Full Version: Arbroath V Brechin
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
1320Lichtie
Owell Saturday is another gloomy prospect after getting a HUMPING for the 1st time this season , no confidence spirit or self belief whatsoever ,McGlashan is STILL there so will be barely any AFC fans there , Im not sure whether im going or playing myself depends on what I feel like come Friday , anyway to our team , ill have a good guess because f**k knows what McGlashan is thinking.

Hill

Rennie
Rattray (heard hes back)
Bishop (if hes back)
Black (captain for the day)

Lunan (cm)
Masson (cm)
Gates (hopefully he gives him a start)
Flyer

Scott (if fit , if not then Tosh sad.gif )
MacGowan ( got to play him , really promising player)

Thats what i would play but doubt it will happen , really not looking forward to this , Gordon Smith is in for a very shit boring one sided game.

Mon the Lichties

Also never play the wee w****r Weir again hes a fukking arse.
Mel Hutchwright
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Nov 3 2008, 14:27) *
MacGowan ( got to play him , really promising player)

I've been impressed with him, particularly given the fact that he's come in when being a striker for us is a pretty thankless task.

Unfortunately, I think Saturday might be his last game for us though. Wonder if Clyde would notice if we gave them back Weir instead?

Xbass Threepwood
Do we have to play already? sad.gif

Watson was on the bench on Saturday, so he might make a start instead of Sellars. Good! We need a bit of bite and goal threat from midfield. Also, we need Raeside out of the team. Too old, too slow.

If possible, I would go with:

Hill

Rennie (RB)
Campbell/Bishop (CB)
Rattray(CB)
Black (LB)

Flyer (RM)
Lunan(CM)
Watson(LM)

Gates (LF)
Reilly (CF)
Weir (RF)

But I would play Flyer and Watson in a relatively defensive position, supporting Lunan rather than pushing forward. I would also expect Flyer to give us a bit of snap in midfield. However, the above line up would be met with howls of derision from the him support.
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (xbl @ Nov 3 2008, 16:19) *
Do we have to play already? sad.gif

Watson was on the bench on Saturday, so he might make a start instead of Sellars. Good! We need a bit of bite and goal threat from midfield. Also, we need Raeside out of the team. Too old, too slow.

If possible, I would go with:

Hill

Rennie (RB)
Campbell/Bishop (CB)
Rattray(CB)
Black (LB)

Flyer (RM)
Lunan(CM)
Watson(LM)

Gates (LF)
Reilly (CF)
Weir (RF)

But I would play Flyer and Watson in a relatively defensive position, supporting Lunan rather than pushing forward. I would also expect Flyer to give us a bit of snap in midfield. However, the above line up would be met with howls of derision from the him support.

Most of that team could be ok but Campbell at Centre Half is doubtful after the Ayr run around! Also Weir should have his contract ripped up. Who pays his wages ffs!
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Nov 3 2008, 18:14) *
Most of that team could be ok but Campbell at Centre Half is doubtful after the Ayr run around! Also Weir should have his contract ripped up. Who pays his wages ffs!

I actually quite like Weir. He does dive a bit, and he was evidently a bit of a cock, but to be honest, I think the front 3 of Reilly, Weir and Gates works well because they can all swap about the forward positions, taking a turn on the wings and centre. He fits into the front 3 better than Tosher would. This is assuming that Scott gets injured again of course.

Regarding Campbell, if we were to drop (please god) Raeside and play Watson, then we would probably have a rusty Rattray and a rusty Watson. If there are any doubts about Bishops fitness, and Scott plays, then we can't really get away with carrying any more unfit players.

Edited to all, more about Weir, yes, he may have been a cock, but it was a terrible day all round for everyone. We need to be pragmatic at this point in time, and I think Weir is one of our better players.
Mel Hutchwright
QUOTE (xbl @ Nov 3 2008, 18:26) *
Edited to all, more about Weir, yes, he may have been a cock, but it was a terrible day all round for everyone. We need to be pragmatic at this point in time, and I think Weir is one of our better players.

My reservations about Weir are nothing to do with what he's supposed to have done on Saturday (never saw it myself), although it's not a particularly clever thng to do, rather I just don't think he looks much like a striker that will get us goals. I do think he looks more effective when he goes out wide though.
WHM
Watson is not fit,he was only on the bench because there was no one else because Scott pulled up in the warm-up.Watson due to make comeback in reserve game next Monday maybe St Johnstone away if my memory is right.I heard Rattery was fit but couldn't play as he was off on the sick from work.

Also just been announced that John McGlashan will be holding a meeting at 7pm Tutties Thursday for all Arbroath fans to get there views across about what's going on just now.
danlichtie
This is the first time I've ever seen anyone actually say they think Weir is a good player.

Like Andy Reilly minus the talent.
smokiejoe
Weir is terrible. I think this is just xbl doing his Paul Watson part 2 skit. Take someone who is shit, call them good while getting laughed at and then when they eventually do pull a 6/10 game out their arse, say 'I told you so'
JimLichtie
It continues to annoy me that Andy Reilly, a player who always puts his all in to playing for the maroon shirt, is out on loan while we have Weirdo in the starting line up.

However, this opinion may change if he scores a goal like the one against EF recently.

With Sellars out I hope Masson plays in midfield although I fear Tosh might get the nod - he played there at times last year.
Lichtielegend
QUOTE (JimLichtie @ Nov 4 2008, 09:31) *
sig

Thanks, mate.
1320Lichtie
Much more optimistic for this now , new team as we know our better players will be available ,

Hill

Rennie
Raeside
Rattray
Forsyth

Lunan
Masson

Gates (aml)
Doris (amr)

Scott
MacGowan

Have to say if he does go 442 that front 4 can be deadly , hope we start like that.
JimLichtie
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Nov 7 2008, 16:42) *
Much more optimistic for this now , new team as we know our better players will be available ,

Hill

Rennie
Raeside
Rattray
Forsyth

Lunan
Masson

Gates (aml)
Doris (amr)

Scott
MacGowan

Have to say if he does go 442 that front 4 can be deadly , hope we start like that.

Swap Rennie for Flyer and Black for Masson and you've got my selection.

It looks great on paper, but the only turd in the pool is that with Scott coming back from injury and Doris just arriving it's rather untested upfront. The players wont really know each other's play.

Looking forward to it though
'Steve
Can't you just sense the excitement from the Brechin fans in this topic? laugh.gif

In all seriousness though we should have more than enough to beat Arbroath but it's a derby match and all form goes out of the window, not to mention on the back of a 5-1 defeat. I just hope we pick ourselves up and get a much needed 3 points. Would like to see us line up with the following:

1. Craig Nelson
2. David Murie
3. Willie Dyer
4. John Seeley (Game will have come too soon for Ward I think)
5. David White
6. Neil Janczyk
7. Kein Byers
8. Charlie King
9. Gary Twigg
10. Michael Paton
11. Darren Smith
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Nov 7 2008, 16:42) *

Hill

Rennie
Raeside
Rattray
Forsyth

Lunan
Masson

Gates (aml)
Doris (amr)

Scott
MacGowan

Rennie or Bish if 100% fit for Raeside , Flyer for Rennie, If Scott isn't fit then let Weir make up for last week......Black to start with Masson on the bench.

C'mon Arbroath.
MarvMarvSuperMarv
C'mon Arbroath smile.gif!
uni
Fixture of the weekend IMO tongue.gif

If it had fallen on any other weekend I would be going.

I've only been to one Angus derby (Montrose vs Brechin Challenge cup....good fun)

2-0 city win

Who needs the new firm derby when there is the Angus derby tongue.gif
cityred
My team would include either Nimmo or Fusco for King, need a wee bit more dig in midfielf for the 'derby' tussle
edinlichtie
4.9 definitely too big for Arbroath, so my 20 spot will be a ton by 4.45
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (uni @ Nov 7 2008, 23:37) *
Fixture of the weekend IMO tongue.gif

If it had fallen on any other weekend I would be going.

I've only been to one Angus derby (Montrose vs Brechin Challenge cup....good fun)

2-0 city win

Who needs the new firm derby when there is the Angus derby tongue.gif

The real derby is Montrose v Arbroath , always get good crowds and good games , last 2 have had 1100 at Gayf and 1500 at Links , only because all the Montrose fans shite it coming through to Arbroath , there away support for they games is less then Ayr and East Fife and Raith have brought here this season.
Lichtielegend
Crowdwank.
1320Lichtie
Kin rolleyes.gif Just saying I dont really dislike Brechin so dont class it as a proper derby , just stating that today i can bet my house on it that theres not as many folk there.
smokiejoe
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Nov 8 2008, 11:52) *
Crowdwank.

Don't ever imitate that w****r Matthew McLean again.
Andy.C
QUOTE (smokiejoe @ Nov 8 2008, 11:57) *
Don't ever imitate that w****r Matthew McLean again.

So I take it your death was just an 'Hilarious' prank then?

Sorry if I've missed previous explanations about your demise.
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Nov 8 2008, 12:56) *
Kin rolleyes.gif Just saying I dont really dislike Brechin so dont class it as a proper derby , just stating that today i can bet my house on it that theres not as many folk there.

Brechin deserved there win but at least the super Lichties played better than last week! rolleyes.gif Alan Rattary was class through out, so glad he is back. smile.gif I feel Brechin wanted to win the game as Arbroath didn't want to lose......... sad.gif

It is a shame you can't buy confidence.........
Javier Mascherano
If Arbroath played better this week than they did last week, they must have been f'king shite last week!

We dominated pretty much the whole game but didn't create too many chances.

Baird in particular I thought looked a class apart, his first touch is fantastic.

I also think we're very lucky to have Gary Twigg.
WHM
Alot better than last week but still poor 2nd half and only one team deserved to win in the end.We played not too bad first half had a few good chances and scored our goal,but then done our usual at sat back on a one nil lead.Brechin dominated the 2nd half and we all new the goal was coming.Good to see Scott and Rattery back.

The ref Brown was pish with his weird and wonderful decisions.
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (Fernando Torres @ Nov 8 2008, 18:35) *
If Arbroath played better this week than they did last week, they must have been f'king shite last week!

Baird in particular I thought looked a class apart, his first touch is fantastic.

I also think we're very lucky to have Gary Twigg.

Yes Brechin City are lucky to have such a strong squad and yes Arbroath were sh1t3 last week, so much so if we had played like we did last week i am sure we would have lost by 6+.

From what i have seen this season the title is heading for Kirkcaldy with Ayr, Brechin and East Fife in the play-offs. As for the other end of the table a three way fight between ourselves, Queens and Stranraer.

How can you afford the players you have btw? The wage bill must be pretty big? Who is the top earner, any idea? Anyway well played and please ditch the Liverpool sh1t!!!! wink.gif laugh.gif
'Steve
Thought we more than deserved our win, Arbroath looked awful to be honest and had very little to offer in all areas of the field. We didn't create all that many chances but little wonder because of the wall of Arbroath players in front of them.

Referee didn't seem to know the advantage rule, Richard Walker was fouled on the right but his cross found John Baird who headed into the net, a free kick the result.

Couldn't really see the Arbroath goal but it looked like a scrappy affair. I've no idea how Twigg managed to head in the equaliser and it was only a matter of time before we got the winner, Twigg again with his head. He's a real match winner at this level, a terrific signing by O'Neill.

Good to get back on track, good City support through as well. smile.gif
Blazes Boylan
QUOTE (Fernando Torres @ Nov 8 2008, 17:35) *

You have no idea. Last week's performance was beyond the limits of endurance and the human imagination. Today's defeat felt like a devil-may-care, up-and-at-'em, flowing exhibition match by Arbroath in comparison to last week. Seeing as we were completely dominated for the entirety of the 2nd half - and probably much of the 1st - this may sound a little odd, but I was overjoyed to see a shot on goal this week and to only lose by the odd goal in three. At least we seemed to care, though were comprehensively outplayed.

I assume the over-enthusiastic reaction of the Brechin fans at the final whistle was for Arbroath's imrovement from last week? Otherwise, what was it all about!? Yes, Brechin played well against the ever-distanced and somewhat shambolic bottom of the league team but there seemed to be a rather inappropriate air of 'pulled that one out of the bag' amongst the Brechin support and players. Maybe I just find cheering fans disconcerting and rather creepy these days.
Beren
My daughter's in the huff with me now. Again. laugh.gif
a_n_d_o
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Nov 8 2008, 18:05) *
Yes Brechin City are lucky to have such a strong squad and yes Arbroath were sh1t3 last week, so much so if we had played like we did last week i am sure we would have lost by 6+.

From what i have seen this season the title is heading for Kirkcaldy with Ayr, Brechin and East Fife in the play-offs. As for the other end of the table a three way fight between ourselves, Queens and Stranraer.

How can you afford the players you have btw? The wage bill must be pretty big? Who is the top earner, any idea? Anyway well played and please ditch the Liverpool sh1t!!!! wink.gif laugh.gif

no idea what the players are actually on, but i think a lot of them took wage cuts when they renewed their contracts. i think its more about the level of football than the money, players who can't or don't want to go full time still want to play at the highest level they can and i guess brechin have established themselves as one of the best part time clubs over the past few years.

as for the game i thought arbroath started well and looked prepared to battle all over the pitch, didn't see their goal due to a post being in the way but i thought brechin responded well. twigg did well to find a way past the keeper for the equaliser and 2nd half i think brechin controlled pretty well. also thought we looked a bit solider when we went to a 442 in the 2nd half, not dissing the 433 as all the frontline did well, but it was asking a lot of the midfield and probably the reason we were easily stretched early on in the match. the pressure in the 2nd half eventually paid off and good to see twigg get another goal. good effort from the team today as it was important we bounced back after the peterhead performance last week, and the return of ward to the line-up. thought richard walker had an excellent game today, showed plenty energy as he always does but was a bit more solid at the defending this week and put in a fair few decent crosses.
a_n_d_o
QUOTE (Blazes Boylan @ Nov 8 2008, 18:42) *
I assume the over-enthusiastic reaction of the Brechin fans at the final whistle was for Arbroath's imrovement from last week? Otherwise, what was it all about!? Yes, Brechin played well against the ever-distanced and somewhat shambolic bottom of the league team but there seemed to be a rather inappropriate air of 'pulled that one out of the bag' amongst the Brechin support and players. Maybe I just find cheering fans disconcerting and rather creepy these days.

if you'd seen what happened last week, and we didn't have the greatest start as you got a goal in front and were creating a few chances, then you would understand the brechin fans were showing their appreciation for the effort and commitment to get back on winning ways.
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (Eönwë @ Nov 8 2008, 19:44) *
My daughter's in the huff with me now. Again. laugh.gif

Just pass a message on to your daughter please. Keep the faith ok, as the super Lichties will rise again, promise. smile.gif
Beren
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Nov 8 2008, 19:35) *
Just pass a message on to your daughter please. Keep the faith ok, as the super Lichties will rise again, promise. smile.gif

She's been kind of spoilt. Her first full game was a 4-1 win a couple of years ago and since then I've taken her to a fair number of games when you got promoted. When we're away, I take her up for the (every second) weekly humiliation that has been this season. The fact that she's now seen us beat you twice this season does not sit well with her.
BrechinCityFC
Good to see the players respond well after going a goal down. I think on the second half performance we always looked like going on to win. Good to get back to winning ways with the other teams round about us winning also.
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (Eönwë @ Nov 8 2008, 20:57) *
She's been kind of spoilt. Her first full game was a 4-1 win a couple of years ago and since then I've taken her to a fair number of games when you got promoted. When we're away, I take her up for the (every second) weekly humiliation that has been this season. The fact that she's now seen us beat you twice this season does not sit well with her.

Don't give her a hard time as these things can often rebound and bite you on the ar$e! He who laughs last and all that! wink.gif It could be worse.......your daughter could be fan of a certain duo in Glasgow laugh.gif Like mine mad.gif Noooooooooooooooo! dry.gif
Beren
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Nov 8 2008, 20:09) *
Don't give her a hard time as these things can often rebound and bite you on the ar$e! He who laughs last and all that! wink.gif It could be worse.......your daughter could be fan of a certain duo in Glasgow laugh.gif Like mine mad.gif Noooooooooooooooo! dry.gif

oops, lol
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (Eönwë @ Nov 8 2008, 21:13) *
oops, lol

Indeed big f...in' OOP's! sad.gif Long term brainwashing may have to be used! laugh.gif Also some bribery too me thinks wink.gif Whatever it takes rolleyes.gif
Glebe_boy
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Nov 8 2008, 20:19) *
Indeed big f...in' OOP's! sad.gif Long term brainwashing may have to be used! laugh.gif Also some bribery too me thinks wink.gif Whatever it takes rolleyes.gif

I had the same problem with my son but eventually he saw the light biggrin.gif

but whatever it takes do it !!!! tongue.gif
tongue_tied_danny
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Nov 8 2008, 12:18) *
So I take it your death was just an 'Hilarious' prank then?

Sorry if I've missed previous explanations about your demise.

Reports of his demise have been greatly exaggerated...
a_n_d_o
QUOTE (BrechinCityFC @ Nov 8 2008, 20:00) *
Good to see the players respond well after going a goal down. I think on the second half performance we always looked like going on to win. Good to get back to winning ways with the other teams round about us winning also.

2nd half was an improvement, but going in at half time on level terms was crucial. i wouldn't say we always looked like winning as arbroath defended resolutely and dealt with some very good crosses efficiently. delighted to take 3 points and as you say back to winning ways. think both sets of fans will be happy with the game really, brechin did what was needed of them and arbroath showed they weren't going to be a pushover. thought no.9 for them (scott?) looked dangerous although he was pretty much forced to do everything by himself...
b ross
My opinion.... for what its worth.

Thought we battled well against an obviously much better side (easily one of the best in the division), though the second half was rather more "backs to the wall" than I'd have prefered.

Great to see Scott back, he makes a big difference but was surprised that he wasn't taken off sooner rather than risk further injury. Scotts strength is running onto well timed through balls but we didn't have anyone in midfield that could pick those sort of passes regularly (Sellars or Watson), beating Hightower and Lofty on the ground was our only option.

I'm not one for remembering names but thought our No9 had a good first half but No3 not quite so clever at times, also surprised that Gates was taken off.

As a footnote I'm more than happy for Glash to stay. His record as manager with us isn't bad at all and hopefully he's learning all the time. Yes I'd like to see some swashbuckling football and I think we're still capable of it if we can just gain a little more confidence.
I cant stand the impatience of fickle football fans who expect us to come into this division (after being 4th last year) and not be struggling to find our feet a little. Reality check required for some of you. Get behind the team and the manager and give them some confidence.
Its sh#t when one of the players tells me that at times like this they'd much rather be playing away from home.
Hedgecutter
I know it was a scrappy 'derby' game, but I personally thought the performance was relatively poor for a team that's joint top of the division. If we play like that against any of the top half then we'll get horsed just like we did last week. There was a 10 minute spell in the second half that we couldn't even pick a pass beyond five yards. No thought what so ever, just hoofing the ball up instead of playing the open man.

Or possibly as the pundits say about the OF, 'that's championship winning form being able to play poorly and still grind out the results'!

At least we showed a bit of fight this weekend when Arbroath took the lead instead of the heads going down. Still, how the **** can you score a perfectly good goal and have it pulled back for your own free kick?! ref was a bloody disgrace. Darren Smith should have won a penalty in the first half and all.

Still, a good day out all in all. biggrin.gif
cityred
QUOTE (Hedgecutter @ Nov 9 2008, 11:08) *
I know it was a scrappy 'derby' game, but I personally thought the performance was relatively poor for a team that's joint top of the division. If we play like that against any of the top half then we'll get horsed just like we did last week. There was a 10 minute spell in the second half that we couldn't even pick a pass beyond five yards. No thought what so ever, just hoofing the ball up instead of playing the open man.

Or possibly as the pundits say about the OF, 'that's championship winning form being able to play poorly and still grind out the results'!

At least we showed a bit of fight this weekend when Arbroath took the lead instead of the heads going down. Still, how the **** can you score a perfectly good goal and have it pulled back for your own free kick?! ref was a bloody disgrace. Darren Smith should have won a penalty in the first half and all.

Still, a good day out all in all. biggrin.gif

Never saw Darren's foul when where was that and wot happened? I thought we were well in control in second half was surprised to see McGlashan take off Scott easily Lichties best player. BTW its hard to pick passes when you are playing in a gale at Gayfield
Hedgecutter
QUOTE (cityred @ Nov 9 2008, 11:37) *
Never saw Darren's foul when where was that and wot happened? I thought we were well in control in second half was surprised to see McGlashan take off Scott easily Lichties best player. BTW its hard to pick passes when you are playing in a gale at Gayfield

First half, seaside corner of the box. Daz had made a great run in to win the ball on the line and had his arse dragged to the ground in a bit of a tussle when he'd clearly won the ball. Not suprisingly he gave the ref a mouthful, hence reason he probably got booked later for consistent 'complaining'. Had a good point in every case as the ref was a joke.
Hedgecutter
QUOTE (cityred @ Nov 9 2008, 11:37) *
BTW its hard to pick passes when you are playing in a gale at Gayfield

One of the calmest / mildest Autumn-Winter afternoons at Gayfield I can remember. Or if you're right, is it the case that Arbroath are actually quite a tidy outfit but just suffer horribly from having to play there every fortnight? I suggest they sell Gayfield to Tesco for a small fortune, move somewhere inland and become the next big thing. Actually, on second thoughts that would be a bad thing!
cityred
QUOTE (Hedgecutter @ Nov 9 2008, 12:05) *
One of the calmest / mildest Autumn-Winter afternoons at Gayfield I can remember. Or if you're right, is it the case that Arbroath are actually quite a tidy outfit but just suffer horribly from having to play there every fortnight? I suggest they sell Gayfield to Tesco for a small fortune, move somewhere inland and become the next big thing. Actually, on second thoughts that would be a bad thing!

Aye dinnae kem, some fowk are never happy. And anyway you want Chucky for Scotland, but siurely he'll have to get a regular game for Brechin first!!!!
'Steve
QUOTE (Blazes Boylan @ Nov 8 2008, 18:42) *

Well to be fair, it's as close to a derby game as it gets for us. Also, I think the fans were just delighted to get back on track after being bought down to earth with a thud last week. Thought the fans really got behind the team, even when we were a goal down. I see Michael O'Neill has been saying in the press that it felt like a home game for the players with the backing they recieved, and the players really showed their appreciation at the end.

QUOTE (b ross @ Nov 9 2008, 09:57) *
I'm not one for remembering names but thought our No9 had a good first half but No3 not quite so clever at times, also surprised that Gates was taken off.

How old is Arbroath's no.3? He looked about 15.

Forgot to add thought Baird had an excellent game. Has a good first touch and shows real grit and determination, maybe spurred by the fact he is still technically contracted by Montrose. Hopefully we keep him beyond the January transfer window, which I think we will judging by O'Neill's comments.
a_n_d_o
QUOTE (Hedgecutter @ Nov 9 2008, 11:08) *

while the ref was a complete joke at times can't really argue about the free kick, he blew his whistle immediately and before baird made contact with the cross. i suppose he was consistent in that he never let us play advantage...