accurate my match report will be afterwards. I won't be happy even with a draw though, I really think we need to win this one. We won't though

QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Nov 4 2008, 10:29) *
Is Emslie injured?

Well?

Because if he ain't, then he's getting a game
David W
People say Brown moans about injuries. So far this season the following players have missed games as a result of injuries:

David Hutton
Billy Gibson
Neil McGregor
Michael Ohnesorge
Alan Lowing
Paul Emslie
Ricky Waddell
Willie McLaren
Mark Brown
Marvyn Wilson
Pat Clarke
Dave McKay
Gary McSwegan
Stuart Kettlewell
Mark McCusker

In fact, the only players to have escaped injury are Peter Cherrie, Chris Higgins, Alan Trouten (he did suffer a migraine before a game), Scott Gemmill and Ruari McLennan (who's been playing with an injury the whole time!).

I don't generally back up using injuries as an excuse but that list is ridiculous. Trying to organise a team with a squad that changes every week isn't as easy as having a team like Ross County which has been reasonably settled throughout the campaign.
Shawfield Stallion
QUOTE (David W @ Nov 4 2008, 11:11) *
People say Brown moans about injuries. So far this season the following players have missed games as a result of injuries:

In fact, the only players to have escaped injury are Peter Cherrie, Chris Higgins, Alan Trouten (he did suffer a migraine before a game), Scott Gemmill and Ruari McLennan (who's been playing with an injury the whole time!).

I don't generally back up using injuries as an excuse but that list is ridiculous. Trying to organise a team with a squad that changes every week isn't as easy as having a team like Ross County which has been reasonably settled throughout the campaign.

Surely you have to question his methods of training then?

I still don't think he should be complaining about injuries as much as he does though. One of the first things he said when he was appointed was that he wants a bigger squad with more competition for places. Now he has that, yet he still whinges and complains when someone injures themselves, no doubt picked up during one of his boxing sessions or something blink.gif

Fast_Action
QUOTE (David W @ Nov 4 2008, 11:11) *

David Hutton
Billy Gibson
Neil McGregor
Michael Ohnesorge
Alan Lowing
Paul Emslie
Ricky Waddell
Willie McLaren
Mark Brown
Marvyn Wilson
Pat Clarke
Dave McKay
Gary McSwegan
Stuart Kettlewell
Mark McCusker

Wait until the suspensions start to kick in.
John MacLean
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Nov 3 2008, 23:09) *
And I will win the Euro lottery on Friday

Good, I should get a decent present then. :-) Sorry, that will go over everyone elses head.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Shawfield Stallion @ Nov 4 2008, 11:18) *
Surely you have to question his methods of training then?

Correct. Would it be cynical to suggest a link between the number of injuries in training and the number of yellow cards on the field?
Dr Koop
QUOTE (John MacLean @ Nov 4 2008, 11:28) *
Good, I should get a decent present then. :-) Sorry, that will go over everyone elses head.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif I thought you'd asked for an indecent one.

Meanwhile,

I hope he can get himself in behind the defenders again right from the start as QOTS just didn't know what to do about it, eventually resulting in red card and pen.

Sheesh. I hope there's more to Liam's game than that these days.
jagtastic
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Nov 4 2008, 13:15) *
Meanwhile,

Sheesh. I hope there's more to Liam's game than that these days.

There is, but I'm suggesting that it's encouraging to see him getting into these positions as it's something we've clearly missed.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (Shawfield Stallion @ Nov 4 2008, 10:47) *
What is really terrifying is that John Brown inspires as much confidence in me as Colin Hendry did. At least Hendry had the excuse of a dying wife to bail him out - all Brown can churn out is gripe after gripe relating to injuries and referees. I fear that he really does genuinely believe that he's doing nothing wrong and all our problems will be solved when Marc McCusker and Marvyn Wilson return to full fitness laugh.gif

As for the game, I plan to start drowning my sorrows at about 11am so I'm not sure how accurate my match report will be afterwards. I won't be happy even with a draw though, I really think we need to win this one. We won't though

Well?

Because if he ain't, then he's getting a game

Snap laugh.gif

We could be getting a rerun of last weeks performance from myself.
Kirky_Clyde
What about me everyone?

Should I drink?

Or just stay on the orange juices for this one? tongue.gif

Questions more for Sir K, Sao Paulo and Mon The Clyde to answer.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Haha as long as ye dont start at 7am again.

Im no sure how im getting there as yet. One of the ideas being mooted is a walking pub crawl through Sauchiehall Street/Cowcaddens/Maryhill but that might get dangerous.
Kirky_Clyde

I'm up for a walk from town if you are.

Am away for a hair cut (about fecking time) so I'll talk to you on msn or something when I'm back.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Nov 4 2008, 17:56) *

I'm up for a walk from town if you are.

Am away for a hair cut (about fecking time) so I'll talk to you on msn or something when I'm back.

Do ye need to tell everybody that laugh.gif

Btw can anybody tell me if the walk from town to Maryhill is feasible or will it take ridiculously long.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth @ Nov 4 2008, 18:29) *
Btw can anybody tell me if the walk from town to Maryhill is feasible or will it take ridiculously long.

Piece of piss.
marty the bullwee man
Should be a good game as every time i've went to firhill it's been a good atmosphere.i go fro a win for clyde 1-0.
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Thistle 6 - 1 Caravan Dwellers FC

Kirky_Clyde
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Nov 4 2008, 18:44) *
Piece of piss.

Aye a heard all you have to do is walk up to the end of Sauchiehall street and that takes you to St George's cross. And Firhills not far from there.
GypsyTillIDie
I can see Clyde knicking a point from this game, surprisingly. If we play well, keep the ball on the ground and take our chances, we could sneak a draw from this. Obviously, Buchanan is going to be Thistle's dangerman. His pace could be something that would rip apart our defence.

I'm not going to predict a score, but there'll certainly be a pile of goals.
PTFC27
I'm sayin a 2-0 Thistle win here. I think we have to take advantage of any set-pieces we get because if IIRC Clyde aren't a big team and if we Maxy, Kinniburgh, Twaddle, McKinlay and Harkins playing we should be dangerous.

Fast_Action
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Nov 4 2008, 21:06) *
I'm sayin a 2-0 Thistle win here. I think we have to take advantage of any set-pieces we get because if IIRC Clyde aren't a team and if we Maxy, Kinniburgh, Twaddle, McKinlay and Harkins playing we will be dangerous.

Sorted that post for you.
BullyWeeBoy
Can see us nicking a win here don't know why but i think we will be up for it

2-0 Clyde biggrin.gif
PTFC27
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Nov 4 2008, 21:10) *
Sorted that post for you.

Took me ages to notice what you did. laugh.gif
Pride Of The Clyde
Thistle to win by 2 or 3 goals.
Clyde midfield to be non exsistant as per usual and John Brown to blame the ref for our defeat.
The sooner Brown Gs T F the sooner we can get someone in who has a clue about tactics and team selections and also someone who doesn't hide in the dugout as soon as things start going against us
Not looking forward to Saturday night and Thistle fans gloating about how easy it was and how pish we are.

Hutton

Higgins
Gibson
Lowing - Last chance

Waddel
Brown - The guy is a midfielder not a CB
Wilson
Gemmil - As he may add a bit energy in the middle of the park
Trouten

McCusker
Clarke

Subs: Cherrie, MacKay, MacLennan, McSwegan, Lithgow.
PTFC27
QUOTE (Pride Of The Clyde @ Nov 4 2008, 23:02) *
Thistle to win by 2 or 3 goals.
Clyde midfield to be non exsistant as per usual and John Brown to blame the ref for our defeat.
The sooner Brown Gs T F the sooner we can get someone in who has a clue about tactics and team selections and also someone who doesn't hide in the dugout as soon as things start going against us
Not looking forward to Saturday night and Thistle fans gloating about how easy it was and how pish we are.

Hutton

Higgins
Gibson
Lowing - Last chance

Waddel
Brown - The guy is a midfielder not a CB
Wilson
Gemmil - As he may add a bit energy in the middle of the park
Trouten

McCusker
Clarke

Subs: Cherrie, MacKay, MacLennan, McSwegan, Lithgow.

In everyone one of those positions we have a better player laugh.gif
Pride Of The Clyde
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Nov 4 2008, 23:44) *
In everyone one of those positions we have a better player laugh.gif

I couldn't argue with you as i don't too often see many of your players or how good they are but the only thing i do know is they where every bit as shite as ours, the last time we played.
PTFC27
QUOTE (Pride Of The Clyde @ Nov 5 2008, 00:04) *
I couldn't argue with you as i don't too often see many of your players or how good they are but the only thing i do know is they where every bit as shite as ours, the last time we played.

True but Steven Lennon played. We've only ever won once when he's been playing.
Dr. Name
Buckie will open his account on Saturday with 2 goals.
Nizzy
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Nov 4 2008, 19:43) *
Buchanan is going to be Thistle's dangerman. His pace could be something that would rip apart our defence.

Liam isn't particularly fast, it's his movement and determination that cause problems. I've read he's looked to have struck up a decent partnership with Donnelly, but I'd like to see him start with Lennon on Saturday.

I'm not the loanee's biggest fan, but his pace definitely shook up the Clyde defence at Broadwood (when he stayed on his feet) and I'd like to think Buckie could profit from this.
Dr Koop
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Nov 5 2008, 00:16) *
True but Steven Lennon played. We've only ever won once when he's been playing.

And we've never won once while there's a 'z' in the day. What's yer point, caller? wink.gif
1 John Lambie
We should line up something like:

.............................Tuffey

......Kinniburgh.....Robertson.....Maxwell

Paton.............................................McKinlay

...................Rowson.....Harkins

.........................Chaplain

...............Buchanan.....Donnelly

Subs:

Hinchliffe
Storey/Turner
McKeown
Lennon
Gray
PTFC27
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Nov 5 2008, 13:38) *
Liam isn't particularly fast, it's his movement and determination that cause problems. I've read he's looked to have struck up a decent partnership with Donnelly, but I'd like to see him start with Lennon on Saturday.

I'm not the loanee's biggest fan, but his pace definitely shook up the Clyde defence at Broadwood (when he stayed on his feet) and I'd like to think Buckie could profit from this.

Why not Gray instead? He is fairly quick and we know he can finish, we don't know that about Lennon.
1 John Lambie
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Nov 5 2008, 14:38) *

He looked fast on Saturday, Lennon off the bench. Don't think Buchanan & Lennon would work from the start.