Full Version: Well Done Watford
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Misc Other Fitba Chat
Rinky Sidebottom
Glad to see Boothroyd got sacked today, the less hoofman style of football we have managers employing the better. Dreadful to watch and it was only a matter of time until everyone knew how to play against them and beat them
Now Blackwell at Sheffield United must be next.
The Naitch
Poor start to the season cost Boothroyd dearly. Wonder who'll be next in the hotseat...Bryan Robson? rolleyes.gif
minijc
Jimmy Calderwood.
7-2
Big Sams still watching Jeremy Kyle and Loose Women at the moment. Must know he isnt going to get another Premiership club soon, even Bolton again I suspect.
Fuctifano
Alex Rae?
Bloobell
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Nov 3 2008, 18:04) *
Glad to see Boothroyd got sacked today, the less hoofman style of football we have managers employing the better. Dreadful to watch and it was only a matter of time until everyone knew how to play against them and beat them

Eh?

Sheffield Utd are 5th in the Championship and now James Beattie is fit again they'll kick on and start challenging imo
DJP
Boothyroyd should have never let Antony McNamee join Swindon on a free. Left wing is terrorising defenders up and down the country in league one with a hose of premier league clubs looking at him.

Boothroyd always came across as really miserable, so won't miss his post match interviews.

Scotty Tunbridge
WATFORD 4 EUROPE.
Trotter
Where did Watford finish last year??????

Cant believe that they were beaten at home to Alan Gow's Blackpool at the weekend.
Gall09
Surely Pardew's coat is on the proverbial shakey peg at Charlton too? 3rd bottom?
BOD Red
Jimmy Calderwood is dusting off his CV as we speak.
Super J's
Nothing whatsoever to do with them turning you lot over in the playoff final a few years back then?

From the brink of the Premier League to League One in the space of a year laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
drs
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Nov 3 2008, 18:04) *

Still bitter about the Glory Hornets right royally rodgered your bunch of cheating scumbags at Cardiff I see.

...anyway I've been to several games since January and the standard that Watford have been playing has been abysmal, it's not so much long ball as give the ball away at every opportunity. I watched us lose to Wolves last week and you could tell the end was coming as the fans were very restless, yes he's had to cut the wage bill by 60% this season and lost Francis to a career ending injury but the players he has brought in have been utter garbage (Bromby, sadler, Eustace) whilst a fortune was wasted in the transfer market on busted flushes (Hoskins, Ellington, Kabba) and if you couple that with the fact that he sent an e-mail round at the start of the season saying that this year it would be attacking free flowing football all the way then his time is up.

....still I'll never forget the look on the faces of the Leeds fans at Cardiff after they had lost and for that single reason alone I'll always look back on the Aidy days with a fondness.
doulikefish
malky mackay put in temporary charge ohmy.gif
Rinky Sidebottom
Couldn't give a feck about yonks ago play off finals, we usually get to them and then get beat, so what is another one! Fat lot of good it did Watford anyway, they were relegated next season and have a debt.
My gripe with Boothroyd is that when he was the coach at Leeds his only style was goalie to defender, defender runs, hoofs it up to left/right wing and cross come over. Midfield players didn't seem to matter to Boothroyd and it showed in a very poor Leeds team during his time with us. It should be noted that his boss at Leeds was Blackwell, now at Sheffield United, who seemed to enjoy the bog standard style of football that meant you played with the ball up in the air for the majority of the time. It got us to play off final and then (as always happens) we were found out and got relegated the following season, Blackwell having been sacked half way through.
Can't stand long ball game and hate watching players who's only way of playing is to hump it long and high, as far as I can see, the manager of this style of football always gets found out sooner rather than later and they have no other style of play.
Blackwell next, hopefully. biggrin.gif
Edit: Look out for a shock appointment, my journalist friends suggest that the Watford board are looking for a big name that will get them in the news for a while and spur interest in the club, someone along the lines of John Barnes perhaps ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
Convenor
QUOTE (doulikefish @ Nov 4 2008, 16:32) *
malky mackay put in temporary charge ohmy.gif

QP legend biggrin.gif
Convenor
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Nov 4 2008, 16:40) *
Couldn't give a feck about yonks ago play off finals, we usually get to them and then get beat, so what is another one! Fat lot of good it did Watford anyway, they were relegated next season and have a debt.
My gripe with Boothroyd is that when he was the coach at Leeds his only style was goalie to defender, defender runs, hoofs it up to left/right wing and cross come over. Midfield players didn't seem to matter to Boothroyd and it showed in a very poor Leeds team during his time with us. It should be noted that his boss at Leeds was Blackwell, now at Sheffield United, who seemed to enjoy the bog standard style of football that meant you played with the ball up in the air for the majority of the time. It got us to play off final and then (as always happens) we were found out and got relegated the following season, Blackwell having been sacked half way through.
Can't stand long ball game and hate watching players who's only way of playing is to hump it long and high, as far as I can see, the manager of this style of football always gets found out sooner rather than later and they have no other style of play.

As Brian Clough said “ If football was supposed to be played in the air, God would have put grass in the sky “ or something like that

Good to see you and Cloughie have something in common after all

djn
QUOTE (Bloobell @ Nov 3 2008, 18:46) *
Eh?

Sheffield Utd are 5th in the Championship and now James Beattie is fit again they'll kick on and start challenging imo

Very true, but Rinky is still hurting that Leeds replaced Blackwell with Dennis Wise biggrin.gif

QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Nov 4 2008, 16:40) *

Edit: Look out for a shock appointment, my journalist friends suggest that the Watford board are looking for a big name that will get them in the news for a while and spur interest in the club, someone along the lines of John Barnes perhaps ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

Aye, very good. A Leeds fan criticising Watford for their debt huh.gif rolleyes.gif

Blackwell and Boothroyd gave you your best chance of getting back to the Premiership - you've been going backwards ever since
Latino Lover
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Nov 4 2008, 17:40) *

Hasn't he just took the Jamaica job?
gav-ffc
All thanks to Alan Gow.
Jimmy Shaker
You are £2.70 for a pie at Vicarage Road. laugh.gif
mid-table
QUOTE (Jimmy Shaker @ Nov 4 2008, 20:33) *
You are £2.70 for a pie at Vicarage Road. laugh.gif

That's about standard for around here.

Back on topic, I'm a bit surprised that Watford have done this, I don't see who better they are going to get in. It was expected that they would struggle this season, I think they're about where everyone expected them to be. I simply do not understand the mentality of getting rid of a manager after a few dodgy results if it is someone who has proved themself in the past.
Rinky Sidebottom
QUOTE (fitbin @ Nov 4 2008, 19:58) *
Very true, but Rinky is still hurting that Leeds replaced Blackwell with Dennis Wise biggrin.gif

Aye, very good. A Leeds fan criticising Watford for their debt huh.gif rolleyes.gif

Blackwell and Boothroyd gave you your best chance of getting back to the Premiership - you've been going backwards ever since

laugh.gif laugh.gif , j'sus, what little you know. Did you actually read anything I said, I stated clearly that Leeds under the two p***ks played footie which nobody could watch and which is always quickly found out and guess what, it did and they paid the price. As for the debt, put it this way had Watford had a debt even a quarter of the one Leeds did, then they would have folded as they have nothing of value or interest to anyone, not even a fan base.
BluebirdTon
Bitter gripe shocker.

djn
QUOTE (mid-table @ Nov 4 2008, 20:48) *
That's about standard for around here.

Back on topic, I'm a bit surprised that Watford have done this, I don't see who better they are going to get in. It was expected that they would struggle this season, I think they're about where everyone expected them to be. I simply do not understand the mentality of getting rid of a manager after a few dodgy results if it is someone who has proved themself in the past.

I reckon if Boothroyd handed in his CV under a false name, he'd be in with a chance - he's the ideal candidate for the Watford job. The board sacking a guy to deflect attention from themselves? That'd never happen though... unsure.gif
djn
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Nov 4 2008, 20:51) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif , j'sus, what little you know. Did you actually read anything I said,

I try not to, but after your car crash "East Stirlingshire should be closed down" thread when they were losing in the cup made me chuckle biggrin.gif
cowshedphil
I hear John Barnes & Luther Blissett are being lined up laugh.gif
Convenor
QUOTE (fitbin @ Nov 4 2008, 23:39) *
I try not to, but after your car crash "East Stirlingshire should be closed down" thread when they were losing in the cup made me chuckle biggrin.gif

Same here. You should have seen his " Queen's Park have no right to play at Hampden 'cos Jim Traynor said so" thread laugh.gif

Unfortunately I am now developing a morbid fascination for all his posts laugh.gif Is there a cure for this?
dogma
Did Bhoys 67 or whatever his name / alias was want Boothroyd to replace Strachan as Celtic Manager ?? laugh.gif
Rinky Sidebottom
QUOTE (Convenor @ Nov 5 2008, 13:50) *
Same here. You should have seen his " Queen's Park have no right to play at Hampden 'cos Jim Traynor said so" thread laugh.gif

Unfortunately I am now developing a morbid fascination for all his posts laugh.gif Is there a cure for this?

Jim Traynor, Who the feck is he? Queens Park don't own Hampden Park anymore so they have no official right to play there. Plonker.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Convenor
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Nov 5 2008, 19:17) *
Queens Park don't own Hampden Park anymore so they have no official right to play there. Plonker.. laugh.gif laugh.gif

rolleyes.gif Keep them coming wacko.
Beyemystic
QUOTE (dogma @ Nov 5 2008, 17:07) *
Did Bhoys 67 or whatever his name / alias was want Boothroyd to replace Strachan as Celtic Manager ?? laugh.gif

To be fair Bhoys67 saw through Strachan before many other ****.
H_B
QUOTE (dogma @ Nov 5 2008, 17:07) *

Is Boothroyd Celtic minded? ohmy.gif
Disraeli
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 6 2008, 10:44) *
To be fair Bhoys67 saw through Strachan before many other ****.

Yes, he was a great mind before his time. No one has travelled further, antithetically, on the road to enlightenment.
Bloobell
QUOTE (Bloobell @ Nov 3 2008, 18:46) *
Eh?

Hate to say I told you so but .............

James Beattie scored twice as Sheffield United beat Barnsley in a bad-tempered South Yorkshire derby that saw both teams reduced to ten men.

Sheff Utd 2 Plymouth 0 link

Barnsley 1 Sheff Utd 2 link
soti14
Craig Levein has knocked back Watford.

Watford didn't interest me
Rinky Sidebottom
QUOTE (soti14 @ Nov 20 2008, 14:09) *
Craig Levein has knocked back Watford.

Watford didn't interest me

ffs, Dundee United play football as it should be, on the deck with passing and movement. Why Watford would want that I do not know, they never have before. ohmy.gif
Rinky Sidebottom
Chairman has quit tonight.

From BBC News:

Graham Simpson has resigned as chairman of Watford at the club's Extraordinary General Meeting on Monday, reports BBC Three Counties Radio.

laugh.gif ...see you in League One or Two very soon.
drs
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Dec 1 2008, 17:53) *

From BBC News:

Graham Simpson has resigned as chairman of Watford at the club's Extraordinary General Meeting on Monday, reports BBC Three Counties Radio.

QUOTE (drs @ Dec 1 2008, 14:05) *
Rinky Arsebottom has been very quiet today, no doubt he'll be along after their next win/ when Watford lose with a feeble excuse about having no Internet or being on holiday.

Predictable as ever!

Why is it everytime something happens at Watford you start masturbating onto your keyboard whilst forgetting about Histon fucking Leeds up the rectum so hard that you'll be coughing Pearl Necklaces for a decade. You obviously know nothnig of why he has resigned and have instead come on here jerking your chicken like Gordon Ramsey as your own wee team have nothing going for them, shame that the Home Office says your fans are the worst in the UK and that you have no money and will soon be bust. Cardiff was almost 3 years ago it's time to let it go and realise that letting Aidy go was a big mistake at Elland Road. Maybe your team could hire a young and hungry manager instead of a failed Coventry manager.

We'll see you cheats and scum when you get back amongst the big boys so say 2054.
Staying down with the Crewe, you're staying down with the Crewe.
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (drs @ Dec 2 2008, 09:51) *
Predictable as ever!

Why is it everytime something happens at Watford you start masturbating onto your keyboard whilst forgetting about Histon fucking Leeds up the rectum so hard that you'll be coughing Pearl Necklaces for a decade. You obviously know nothnig of why he has resigned and have instead come on here jerking your chicken like Gordon Ramsey as your own wee team have nothing going for them, shame that the Home Office says your fans are the worst in the UK and that you have no money and will soon be bust. Cardiff was almost 3 years ago it's time to let it go and realise that letting Aidy go was a big mistake at Elland Road. Maybe your team could hire a young and hungry manager instead of a failed Coventry manager.

We'll see you cheats and scum when you get back amongst the big boys so say 2054.

It is odd that a man of his supposed age is so full of hate and bitterness at teams which have, ostensibly, nothing to do with him. He can't help supporting Leeds, I suppose, but the childish insults at virtually every other team are quite sad really.
Rinky Sidebottom
QUOTE (drs @ Dec 2 2008, 09:51) *
Predictable as ever!

I have absolutely nowt else to say about Leeds United this season that I haven't said already and therefore I will do what most do here and troll around the other topics and add my bits. As for Watford, I fecking hate the shitehole of a place and it's pathetic football club. I hate their style of play and I will continue to state my opinion for as long as I can be bothered, if you don't like it, then don't read it. laugh.gif
Forest_Fifer
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Dec 1 2008, 17:53) *

From BBC News:

Obviously thinks that Leeds are going to be hanging around the bottom leagues for a while then..... laugh.gif
Rinky Sidebottom
QUOTE (Forest_Fifer @ Dec 2 2008, 17:02) *
Obviously thinks that Leeds are going to be hanging around the bottom leagues for a while then..... laugh.gif

I don't need to think, I've wasted loads of money watching them. mad.gif
drs
QUOTE (Rinky Sidebottom @ Dec 2 2008, 16:51) *
I hate their style of play

When did you last see them play?

It must have been at Cardiff where they played attacking football and beat a defensive Leeds side easily - so who plays the bad football?

Watford = EPL in the last 3 years.
Leeds = same league as Cheltenham Town in the last 3 years.

biggrin.gif