Full Version: Latapy Day
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > SPL General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
The Choir Starter
Hi,

Falkirk FC are having a Russell Latapy Day on the 29th of November. Russell Latapy will be inducted into the Falkirk FC hall of fame on that day. It is very fitting that we are playing Hibs as of course the wee man is a Legend down Easter Road way.

Falkirk Fans are being asked to take part in the card display, wear Trinidad and Tobago red and take part in the Latapy raffle where a huge range of prizes will be available.

If any Falkirk or Hibs fans want to get in touch with me about ideas or help for the day please pm me.

If Hibs fans are interested in doing a card display or anything like that then if you contact me I will try and help you out.

We are looking for a sell out, a great atmosphere and another cracking Falkirk Hibs game.

Russell is one of the last entertainers in the SPL lets make this a day to remember.
glasnost
Does that mean you all have to turn up to the game drunk?
Bloobell
QUOTE (The Choir Starter @ Nov 3 2008, 13:05) *
Hi,

Falkirk FC are having a Russell Latapy Day on the 29th of November. Russell Latapy will be inducted into the Falkirk FC hall of fame on that day. It is very fitting that we are playing Hibs as of course the wee man is a Legend down Easter Road way.

Falkirk Fans are being asked to take part in the card display, wear Trinidad and Tobago red and take part in the Latapy raffle where a huge range of prizes will be available.

If any Falkirk or Hibs fans want to get in touch with me about ideas or help for the day please pm me.

If Hibs fans are interested in doing a card display or anything like that then if you contact me I will try and help you out.

We are looking for a sell out, a great atmosphere and another cracking Falkirk Hibs game.

Russell is one of the last entertainers in the SPL lets make this a day to remember.

Can us Bears and/or Arabs join in too rolleyes.gif
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (Bloobell @ Nov 3 2008, 13:06) *

If you pay for your ticket, I suppose so. Obviously, you'd pay for your ticket and get someone else to sit in the seat...
sandyfalkirk
QUOTE (Bloobell @ Nov 3 2008, 13:06) *

Of course you can, come down and support your local team. Its a team in red white and blue playing one in green and white so you will feel at home. No songs about going home or anything mind you.

In fact, its the Falkirk Stadium. Therefore no songs, shouting or singing of any kind is allowed - I don't recall seeing the rule on this but its clear there must be one as no one ever does any of those things.
Bloobell
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Nov 3 2008, 13:09) *
If you pay for your ticket, I suppose so. Obviously, you'd pay for your ticket and get someone else to sit in the seat...

Nah you're awright, I'll be at Tynecastle that day wink.gif
DAFC
Falkirk Hall Of Fame

A cupboard

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
kiddy
Hi,

I am having a Russell Latapy Day on the 29th of November. Russell Latapy will be inducted into the Falkirk FC hall of fame on that day. It is very fitting that we are playing Hibs as of course the wee man is a Legend down Easter Road way.

That's better. You've punted the same idea on ONE F, with the usual gullable suspects backing it.

What about FFC's 'REAL' T&T legend, Denzil. Forgot about him have you?
Sam68+1
QUOTE (DAFC @ Nov 3 2008, 15:03) *
A cupboard

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Liam Craig just failed to make it but glad he is a hit elsewhere. laugh.gif
Booker_d
Please, Im dieing to know, who else is in the Falkirk Hall of Fame?

This should be a laugh....
Bloobell
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Nov 3 2008, 15:10) *
Please, Im dieing to know, who else is in the Falkirk Hall of Fame?

This should be a laugh....

Kevin McAllister and erm, um
Hughsie
QUOTE (kiddy @ Nov 3 2008, 15:07) *
That's better. You've punted the same idea on ONE F, with the usual gullable suspects backing it.

Were you abused as a kid or something.

Credit to the guy for making an effort to pay tribute to a player who has been a great servant to the club.

Also credit to the Hamilton and Dunfermline fans on here for having the nerve to laugh at the idea of Falkirk having a hall of fame.
Booker_d
QUOTE (Hughsie @ Nov 3 2008, 15:19) *
Were you abused as a kid or something.

Credit to the guy for making an effort to pay tribute to a player who has been a great servant to the club.

Also credit to the Hamilton and Dunfermline fans on here for having the nerve to laugh at the idea of Falkirk having a hall of fame.

It wasnt hard but thanks.

So anyway, who you got?
DAFC
chris waddle, john hughes, richard cadete

that should cover all four walls
The Choir Starter
QUOTE (DAFC @ Nov 3 2008, 16:25) *
chris waddle, john hughes, richard cadete

that should cover all four walls

Who's in the Dunfermline one may i ask?
DAFC
I don't think we have one but I would suggest Jock Stein, Alex Ferguson might make it?

The Choir Starter
QUOTE (DAFC @ Nov 3 2008, 16:33) *
I don't think we have one but I would suggest Jock Stein, Alex Ferguson might make it?

Ach we've had Fergie as well. I'll give you Stein. Wasn't his best work though a bit like Jimmy Page in the Yardbirds.

In all seriousness looking back I bet your club wished they honoured Stein in a similar fashion. Latapy will long be revered for his skill and trickery by many fans of Scottish football, so its fair to honour him imo.
DAFC
I like Latapy, only messing about.
I wish I could play that well after smoking 20 fags.
kiddy
QUOTE (DAFC @ Nov 3 2008, 15:33) *

Tam Forsyth, Pat Stanton, Jocky Scott? More famous elsewhere, just like the other two.

Accies have something more akin to an A4 sheet of fame.
Booker_d
So, ANYWAY, who you got? rolleyes.gif

Sam68+1
QUOTE (DAFC @ Nov 3 2008, 15:33) *

John White played for Falkirk before going to Spurs, David Weir, Stuart Kennedy, Andy Roxburgh, Alex Parker, Gary Gillespie, Russell Latapy, Kevin McAllister, Simon Stainrod, all great players. Real club stalwarts like John Markie, George Gibson and Tiger McLaughlan, Wilson Hoggan and Andy Nicol are some of the names that come to mind. The history of every club is a mixture of great players who played for a while and loyal club servants.
kiddy
QUOTE (Sam68+1 @ Nov 3 2008, 15:48) *
John White played for Falkirk before going to Spurs, David Weir, Stuart Kennedy, Andy Roxburgh, Alex Parker, Gary Gillespie, Russell Latapy, Kevin McAllister, Simon Stainrod, all great players. Real club stalwarts like John Markie, George Gibson and Tiger McLaughlan, Wilson Hoggan and Andy Nicol are some of the names that come to mind. The history of every club is a mixture of great players who played for a while and loyal club servants.

You must remember that legends only ever play for the OF. rolleyes.gif
Ned Nederlander
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Nov 3 2008, 15:48) *
So, ANYWAY, who you got? rolleyes.gif

Only a World Record transfer fee biggrin.gif

your turn tongue.gif
Booker_d
QUOTE (Ned Nederlander @ Nov 3 2008, 16:25) *
Only a World Record transfer fee biggrin.gif

your turn tongue.gif

Still not answering the question I see wink.gif
Ned Nederlander
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Nov 3 2008, 17:05) *

I don't actually know who's in yon Falkirk hall of fame...

...and let's face it - each diddy team would have a list of folk the rest of us had never heard of anyhoo, for Falkirk you'd have the likes of Mo Johnston, Alex Ferguson, Kevin Drinkell, Chris Waddle, David Weir, Kasper Schmeichel et al

and for Hamilton you'd have the likes of Colin Miller and that other fella.
Sam68+1
QUOTE (kiddy @ Nov 3 2008, 16:03) *
You must remember that legends only ever play for the OF. rolleyes.gif

Was that legends or leg ends. rolleyes.gif
ShaggerG
QUOTE (Sam68+1 @ Nov 3 2008, 15:48) *

thumbup2.gif
Sam68+1
QUOTE (ShaggerG @ Nov 3 2008, 23:47) *
thumbup2.gif

I met George Gibson and John Markie at one of the dinner dances organised by btb and what a couple of really nice guys they are. I cant remember much of their time at the club but some of the older punters were recalling some of their performances and both of them could hardly speak.

Not often you see such humility in modern day footballers, or am I getting on a bit now as well. tongue.gif
ShaggerG
QUOTE (Sam68+1 @ Nov 4 2008, 11:45) *
I met George Gibson and John Markie at one of the dinner dances organised by btb and what a couple of really nice guys they are. I cant remember much of their time at the club but some of the older punters were recalling some of their performances and both of them could hardly speak.

Not often you see such humility in modern day footballers, or am I getting on a bit now as well. tongue.gif

Both fantastic players but Gibson was my favourite. He never seemed to break sweat. So calm and composed.

I've never met GG but I met Markie at the Millennium dance and, you're right, a nice guy who was very humble.
The Frazzler
Hi,

You'd be better playing the game somewhere else then if it's atmosphere you're looking for.
Senator Frimpton
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Nov 3 2008, 17:05) *

and you could probably add Gary Smith, Andy Gray and Richard Cadette as well as Syd Puddefoot.

I see you're wisely avoiding answering the question...
STUL
QUOTE (Senator Frimpton @ Nov 4 2008, 14:41) *
and you could probably add Gary Smith, Andy Gray and Richard Cadette as well as Syd Puddefoot.

I see you're wisely avoiding answering the question...

You could also add people like Wullie Whigham, Patsy Gallagher, Bert Slater, Evelyn Morrison and Gerry Dawson
Thundermonkey
Jim Jeffries is in the Hall of Fame.
Sam68+1
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Nov 4 2008, 16:44) *
Jim Jeffries is in the Hall of Fame.

So is John Lambie. ohmy.gif
kiddy
QUOTE (Sam68+1 @ Nov 4 2008, 18:49) *
So is John Lambie. ohmy.gif

For his contribution as a player, I think you'll find.
Thundermonkey
QUOTE (kiddy @ Nov 4 2008, 18:52) *
For his contribution as a player, I think you'll find.

Well it wasn't going to be for relegating us ya tramp laugh.gif

You put the Rocket into Rocket Science.
H_B
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Nov 5 2008, 15:28) *

latapythelegend
QUOTE (The Choir Starter @ Nov 3 2008, 15:30) *
Who's in the Dunfermline one may i ask?

er.........Lee Bullen! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
joe pineapples
Are the trinidad and tobago armed forces steel drum band turning up?

they were quality last year in the game where billy mehmet snatched the winner at the end.
The Choir Starter
Here's the official Latapy Day video stick it on your bebo's or whatever get it out there people.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=0JISSemMQo8

I'm trying to sort out a band. The plans are going well so far have half of the funding in place for the massive Latapy top. Thanks to Dennybairn/Steven Hamilton.
SonofCharlie
QUOTE (The Choir Starter @ Nov 5 2008, 22:17) *
Here's the official Latapy Day video stick it on your bebo's or whatever get it out there people.

I'm trying to sort out a band. The plans are going well so far have half of the funding in place for the massive Latapy top. Thanks to Dennybairn/Steven Hamilton.

I used tae be "MadMike" on the Hibeesbounce before i got barred,but any cnut that doesnae love wee Russel, needs tae get skelped,the mo-fo- cnuts! laugh.gif
Ned Nederlander
QUOTE (The Choir Starter @ Nov 5 2008, 22:17) *

That was better than I thought it was going to be ... and although I defended him at he time that vid confirms that Leo Beenhakker is a tit dry.gif
The Choir Starter
QUOTE (Ned Nederlander @ Nov 6 2008, 14:28) *
That was better than I thought it was going to be ... and although I defended him at he time that vid confirms that Leo Beenhakker is a tit dry.gif

Yeah my video making skills have improved and i acquired a few more clips of the wee man. Some great goals in there regardless of who you support.

Yeah Latas was class in his 27 minutes or however long it was.
The Choir Starter
QUOTE (kiddy @ Nov 3 2008, 16:07) *

What about FFC's 'REAL' T&T legend, Denzil. Forgot about him have you?

http://www.falkirkfc.co.uk/club-news/comin...atapy-day-.html wink.gif
Butterfield
QUOTE (The Choir Starter @ Nov 6 2008, 21:50) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Sook the dook, Kiddy! biggrin.gif

Well done choir starter biggrin.gif
kiddy
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Nov 5 2008, 15:28) *

You put the Rocket into Rocket Science.

John Lambie never got us relegated, the players did ya nugget.
Latapy is god
QUOTE (kiddy @ Nov 6 2008, 23:18) *

So if yogi plays shite tactics this year which ends up with us being relegated.

Dont worry guys! it wasnt yogi, it was that Lovell,Arfield,Barr and the rest of the promising youngsters.
Gaz
QUOTE (kiddy @ Nov 6 2008, 22:18) *

That's actually insane.
Russ.
It's definitely a good idea and he certainly deserves it.

However this now means that he'll probably be starting against Hibs sad.gif.
kiddy
There's a big difference between a side that just aren't good enough, and a shower of chancers that were only interested in seeing a manager out of the door, as quickly as possible. Prime example's being the side that Judas Jim was relegated with, first time around, & that which Lambie inherited.