Full Version: Midweek Betting
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > Gambling
Pages: 1, 2, 3
vlad is the man
Like the look of:

Chelsea 6/5 - Roma have had a shocking start.
Marseille 5/6 - Never sure what Marseille side will turn up but PSV are not nearly as good as previous seasons.
Zenit 10/11 - Where fantastic away from home last season and on another day could have put 10 past Bate two weeks ago.

Probably chuck in a few others. Liverpool, Sporting, Scunthorpe, Man Utd and Real are all possibilities.
Cowden til i die
Likethe look of Chelsea as well. Can see them getting a 1-0 win. Villareal at 1/2 is e decent bet although Aallborg gave them a good game in Spain. Real Madrid at 4/7 should be safe enough but you just never know. Barca are good value at 1/10 laugh.gif
Baiggers
£25 on Birmingham, Dunfermline, Lyon and Werder Bremen

Just away to have a look at the Newcastle v Villa odds, will probably go for a couple of small stake goalscorer bets.
mid-table
I've been looking at the Newcastle v Villa game for ages, I can't see anything that stands out.

Although I've had a preminition that Milner will score, scorecast on him to get the first goal and a 2-2 draw is 135/1 (for a reason).
turboshandy
In a moment of madness, I have lumped my whole £140 winnings from the weekend on Villa at 13/10 with Coral, returns a tasty looking £322. I'm regretting it so far!
blue4578
That's even more silly considering that it's way below the best price ohmy.gif
Trotter
Regretting this already but put the Famagusta v Inter game down as a draw at 12/5.

Anyone know wat the odds r for the Cluj game at William Hill? quite fancy them to do well against Bordeaux.
uberman
QUOTE (vlad is the man @ Nov 3 2008, 18:38) *
Like the look of:

Chelsea 6/5 - Roma have had a shocking start.
Marseille 5/6 - Never sure what Marseille side will turn up but PSV are not nearly as good as previous seasons.
Zenit 10/11 - Where fantastic away from home last season and on another day could have put 10 past Bate two weeks ago.

Probably chuck in a few others. Liverpool, Sporting, Scunthorpe, Man Utd and Real are all possibilities.

That's a poor price imo, they failed to beat them at home 2 weeks ago and haven't exactly lit up the Cl. 1 point from 3 games so far.
DarkBlue62
£10 on Newcastle v Villa 2-2 @ 14/1

Also £10 spread across a few HT/FT results in the same game

smile.gif

turboshandy
QUOTE (blue4578 @ Nov 3 2008, 19:48) *
That's even more silly considering that it's way below the best price ohmy.gif

Aye, money was sitting in my Coral account though, so just put it on with them.
vlad is the man
QUOTE (Cowden til i die @ Nov 3 2008, 18:53) *
Likethe look of Chelsea as well. Can see them getting a 1-0 win. Villareal at 1/2 is e decent bet although Aallborg gave them a good game in Spain. Real Madrid at 4/7 should be safe enough but you just never know. Barca are good value at 1/10 laugh.gif

I reckon Rab will go with a draw. wink.gif

Gall09
QUOTE (turboshandy @ Nov 3 2008, 19:27) *
In a moment of madness, I have lumped my whole £140 winnings from the weekend on Villa at 13/10 with Coral, returns a tasty looking £322. I'm regretting it so far!

Ouch!
faddythedaddy
Barca to win both halves against Basel is 4/5 at Paddypower

Value in that?

Thinking of a fairly big bet on it.

Messi likely to play?
Cowden til i die
QUOTE (faddythedaddy @ Nov 3 2008, 21:53) *
Barca to win both halves against Basel is 4/5 at Paddypower

Value in that?

Thinking of a fairly big bet on it.

Messi likely to play?

Its 1/3 on ladbrokes online! That seems great value
faddythedaddy
Ill wait and see Barca team tomorrow, Guardiola has been in the habit of naming his team in the morning of the game
mid-table
It's an interesting situation. It is 4/6 on Betfair, in a 107% book. It does go to show what unbelieveably bad value Ladbrokes are offering.
Barca only managed 1 in the 2nd half away to Basle, and Basle, although bottom of the group table, haven't lost both halves on many occassions. I'd say 4/5 is about a fair price.
Clachan Blue
Tuesday night football.

Roma v Chelsea @ 11/10
CFR Cluj v Bordeaux @ 11/10
Werder Bremen v Panathinaikos @ 4/11
Scunthorpe v Rochdale @ 4/6
Tranmere v Morecambe @ 4/7
Walsall v Luton @ 8/13

Pays almost 25/1 with Hills.

Deco
QUOTE (Clachan Blue @ Nov 4 2008, 11:04) *
Tuesday night football.

Roma v Chelsea @ 11/10
CFR Cluj v Bordeaux @ 11/10
Werder Bremen v Panathinaikos @ 4/11
Scunthorpe v Rochdale @ 4/6
Tranmere v Morecambe @ 4/7
Walsall v Luton @ 8/13

Pays almost 25/1 with Hills.

I'm not going near Scunny tonight. Their results haven't been the most convincing of late, and Rochdale have a good away record, albeit in a lower league.
Deco
Went with;

Walsall v Luton - HOME WIN
Tramere v Morcambe - HOME WIN
Darlington v Bury - HOME WIN

£4 stake returns £19

Famagusta v Inter - AWAY WIN
Roma v Chelsea - AWAY WIN
Marseille v PSV - HOME WIN

£3 stake returns £17

Liverpool v Ath Madrid - DRAW
Scunthorpe v Rochdale - HOME WIN
Shrewsbury v Dagenham - HOME WIN
Rangers v Dundee Utd - HOME WIN
Airdrie v Dunfermline - AWAY WIN

£1 returns £25

... and I stupidly lost a fucking power on horses and roulette. I'm actually radging with myself.
seamus
Stuck a wee fiver on
chelsea
Inter
Sporting
Werder Bremen.
It pays around 6/1
fanny paddery
QUOTE (mid-table @ Nov 3 2008, 23:55) *
It's an interesting situation. It is 4/6 on Betfair, in a 107% book. It does go to show what unbelieveably bad value Ladbrokes are offering.
Barca only managed 1 in the 2nd half away to Basle, and Basle, although bottom of the group table, haven't lost both halves on many occassions. I'd say 4/5 is about a fair price.

This is one of the markets im not really keen on. Teams can canter the first half and take the foot off the gas.
Take rangers on saturday for example, 5 in the first half and none in the second. If barca are say 3-0 up at half time will they have the motivation in the second half?
barrylavety#1
How seriously do English teams take this Johnstone Paint thing? Can we expect Scunthorpe to field a full strength side??
TOM HENDRIE
£500 on Chelsea 6/5 and Dunfermline 6/5
Deco
QUOTE (TOM HENDRIE @ Nov 4 2008, 15:39) *

Best of luck with that.

Cowden til i die
4 sheets on:
Chelsea
Derby
Scunny
Tranmere

Returns a baw hair over £46
Wug
Man Utd at 4/6 tomorrow. Thoughts?

Usually I oppose odd-on away-from-home teams but I'm finding these odds tempting. Fergie knows how important finishing top of the group is so will be going all out to win this one. They recently dispatched Celtic 3-0 without getting out of 1st gear and are by far the superior team. On the other hand, Sellick Park atmosphere / home record and aw that...

Also, over 2.5 goals in the JP trophy is a good bet for most games, especially Tranmere (score a lot a home) vs. Morecambe (concede a lot away and are a league below).
faddythedaddy
I decided against Barca both halves, prob just back them -2 or -2.5 on the asian handicap.
uberman
Just a wee double for me

Liverpool 1/2
Chelsea 11/10
doulikefish
walsall,liverpool,marsaille
patent
bubbs33
£20 treble on Inter (1/2), Liverpool (4/7) and Chelseas (11/10), returns £99
mid-table
I've laid Liverpool at 1.67 for £100.
Could have got the same price but without commission on the Coral shop coupon, but I'm grilling some sausages so couldn't leave the house (that's not a euphemism before anyone comments).
Latino Lover
Small score/win bets on Terry/Chelsea 16/1, Alonso/Liverpool 10/1 and Ozit/Werder 5/1
dubs
£2 on ma Faithers' SkyBet account:

Chelsea
Brighton
Leicester
Sporting Lisbon
turboshandy
QUOTE (Gall09 @ Nov 3 2008, 21:51) *
Ouch!

T'was a sore one but I'm over it.

eek.gif
mid-table
QUOTE (mid-table @ Nov 4 2008, 19:45) *
I've laid Liverpool at 1.67 for £100.
Could have got the same price but without commission on the Coral shop coupon, but I'm grilling some sausages so couldn't leave the house (that's not a euphemism before anyone comments).

Traded out with £59.34 at 4.2, guaranteed profit of £85.41 after commission.
Baiggers
QUOTE (mid-table @ Nov 4 2008, 20:30) *
Traded out with £59.34 at 4.2, guaranteed profit of £85.41 after commission.

Good work, allows you to sit back and relax.

I lost £175 last night - £25 midweek coupon, £50 on over 2.5 in Newcastle v Villa and £100 on Birmingham (stupidly increased stake on good odds once they went 1-0 down on the hope they that I could lay it off if they equalise).

Got £50 on Rangers HT/FT (fucked!) and £50 on Dunfermline tonight which should return around £128 if they hold on.
the jambo-rocker
quite a few crazy bets on this week. I would never ever have betted against roma on their home soil, and the result speaks for itself.

Stuck a fiver on

man u 8/13
lyon 2/7
tottenham 1/2
villareal 1/2

returns a measley £25.
mid-table
QUOTE (TOM HENDRIE @ Nov 4 2008, 15:39) *

That's unfortunate. Can you put up a screenshot of your bet?
Baiggers
£10 on Athletico Madrid to score the next goal
Jordo1872
QUOTE (mid-table @ Nov 4 2008, 21:18) *
That's unfortunate. Can you put up a screenshot of your bet?

Why? Do you not believe him?
accies
omg never a penalty!

edit - fucking disgrace
Latino Lover
QUOTE (Wug @ Nov 4 2008, 18:43) *
Man Utd at 4/6 tomorrow. Thoughts?

Usually I oppose odd-on away-from-home teams but I'm finding these odds tempting. Fergie knows how important finishing top of the group is so will be going all out to win this one. They recently dispatched Celtic 3-0 without getting out of 1st gear and are by far the superior team. On the other hand, Sellick Park atmosphere / home record and aw that...

Also, over 2.5 goals in the JP trophy is a good bet for most games, especially Tranmere (score a lot a home) vs. Morecambe (concede a lot away and are a league below).

Man U 8/11 with Boyles or Skybet, I quite like them at that price but I'd feel a bit cheated if Rooney and or Ronaldo were left out with the Arsenal game in mind, that said I'd still fancy Man U to beat a very ordinary Celtic team.

Kiev look decent at 13/10 having beaten Porto away and with Porto struggling a bit domestically.

QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Nov 4 2008, 22:25) *
Why? Do you not believe him?

I also have reservations.
DarkBlue62
Alot of shocks in the Champions League tonight. Pumped my coupon anyway, also my St.Johnstons Paint Trophy Coupon was beaten aswell. Ach well, theres always tomorrow rolleyes.gif
Jambo Stu
Gammon Flaps. I hate Inter Milan. What a horrible horrible night for betting though dry.gif
Cowden til i die
QUOTE (the jambo-rocker @ Nov 4 2008, 21:14) *
quite a few crazy bets on this week. I would never ever have betted against roma on their home soil, and the result speaks for itself.

Nothing like being wise after the occasion
Trotter
Stuck a £10 on Chelsea, Rangers, Barcelona and CFR Cluj.

Absolutely Gutted sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

Always 2moro and Thursday nite though biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Wug
QUOTE (Wug @ Nov 4 2008, 17:43) *

Ooops. 6 out of 7 games were under. I hope to f**k noone pays any attention to me on this...
mid-table
QUOTE (Wug @ Nov 4 2008, 22:46) *
Ooops. 6 out of 7 games were under. I hope to f**k noone pays any attention to me on this...

Over / Under 2.5 is one of the most popular bets on football as it's generally Evens-ish for both outcomes, and I just can't get my head around it. It appears to me to be generally random, although I know all about the science of goals expectation from reading various Kevin Pullein articles, I just do not get it in practice.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
No luck tonight.

For tomorrow I have a treble with Celtic,Dinamo Kiev and Lyon. A fiver will return £63.65
Wug
QUOTE (mid-table @ Nov 4 2008, 22:57) *
Over / Under 2.5 is one of the most popular bets on football as it's generally Evens-ish for both outcomes, and I just can't get my head around it. It appears to me to be generally random, although I know all about the science of goals expectation from reading various Kevin Pullein articles, I just do not get it in practice.

I like this kind of bet. Basically, when it's like Chelsea vs. Man Utd or Liverpool, most people will think it's going to be a tight game with two good defences against each other so under 2.5 goals seems a good bet. Although, as you say, it all is very random, if you look at Werder Bremen this season, they're scoring and conceding goals for fun.

Most of their games have been over 2.5 goals. Also, as a general rule: the poorer the standard of football, the more goals per game.

As shown by my "predictions" tonight, however, it can quite often prove to be complete and utter pish.