Do you think glenafton are good enough to win the league?
southerner
Nov 3 2008, 18:45
QUOTE (br78 @ Nov 3 2008, 14:12)

Do you think glenafton are good enough to win the league?
No they have started well but dont have the depth IMHO when the suspensions and injuries come in
GLENAFTON93
Nov 3 2008, 21:39
While i will agree injuries and suspensions will be a factor to take into account, we have increased our depth of player pool and have no doubt we will have a say in the final league positions.Whether we are good enough to win the league well i wont make any predictions but i dont think we will be far away. Our comprehensive defeat of Meadow probably shortened our odds but theres a few hard games to get by first, but at this time it is nice to be sitting top of the tree, and i dont think we should be ignored.
southerner
Nov 3 2008, 22:48
QUOTE (GLENAFTON93 @ Nov 3 2008, 21:39)

While i will agree injuries and suspensions will be a factor to take into account, we have increased our depth of player pool and have no doubt we will have a say in the final league positions.Whether we are good enough to win the league well i wont make any predictions but i dont think we will be far away. Our comprehensive defeat of Meadow probably shortened our odds but theres a few hard games to get by first, but at this time it is nice to be sitting top of the tree, and i dont think we should be ignored.
Certainly not being ignored, Glens are there on merit and I would rather they won the league than Meadow if it came to it
sconnybotland
Nov 4 2008, 11:44
Lets get serious Southerner, surely you cannot even contemplate the Meadow winning the league??? The Marymass cup is their target for this season again.
The Glens are going well however, good luck to them.
The Phoenix
Nov 4 2008, 11:55
Saw them against Alloa Athletic a few weeks ago when they played a "behind closed doors" friendly.
I was very impressed but I have absolutely no handle on the strength of their league opposition.
I've watched glenafton this year a few times and i think they have a good enough squad. They showed against Meadow that they can compete with the big boys. You will struggle to find better players in the league than Fahey, MacGregor, McMullen, Howie, Ramsey and Zok.
cmontheloknow
Nov 5 2008, 12:16
QUOTE (br78 @ Nov 5 2008, 11:21)

I've watched glenafton this year a few times and i think they have a good enough squad. They showed against Meadow that they can compete with the big boys. You will struggle to find better players in the league than Fahey, MacGregor, McMullen, Howie, Ramsey and Zok.
Glad to see you're ignoring the team that has won the league title four times out of the last six and currently has a 100% record in the league...
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 5 2008, 13:57

Dalry will pump them in the Scottish on saturday
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 5 2008, 12:16)

Glad to see you're ignoring the team that has won the league title four times out of the last six and currently has a 100% record in the league...
I'm not ignoring Pollok. They'll be up there as well. I was using Meadow as an example of what they can do against bigger teams whom Meadow are one. Pollok are obviously one as well, so put your toys back in your pram
Steveoo1
Nov 5 2008, 20:57

Dont know much about the other players but remember howie playing for partick always wondered what happened to him what a player then, heard he was involved with alot of shite in glasgow but surely to good for juniors why has there never been a team from seniors in for him is it because of his rep also what about gerry collins were is he
cmontheloknow
Nov 5 2008, 21:05
QUOTE (Steveoo1 @ Nov 5 2008, 20:57)

Dont know much about the other players but remember howie playing for partick always wondered what happened to him what a player then, heard he was involved with alot of shite in glasgow but surely to good for juniors why has there never been a team from seniors in for him is it because of his rep also what about gerry collins were is he
Gerry's out of Junior football just now I think.
Most of the others br78 mentioned you may know as they almost all played Senior, example club in brackets: Chris Fahey (Raith), Paul McMullan (Hearts), Steven McGregor (Stenny), Dougie Ramsay (Motherwell). Chris Zok was on Clyde's books as a teenager.
Queensthroughandthrough
Nov 6 2008, 09:45
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 5 2008, 22:05)

Gerry's out of Junior football just now I think.
Most of the others br78 mentioned you may know as they almost all played Senior, example club in brackets: Chris Fahey (Raith), Paul McMullan (Hearts), Steven McGregor (Stenny), Dougie Ramsay (Motherwell). Chris Zok was on Clyde's books as a teenager.
Who is the Glens manager this season?
beith19
Nov 6 2008, 11:21
Gordon Dalziel, he was appointed near the end of the 2006-07 season just in time to save Glens in the play off games v the Buffs.
theesel1994
Nov 6 2008, 14:33
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 5 2008, 14:57)

Like last season's much delayed West of Scotland Cup tie.
GLENAFTON93
Nov 6 2008, 22:41
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 5 2008, 13:57)

We will see.
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 7 2008, 08:39
QUOTE (GLENAFTON93 @ Nov 6 2008, 22:41)

We will see.
Some top quality new signings for Dalry this week, few ex pro's
cmontheloknow
Nov 7 2008, 08:54
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 7 2008, 08:39)

Some top quality new signings for Dalry this week, few ex pro's

Dalry will lose this game by at least three goals. Unless Glens rest players.
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 7 2008, 12:27
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 7 2008, 08:54)

Dalry will lose this game by at least three goals. Unless Glens rest players.
Yeh I know, Dalry are going to struggle. I was just attemping to noise the Glens lot up, thanks for helping with that
egg chaser
Nov 7 2008, 17:17
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 5 2008, 14:57)

dream on .it took dalry 180 mins of football to get past a very young and inexperianced dunbar team and 2 dodgy goals; Glenafton wil stroll it
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 8 2008, 08:25
QUOTE (egg chaser @ Nov 7 2008, 17:17)

dream on .it took dalry 180 mins of football to get past a very young and inexperianced dunbar team and 2 dodgy goals; Glenafton wil stroll it
Whooooshh
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 10 2008, 07:29
Not far off in my prediction bring on the replay.
How was the game? Were Dalry holding on? Didn't get to the game as was working
GLENAFTON93
Nov 10 2008, 20:30
It was a game that was tottally spoiled by the referee who on many occasions blew for free kicks that had both teams scartching their heads in disbelief, Glens scored in two minutes and Dalry defended for eighty,Dalrys first and only chance was taken in the 80th min and it was good enough to get a draw.I do hope that the smartly dressed committee of Dalry get there act together to get the park ready for saturday and we dont end up with the fiasco of their previous cup tie and the repeat of last seasons wos tie against us,when this tie was drawn out the hat everybody at Glens said it was our nightmare tie not because who we were playing but where it would end in the swamp of merksworh tip.
sconnybotland
Nov 10 2008, 20:38
QUOTE (sconnybotland @ Nov 4 2008, 11:44)

Lets get serious Southerner, surely you cannot even contemplate the Meadow winning the league??? The Marymass cup is their target for this season again.
The Glens are going well however, good luck to them.
Just a quick note tae say that I have changed ma mind about Glenafton have any chance of winning the league now. If you cannot beat Dalry, Dalry fur frucks sake, its DALRY we are talkin aboot in yer ain midden, you must have a very very poor team indeed.
Dalry are probably the worst team I have ever seen, no, in fact the're worse than that!
GLENAFTON93
Nov 10 2008, 22:29
This is a forum for opinions and i will agree we should have put this tie out of the reach of Dalry but thats whats so good about this game everyone has a chance and we are both in the draw for the next round.
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 11 2008, 12:20
QUOTE (sconnybotland @ Nov 10 2008, 20:38)

Just a quick note tae say that I have changed ma mind about Glenafton have any chance of winning the league now. If you cannot beat Dalry, Dalry fur frucks sake, its DALRY we are talkin aboot in yer ain midden, you must have a very very poor team indeed.
Dalry are probably the worst team I have ever seen, no, in fact the're worse than that!
What games you been at this season?
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 11 2008, 12:22
QUOTE (GLENAFTON93 @ Nov 10 2008, 20:30)

It was a game that was tottally spoiled by the referee who on many occasions blew for free kicks that had both teams scartching their heads in disbelief, Glens scored in two minutes and Dalry defended for eighty,Dalrys first and only chance was taken in the 80th min and it was good enough to get a draw.I do hope that the smartly dressed committee of Dalry get there act together to get the park ready for saturday and we dont end up with the fiasco of their previous cup tie and the repeat of last seasons wos tie against us,when this tie was drawn out the hat everybody at Glens said it was our nightmare tie not because who we were playing but where it would end in the swamp of merksworh tip.
Don't hold up much hope of the game being on mate, It was pishing down here last night. If it rains like that tonight then the game will be off, even if it stays dry the rest of the week. The park is terrible it just floods straight away
cmontheloknow
Nov 11 2008, 12:59
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 11 2008, 12:22)

Don't hold up much hope of the game being on mate, It was pishing down here last night. If it rains like that tonight then the game will be off, even if it stays dry the rest of the week. The park is terrible it just floods straight away

Last home game 23rd August!
sconnybotland
Nov 11 2008, 13:31
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 11 2008, 12:20)

Im my living memory, Dalry have always been a joke side in the league, I can remember beating them 13-0 when I was just a wee nipper, however 40 years on things have not changed all that much cos we (Ladeside) beat them 7 0 in their midden in May of this year in the West.
I guess that the Glens must have a mental block when it comes to playing them?
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 11 2008, 13:34
QUOTE (sconnybotland @ Nov 11 2008, 13:31)

Im my living memory, Dalry have always been a joke side in the league, I can remember beating them 13-0 when I was just a wee nipper, however 40 years on things have not changed all that much cos we (Ladeside) beat them 7 0 in their midden in May of this year in the West.
I guess that the Glens must have a mental block when it comes to playing them?
So you aint been at any games then?
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 11 2008, 13:41
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 11 2008, 12:59)

Aye anno mate annoying as fook
sconnybotland
Nov 11 2008, 20:36
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 11 2008, 13:34)

So you aint been at any games then?
Aye, I have seen them 3 times this year, twice last season and when we beat them at Dalry in the Whitever you call it League cup in September of this year, and your point is?
GLENAFTON93
Nov 11 2008, 21:36
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 11 2008, 12:59)

Why is this team allowed to get away with this terrible situation, surely the powers that be must take action,do Dalry not realise that something must be done about their pitch if nothing else for the few supporters they have, as i said previously this will turn into our nightmare tie,and could have a detrimental effect on our league challange.
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 12 2008, 09:27
QUOTE (GLENAFTON93 @ Nov 11 2008, 21:36)

Why is this team allowed to get away with this terrible situation, surely the powers that be must take action,do Dalry not realise that something must be done about their pitch if nothing else for the few supporters they have, as i said previously this will turn into our nightmare tie,and could have a detrimental effect on our league challange.
I'm not sure how much can be done, there a river/burn that runs at the bottom end of the pitch, thats why it floods so easy.
Plus the pitch is just shite altogether
David Murdoch
Nov 12 2008, 12:59
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 12 2008, 09:27)

I'm not sure how much can be done, there a river/burn that runs at the bottom end of the pitch, thats why it floods so easy.
Will building the new lidl help or hinder the state of the park ?
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 12 2008, 13:49
QUOTE (David Murdoch @ Nov 12 2008, 12:59)

Will building the new lidl help or hinder the state of the park ?
I don't really know if it would have an affect, I wouldn't think so.
Perhaps you should ask a contractor or architect
fishtrunkAKA
Nov 12 2008, 14:15
Do you go often? I used to watch Thistle a fair bit as a kid but haven't been down to Merksworth in a long long time. I saw them in the West last year and thought they looked a very good side, Super First level anyway. Then Lamb goes, the team breaks up and it's back to square one. Just the Dalry way really

EDIT - it obviously wasn't the Kilbirnie game in the West i saw
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 20 2008, 07:15
QUOTE (fishtrunkAKA @ Nov 12 2008, 14:15)

Do you go often? I used to watch Thistle a fair bit as a kid but haven't been down to Merksworth in a long long time. I saw them in the West last year and thought they looked a very good side, Super First level anyway. Then Lamb goes, the team breaks up and it's back to square one. Just the Dalry way really

EDIT - it obviously wasn't the Kilbirnie game in the West i saw

I've been at most games they've played, which aint many due to the state of the park. Team looking not too bad but a lot of young guns
mighty meadow
Nov 20 2008, 08:53
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 12 2008, 09:27)

I think there's a bit more to it than that m8. I heard last week that the committee were digging up around the park and came across a pipe that is spewing out water straight onto the pitch. Seemingly they won't be playing another home game until they find out what the pipe is and get it sorted hence this weeks game being switched to Newlandsfield.
KTID05AND4EVER
Nov 20 2008, 14:57
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 20 2008, 08:53)

I think there's a bit more to it than that m8. I heard last week that the committee were digging up around the park and came across a pipe that is spewing out water straight onto the pitch. Seemingly they won't be playing another home game until they find out what the pipe is and get it sorted hence this weeks game being switched to Newlandsfield.
Yep just heard the same thing, apparently the pitch is fukced completley
fishtrunkAKA
Nov 22 2008, 01:47
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Nov 20 2008, 07:15)

I've been at most games they've played, which aint many due to the state of the park. Team looking not too bad but a lot of young guns
Cheers bud. Think i'll stagger along later today to see the new breed in action.
GLENAFTON93
Nov 23 2008, 12:31
I would like to wish Dalry all the best in the next round.
sconnybotland
Nov 23 2008, 13:32
neutral
Nov 23 2008, 17:54
QUOTE (sconnybotland @ Nov 23 2008, 13:32)

Aye they are terrible they only have 16 points from a possible 18 in the super premier!
Dalry played the better football and were very worthy of their win.
Delboy
Nov 23 2008, 18:29
Lets be honest, a result like yesterdays is the Magic of the scottish. Just one of those ones i think.
mighty meadow
Nov 24 2008, 09:46
QUOTE (Delboy @ Nov 23 2008, 18:29)

Lets be honest, a result like yesterdays is the Magic of the scottish. Just one of those ones i think.
Is it Dalry v Annbank in the next round? You've got to fancy Dalry's chances a bit if it is after Annbank's result on Saturday.
GLENAFTON93
Nov 24 2008, 21:15
QUOTE (sconnybotland @ Nov 23 2008, 13:32)

Unlike you we treated Dalry with the respect they were due, they are a stuffy well organised team,we found it hard to break them down,we had chances but didnt convert them and paid the price, they fully deserve their passage into the next round, and as someone else has said this is what the cup is all about.
shallowdave
Nov 25 2008, 21:05
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 24 2008, 09:46)

Is it Dalry v Annbank in the next round? You've got to fancy Dalry's chances a bit if it is after Annbank's result on Saturday.
Can anyone tell me if this Dalry v Annbank game will be played in Dalry?
Or is it likely to be moved cause of Dalry's pitch?
cheers!
mighty meadow
Nov 27 2008, 12:35
QUOTE (shallowdave @ Nov 25 2008, 21:05)

Can anyone tell me if this Dalry v Annbank game will be played in Dalry?
Or is it likely to be moved cause of Dalry's pitch?
cheers!
According to their website it will be played on therir home ground.
http://www.dalrythistle.co.uk/matchdetails.asp?mid=118
shallowdave
Nov 27 2008, 22:23
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 27 2008, 12:35)

According to their website it will be played on therir home ground.
http://www.dalrythistle.co.uk/matchdetails.asp?mid=118 Cheers MM.
Thought it might get moved to Pollok again as Dalry havent played a home game for weeks
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.