chee4life
Nov 3 2008, 20:37
Here's the latest scotland squad for Stuart McIntosh Testimonial game against Auchinleck Talbot on Sunday 16 November 2008
Iain Ross - Lochee United
Marc Graham - Linlithgow Rose
Stuart McDonald - Cumnock
Mark Robertson - Linlithgow Rose
Rodger Duffin - Hill of Beath
Tom Courts - Kelty Hearts
Chris Cruickshank - Pollok
Brian McKeown - Beith
Callum Hardie - Pollok
Mark Crilley - Irvine Meadow
Charlie Cargill - Lochee United
Kris Doolan - Auchinleck Talbot
David Hamilton - Irvine Meadow
Brian Dingwall - Pollok
Robert Downs - Pollok
Jim Lister - Bathgate
Colin Strickland - Whitburn
QUOTE (chee4life @ Nov 3 2008, 20:37)

Here's the latest scotland squad for Stuart McIntosh Testimonial game against Auchinleck Talbot on Sunday 16 November 2008
Brian McKeown - Beith
Callum Hardie - Pollok
Brian Dingwall - Pollok
Robert Downs - Pollok
Jim Lister - Bathgate
you can scratch marc graham from that list apparently he's out for the rest of the season
cmontheloknow
Nov 4 2008, 08:20
QUOTE (chee4life @ Nov 3 2008, 20:37)

Brian McKeown - Beith
Callum Hardie - Pollok
Brian Dingwall - Pollok
Robert Downs - Pollok
Jim Lister - Bathgate
Has this team been selected on current form?
cmontheloknow
Nov 4 2008, 08:51
Can't believe Andy Essler's missed out on this - far and away Lok's best player this season.
Ally's honest man
Nov 4 2008, 09:42
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 4 2008, 08:51)

Can't believe Andy Essler's missed out on this - far and away Lok's best player this season.
I have always thought he was a class player whether for Ayr or the medda.
cmontheloknow
Nov 4 2008, 09:53
QUOTE (Ally's honest man @ Nov 4 2008, 09:42)

I have always thought he was a class player whether for Ayr or the medda.
He didn't have the best of times at Lok when he originally joined us from Ayr but since he returned in the summer he's won a lot of new admirers and IMO is well on the way to being our POTY. His workrate is immense.
Ally's honest man
Nov 4 2008, 10:19
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 4 2008, 09:53)

He didn't have the best of times at Lok when he originally joined us from Ayr but since he returned in the summer he's won a lot of new admirers and IMO is well on the way to being our POTY. His workrate is immense.
An he is (as far i as have seen) a genuinely nice guy yo boot. I know my brother in law enjoyed playing with him at the medda (when strain gave him a chance)
hawsman
Nov 4 2008, 11:21
QUOTE (lyt @ Nov 3 2008, 21:09)

you can scratch marc graham from that list apparently he's out for the rest of the season
whats wrong with marc bit of a blow to lose him top goalie
Auld Heid
Nov 4 2008, 11:38
QUOTE (hawsman @ Nov 4 2008, 11:21)

whats wrong with marc bit of a blow to lose him top goalie
Possible cruciate ligament damage, awaiting an MRI scan to confirm the exact detail and extent of the injury. According to my work colleague.
sponsorsladdie
Nov 4 2008, 12:27
QUOTE (Auld Heid @ Nov 4 2008, 11:38)

Possible cruciate ligament damage, awaiting an MRI scan to confirm the exact detail and extent of the injury. According to my work colleague.
Hopefully when your 'work colleague' fvcks off down a division or 2 and finds his level you and Cleansheet from the Rose forum will follow him.
monthelie'
Nov 4 2008, 12:47
Jim Lister straight in already ??
Did he not just leave Berwick last Friday ?
cmontheloknow
Nov 4 2008, 12:54
QUOTE (monthelie' @ Nov 4 2008, 12:47)

Jim Lister straight in already ??
Did he not just leave Berwick last Friday ?
Yup! One junior game, one call up! Cough... picked... cough... on reputations...
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 4 2008, 12:54)

Yup! One junior game, one call up! Cough... picked... cough... on reputations...
He must have been scoring a few goals for Berwick though. Oh wait a minute........
cmontheloknow
Nov 4 2008, 14:04
QUOTE (gogsy @ Nov 4 2008, 13:27)

He must have been scoring a few goals for Berwick though. Oh wait a minute........
Though in fairness to him the Berwick fans in the 3rd Division forum seemed to say from day one he'd have been great for them with decent service. Still think a striker who has only scored one goal this season and has played one Junior game should have to work harder to get into the squad.
Auld Heid
Nov 4 2008, 14:57
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 4 2008, 14:04)

Though in fairness to him the Berwick fans in the 3rd Division forum seemed to say from day one he'd have been great for them with decent service. Still think a striker who has only scored one goal this season and has played one Junior game should have to work harder to get into the squad.
Could also be his last game for a while heard Bathgate were trying to buy another striker as he never scored on Saturday. Life on the Bench now, of course this is based on Bathgates normal track record with players they buy on a whim.
Arthurlie1981
Nov 4 2008, 14:58
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 4 2008, 14:04)

East Coast Bias
th1stleandr0se
Nov 4 2008, 15:08
QUOTE (Auld Heid @ Nov 4 2008, 11:38)

Did I not see him in the kick-around at half-time on Saturday? I wasn't aware that his injury was as serious.
hawsman
Nov 4 2008, 15:27
had a cruciate injury myself absolute nightmare i would rather have broke my leg hope marcs is not too bad if true .
QUOTE (Arthurlie1981 @ Nov 4 2008, 15:58)

Good effort...
Pretty strong squad...a couple of eyebrow raisers not being in...
Middleton of Lochee?
McGinty of Medda?
Plus, a bit surprised that Cargill has been called up to the squad. A player I know very well through being a team-mate or opponent, not overly talented but gives 110% and may be called up to provide that grit and leadership he gives Lochee. Fair play to him and all the very best.
cmontheloknow
Nov 4 2008, 16:17
QUOTE (Chooch @ Nov 4 2008, 16:11)

Good effort...
Middleton of Lochee?
McGinty of Medda?
On McGinty I'd say one swallow doesn't make a summer. He's scored 3 of the M£dda's 61 goals this season.
sinnets ghost
Nov 4 2008, 16:41
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Nov 4 2008, 16:08)

Did I not see him in the kick-around at half-time on Saturday? I wasn't aware that his injury was as serious.
Just aboot sums up Liyhgae at the moment,the supporters are as blind as the players,the goalie wiz OLIVER
sinnets ghost
Nov 4 2008, 16:42
mighty meadow
Nov 4 2008, 16:48
QUOTE (Chooch @ Nov 4 2008, 16:11)

Good effort...
Middleton of Lochee?
McGinty of Medda?
Plus, a bit surprised that Cargill has been called up to the squad. A player I know very well through being a team-mate or opponent, not overly talented but gives 110% and may be called up to provide that grit and leadership he gives Lochee. Fair play to him and all the very best.
McGinty by his own admission hasn't done enough this season. Hamilton and Crilly are well worthy of their place but I thought Stephen Swift would have been in as well.
mighty meadow
Nov 4 2008, 16:53
QUOTE (Ally's honest man @ Nov 4 2008, 10:19)

An he is (as far i as have seen) a genuinely nice guy yo boot. I know my brother in law enjoyed playing with him at the medda (when strain gave him a chance)
Definitely a nice guy and has loads of talent but didn't show it often enough with Meadow to be honest. Who's your brother in law that plays / played with the Medda m8?
I think Chris Fahey, Willie Howie and Chris Zok have been brilliant for Glenafton this year and should have been considered.
No tayport players in there

.That must be a first.
cmontheloknow
Nov 4 2008, 18:06
QUOTE (F_T_Y @ Nov 4 2008, 18:02)

No tayport players in there

.That must be a first.
They're not very good this season. Roberto Morris got selected for the trial squad last season but didn't make the final selection for the IOM.
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 4 2008, 18:06)

They're not very good this season. Roberto Morris got selected for the trial squad last season but didn't make the final selection for the IOM.
I know.Its sad to see how far they have fallen.Never really rated morris anyway.
southerner
Nov 4 2008, 18:45
How Gavin Collins dosn't get a look in I will never know, hopefully he will play well against them
cmontheloknow
Nov 4 2008, 18:53
QUOTE (southerner @ Nov 4 2008, 18:45)

How Gavin Collins dosn't get a look in I will never know, hopefully he will play well against them
Yep IMO one of the best central defenders in our league.
th1stleandr0se
Nov 4 2008, 19:13
QUOTE (sinnets ghost @ Nov 4 2008, 16:41)

Just aboot sums up Liyhgae at the moment,the supporters are as blind as the players,the goalie wiz OLIVER
Yes, I have to admit to the failing eyesight. That's why I was asking. From the far end I was hard pushed to recognise the other subs as well. Maybe I should be a referee.
chee4life
Nov 4 2008, 21:52
Burgess has admitted adding a few new faces to see how they'll get on.
players have been left out but are still in his plans
before the iom last season i think there must have been at least two squads used at some time or another due to players injured and cup commitments dont think that squad will be set in stone
mighty meadow
Nov 6 2008, 13:51
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 4 2008, 12:54)

To be fair Lister looked the part against Meadow on Saturday especially in the first half. I don't think he lost a header throughout the 45 minutes. Still does seem a bit quick to pull him into the Scotland squad though.
cmontheloknow
Nov 6 2008, 16:19
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 6 2008, 13:51)

To be fair Lister looked the part against Meadow on Saturday especially in the first half. I don't think he lost a header throughout the 45 minutes. Still does seem a bit quick to pull him into the Scotland squad though.
I'm sure he's a good player, just a bit funny that Burgess has been planning this squad for a while and within 48hrs of his return Lister's picked. Who was going to be picked originally?
mighty meadow
Nov 6 2008, 20:55
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 6 2008, 16:19)

I'm sure he's a good player, just a bit funny that Burgess has been planning this squad for a while and within 48hrs of his return Lister's picked. Who was going to be picked originally?
I suppose if Burgess was at the game on Saturday he would have been impressed by Lister BUT surely not so impressed as to overlook a forward in the other team scoring a hat-trick. Not that I think McGinty should be in the squad with his overall performances this season but if Burgess is picking other players on one performance .....
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 6 2008, 20:55)

I suppose if Burgess was at the game on Saturday he would have been impressed by Lister BUT surely not so impressed as to overlook a forward in the other team scoring a hat-trick. Not that I think McGinty should be in the squad with his overall performances this season but if Burgess is picking other players on one performance .....
This is a very good point,the boy is a good player scores a hat-trick in front of the scotland manager and cant get in the squad. To be fair a lot of the players in his squad deserve to be there but trust me there are 1 or 2 in there that makes you wonder. DUFFIN and COURTS HA HA well done to Cargill from Lochee utd he deserves recognition.
hawsman
Nov 7 2008, 14:06
QUOTE (coolio @ Nov 7 2008, 10:33)

This is a very good point,the boy is a good player scores a hat-trick in front of the scotland manager and cant get in the squad. To be fair a lot of the players in his squad deserve to be there but trust me there are 1 or 2 in there that makes you wonder. DUFFIN and COURTS HA HA well done to Cargill from Lochee utd he deserves recognition.

why should duffin and courts not be there two of the best defenders in the league .
scobby doo
Nov 7 2008, 18:12
burgess is a ar.. ho.. there are far better players than the squad he has picked,its harder to get into the squad than get out,as for strickland theres so many better strickers going about than him old pals act there,stop taken peoples advice keith and look about and find the best players in the scotland juniors
QUOTE (hawsman @ Nov 7 2008, 14:06)

why should duffin and courts not be there two of the best defenders in the league .
I have seen Duffin play twice this season, seems to be playing ok.
smurfit
Nov 7 2008, 20:58
QUOTE (gogsy @ Nov 7 2008, 20:25)

I have seen Duffin play twice this season, seems to be playing ok.
Mark Robertson, 5 years at Bonnyrigg,part of a team that wins 8 cups,never out the Super League,twice runner up,scores on average 5_ 10 goals a season,from right back never gets a look in at a Scotland cap ! Moves to Lithgi,bobs your uncle right in the squad ! Amazing !
f**k me David Hamilton has certainly taken a step backwards. A few years ago he was seen as a very promising player with Stranraer and it was thought maybe going full-time and getting extra training would have helped. Obviously didn't happen for him....
David Murdoch
Nov 7 2008, 22:46
Maybe its because we dont play in the top league. But how jamie longworth and davie anderson dont even get a look in amazes me.
cmontheloknow
Nov 7 2008, 22:53
QUOTE (David Murdoch @ Nov 7 2008, 22:46)

Maybe its because we dont play in the top league. But how jamie longworth and davie anderson dont even get a look in amazes me.
I seem to remember Craig Stark getting picked a few years ago and the feedback was that he found it difficult to adapt to the higher standard required. Darren Mitchell is another who got picked from a lower division.
The two you have suggested may be great players, haven't seen them myself, but I recall Kinney getting 35 goals last season for you - he couldn't get into Pollok or Neilston's team the year before. The Super First is a lower standard and guys like Downs, Dingwall and Lister are proven at a higher level so that maybe is why Longworth misses out.
cmontheloknow
Nov 7 2008, 22:56
QUOTE (MTJ @ Nov 7 2008, 22:41)

f**k me David Hamilton has certainly taken a step backwards. A few years ago he was seen as a very promising player with Stranraer and it was thought maybe going full-time and getting extra training would have helped. Obviously didn't happen for him....
Davie Hamilton's 28 so his days of being a very promising player were probably before he joined Pollok way back in the early 00s. Dunno how much better he was going to get but did play a few years in the 1st Division with Accies and Stranraer. He'll be on very decent money at the Medda.
mighty meadow
Nov 8 2008, 10:28
QUOTE (David Murdoch @ Nov 7 2008, 22:46)

I think there's more to it than that David. I'm sure Meadow had 3 players in the Scotland squad when we were in the First Division.
mighty meadow
Nov 8 2008, 10:31
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 7 2008, 22:56)

Davie Hamilton's 28 so his days of being a very promising player were probably before he joined Pollok way back in the early 00s. Dunno how much better he was going to get but did play a few years in the 1st Division with Accies and Stranraer. He'll be on very decent money at the Medda.
Was he impressive at Pollok Jamie? Certainly one of the better if not the best players at Meadow in my opinion. Always seems able to make that wee bit more time on the ball than anyone else around him.
cmontheloknow
Nov 8 2008, 10:36
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 8 2008, 10:31)

Was he impressive at Pollok Jamie? Certainly one of the better if not the best players at Meadow in my opinion. Always seems able to make that wee bit more time on the ball than anyone else around him.
An outstanding player, very popular. We were gutted when he signed for Accies but you can't blame a guy for wanting to better himself.
From what I remember he was better in his second season with us, and bagged a fair few goals, even though we lost out on the title to the Buffs. Overall for us in two seasons he played 75 games scoring 18 times.
mighty meadow
Nov 8 2008, 20:14
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 8 2008, 10:36)

An outstanding player, very popular. We were gutted when he signed for Accies but you can't blame a guy for wanting to better himself.
From what I remember he was better in his second season with us, and bagged a fair few goals, even though we lost out on the title to the Buffs. Overall for us in two seasons he played 75 games scoring 18 times.
Aye, he has popped up with a few goals for us as well. Very good player
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.