Full Version: Ardrossan V Bo'ness
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Junior Football
Jambo'ness
Totally new territory this weekend.

Any decent bars to visit? Especially ones that supply good food.

Getting there before the full double-decker arrives, trying to make a day of it by the seaside. smile.gif
David Murdoch
QUOTE (Jambo'ness @ Oct 30 2008, 13:33) *

Getting there before the full double-decker arrives, trying to make a day of it by the seaside. smile.gif

Well dont go to ardrossan then. The town is a dump of the highest order. They aare doin a bit of work by the harbour . But the rest of the town is like downtown baghdad laugh.gif . As for pubs and good food go to saltcoats as there is a few decent places there sullivans or the salt cot are ok
stevenston saint
QUOTE (David Murdoch @ Oct 30 2008, 16:52) *
Well dont go to ardrossan then. The town is a dump of the highest order. They aare doin a bit of work by the harbour . But the rest of the town is like downtown baghdad laugh.gif . As for pubs and good food go to saltcoats as there is a few decent places there sullivans or the salt cot are ok

Coming from someone that lives in Kilbirnie,that statement is priceless.

The Salt Cot and decent shouldn't be used in the same sentence,i would stick with your first option.The flask is good as well.
David Murdoch
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Oct 30 2008, 17:02) *
Coming from someone that lives in Kilbirnie,that statement is priceless.

The Salt Cot and decent shouldn't be used in the same sentence,i would stick with your first option.The flask is good as well.

Sorry . Havent been to the cot for a while rolleyes.gif An did a say anythin bout kilbirnie . Just givin ma oponion of ardrossan. An stayin in stevenson does the saying people in glass houses no spring to mind?????????
ardeerjoe
Try this for a flavour of Ardrossan :
http://www.geocities.com/lordeglinton/canon300.html
It's also been a finalist in Carbunkle of the Year.
To be fair, some effort has been made recently on the harbourfront.
stevenston saint
QUOTE (David Murdoch @ Oct 30 2008, 17:21) *
Sorry . Havent been to the cot for a while rolleyes.gif An did a say anythin bout kilbirnie . Just givin ma oponion of ardrossan. An stayin in stevenson does the saying people in glass houses no spring to mind?????????

Exactly my point. wink.gif

Just for the record,i live in the nice bit. biggrin.gif

P.S Nice easy tie for the Ladeside against Darvel.

Auld Heid
QUOTE (Jambo'ness @ Oct 30 2008, 13:33) *

Hope you have registered your Bus with the committee, my colleague was showing me an article in the local paper about unregistered buses being turned back by the Police. Because of the notoriety of some of your lesser educated fans behaviour in previous years. Hopefully this won't be a blight on Bo'ness again this year and that the fans who go are a credit to their club. Sad that a Junior club has gained a reputation of this nature - there is no place for this in football.
Jambo'ness
QUOTE (Auld Heid @ Oct 31 2008, 11:27) *
Hope you have registered your Bus with the committee, my colleague was showing me an article in the local paper about unregistered buses being turned back by the Police. Because of the notoriety of some of your lesser educated fans behaviour in previous years. Hopefully this won't be a blight on Bo'ness again this year and that the fans who go are a credit to their club. Sad that a Junior club has gained a reputation of this nature - there is no place for this in football.

Pretty sure it will have been registered.

The supporters bus seems a much better run thing now. For a start it's members only getting on the bus.

The problem, as it is for every club, is those who may hire a mini-bus for the express reason of causing trouble.

Don't foresee it though, mind the place does look a dump. Even makes Lithgae look pretty. tongue.gif
Auld Heid
QUOTE (Jambo'ness @ Oct 31 2008, 10:48) *
Pretty sure it will have been registered.

The supporters bus seems a much better run thing now. For a start it's members only getting on the bus.

The problem, as it is for every club, is those who may hire a mini-bus for the express reason of causing trouble.

Don't foresee it though, mind the place does look a dump. Even makes Lithgae look pretty. tongue.gif

Hope your right
David Murdoch
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Oct 31 2008, 10:16) *
Exactly my point. wink.gif

Just for the record,i live in the nice bit. biggrin.gif

P.S Nice easy tie for the Ladeside against Darvel.

Aye it should be. Is there such a thing as a nice bit in stevenson? laugh.gif laugh.gif
stevenston saint
QUOTE (David Murdoch @ Oct 31 2008, 12:18) *
Aye it should be. Is there such a thing as a nice bit in stevenson? laugh.gif laugh.gif

Like the Salt cot,you obviously haven't been for a few years.I actually know a few people who have moved down from Kilbirnie to better themselves. cool.gif
HighstRose

Sounds like Boness will be playing at home wink.gif
RoryFice
Ardrossan does indeed have a shortage of decent places to go. As said previously, almost all the decent bars/pubs in the three towns are in Saltcoats. If you need good food then Winton Park does do a pretty good pie (way better than the "iced" pies of Ardeer infamy). I think the pubs nearest the ground are on Glasgow St, which is just by Ardrossan Town train station but they arent up to much.
Hip Priest
A hard fought 1-0 win for Bo'ness this afternoon. One of the AWR committee men was gracious enough to say we probably deserved it, but in all honesty Ardrossan made the better of the chances and should have come away with at least a replay; how they failed to score at all is a mystery. Still, I suppose you never expect easy games in Ayrshire, and at least we're in the hat for the next round, which is what matters.

Sadly I missed the pies - the last went to one of two non-playing Bo'ness players in front of me in the queue. Ardrossan itself, on my first visit, seemed pleasant enough, particularly doon by the water, but not a great deal going on. We did, though, receive a perfectly warm welcome. As suggested earlier in the thread, Saltcoats looked a wee bit more exciting when I passed through it in the train, although I daresay it's all relative...
Jimmy MCcabe
QUOTE (Hip Priest @ Nov 2 2008, 00:17) *
A hard fought 1-0 win for Bo'ness this afternoon. One of the AWR committee men was gracious enough to say we probably deserved it, but in all honesty Ardrossan made the better of the chances and should have come away with at least a replay; how they failed to score at all is a mystery. Still, I suppose you never expect easy games in Ayrshire, and at least we're in the hat for the next round, which is what matters.

Sadly I missed the pies - the last went to one of two non-playing Bo'ness players in front of me in the queue. Ardrossan itself, on my first visit, seemed pleasant enough, particularly doon by the water, but not a great deal going on. We did, though, receive a perfectly warm welcome. As suggested earlier in the thread, Saltcoats looked a wee bit more exciting when I passed through it in the train, although I daresay it's all relative...

Freddie and Cookie will be gutted to loose, SFC management of the future ( hopefully). Just an opinion
Jambo'ness
QUOTE (Hip Priest @ Nov 2 2008, 00:17) *

You missed nothing with the pies. Not seen so much grease since John Travolta!

The place was not nearly as bad as painted, maybe we were just lucky.
Drank in Charlie's bar, which even had bottles of Newcastle brown smile.gif . Then over the road to Albert's chippy for a good scran before the game.

Game was instantly forgettable. AWR just seemed determined to miss the goal. All in all, we're through & that's all that matters.

Oh, and Lithgae are oot. biggrin.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Auld Heid
QUOTE (Jambo'ness @ Nov 3 2008, 10:35) *
You missed nothing with the pies. Not seen so much grease since John Travolta!

The place was not nearly as bad as painted, maybe we were just lucky.
Drank in Charlie's bar, which even had bottles of Newcastle brown smile.gif . Then over the road to Albert's chippy for a good scran before the game.

Game was instantly forgettable. AWR just seemed determined to miss the goal. All in all, we're through & that's all that matters.

Oh, and Lithgae are oot. biggrin.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

And don't forget - no crowd trouble (yet) so your bond is still intact and not thrown out the cup again!!!!!! Small mercies I suppose
Ally's honest man
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Oct 31 2008, 12:28) *
Like the Salt cot,you obviously haven't been for a few years.I actually know a few people who have moved down from Kilbirnie to better themselves. cool.gif

I second this as my in laws have managed to escape brig a doon to make it to the coast.
Oh and there are a few nice bits of stevenston. My street for one is full of nice neighbours and very little neds. surrounding streets cant be classed as the same im afraid.
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (Ally's honest man @ Nov 3 2008, 12:04) *
I second this as my in laws have managed to escape brig a doon to make it to the coast.
Oh and there are a few nice bits of stevenston. My street for one is full of nice neighbours and very little neds. surrounding streets cant be classed as the same im afraid.

Are they very young or just small in stature?
KTID05AND4EVER

#

SaltCot and Sullivans suck....go to the Flask or the Hipflask