Full Version: Poppy Strips
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2
loyalbluebear
so how long does everyone think it will take the fergal o'ffended brigade next week before they show their true colours with their songs about ireland, ira sectarianism etc when their players are wearing poppies to honour the dead british soldiers from armed conflicts

i say the first five minutes

wonder what john reid will have to say about it
seamus
QUOTE (loyalbluebear @ Nov 1 2008, 14:34) *
so how long does everyone think it will take the fergal o'ffended brigade next week before they show their true colours with their songs about ireland, ira sectarianism etc when their players are wearing poppies to honour the dead british soldiers from armed conflicts

Has your keyboard got a stutter, you have just posted this in the original thread why the need for a new one?
loyalbluebear
QUOTE (seamus @ Nov 1 2008, 14:36) *
Has your keyboard got a stutter, you have just posted this in the original thread why the need for a new one?

read both posts daft arse

i made a comment on the other thread, now im starting a debate on what TIME the green orcs will start their songs

if you need anymore help in understanding the question then just ask biggrin.gif
seamus
QUOTE (loyalbluebear @ Nov 1 2008, 14:39) *
read both posts daft arse

i made a comment on the other thread, now im starting a debate on what TIME the green orcs will start their songs

if you need anymore help in understanding the question then just ask biggrin.gif

The other thread would have done.
You love attention eh?

loyalbluebear
QUOTE (seamus @ Nov 1 2008, 14:42) *
The other thread would have done.
You love attention eh?

other thread wouldnt have done, too many tits arguing about other stuff

this one im only looking for people to guess a time mordor's armies start their usual songs about oireland and the IRanAway
patto
We get your a bigot, we get you hate Celtic supporters and more specifically Irish/Catholic ones. The window is that way, why dont you throw your computer out ?
sev

YAWN!!!! Do you ever go out?
Doonhamebear
I wonder what the Green Brigdae (intentional) will make of this?

Does anyone else think that ra sellick will pussy out and wear a white poppy a la GCC?
ChampionsElect
Notsoloyal. Why create threads when you could be spending this time making excuses for not going to games, home games aswell laugh.gif
MC Pee Pants
cant believe you old firm idiots are even making an issue out of this, get the f**k over yourselves, you're both a disgrace to your country.
youroldda

ZZZZZZ.........Do you and Angela not have a BNP meeting to go to tonight?
Centre Stand Hero

You fucking w****r laugh.gif laugh.gif
Dr Koop

Given that the southern Irish are more decorated in battle per head than the northerners, not a lot.
WeAreThePeople
I really couldn't give a f*ck what the manky mhob get up to tomorrow. It was great to see the soldiers on the park today, and hear the song in support put over the tannoy.

Also the renedition of "Rule Britania" as they done the lap of honour. smile.gif

Scottish, British, and Proud. smile.gif
youroldda
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Nov 2 2008, 00:48) *
I really couldn't give a f*ck what the manky mhob get up to tomorrow. It was great to see the soldiers on the park today, and hear the song in support put over the tannoy.

Also the renedition of "Rule Britania" as they done the lap of honour. smile.gif

Scottish, British, and Proud. smile.gif

It was great to see them getting a lap of Honor!

Ps sorry to this disappoint you Mr bigot huh.gif
loyalbluebear
QUOTE (youroldda @ Nov 2 2008, 10:21) *

if the bigot comment was aimed at me then your not disappointing me, im extremely glad of the honouring the soldiers got yesterday and i hope they poppy appeal gets the same reaction next weekend as well

the more celtic fans that respect this rather than oppose it will make it better

kudos to you for respecting it

just a shame that there probably will be some of your fans who will oppose it for no reason other than "its something to do with britain"
Ric
I honestly don't understand why any of you have to take this action completely out of context and turn it into a pissing contest. I would close this one and link to the original thread started in the SPL forum, but what is the point, some people's poisonous minds just can't see the lack of respect they are showing. Does respect mean you should support the move? No respect is knowing when to score points and when some subjects are genuinely independent of any political or religious movement.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (youroldda @ Nov 2 2008, 10:21) *

Yes lap of honour, they are out there dying for country, and we were showing respect to them for doing so.

I spoke to some of the soldiers at the end of the game and that's exactly the wording used.

Lap of Honour. wink.gif
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
I am a slow boy when it comes to bigotry and I can't be bothered reading whats above me (so im an ignorant boy as well.)

What do certain sections of the Celtic support have against the poppies? Is it purely just a Brittish Army vs IRA thing or is there more to it?
caoimhin
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Nov 2 2008, 16:58) *
Yes lap of honour, tb, and we were showing respect to them for doing so.

I spoke to some of the soldiers at the end of the game and that's exactly the wording used.

Lap of Honour. wink.gif

what exactly doe's that mean?do you think the pashtun tribesmen of afganistan were planning on invading britain .or maybe the lads from basra were on their way over when you put a stop to them by invading first.fighting for britain!!!they're helping the americans secure oil pipelines
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE (caoimhin @ Nov 4 2008, 03:22) *
what exactly doe's that mean?do you think the pashtun tribesmen of afganistan were planning on invading britain .or maybe the lads from basra were on their way over when you put a stop to them by invading first.fighting for britain!!!they're helping the americans secure oil pipelines

You can't be saying that about our brave boys, fighting for freedom, these ragheads want to take over Britain don't you know. It's all in the Sun so it must be true. laugh.gif
glasnost
POPPYCOCK

By Bre Abu - Tal Fanzine

When my grandmother passed away in the early 1990s I was going through some old photographs and found a card with the photo of a young soldier with a black ribbon attached. It was addressed to my Great-great grandfather and family from the War Department announcing the death of their son at the Battle of Loos in September 1915. He was aged 19 and conscripted into the Highland Light Infantry.

One year while travelling through France curiosity got the better of me and I visited the Commonweath War Cemetery at Loos and saw his name inscribed on a granite wall. No grave simply buried in a mass pit along with thousands of others.

When i got back to Glasgow I decided to try and find out what actually happened to him and his company in the battle. I visited the regiment's archives, stored in the museum on Sauchiehall Street.

I was given the officer in charge of the 10th Batallion HLI’s diary to read. On the day my great uncle was killed he was sent to attack a train line being held by the Germans. The officers ordered mustard gas to be fired in advance at the German positions. According to the diary, prevailing wind conditions hadn’t been considered and the mustard gas blew back into the faces of the Scottish troops. So there you have it. Chemical weapons and death by friendly fire...in 1915.

Do I feel like contributing to the Earl Haig Fund (to give the organisation behind Poppy Day it's real name) because of this tragedy? Certainly not.

These lions led by donkeys deserve our thoughts and remembrance along with the many other tens of thousands of conscripts slaughtered in Gallipoli and other places the Celt died for Anglo-imperialism. However, I won’t be contributing because nowadays the funds go to VOLUNTEER soldiers who have in my opinion collaborated with the ruling class in the name of imperialism in Korea, Ireland, Iraq and Afghanistan.

Recruitment in Scotland for the Crown forces is at an all time low and jingoism is the order of the day to reverse that trend for the overstretched British military. So now it’s mandatory poppies, minute silences and aggressive recruitment in our schools, colleges and shopping centres.

Remembrance this November should be for the great Scottish Republican Socialist John Maclean who stood in front of huge crowds during the imperialist slaughter of 1914-1918 and called for mutiny amongst the troops and class war. He was jailed several times for sedition and force-fed while on hunger strike. He died an early death in 1923. So on November 30th, the 85th anniversary of his death, remember one man who would never have worn a poppy no matter how much pressure he was under...

John Maclean, the fighting dominie.
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (glasnost @ Nov 4 2008, 16:41) *
the Celt died for Anglo-imperialism.

More on the matter of race. Seems quite important to some of these boys
buttons22
POPPYCOCK

By Bre Abu - Tal Fanzine

When my grandmother passed away in the early 1990s I was going through some old photographs and found a card with the photo of a young soldier with a black ribbon attached. It was addressed to my Great-great grandfather and family from the War Department announcing the death of their son at the Battle of Loos in September 1915. He was aged 19 and conscripted into the Highland Light Infantry.

One year while travelling through France curiosity got the better of me and I visited the Commonweath War Cemetery at Loos and saw his name inscribed on a granite wall. No grave simply buried in a mass pit along with thousands of others.

When i got back to Glasgow I decided to try and find out what actually happened to him and his company in the battle. I visited the regiment's archives, stored in the museum on Sauchiehall Street.

I was given the officer in charge of the 10th Batallion HLI's diary to read. On the day my great uncle was killed he was sent to attack a train line being held by the Germans. The officers ordered mustard gas to be fired in advance at the German positions. According to the diary, prevailing wind conditions hadn't been considered and the mustard gas blew back into the faces of the Scottish troops. So there you have it. Chemical weapons and death by friendly fire...in 1915.

Do I feel like contributing to the Earl Haig Fund (to give the organisation behind Poppy Day it's real name) because of this tragedy? Certainly not.

These lions led by donkeys deserve our thoughts and remembrance along with the many other tens of thousands of conscripts slaughtered in Gallipoli and other places the Celt died for Anglo-imperialism. However, I won't be contributing because nowadays the funds go to VOLUNTEER soldiers who have in my opinion collaborated with the ruling class in the name of imperialism in Korea, Ireland, Iraq and Afghanistan.

Recruitment in Scotland for the Crown forces is at an all time low and jingoism is the order of the day to reverse that trend for the overstretched British military. So now it's mandatory poppies, minute silences and aggressive recruitment in our schools, colleges and shopping centres.

Remembrance this November should be for the great Scottish Republican Socialist John Maclean who stood in front of huge crowds during the imperialist slaughter of 1914-1918 and called for mutiny amongst the troops and class war. He was jailed several times for sedition and force-fed while on hunger strike. He died an early death in 1923. So on November 30th, the 85th anniversary of his death, remember one man who would never have worn a poppy no matter how much pressure he was under...

John Maclean, the fighting dominie.

Shame, you actually showed real promise

Why do you really need to bring politics into this?

I wonder how your grandmother would have felt about the poppy appeal or even your great grandmother.
Millfield Marksman
It was addressed to my Great-great grandfather and family from the War Department announcing the death of their son at the Battle of Loos in September 1915. He was aged 19 and conscripted into the Highland Light Infantry.

However

As the issue of manpower came to the forefront of Parliamentary Debate in 1914, many men from a cross section of society volunteered for active service, including members of staff of both Houses of Parliament. However, it wasn't until the Military Service Act of 1916 that conscription was introduced.

Hmm.
No8.
An Irish Republican telling untruths about the British Army...Would've have thought it laugh.gif

Wear your White Poppy Glasnost along with the likes of your 'friend' Mystic it suits cowardly b*****ds like you!!
LordHawHaw

QUOTE (No8. @ Nov 4 2008, 17:25) *
An Irish Republican telling untruths about the British Army...Would've have thought it laugh.gif

Wear your White Poppy Glasnost along with the likes of your 'friend' Mystic it suits cowardly b*****ds like you!!

I think a white poppy is an excellent idea, no more wars rather than celebrating the carnage.
No8.
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Nov 4 2008, 17:26) *
I think a white poppy is an excellent idea, no more wars rather than celebrating the carnage.

Nobody is celebrating carnage though but you know this and are at the wind up...i am not biting tongue.gif
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE (buttons22 @ Nov 4 2008, 16:48) *
I wonder how your grandmother would have felt about the poppy appeal or even your great grandmother.

What difference does it make what someones grand parent thought of the poppy appeal.

QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Nov 4 2008, 17:26) *

link
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (No8. @ Nov 4 2008, 17:31) *
Nobody is celebrating carnage though but you know this and are at the wind up...i am not biting tongue.gif

I read something about how does yer granny feel about poppies, I was reading about the first world war rent riots a few weeks ago, when it boils down to it ordinary people are cannon fodder, maybe less so nowadays but that what we are. This celebration is pointless imo
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Centre Stand Hero @ Nov 4 2008, 17:33) *

I've seen that before, a few quid for oxfam is slightly less meaningless
bunsen
poppys

mad.gif
whos the bigots
Pink Freud
QUOTE (bunsen @ Nov 6 2008, 15:27) *
poppys

mad.gif
whos the bigots

To be honest, most of the posts on there seem pretty balanced. Obviously you get the dickheads who would spit on a British soldiers grave, but I was pleasantly surprised by the number of reasonable posters.
KnightswoodBear
tbf it is a totally voluntary thing. I wear one because my grandfather told me stories about the friends that he lost during the war and it always stuck with me, but just because I do I'm not going to berate someone for not doing it.

Beyemystic
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Nov 4 2008, 17:35) *
I read something about how does yer granny feel about poppies, I was reading about the first world war rent riots a few weeks ago, when it boils down to it ordinary people are cannon fodder, maybe less so nowadays but that what we are. This celebration is pointless imo

It boils down to a sort of "gawd bless yer marm" fawning.

We have numpties turning up at these things in London literally weighed down under a breast full of medals which they did nothing to earn. Meanwhile cloying numpties arrive in their droves to apply slurping kisses to these parasites' backsides - parasites who would have been on the first boat to Canada had their cousins the Germans ever landed.
H_B
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 6 2008, 15:48) *
parasites who would have been on the first boat to Canada had their cousins the Germans ever landed.

Or perhaps Ireland.
bunsen
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 6 2008, 15:48) *
It boils down to a sort of "gawd bless yer marm" fawning.

We have numpties turning up at these things in London literally weighed down under a breast full of medals which they did nothing to earn. Meanwhile cloying numpties arrive in their droves to apply slurping kisses to these parasites' backsides - parasites who would have been on the first boat to Canada had their cousins the Germans ever landed.

how the f**k they our cousins then
fucking numpties they fought for our freedom ya fucking tramp
i done 2 tours in northern ireland you think im weighed down with medals and im a numpty you sad c**t
c***s like you make so fucking angry f**k aw to do with religion as yous aw seem to think young guys going out to defend there country against the nazis so there numpties for doing that
KnightswoodBear
QUOTE (bunsen @ Nov 6 2008, 15:54) *
i done 2 tours in northern ireland you think im weighed down with medals and im a numpty you sad c**t
c***s like you make so fucking angry f**k aw to do with religion as yous aw seem to think young guys going out to defend there country against the nazis so there numpties for doing that

Not that I would normally stick up for him, but I believe he was referring to the Royal family.

I may be wrong tho
bunsen
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Nov 6 2008, 15:58) *
Not that I would normally stick up for him, but I believe he was referring to the Royal family.

I may be wrong tho

couldnt give 2 fucks mate to be honest hes a fucking bigot f**k and it shines oot the twat hope that helps f**k him
Beyemystic

Actually I meant the Royals.

But its cretins like you going all over the world inflicting your "duty" on people which is the problem. Just so as you curry favour in the eyes of these idiots.

Somebody once said that socialism never took of on these shores because the Brits do as they're told without even having to be told. That seems to extend so far as people saying "thanks for letting us die by the thousands in the trenches". Even as these poor deluded wretches were being shot down they were probably tugging their forelocks.
myshkin

Point missed. Very badly missed at that.
Centre Stand Hero

Calm down my you're highly strung, you having trouble adjusting to civilian life? laugh.gif
Pink Freud
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 6 2008, 16:06) *
Somebody once said that socialism never took of on these shores because the Brits do as they're told without even having to be told. That seems to extend so far as people saying "thanks for letting us die by the thousands in the trenches". Even as these poor deluded wretches were being shot down they were probably tugging their forelocks.

laugh.gif Just like the Workers' Republic of Eire, right Plastic? You're getting beyond parody now.

Your hatred for the British establishment now morphs into contempt for the working class. What a prize despot you would be.
HibeeJibee
Remembrance Sunday is not about celebrating wars, neither is it only about commemorating British war dead. It's about respecting the fallen of all conflicts since 1914. That shouldn't be a problem to Celtic fans, or anyone else. Mark it personally to the fallen dead of Irish conflicts, if you really must.
Pink Freud
QUOTE (HibeeJibee @ Nov 6 2008, 18:54) *
Remembrance Sunday is not about celebrating wars, neither is it only about commemorating British war dead. It's about respecting the fallen of all conflicts since 1914. That shouldn't be a problem to Celtic fans, or anyone else. Mark it personally to the fallen dead of Irish conflicts, if you really must.

What was it you said about logic and facts on the other thread? Nice try, by don't hold your breath for the acknowledgment.
bunsen
Actually I meant the Royals.

But its cretins like you going all over the world inflicting your "duty" on people which is the problem. Just so as you curry favour in the eyes of these idiots.

doing my duty aye i fucking did and am very proud to have served my queen and country
and ill be out on sunday with my medals on which i earned doing my "duty"
so get it up ye

and ajusting very well to life out mate been out for 17 year now you should try getting oot the house ya twat
Convenor
Even as these poor deluded wretches were being shot down they were probably tugging their forelocks.

..and what do you base this on?

My grandfather was a professional footballer with Third Lanark when he was called up to fight in World War 2. Do you think he wanted to give that up to go off to a foreign land to get shot at? Did he f***! He had no choice. Another reason he didn't want to go was he never knew his own father because he was killed, aged 26, in World War 1. He didn't want my father to go through the same thing but he went off to war anyway, did what he had to do, and luckily he survived

Nobody is celebrating any war, just remembering folk that died. Stop being a despicable w****r and get a grip of yourself
Beyemystic
QUOTE (Pink Freud @ Nov 6 2008, 18:53) *
laugh.gif Just like the Workers' Republic of Eire, right Plastic? You're getting beyond parody now.

Your hatred for the British establishment now morphs into contempt for the working class. What a prize despot you would be.

Contempt for the working class? Quite the opposite.

I don't think they should have been put through the mincer in the "service" of capitalism and a handful of inbred mutants. That goes for the ordinary German punters too who doubtless tugged their own forelocks just as furiously to another, closely related, set of inbred Teutonic mutants.

QUOTE (HibeeJibee @ Nov 6 2008, 18:54) *

Let's respect them by trying to eliminate more needless deaths then.
chico
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 6 2008, 20:22) *
inbred Teutonic mutants.

what a terrible way to describe herr ratzinger and his posse running the vatican.
Pink Freud
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Nov 6 2008, 20:22) *
Contempt for the working class? Quite the opposite.

I don't think they should have been put through the mincer in the "service" of capitalism and a handful of inbred mutants. That goes for the ordinary German punters too who doubtless tugged their own forelocks just as furiously to another, closely related, set of inbred Teutonic mutants.

No one does. Rememberance Sunday, for me, is part of that.

Let's respect them by trying to eliminate more needless deaths then.

For once we agree. However, I can't see why the two are mutually exclusive. Quite the opposite in fact.