Ever the Optimist
Nov 2 2008, 07:56
Let's start early.
What's going to happen? On yesterdays reported showings we should easily crush Stranraer, but as we all know this is Ayr and things have been known to go horribly wrong on the odd occasion.
I don't think Stranraer are as bad as their results are making them look and I think they have a good shot of avoiding the relegation places, therefore they are going to pick up the odd surprise result, as East Fifers will no doubt tell us.
What does Reid do? Does he leave Stevo on the bench? He did it with Aitken when he was suspended so I would reckon he will do the same with Stevo after yesterdays performance. Is it coincedence that our best two performances of the season have been without one of either Aitken or Stevo?
We are unbeaten in the league at home so far, and come next week I expect us still to hold that record. We are in a run of must win games at the moment, so I reckon 3 points to stay in Ayr
davidkennedyshand
Nov 2 2008, 09:37
Tough one to call.
If we're serious about challenging for a play off spot or the top spot it's simply a must win game.It certainly won't be easy as last time down at Stair Park the scoreline flattered us a bit.Had Gregory Tade not been a total fanny towards the ref the outcome could have been a lot different as he had been causing Campbell and Walker some problems with his pace.
I think Stevo has to be benched as after yesterdays result and performance(from what i've heard) it would be unfair to drop anyone.
If we play like we did yesterday going forward and severely tighten up defensively we've got a chance but the latter is about as likely as our debt being cleared overnight.
Like you say had Tade stayed on the park in our previous meeting then it may well have been a different outcome as he had roasted your defence a couple of times already, including if I remember a contentious disallowed goal.
Ever the Optimist
Nov 2 2008, 11:39
QUOTE (venga1 @ Nov 2 2008, 10:45)

If we play like we did yesterday going forward and severely tighten up defensively we've got a chance but the latter is about as likely as our debt being cleared overnight.
Like you say had Tade stayed on the park in our previous meeting then it may well have been a different outcome as he had roasted your defence a couple of times already, including if I remember a contentious disallowed goal.
I thought Stranraers best play of that game was after you scored. At 2-1 and Stranraer with ten men we were rocking.
davidkennedyshand
Nov 2 2008, 12:00
QUOTE (venga1 @ Nov 2 2008, 10:45)

, including if I remember a contentious disallowed goal.
Yeah the handball.
There were times it looked like we had the 10 men though.
BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!!!!!!
Nov 2 2008, 12:18
If Tade and Mullen play like they did yesterday then they could cause Ayr problems. But Tade needs to keep his cool unlike the last meeting at Stair Park.
Realisticlly though cant see anything but an Ayr win our defence is really poor just now.
Paisley Plumber
Nov 2 2008, 13:13
Seriously considering flying up for this Derby, could be a good one. Stranraer can, as we know, bring on an upset (ref: EF Fife Gretna). I know they have their problems but, I think their pride in a Derby game will lift them and Ayr must treat them with full respect, despite their lowly league position. If Ayr have one of their infamous midfield "Out to Lunch" games then, Stranraer have a good chance of a Fife Gretna type turnover. If Ayr turn up with their business heads on then, 3-1 Ayr.
Clayhole Blue
Nov 3 2008, 12:07
QUOTE (Paisley Plumber @ Nov 2 2008, 13:13)

Seriously considering flying up for this Derby, could be a good one. Stranraer can, as we know, bring on an upset (ref: EF Fife Gretna). I know they have their problems but, I think their pride in a Derby game will lift them and Ayr must treat them with full respect, despite their lowly league position. If Ayr have one of their infamous midfield "Out to Lunch" games then, Stranraer have a good chance of a Fife Gretna type turnover. If Ayr turn up with their business heads on then, 3-1 Ayr.
What is this mysterious 'Gretna type turnover' you're talking about?
Cliche Guevara
Nov 3 2008, 13:38
Winning at Bayview
marf-1870
Nov 3 2008, 18:50
A draw will do.
GoRdY_b
Nov 3 2008, 21:50
Following the Stirling game it's a must win for us if we are to mantain any sort of challenge. By the way, it's only a derby to Stranrank, not us!
No doubt slippers McCatalogue will have his shooting boots on again, always seems to score against us!
loyal-blue
Nov 3 2008, 22:13
TOM HENDRIE
Nov 3 2008, 23:16
So how many fans do we expect stranraer to take up the road ? 250 possibly ?!
blue ayr
Nov 3 2008, 23:34
QUOTE (TOM HENDRIE @ Nov 3 2008, 23:16)

So how many fans do we expect stranraer to take up the road ? 250 possibly ?!
Yes we are bringing our entire home crowd.
Ally's honest man
Nov 4 2008, 10:12
QUOTE (blue ayr @ Nov 3 2008, 23:34)

Yes we are bringing our entire home crowd.
Did you get the puncture sorted on the tandem ( and yes i do see the irony in the post)
shizzlemanizzle
Nov 4 2008, 12:07
I have just checked my horoscope & it says 2-0 to Ayr with Aitken turning in a midfield masterclass & scoring both goals with his chest.
The team that Reid selects for Saturday could be very interesting indeed & as much as I want Stevenson in the team & performing well, it might just do him a wee bit of good to know that he can't walk straight back in.
Clayhole Blue
Nov 4 2008, 12:54
QUOTE (Paisley Plumber @ Nov 2 2008, 13:13)

Seriously considering flying up for this Derby, could be a good one.
It's only a derby to Ayr fans.
Brian Reid = God
Nov 4 2008, 14:01
It's only a derby to Derek Ferguson and his midget brother.
Nov 4 2008, 18:40
100 if lucky
shizzlemanizzle
Nov 4 2008, 19:30
QUOTE (BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!& @ Nov 4 2008, 18:40)

100 if lucky
Goals?
Nov 5 2008, 08:33
QUOTE (shizzlemanizzle @ Nov 4 2008, 19:30)

Goals?

Corners
loyal-blue
Nov 6 2008, 17:14
It's a bit quiet for a "derby" game is it not?
Closer to 200 fans I would say.
blue ayr
Nov 6 2008, 17:46
QUOTE (loyal-blue @ Nov 6 2008, 17:14)

It's a bit quiet for a "derby" game is it not?
Closer to 200 fans I would say.
Not a chance. We are struggling most weeks to get 300 folk along to Stair Park so 200 wont make the journey up the coast. One supporters bus from Stranraer as usual, few folk might make there own way in cars and then the fans from the central belt. All in all it wont be anywhere near 200.
AUFC 1910
Nov 7 2008, 16:04
So, do you think they`ll be any RACIST calls again from Stranny numpties, and will they be aloud out as it will be dark near the end of the game?
Still, it would be nice to have some kind of atmosphere at the ground!!, always a good wee trip and some noise down at your place.
callum-ayr
Nov 7 2008, 20:34
Surprised its not an all ticket affair
blue ayr
Nov 7 2008, 20:36
QUOTE (Padayr @ Nov 7 2008, 19:22)

Come on Paddy, no need to fear the masses! Id be more fearful of they rotten hot dogs!
blue ayr
Nov 7 2008, 20:42
QUOTE (callum-ayr @ Nov 7 2008, 20:34)

Surprised its not an all ticket affair

I bet the Arbroath fans were thinking the same thing last week.
callum-ayr
Nov 7 2008, 21:13
QUOTE (blue ayr @ Nov 7 2008, 20:42)

I bet the Arbroath fans were thinking the same thing last week.

I well we still just abou trebled your home crowd down at stair park
blue ayr
Nov 7 2008, 23:14
QUOTE (callum-ayr @ Nov 7 2008, 21:13)

I well we still just abou trebled your home crowd down at stair park

And so you should. Hardly a great achievement for a town the size of Ayr to have a far larger crowd than Stranraer. Far larger crowd than us but still in the same s*itty league.
TOM HENDRIE
Nov 7 2008, 23:16
Hope Stranraer pump the dirty Ayr cnuts 2 moro
kfcsmithers
Nov 8 2008, 00:18
Hope you guys say a fond farewell to each other as it might not happen next year for different reasons!
Both teams might not get to next season, but we all hope that at least Stranraer get though all their problems.
Maybe ground sharing at Stair Park could be the answer!!
If so all the best.
QUOTE (kfcsmithers @ Nov 8 2008, 00:18)

Hope you guys say a fond farewell to each other as it might not happen next year for different reasons!
Both teams might not get to next season, but we all hope that at least Stranraer get though all their problems.
Maybe ground sharing at Stair Park could be the answer!!
If so all the best.
A 'Kretin' has spoken. It's great coming from someone whose home 'support' is generally outnumbered by the away fans.
Nocturnal Groove
Nov 8 2008, 17:46
We made hard work of that. Should have been easy, 2 nil up but we switched off and let stranraer back into the game, although there is some doubt about the penalty decision that got them back to 2-1.
Came out 2nd half, scored an early goal, should have been easy after that, but again switched off. Glad of the win, but nowhere near good enough performance.
Where was the midfield today? mind u, they never had a chance to get involved with punt punt punt punt punt all game. What a load of SHITE!
GavMan_AUFC_1910
Nov 8 2008, 18:05
Severus Snape
Nov 8 2008, 19:11
Could have been a pumping had United not switched off.
marf-1870
Nov 8 2008, 19:25
Thought we deserved a point. Ayr were realy poor for the team they have. Defence just switched off for each of the goals. Probably could of had about three penalties in the first half, the ref choosing award the softest one.
Nov 8 2008, 19:50
Once again we deserved something from the game but took nothing

were on top for long spells of the game..hut the bar twice..could of had another two penaltys as well as the One Tade scored.
Referee was awful for us got nothing all day.
Defence again let us down badly and if we could defend better think we would take more from important games.
Ayrgirl
Nov 8 2008, 20:00
QUOTE (BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!& @ Nov 8 2008, 19:50)

Once again we deserved something from the game but took nothing

were on top for long spells of the game..hut the bar twice..could of had another two penaltys as well as the One Tade scored.
Referee was awful for us got nothing all day. Defence again let us down badly and if we could defend better think we would take more from important games.
Please tell me you are joking?
We made extremely hard work of that. You were the better team. It looks like your points do not reflect how you play. That said I'll happily accept the points.
Somerset
Nov 8 2008, 20:51
QUOTE (BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!& @ Nov 8 2008, 20:50)

Referee was awful for us got nothing all day.
That is without doubt the most astonishing comment anyone could have made after that game. I seriously hope you are having a giraffe here, with some sort of ironic 'If I say the most ridiculous thing, I'll wind up the Ayr fans' theme going on.
The fact that you got a penalty at all was scandalous. You got three other free-kicks at the edge of the box that were all debatable, yet Tade was allowed to jump at the defenders, with elbows and hands flailing, all afternoon without getting penalised at all. The number 6 should have walked for his hack at Stevenson too.
That said, you were better than I expected, but Ayr played pish and still won. Your defence is awful and your keeper is too small. He'd have saved the first and third if he'd been a bit taller.
loyal-blue
Nov 8 2008, 20:54

The ref was a joke. could have had a couple of penalties in the first half, and your goalie pulled tade down, should have been red!
Severus Snape
Nov 8 2008, 21:08
QUOTE (loyal-blue @ Nov 8 2008, 20:54)

your goalie pulled tade down, should have been red!
My immediate thought was that it was going to be a straight red at the time tbh though I'm sure Fraser Stewart wouldn't have disgraced himself.
Sludden123
Nov 8 2008, 21:27

I glad we managed to take the 3 points today, but the Stranraer fans must be well pissed off that they didn't take something from today game. It's time we killed teams off? but for some mad reason we keep letting teams back into the game. I didn't see the foul for the penalty so I can't comment it, but I'm told it was never a penalty so i'll go with as well.
loyal-blue
Nov 8 2008, 21:34
On the subject of fans, it's a bit much when you can't even go and watch the football, cheer on your team and have a bit of banter with the other fans without being attacked, from
behind!
Shibuya
Nov 8 2008, 21:35
It was never a penalty but the free kick just outside the box in the first half was, I thought, a bit of a stonewall pen.
loyal-blue
Nov 8 2008, 21:38
On that one the linesman was trying to tell the ref it was a penalty! Didn't listen, although we did nearly score from it!
QUOTE (loyal-blue @ Nov 8 2008, 22:34)

On the subject of fans, it's a bit much when you can't even go and watch the football, cheer on your team and have a bit of banter with the other fans without being attacked, from
behind!

They are a bunch of a cretins those that wanted to fight you, one posts on here.
marf-1870
Nov 8 2008, 22:51
QUOTE (loyal-blue @ Nov 8 2008, 21:34)

behind!

Although it is not acceptable, the Stranraer boys brought it on themselfs, boys going on the internet and dishing out abuse what do you expect to happen? Maybe a good thing it happend wise some of them up.
Pit Bits Bits
Nov 8 2008, 22:57

behind!

Here we go again.
Loyal-blue, only a couple of months after branding Ayr fans racists, gets tore into them again.
And Stranraer fans are holier than thou??
Ayrgirl
Nov 8 2008, 22:59

behind!

QUOTE (marf-1870 @ Nov 8 2008, 22:51)

Although it is not acceptable, the Stranraer boys brought it on themselfs, boys going on the internet and dishing out abuse what do you expect to happen? Maybe a good thing it happend wise some of them up.
What happened?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.