Full Version: Stirling Uni V Gretna 2008. 8/11/2008
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > East of Scotland League
Pages: 1, 2
gileramv
Just remind me, where do we go for pre match hospitality treatment? The game should be a cracker with both teams playing some good stuff. All in all, should be a great day away. Anyone like to forecast result!!!!!!!!
ray-dale
i dont see this being decided over 90 minutes but hopefully it wont go as far as penalties. as for refreshments there would appear to be several hospitable venues quite close to the university entrance so take your pick ian.
starky
STIRLING TO JUST SHADE IT,I KNOW GRETN A RE GETTING ALL THE PLAUDITS BUT STIRLING HAVE A BIT ABOUT THEM HAVING SEEN BOTH TEAMS AND I KNOW THEY LOST TO TYNIE WHICH SHOULD HAVE NEVER BEEN BUT ITS A ONE OF AND THEY WOULD COME BACK STRONGER
Gretna
QUOTE (gileramv @ Nov 3 2008, 09:38) *
Just remind me, where do we go for pre match hospitality treatment? The game should be a cracker with both teams playing some good stuff. All in all, should be a great day away. Anyone like to forecast result!!!!!!!!

The Meadowpark is the boozer that was recommended the last time we thought we were going there.
Raving On
Gretna's right - the Meadowpark is the best shout. 50 yards up on the Bridge of Allan side of the Uni entrance.

Best of luck to Gretna on Saturday.
RedWeb
QUOTE (Raving On @ Nov 3 2008, 20:25) *

Aye...get stuck right in to those Falkirk loving bassas cool.gif
Gretna
QUOTE (Raving On @ Nov 3 2008, 20:25) *
Gretna's right - the Meadowpark is the best shout. 50 yards up on the Bridge of Allan side of the Uni entrance.

You're the one who recommended The Meadowpark to me on Stirlingalbion.com smile.gif
TEaves
Having played both teams, Gretna should pump Stirling...In my opinion of course
WJR
QUOTE (Gretna @ Nov 3 2008, 20:52) *
You're the one who recommended The Meadowpark to me on Stirlingalbion.com smile.gif

If it's still the same as a few years ago - hoachin' wi' ... would be the description

The Birds and the Bees almost directly opposite the Meadowpark (over the field) but by road back along the road to Stirling (left from the Meadowpark), right at the roundabout and first right again and along to the end of that road on the left hand side also used to be a very good pub.
gileramv
Meadowpark for me, although we wont have much time for a good knees-up as bus does not leave until 10-30. Did not Ann say we were going up Friday night?????
Tony---Have a programme for you from last Saturday. I will bring it along. Sorry about GILERAMV. Thought the TT man would have known, although the white wine seems to take effect pretty quickly.
ChorleyTony
QUOTE (gileramv @ Nov 4 2008, 10:24) *
Tony---Have a programme for you from last Saturday. I will bring it along. Sorry about GILERAMV. Thought the TT man would have known, although the white wine seems to take effect pretty quickly.

gileramv, you've made a pal of mine - the Crewe Alex, programme collecting enthusiast a very happy man. Thanks & see you Saturday.

C'mon Gretna!!!!
gileramv
QUOTE (ChorleyTony @ Nov 4 2008, 13:16) *
gileramv, you've made a pal of mine - the Crewe Alex, programme collecting enthusiast a very happy man. Thanks & see you Saturday.

C'mon Gretna!!!!

Have come by one of those very rare teamsheets as well if you would like it for the Crewe Alex man.
ChorleyTony
QUOTE (gileramv @ Nov 5 2008, 15:58) *
Have come by one of those very rare teamsheets as well if you would like it for the Crewe Alex man.

Am sure he wouldnt say no! C'mon Crewe Alex man - get yourself registered!!!
taffy alex
QUOTE (ChorleyTony @ Nov 5 2008, 19:58) *
Am sure he wouldnt say no! C'mon Crewe Alex man - get yourself registered!!!

Chorley

I've done it!
Rocky85
Any weather updates up there. Looking forward to a great game......!

Raving On
Overcast but it hasn't rained today. I would've thought there would be little danger the game will be off.
pacman
Just managed to get a seat on the bus up.

Looking forward to it!
Gretna2008
Just in case people going to this match are unaware, the kick off has been brought forward to 1.30pm in the event of extra time and penalties!!
gileramv
A super game.Just a pity there had to be a looser today---- well there was no loosers. Both teams played some superb football and were a credit to the EOS league. Gretna 2008 came out winners in extra time with a simply superb goal from David Renyard to make it 3-1. Both teams played a part in a superb game, with no cheating whatsoever. A credit to Scottish Football. Lets have more of this.
ChorleyTony
QUOTE (gileramv @ Nov 8 2008, 22:46) *
A super game.Just a pity there had to be a looser today---- well there was no loosers. Both teams played some superb football and were a credit to the EOS league. Gretna 2008 came out winners in extra time with a simply superb goal from David Renyard to make it 3-1. Both teams played a part in a superb game, with no cheating whatsoever. A credit to Scottish Football. Lets have more of this.

gileramv, I agree with your comments and echo them although I did think at the beginning of the match and for some periods of the 2nd half, that today wasn't going to be our day.

The TT man and I were standing next to Henry, a university undergrad in his 3rd year, who was compiling stats and the match day report for Stirling Uni. He kept us updated throughout with amongst other stats, the free kick count. Apparently Stirling were awarded 17 as opposed to our 1.

Also, it was great to see Gav turning up at the game and making time to go over and speak to everybody. The man was a legend at Gretna and I wish him all the luck in the world at Kilmarnock.
dillinger
QUOTE (ChorleyTony @ Nov 8 2008, 23:42) *
gileramv, I agree with your comments and echo them although I did think at the beginning of the match and for some periods of the 2nd half, that today wasn't going to be our day.

The TT man and I were standing next to Henry, a university undergrad in his 3rd year, who was compiling stats and the match day report for Stirling Uni. He kept us updated throughout with amongst other stats, the free kick count. Apparently Stirling were awarded 17 as opposed to our 1.

Also, it was great to see Gav turning up at the game and making time to go over and speak to everybody. The man was a legend at Gretna and I wish him all the luck in the world at Kilmarnock.

Great to see the boys win, take it, it was a good game? sounds like it.
Gretna
I thought we really struggled yesterday for long spells, especially in the first half, we never really started playing (in my opinion) until Stirling opened the scoring. We came good in the end though and I was impressed with Tony Nicholson once again, superb header to put us 2-1 in front, I hope the BBC cameras caught it ok. We probably done enough to shade it in the end but the Stirling lads are probably the best opposition I've seen so far and they won't be far away come the end of the season. Another good turnout of Gretna fans including one Gavin Skelton.
pacman
Yeah it was great to see Gav at the game. He si a true gentleman. Made his way along the long line of Gretna fans and spoke to every single one of them. Legend.

The game was a good one and fiercly contested. I thought the referee was a bit one-sided though as the young journalist lad proved with his statistics! Some decisions were just unfathomable, especially the one where their defender handled the ball but the ref gave them a free-kick as he said Carmichael had tugged his shirt!

Anyway, a good win against strong opposition and a good day out. The craic on the bus on the way home was fantastic!
gileramv
There were many candidates for MoM award. The scorers seem to get all the plaudits, which they thoroughly deserve, but again we had to withstand some tremendous pressure at times, mainly first half from a very good, organised side. Our usual go to sleep period in second half was missing, so top marks to all concerned on this point. And what about that wonder one handed save from the big man! I certainly thought the supporters lifted the team in extra time and they responded magnificently. The back boys became very vocal which seemed to spur the team on for one last effort. It was well rewarded in the end and I am sure we all appreciated what was achieved. Well done to all. MoM, well lets see what you think? Not one bad performance but my choice would be Curtis Wood, just shading it from Nikki White.
bruno1960
gileramv,your summary of the game was spot on,two good sides going hell for leather,when stirling opened the scoring i didnt think that gretna had it in them to pull it back,a bit of a sickener from a stirling point of view ,but thats football.a couple of points though,the 17 fouls to 1 stats was merited in the game ,as gretna at one stage seemed to kick anything that mooved,you were right they seemed to respond to their support on the line,there was a thread a while ago about the gretna support wanting to make friends in the eosl etc,i found them to be fine ,when there winning,but they dont like it up them,they change completely,some of the stuff coming from the gretna support was shocking,but the game was won and it was back to wanting to be best pals again.no class in my view.but a good footballing side that will be ther e at the end of the seasonalong with stirling
gretnagirl
QUOTE (bruno1960 @ Nov 10 2008, 11:33) *
gileramv,your summary of the game was spot on,two good sides going hell for leather,when stirling opened the scoring i didnt think that gretna had it in them to pull it back,a bit of a sickener from a stirling point of view ,but thats football.a couple of points though,the 17 fouls to 1 stats was merited in the game ,as gretna at one stage seemed to kick anything that mooved,you were right they seemed to respond to their support on the line,there was a thread a while ago about the gretna support wanting to make friends in the eosl etc,i found them to be fine ,when there winning,but they dont like it up them,they change completely,some of the stuff coming from the gretna support was shocking,but the game was won and it was back to wanting to be best pals again.no class in my view.but a good footballing side that will be ther e at the end of the seasonalong with stirling

Great game, didnt hear any bad comments from Gretna fans towards Stirling fans and for once I was sober!!!We were stood by a lady whose son was playing for Stirling uni and there was no comments made.Maybe it was from fans further along the Gretna line.Am really looking forward to next week especially if we have the fabulous GFM 100.4 on the bus going home Ive never laughed so much in a long time!!!
Gretna
QUOTE (gretnagirl @ Nov 10 2008, 10:46) *
Great game, didnt hear any bad comments from Gretna fans towards Stirling fans and for once I was sober!!!We were stood by a lady whose son was playing for Stirling uni and there was no comments made.Maybe it was from fans further along the Gretna line.Am really looking forward to next week especially if we have the fabulous GFM 100.4 on the bus going home Ive never laughed so much in a long time!!!

I was up near the half-way line and no bad comments were audible there either? huh.gif
bruno1960
to say that you never heard anything is unbelievable,the big guy standing down at the corner flag could be heard in edinburgh laugh.gif and what about the nice wee ditty at the end when some of the stirling support were leaving.you probably never heard that either though wink.gif .im no shrinking violet myself ill admit that ,but sat had me biting my tongue

ChorleyTony
I didn't hear any bad language either. We were read the riot act in advance on the Gretna Supporters Society website - that Stirling Uni wouldn't tolerate bringing alcohol into the grounds, drunken or antagonistic behaviour either.

All in all, (as usual smile.gif ) the fans from both sides were very well behaved.

I have to admit the referee came in for some stick when he was making what seemed like very biased decisions against Gretna but that seems to be par for the course really.

My MoM - Curtis Wood.

pacman
QUOTE (bruno1960 @ Nov 10 2008, 12:33) *
to say that you never heard anything is unbelievable,the big guy standing down at the corner flag could be heard in edinburgh laugh.gif and what about the nice wee ditty at the end when some of the stirling support were leaving.you probably never heard that either though wink.gif .im no shrinking violet myself ill admit that ,but sat had me biting my tongue

Really? I was nearer the half-way line and didn't hear anything bad. The odd-swear word and moan at the ref but nothing aimed towards Stirling fans and I'd be very disappointed if that is true. Maybe I was too far away to hear it.

Anyway, MOM? Not sure. Curtis Wood did well. Tony Nicholson took his goals well, the first just sheer determination when closing the keeper down. Renyard's (I think) goal was the icing on the cake. I'd say MOM for me was Whitey. Won everything in the air against some pretty big forwards and was very vocal which kept the lads going.
heedthebaa
QUOTE (ChorleyTony @ Nov 10 2008, 12:45) *
We were read the riot act in advance on the Gretna Supporters Society website - that Stirling Uni wouldn't tolerate bringing alcohol into the grounds, drunken or antagonistic behaviour either.

well tony, the same goes for this saturday. i personally do not like bad language. there will be no Fs, Bs, Cs or Ws tolerated at eyemouth. i especially dont like the lords name taken in vain. as for the carry oot, it will be confiscated on arrival and put in the boot of my car wink.gif
gretnagirl

I was at other end,was on best behaviour,seriously I didnt really hear anything directed at the other fans,heard a few comments shouted at ref though.Missed the song too but to be fair we were stood right at the other end of pitch and Tv cameras were near due to Ron MacGregor being close to us so there wasnt much shouted at all down that end,just a few comments to our own players to shout up.Cant imagine why there should ve been nasty comments both teams did well and it was a fantastic set up there.
bruno1960
pacman,you must be a member of the blind pewgretna supporters club laugh.gif stirling played with one up front and he was 3 ft nothing laugh.gif
Gretna

As I said previously, I heard nothing at the half-way line and as for the 'nice wee ditty' at the end, I was probably on my way back to the car as I never waited for the teams to leave the pitch? I can't even recall who was standing down near the corner flag apart from a certain millionaire?
pacman
QUOTE (bruno1960 @ Nov 10 2008, 13:07) *
pacman,you must be a member of the blind pewgretna supporters club laugh.gif stirling played with one up front and he was 3 ft nothing laugh.gif

Really? Maybe I'm getting myself confused!!! The rain must've been in my eyes or something! Ha. Maybe I was just thinking of your defenders coming up for corners? Or maybe that's exactly why Nikki won everything in the air???

I'll get my coat.
pacman
QUOTE (Gretna @ Nov 10 2008, 13:09) *
As I said previously, I heard nothing at the half-way line and as for the 'nice wee ditty' at the end, I was probably on my way back to the car as I never waited for the teams to leave the pitch? I can't even recall who was standing down near the corner flag apart from a certain millionaire?

New benefactor???

ohmy.gif
Gretna
QUOTE (pacman @ Nov 10 2008, 13:22) *
New benefactor???

ohmy.gif

I doubt we'd go down those lines again, would we?
Gretna2008
QUOTE (Gretna @ Nov 10 2008, 14:26) *
I doubt we'd go down those lines again, would we?

Definately NOT! dry.gif A supporters owned team, however all donations to the Supporters Trust always welcomed wink.gif
fan
QUOTE (bruno1960 @ Nov 10 2008, 11:33) *
found them to be fine ,when there winning,but they dont like it up them,they change completely,some of the stuff coming from the gretna support was shocking,but the game was won and it was back to wanting to be best pals again.no class in my view.but a good footballing side that will be ther e at the end of the seasonalong with stirling

totally agree with that statement I was at the gretna Edinburgh city match a fee weeks back and it was exatly the same. I think the club are tying to combat some of the vile though so well done to them
gretnagirl
QUOTE (fan @ Nov 10 2008, 14:32) *
totally agree with that statement I was at the gretna Edinburgh city match a fee weeks back and it was exatly the same. I think the club are tying to combat some of the vile though so well done to them

From what I was told Edinburgh city s fans were as bad as was their number 9 whose mouth was foul!!!I felt we were well behaved on saturday(I was)and it was a good day.Am looking forward to Edinburgh City returning so I can see for myself what happens as I missed the last game.I dont think the majority of Gretnas fans are bad just passionate at times!!!
gileramv
I am quite amazed to read some of the postings re Gretna fans. I personally did not hear anything out of order. I stayed behind and spoke to a couple of Stirling guys when leaving the pitch. Understandably they were really down and my comments were spoken in good faith. I am sure those guys would back my statement up if asked. I feel some of the comments quite insulting to all the well behaved Gretna fans who travelled up to watch a thoroughly entertaining game.
bruno1960
gileramv,please dont try to play the insulted card,thegretna support ranged from wee guys with jesters hats on to grannies and grandads,iwould not have thought that these people would have come out with anything detrimental.iwas not referring to the support as a whole,but the majority.now if you want to go about with your heads buried in the sand fair enough,what was it said of the 3 wise monkeys ,see no ,hear no,speak no.i would also find it hard to believe that anyone would back up your statement.ill say this for the last time i find it unbeleivable that the 3 or 4 of the posters on here never heard anything.p.s what was your interpritation ofwhy the ref blew early ie the scuffle,
pantaloon
SOUR GRAPES springs to mind tongue.gif
bruno1960
great response pants,why would sour grapes come into it?it was an evenly balanced game that could have went either way.it has nothing to do with the game as a whole,but the conduct of your support.
Rocky85
Great game on saturday, pleasure to watch. Gretna back 4 were immense against one of the best strikers weve come up against. mom Nikki white
pantaloon
QUOTE (bruno1960 @ Nov 10 2008, 16:05) *
great response pants,why would sour grapes come into it?it was an evenly balanced game that could have went either way.it has nothing to do with the game as a whole,but the conduct of your support.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
gretnagirl
QUOTE (gileramv @ Nov 10 2008, 15:19) *
I am quite amazed to read some of the postings re Gretna fans. I personally did not hear anything out of order. I stayed behind and spoke to a couple of Stirling guys when leaving the pitch. Understandably they were really down and my comments were spoken in good faith. I am sure those guys would back my statement up if asked. I feel some of the comments quite insulting to all the well behaved Gretna fans who travelled up to watch a thoroughly entertaining game.

I saw you chatting to the Stirling fans after match and also witnessed you going round the Stirling team too in the bar afterwards.
gileramv
QUOTE (bruno1960 @ Nov 10 2008, 16:53) *
gileramv,please dont try to play the insulted card,thegretna support ranged from wee guys with jesters hats on to grannies and grandads,iwould not have thought that these people would have come out with anything detrimental.iwas not referring to the support as a whole,but the majority.now if you want to go about with your heads buried in the sand fair enough,what was it said of the 3 wise monkeys ,see no ,hear no,speak no.i would also find it hard to believe that anyone would back up your statement.ill say this for the last time i find it unbeleivable that the 3 or 4 of the posters on here never heard anything.p.s what was your interpritation ofwhy the ref blew early ie the scuffle,

Alas, my gambling days are now only a thought from the past bruno1960. You are certainly entitled to your opinion as we all are, but you knew nothing of my after match conversations. As you say(ill say this for the last time) and I too will look forward to our next two matches with you. Yes, I was not the only Gretna supporter who was impressed with your team.
bruno1960
gileramv,who brought up gambling?i did notprofess to know anything about your after match discussions,i propose that we agree to disagree laugh.gif and i look forward to our next meetings,which should produce two good games of football.p.s.ill enlist some of theguys from the pub and turn them into stirling casuals for the trip to everholm laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
gileramv
QUOTE (bruno1960 @ Nov 11 2008, 11:24) *
gileramv,who brought up gambling?i did notprofess to know anything about your after match discussions,i propose that we agree to disagree laugh.gif and i look forward to our next meetings,which should produce two good games of football.p.s.ill enlist some of theguys from the pub and turn them into stirling casuals for the trip to everholm laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Will do bruno1960.