Full Version: Worst Scottish Bands Ever!
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The General Nonsense Forum > Top Fives
Pages: 1, 2
mighty meadow
1. TRAVIS
2. DEL AMITRI
3. RUNRIG
4. THE PROCLAIMERS
5. THE FRATELLIS

How could I forget about Hue and Cry???? They go straight into 2nd place and The Fratellis drop out of the top 5.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (mighty meadow @ Nov 1 2008, 20:04) *
1. TRAVIS
2. DEL AMITRI
3. RUNRIG
4. THE PROCLAIMERS
5. THE FRATELLIS

Nonsense.

Well, maybe Del Amitri......

I'd say

Hue & Cry
Wet Wet Wet
The Shamen
The Soup Dragons
Arab Strap
uberman
1 Bis
2 Bay City Rollers
3 Simple Minds
4 Runrig
5 The Bluebells
StewartyMac
Oh aye, I forgot about Bis.
th1stleandr0se
Texas
Danny Wilson
Average White Band
Hue and Cry
and any other mob who played white-eyed soul.

And of course you're right Uberman, a special place for the Bay City Rollers.
johnjag
deacon blue

wet wet wet

texas

texas

texas
wiggam
Wet Wet Wet
Travis
Del Amitri
Bay City Rollers
The Fratellis
The Naitch
QUOTE (uberman @ Nov 1 2008, 20:39) *
1 Bis
2 Bay City Rollers
3 Simple Minds
4 Runrig
5 The Bluebells

I'd go with that list there.
gav-ffc
McDonald brothers x5
Garrowhillclyde
Hue and Cry
Travis
Danny Wilson
Runrig
...and a surprise late entry for the proclaimers, based on their last album.
the_russian
Biffy Clyro and the Fratellis, can I also include the shouty tuneless crap of Talking Heads seeing as the guy is from Dumbarton.
Dr Koop
  1. Franz Ferdinand
  2. Deacon Blue
  3. Del Amitri
  4. Blue Nile
  5. Hipsway
  6. *Horse (bringing up the rear) rolleyes.gif
  7. Texas
  8. Biffy Clyro
  9. *Carol Laula
  10. Love and Money

Ten Scottish acts. If I never hear them again it'll be too soon.

*Seemed to appear in every summer gig your council put on for god knows what reason. dry.gif
uberman
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Nov 2 2008, 00:24) *
Hue and Cry
Travis
Danny Wilson
Runrig
...and a surprise late entry for the proclaimers, based on their last album.

They were bound for number 5 on my list until I remembered the bluebells
pantene proV
1 - Bay City Rollers
2 - El Presidente
3 - The Fratellis
4 - Soup Dragons
5 - Wet Wet Wet

all utter drivel!
the_russian
QUOTE (pantene proV @ Nov 2 2008, 13:28) *
1 - Bay City Rollers
2 - El Presidente
3 - The Fratellis
4 - Soup Dragons
5 - Wet Wet Wet

all utter drivel!

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif What ever happened to them? Complete horseshit they were!
davidkennedyshand
QUOTE (the_russian @ Nov 2 2008, 15:01) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif What ever happened to them? Complete horseshit they were!

Think the guy reformed Gun
staggy4life
Deacon Blue
Wet Wet Wet
Texas
Runrig
Mcdonald Bros (if they count)
Dunning1874
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Nov 1 2008, 20:56) *
Texas
Danny Wilson
Average White Band
Hue and Cry
and any other mob who played white-eyed soul.

And of course you're right Uberman, a special place for the Bay City Rollers.

How dare you sir.
Enigma
QUOTE (uberman @ Nov 1 2008, 21:39) *
1 Bis

QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Nov 1 2008, 21:41) *
Oh aye, I forgot about Bis.

My pals brother in law was in Bis laugh.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Nov 2 2008, 12:01) *
Hipsway & Love and Money

You utter philistine. wink.gif
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Nov 2 2008, 21:00) *
How dare you sir.

OK, I was a bit hasty on that one. I did buy two of their albums after all. It's the faux soul I was going for and they came to mind. I'll substitute Deacon Blue.
th1stleandr0se
  1. Franz Ferdinand
  2. Deacon Blue
  3. Del Amitri
  4. Blue Nile
  5. Hipsway
  6. *Horse (bringing up the rear) rolleyes.gif
  7. Texas
  8. Biffy Clyro
  9. *Carol Laula
  10. Love and Money

Ten Scottish acts. If I never hear them again it'll be too soon.

*Seemed to appear in every summer gig your council put on for god knows what reason. dry.gif

Erm, inclusiveness. And it reminds me of another thread, most appropriately named acts.
Dr Koop
QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Nov 2 2008, 15:08) *
Think the guy reformed Gun

Another gash outfit.
Dr Koop
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Nov 3 2008, 10:08) *
Erm, inclusiveness. And it reminds me of another thread, most appropriately named acts.

I thought of adding the Humpff Family to that but stuck at 10 bands.
Gin and Juice
1. Travis
2. The Fratellis
3. Franz Ferdinand
4. Wet Wet Wet
5. Deacon Blue
Toma_BullyWee
Not one person has listed Glasvegas!?!?!?!
smithers-jones
QUOTE (Gin and Juice @ Nov 3 2008, 12:41) *
1. Travis
2. The Fratellis
3. Franz Ferdinand
4. Wet Wet Wet
5. Deacon Blue

Excellent choice, but I would have Biffy Clyro at no 4 instead of the Wets. Never actually heard them, but I hate them because of their name, almost as bad as the "Grim Northern Social". Whatever happened to that bunch of Motherwell tossers?
football_is_academical
Ill go for any bands involving flutes, drums and marching!
CRM
Deacon Blue
Texas
Travis
Wet Wet Wet
The Fratellis
Francesc Fabregas
[*]Blue Nile

That's mental. Hats is one of the most underrated albums of all time!
pantene proV
QUOTE (Francesc Fabregas @ Nov 3 2008, 15:46) *

Correct!

Hats is heart-breakingly fantastic.
Don Diego De la Vega

QUOTE (pantene proV @ Nov 3 2008, 16:34) *
Correct!

Hats is heart-breakingly fantastic.

Too right
Houstie Hardcore
No1 by a country mile - Hue and Bloody Cry
Wet Wet Wet
Gun
Texas
Runrig

All bloody awful. First four were part of a weedgie conspiracy to kill music in the late 80's. I will never forgive any of them.
Stainrod's Fedora
Travis
Simple Minds
Texas
Biffy Clyro
Runrig
flogelsleftpeg
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Nov 3 2008, 13:48) *
Excellent choice, but I would have Biffy Clyro at no 4 instead of the Wets. Never actually heard them, but I hate them because of their name, almost as bad as the "Grim Northern Social". Whatever happened to that bunch of Motherwell tossers?

The Grim Were Class. smile.gif
Diamonds R 4 EVA
QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Nov 3 2008, 13:48) *

I agree f*ckin hate them but i cant put my finger on why, they just enrage me when i hear the sound puping out and the inevitable(spelling?) barrage or shouting idiots just because the guy has a scottish accent and they can relate?
jupe1407

Totally agree

I downloaded it one night when i was bored. Excellent album.

Anyway, my top five is:

1. Bay City Rollers
2. Del Amitri
3. Travis
4. Pre 1984 Simple Minds
5. Wet Wet Wet
Tombre
1. The Fratellis
2. Glasvegas
3. Franz ferdinand
4. Travis
5. Idlewild

Biffy are good tho, cant undestand why you guys dont like them?

FFCinthearea
Gun (although Billy Sloan gets a granite like erection at the slightest mention of them)
Texas
The Fratellis
Runrig
The Shieldhill Young Defenders
juniorgong
Anyone who said Travis is aff their heid
Günther
The View
The Fratelli's
The Proclaimers
Paulo Natini
Belle & Sebastian
FilthyMack
Spandau Ballet.

They didn't have me fooled.
MC Pee Pants
runrig
deacon blue
wet wet wet
glasvegas
g.u.n.
TheScarf
The Fratellis x 5 - Just f**k off lads eh?
CooCoothenoo
Belle & Sebastian (utter w**k)
The View/The Law/Sergeant
The Fratellis
Speedway
Paolo Nutini
Paisley Plumber
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Nov 2 2008, 21:00) *
How dare you sir.

Agreed Sir, only a daft boy could include the AWB. One of the best bands ever to come out of Scotland IMO.
The Dog
QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Nov 3 2008, 13:48) *

Me neither they are fuckin rank rotten

1. Glasvegas
2. The Silencers
3. Love and Money
4. The Proclaimers (the are pish and i can't believe people like them)
5. The Corries
DJP
QUOTE (Tombre @ Nov 19 2008, 10:32) *
5. Idlewild

BLF
Cant stand Biffy Clyro, saw them live at t in the park, hands down the worst live performance i have ever seen.
Tombre
Seen biffy at t in the park aswell an i thot they were pretty good, not ae best like but i heard alot worse that weekend