QUOTE (tamthebam @ Nov 3 2008, 17:05)

aye..but who navigated the bus to the hotel? It's Brian's Farm revisited.....
No fair. The receptionist told the driver to 'reverse up the drive' - but if she had ever reversed a big coach in the dark up an unlit roadway with no nice white-painted stones to mark the boundary, she would have mentioned the decorative but inconvenient kink in the drive about 20 feet from the gate.
Tam, you know the City players. Our poor driver got it in the neck BIG style. But in over 30 years of regular bus travel to away games I have
never seen a driver's collection bag so full, with notes as well as coins. It looked like a fecking rugby ball. (And he got us over the Braes of Berriedale in the dark, which is rather more important than a hotel driveway.)
Robbie threatened and tormented Academy, but in the best City team performance of the season he didn't stand out as much as you would expect for a hat-trick scorer. There wasn't a single passenger in the whole side. Barney is 100% correct - Shaun's and Gary's team selection and tactics were the business. Shoot uphill in the first half, run the legs off Wick and let them face the slope in the second half. Jo Caddow and Dougie Gair were gasping for breath when they were substituted, and the last thing Academy needed was Steven Clee coming on for the closing period with blood in his eye.
4-1 was flattering, though. I thought that Wick didn't have the same cohesion in the second half that they did in the second part of the first half, but it was always touch and go. There was a period when WA had three shots cleared off the line in 20 seconds, and if the one which came off the crossbar - and landed a foot behind the line - had been given, it would have been 3-2 with 90 seconds to go and Academy might well have grabbed an equaliser in stoppage time. Clee made it safe, dancing away from a whole load of lunges (at least one of which would have been a straight red if it had connected) then flicking the ball to Jordan Hall who scored an absolute beauty.
How in God's name have Wick Academy won so few matches? They are an excellent side, and those wide men can get behind even a good defence with ease. They play
football, and I hope they will get the rewards they deserve in the Highland League. From a supporter's point of view, Wick Academy on and especially off the park are gentlemen, and even if we had lost I wouldn't grudge the three-figure sum it took to transport me and my two wee neds to the edge of the Arctic Circle.