Full Version: * Please Read * P&b Statement On Religious Prejudice *
The Pie Shop > Pie and Bovril Notes & Announcements > Pie and Bovril Official Announcements
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Div
There has been much comment in the media, and indeed on these forums, in recent weeks about the use of religious prejudice in Scottish Society, and of particular relevance to us on this forum, where this seeps into the fabric of our favourite national sport.

To clarify the position in Scots Law with regard the use of religious prejudice note the following revised sections of Scots Criminal Law;

Section 74 (2) specifies that an offence is aggravated by religious prejudice if;

A. at the time of committing the offence or immediately before or after doing so, the offender evinces towards the victim (if any) of the offence, malice or ill-will based on the victim's membership (or presumed membership) of a religious group, or of a social or cultural group with a perceived religious affiliation; or

B. the offence is motivated (wholly or partly) by malice and ill-will towards members of a religious group, or of a social or cultural group with a perceived religious affiliation, based on their membership of that group.

In real terms these offences do not need to be verbal. They apply to written form as well and of course this affects Pie and Bovril members. You can see a real life example of the sort of thing that can happen by reviewing this recent article which reports on an offender being charged with committing a "racially aggravated breach of the peace" for wearing a t-shirt which had the words "dirty horrible huns" written on it.

Thus, in order to protect ourselves, and you our members, I thought it necessary to eliminate any grey areas which currently exist in the forum policy.

With immediate effect the use of religiously prejudicial terms including but not limited to terms like "hun", "tim", "taig", "dhim", "fenian" and the like will not be tolerated on these forums. We will use a filter to catch most of these terms before they are posted however we are aware that a large number of ways exist to circumvent that filter so for clarification any posts made that include these sorts of terms, and any posts made which indicate a religious prejudice on the forum will be removed by the moderators and the posters issued with warnings.

Further subsequent warnings will result in a permanent ban from the board.

Similarly if we are approached by any criminal authority relating to any post made on the board we will provide IP and email details to assist with any investigation that arises as a result of any post made on the board.

If you see a post on the forum you are unhappy with and you think contravenes this policy please raise it via the complaints forum and it will be dealt with as quickly as we can. Remember we have several thousand posts made here every day and it is impossible for us to read and approve every one. Self policing will help us make the forum a better place to be.

Please treat this policy with respect, enjoy Pie and Bovril, enjoy the banter with your fellow football fans, but don't bring religious prejudice onto the forums of P&B.

Thank you for your time.
RiG
I expect to see Beyemystic in a huff in the not to distant future...
the_russian
Can you still say hunter?

Edit, yes... yes you can.

I thought it would maybe be like Scunthorpe or Swankie.

Edit again.... like Scunthorpe and Swankie when they used to get part censored...
Ric
QUOTE (the_russian @ Oct 31 2008, 13:16) *
Can you still say hunter?

I don't think it's a case that the "ban" on these words can be worked around, that's just a simple spoiler to stop accidental use, but it is a clear indication of the action we will take if people continue to push the matter.
lzreid
Can we have our other sweary words back then please?

I especially miss 'f**k'.
doulikefish
any chance of a list of words that we are not allowed to use,so theres no confusion
cheers

Frank Booth
QUOTE (lzreid @ Oct 31 2008, 14:27) *
I especially miss 'f**k'.

A £20 note tied to your chopper in the Blythswood area will satiate your desire.

Oh, and you can still type fuck as long as you're bold enough.
lzreid
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Oct 31 2008, 14:36) *
A £20 note tied to your chopper in the Blythswood area will satiate your desire.

Oh, and you can still type f**k as long as you're bold enough.

sad.gif I can't do it.
Skinto McGinto
Posted this on B&W Army...

It's the sign of the times in Scotland. Going back to either a draconian Calvinist regime for drink and intolerance, or one of Political Correctness.

The actual change in the law should not and does not mean that some of the simple phrases relating to the fucking Gruesome Twosome are banned. It's how you interpret them - both the terms in question AND the recent change in law - and in the case in question mentioned in Div's first post, all about the stupidity of a sheriff in the case of a stupid Green sympathiser wearing a t-shirt on the wrong day, in the wrong place. The sentence will be quashed, I'll bet.

Div, I understand that you want to ensure that all of the forums (here and P&B) are "protected" and don't bring any undue attention. However, I don't believe that this stance is the way to go.

I mean, I cannae see Follow Follow or Kerrydale St forums applying the same logic. Admittedly, there's also no fucking way I'd post on either of those forums, as I'm not a knuckle dragger. But it does seem as if you're trying to please a minority of posters on P&B and applying the same rules here.

Zero Tolerance causes more problems than it's worth. Does this mean that we cannot mention historical things like Attilla the Hun's battles? Or the LSD guru Tim O'Leary? Are these terms (as in, actual names) sectarian? If not, why are these words being blocked?

/rant
diamonds2002
Should we have a competition to come up with a P&B derogatory term for Rangers and Celtic fans?
stevenston saint
QUOTE (Skinto McGinto @ Oct 31 2008, 14:46) *
Admittedly, there's also no fucking way I'd post on either of those forums, as I'm not a knuckle dragger.

QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Oct 31 2008, 14:52) *
Should we have a competition to come up with a P&B derogatory term for Rangers and Celtic fans?

There's the first entry.
lzreid
QUOTE (Skinto McGinto @ Oct 31 2008, 14:46) *
Posted this on B&W Army...

It's the sign of the times in Scotland. Going back to either a draconian Calvinist regime for drink and intolerance, or one of Political Correctness.

The actual change in the law should not and does not mean that some of the simple phrases relating to the fucking Gruesome Twosome are banned. It's how you interpret them - both the terms in question AND the recent change in law - and in the case in question mentioned in Div's first post, all about the stupidity of a sheriff in the case of a stupid Green sympathiser wearing a t-shirt on the wrong day, in the wrong place. The sentence will be quashed, I'll bet.

Div, I understand that you want to ensure that all of the forums (here and P&B) are "protected" and don't bring any undue attention. However, I don't believe that this stance is the way to go.

I mean, I cannae see Follow Follow or Kerrydale St forums applying the same logic. Admittedly, there's also no fucking way I'd post on either of those forums, as I'm not a knuckle dragger. But it does seem as if you're trying to please a minority of posters on P&B and applying the same rules here.

Zero Tolerance causes more problems than it's worth. Does this mean that we cannot mention historical things like Attilla the ***'s battles? Or the LSD guru *** O'Leary? Are these terms (as in, actual names) sectarian? If not, why are these words being blocked?

/rant

I agree with most of this. I have no problem with political correctness and I believe that zero tolerance should be applied to the kind of bigotry which is prevalent in our culture.

The problem we now have is that the fans of clubs who are in a position of power are dictating the phrases the rest of us can use use to describe them. Those of us who have watched our teams and our sport suffer from the presence of the bigot brothers in scottish football are having even the little pleasures taken away. Namely, the ability to wind up their fans a wee bit.

It's also worth noting that many of the things we call them names for are in fact a choice they have made. ******ism is not just about catholicism, it is about political beliefs that people have chosen to accept. Hunnery - in scottish parlance rather than as a descriptor of Hanoverians - is exactly the same.

Do we now claim that those who are mocked for their own free choices are to be afforded the same level of protection as those who are mocked for innate characteristics? We actually seem to be giving them more, I see no protection for people suffering mental illness or learning difficulties for example.

Homophobia is another example, it is rampant throughout Scottish football and is prevalent on this board but I've heard not an official peep about it.

In this instance, it appears that we are once more pandering to the whining children that make up so much of the Old Firm's support.

Edit - half a sentence was not typed and I forgot the last sentence.
Beyemystic
QUOTE (RiG @ Oct 31 2008, 12:24) *
I expect to see Beyemystic in a huff in the not to distant future...

Actually more genuine incredulity than huff.

Since I've been warned, banned and placed into a 'sin bin' for "undermining the moderation team" on numerous occasions previously, I shall limit my response to two words:

"baby" "bathwater"
Jim Pansy
My only comment is *** Sherwood has a thunderous shot.
Xbass Threepwood
To be honest, this seems a little over the top! Still, I shall enter into the spirit of it. and self censor myself! It only takes a little ***e to do so, although I might have to do it ***dreds of ***es. Still, its better than someone saying *** or *** in an offensive manner!

Will you be censoring the use of the words "home" "over" "famines" "why" "go" "don't" "you"?
The Phoenix
Can you still call a fit bird a wee hunny? unsure.gif

Edit: Apparently you can. biggrin.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (The Phoenix @ Oct 31 2008, 16:47) *
Can you still call a fit bird a wee hunny? unsure.gif

Sorry old ***er, you can only call her a wee ***ny now!

Edited to add, what happened to our swear filter div? You took it off for us platinum types. Did you put it back? sad.gif
The Phoenix
QUOTE (xbl @ Oct 31 2008, 16:47) *
Sorry old ***er, you can only call her a wee ***ny now!

Looking on the bright side, I've no need for ***otei Shampoo.
diamonds2002
What about old Atilla the *** is he to written out of history
The Phoenix
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Oct 31 2008, 16:53) *
What about old Atilla the *** is he to written out of history

Yip, apparently he failed to renew his season ticket. sad.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (The Phoenix @ Oct 31 2008, 16:59) *
Yip, apparently he failed to renew his season ticket. sad.gif

Probably would have cost him ***dreds of pounds to do so. ph34r.gif
The Phoenix
http://www.hunschool.org/

Words fail me.

Edit to add: Although I do love the second drop down tab. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (The Phoenix @ Oct 31 2008, 17:04) *
http://www.hunschool.org/

Words fail me.

Edit to add: Although I do love the second drop down tab. laugh.gif laugh.gif

laugh.gif Good spot!

Bunch of ****!
LordHawHaw
Knee jerk reaction, but understandable kickback from the pressure being put on Racist FC smile.gif
JUMPURS
I assume a 3 letter acronym for an [unclean] [colour between red and yellow], [who's parents where not married] is also not allowed?
Ayrgirl
Goodness first Rangers get scripts changed at Corrie and now the OF are determining what can be posted on this forum. Should we just go the whole hog and submit our posts to any OF poster to make sure it meets with their approval prior to pressing submit?

Fucks sake
H Wragg
McBoob for Prime Minister! wink.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Hootie McBoob @ Oct 31 2008, 19:33) *
Goodness first Rangers get scripts changed at Corrie and now the OF are determining what can be posted on this forum. Should we just go the whole hog and submit our posts to any OF poster to make sure it meets with their approval prior to pressing submit?

Fucks sake

Could you remove that first sentence and the sweary words please, thanks smile.gif
seamus
Would I be in trouble if I said you are nothing but a church of scientology b'stard to anyone? huh.gif
LovaMan Bairn
QUOTE (seamus @ Oct 31 2008, 20:54) *
Would I be in trouble if I said you are nothing but a church of scientology b'stard to anyone? huh.gif

Right! That's you reported! mad.gif

Click to view attachment

tongue.gif
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Erm... so how does this impact on those of use who pay £10 a year and who were wooed with a promise of no swear filter....

c**t
b*****d
f**k
fanny
dick
Queens Park
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Oct 31 2008, 22:16) *
Erm... so how does this impact on those of use who pay £10 a year and who were wooed with a promise of no swear filter....

c**t
b*****d
f**k
fanny
dick
Queens Park

Pretty badly then.

I'll look forward to the part-refund and there is f**k all chance of me parting with anything next year!
Well done Div in alienating your loyal customers!
seamus
QUOTE (LovaMan Bairn @ Oct 31 2008, 22:13) *
Right! That's you reported! mad.gif

Click to view attachment

tongue.gif

Feck John travolta and all he stands for.
Butterfield
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Oct 31 2008, 22:19) *
Pretty badly then.

I'll look forward to the part-refund and there is f**k all chance of me parting with anything next year!
Well done Div in alienating your loyal customers!

If that's the only reason you joined the platinum club then you're either an idiot, or have a shocking vocabulary. Div hasn't alienated his loyal customers, only a walloper like you! laugh.gif ph34r.gif
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
QUOTE (Fitzwallace @ Oct 31 2008, 22:22) *

If that's the only reason you joined the platinum club then you're either an idiot, or have a shocking vocabulary. Div hasn't alienated his loyal customers, only a walloper like you! laugh.gif ph34r.gif

Oh dear, I should have expected invective from the arse lickers.

To clarify, I didn't join for the swear filter although I did enjoy the benefits of having it. My main reason for joining was to support the site as I really enjoy posting here and I hope to remain posting here despite of no longer being a platinum member (my posts are mostly on the Division 3 forum, because that's what I know). However, I do feel Div has got this decision wrong and therefore I need to express that.

As for being a walloper... well you don't know me and I daresay never will. I'll leave you to your misinformed opinion and console myself that I'm not a neighbour from hell from Rutherglen Main St whose brother was a mainstay in failed pop band The Ronelles - dangerous thing yon internet I'm sure you'll agree
Exuberant
Complete over-reaction in my opinion.
Div
Just for clarification, all Platinum members had their right to bypass the filter revoked earlier today and this was clearly posted in the Platinum Members area of the forum together with an offer of a pro-rate refund if any Platinum member wishes to return to Gold status.
Andyboy
Is *** a religious term? Seriously?
Beyemystic
Just for clarification, is 'the old firm' in itself not a social/cultural group with presumed religious affiliations?

Since it supposedly consists of an amalgam of two such groups.

Also, are we allowed our official club nickname, "bhoys", or does the errant 'h' render it religiously prejudicial? (Presumably that is what's wrong with "*****s"?)

edit: "d,h,i,m,s"
uni
Sorry but am i missing something here?

*** is not bad. we are called sheep shaggers and we dont care. Beasialty is a serious thing to be accoused of.

Will you stop people saying ' fenion, arab, bawbag' where will you draw the line?
Div
QUOTE (uni @ Oct 31 2008, 23:35) *
Where will you draw the line?

We don't draw the line, the line is drawn for us.

Would you go to court to defend your right to use these terms ?
Butterfield
QUOTE (uni @ Oct 31 2008, 23:51) *
i think it is wrong to censor us!

We live in a democracy. This isn't democracy. If I can be called a sheep shagger by a Rangers fan then why can't i call him a h u n? Have some bottle, stick it to the man. Who draws up these 'laws'. They are clearly Rangers fans.

Tell them to go and f**k themselves.

F U C K the H U N S. What are these Communists going to do to me?

Go to court about it then, bawbag
Ayrgirl
F U C K the H U N S. What are these Communists going to do to me?

At a guess ban you wink.gif

It is Div's site so therefore he can change the rules concerning the forum if he feels the need.
Div
What are these Communists going to do to me?

Stop you posting on the forum ?
Xbass Threepwood
We live in a democracy. This isn't democracy. If I can be called a sheep shagger by a Rangers fan then why can't i call him a h u n? Have some bottle, stick it to the man.

While I do agree with you about the unfairness, as you said, this isn't a democracy. This is Divs private fiefdom. So really, what he says goes, no matter how unhappy we are with it!
Ric
This isn't democracy.

You are quite right, this isn't a democracy, it's a private website run by an individual that puts in a lot of work just so you can spend some time chatting about football. Is it so bad to ask you to adhere to rules laid down? You aren't "fighting the system" by trying to get round the censor on here, all you are doing is fighting P&B.

Do you go round to your friends house then trash it because his mother doesn't want you to swear?
craigkillie
I'll be raging if I can't talk freely about Tim Clancy now that he's back from injury.

Apart from that, this makes absolutely no difference to me, and I'm sure it will be the same for hundreds of other posters.

EDIT: Good news. I won't have to think of ways to circumvent the filter just to talk about our Irish right-back.
The Arch
One benefit is that I can say I hate the ****, and both sides of the sectarian coin will be offended.
djn
Is bjk on the banned list?
djn
QUOTE (Mr Cadbury's Parrot @ Nov 1 2008, 09:24) *
Is bjk on the banned list?

Clearly not.

If we're outlawing petty insults, then IMHO bjk ought to be banned too, along with a few others...