Full Version: Lochee Utd Vs Ayr United
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Junior Football
chef1973
this could possibly be a banana skin for my club me and a few of the boys will be coming through for the game so is there a social club or where are the decent pubs round the ground for a few jars and a good day out biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (chef1973 @ Oct 29 2008, 11:20) *
this could possibly be a banana skin for my club me and a few of the boys will be coming through for the game so is there a social club or where are the decent pubs round the ground for a few jars and a good day out biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

There is 1 bar near the ground but no social club.

When the Rose went up there for the junior cup a few years ago we contacted the Planet Bar and the suporters bus stopped there before the game. Was a decent pub and the boy put on soup and sausage rolls for us. He also gave a few of the boys a lift to the bookies.

You should have a good day out. The other option is to ddrink in the town centre, hunners of decent pubs there then get a taxi to the game.
chef1973
QUOTE (sponsorsladdie @ Oct 29 2008, 12:28) *
There is 1 bar near the ground but no social club.

When the Rose went up there for the junior cup a few years ago we contacted the Planet Bar and the suporters bus stopped there before the game. Was a decent pub and the boy put on soup and sausage rolls for us. He also gave a few of the boys a lift to the bookies.

You should have a good day out. The other option is to ddrink in the town centre, hunners of decent pubs there then get a taxi to the game.

thanks mate
Jenayr
I'm coming up for this game, is the park far from the city centre? Will be in Dundee bout 12ish for a few drinkies before the game then wil head over. Prob our best bet is to get a taxi over!

Cheers.
Auld Heid
Would suggest that the Ayr players may need some extra padding. Lochee are a very physical team bordering on dirty (IMO) Always notice their games often have sending offs or bookings. Maybe a case of teams being dragged into the physical stuff that they seem to enjoy.
Chooch
QUOTE (Auld Heid @ Oct 29 2008, 17:03) *
Would suggest that the Ayr players may need some extra padding. Lochee are a very physical team bordering on dirty (IMO) Always notice their games often have sending offs or bookings. Maybe a case of teams being dragged into the physical stuff that they seem to enjoy.

I'm not a Lochee Utd fan by any stretch of the imagination...but to have won the Superleague and make a Scottish Cup final appearance in the past few years...I reckon they do more than kick teams and rely on their keepers big punt (as stated elsewhere on this forum).

Just a thought. rolleyes.gif
lyt
there is a club a short walk away from the park.ask on the web forum page.fecked if i can remember the name tho
Bankies Alive
QUOTE (Chooch @ Oct 29 2008, 18:15) *
I'm not a Lochee Utd fan by any stretch of the imagination...but to have won the Superleague and make a Scottish Cup final appearance in the past few years...I reckon they do more than kick teams and rely on their keepers big punt (as stated elsewhere on this forum).

Just a thought. rolleyes.gif

Bankies knocked them out of the Junior Cup last season 3-2,they played a lot more football than Bathgate who won it did.
lochee
QUOTE (lyt @ Oct 29 2008, 17:19) *
there is a club a short walk away from the park.ask on the web forum page.fecked if i can remember the name tho

logie club, dee club, whip inn and sandys bar all decent, best give the clubs prior warning, logie club prob cheapest club in dundee! all within 5 mins of thompson park.
chef1973
QUOTE (lochee @ Oct 29 2008, 19:13) *
logie club, dee club, whip inn and sandys bar all decent, best give the clubs prior warning, logie club prob cheapest club in dundee! all within 5 mins of thompson park.

anywhere with a pool table will do for me saw a pic of thompson park on the back of our local paper i better watch and no fall down the banking after a few jars laugh.gif laugh.gif
lochee
QUOTE (chef1973 @ Oct 29 2008, 19:48) *
anywhere with a pool table will do for me saw a pic of thompson park on the back of our local paper i better watch and no fall down the banking after a few jars laugh.gif laugh.gif

the 2 clubs have pool tables, how many will travel thro'?
magoo82
The Whip Inn has a pool table. and is right across the road from the ground.

I tend to drink in Sandy's if i'm going to watch Lochee. It's about a five minute walk along Liff Road.

The ground is a good bit away from the town centre so if folk are getting the train then a taxi is probably your best bet (there's a rank outside the station). A taxi shouldn't cost you any more than £7.
sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (magoo82 @ Oct 29 2008, 21:11) *
The Whip Inn has a pool table. and is right across the road from the ground.

I tend to drink in Sandy's if i'm going to watch Lochee. It's about a five minute walk along Liff Road.

The ground is a good bit away from the town centre so if folk are getting the train then a taxi is probably your best bet (there's a rank outside the station). A taxi shouldn't cost you any more than £7.

Inflation must be steep in Dundee!!!! I used to get a taxi from Alloway Halls down to the town centre for £4!!!!!
sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (chef1973 @ Oct 29 2008, 19:48) *

Afew of the Rose boys managed to go straight doon the bankin twice when we beat them in the Junior Cup a couple of season back!!!!! If at the top remember to step back before celebrating and shove anyone away that tries to hug or jump on you!!!!

Do Lochee still have the cheer leaders??????

I hope you Ayr fans can concentrate on the game with them about!!!!!
Joethistle
QUOTE (sponsorsladdie @ Oct 29 2008, 22:01) *
Afew of the Rose boys managed to go straight doon the bankin twice when we beat them in the Junior Cup a couple of season back!!!!! If at the top remember to step back before celebrating and shove anyone away that tries to hug or jump on you!!!!

Do Lochee still have the cheer leaders??????

I hope you Ayr fans can concentrate on the game with them about!!!!!

Lochee are the best side in the East Superleague and will give Ayr a decent game.
Lithgae fans think every team in the league is dirty exept them wink.gif
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (Joethistle @ Oct 29 2008, 22:12) *
Lochee are the best side in the East Superleague and will give Ayr a decent game.

Going fishing, Joe?

sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (Joethistle @ Oct 29 2008, 22:12) *

Joe if you engage your eyes you might notice that i did not mention anywhere in my post anything about lochee's tactics. Away and shove your rod up your arse!!!!
chef1973
QUOTE (lochee @ Oct 29 2008, 22:10) *
the 2 clubs have pool tables, how many will travel thro'?

heard on the grapevine between 3 to 400 there a meeting with police next week too see if its all ticket biggrin.gif
Jambo'ness
QUOTE (Joethistle @ Oct 29 2008, 23:12) *

Best side? Yer havin' a laugh. Hate to say it but Lithgae have looked the best side we've played this season.

Bo'ness beat Lochee recently and I can confirm they are a bunch of cloggers. Even the ref agreed, sending off one and booking countless others.
lochee
QUOTE (Jambo'ness @ Oct 30 2008, 13:26) *
Best side? Yer havin' a laugh. Hate to say it but Lithgae have looked the best side we've played this season.

Bo'ness beat Lochee recently and I can confirm they are a bunch of cloggers. Even the ref agreed, sending off one and booking countless others.

is that the game they should have gave ye 6?
monthelie'
The thing I remember most about Lochee, was the pitch was one the smallest I've seen.
lochee
QUOTE (monthelie' @ Oct 30 2008, 17:27) *
The thing I remember most about Lochee, was the pitch was one the smallest I've seen.

pitch not big but not the smallest, prob wont have much grass on it, lochee are good in midfield and up front but poor at the back! 4-2 ayr!
HTG
QUOTE (lochee @ Oct 30 2008, 16:49) *
is that the game they should have gave ye 6?

Lochee got what they deserved from that game in the end. Bo'ness made far better use of the wind and were the better side over the piece. There isn't a stand-out team in the east (yet) although Forfar West End are producing some blinding results.
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (HTG @ Oct 30 2008, 20:23) *
Lochee got what they deserved from that game in the end. Bo'ness made far better use of the wind and were the better side over the piece. There isn't a stand-out team in the east (yet) although Forfar West End are producing some blinding results.

8/13 Lochee Utd 16/5 Forfar WE 11/4 for the Scottish Cup tie looks generous against Forfar, given that they beat Bonnyrigg 4-0 last week.
chef1973
not long till the game now can anyone give me details on the trains where do we go from glasgow and is there a station in lochee and is it far from the ground cheers biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Ronson
Could anybody who is attending the game please report back as to the issuing of tickets. As there are no turnstyles, a couple of committee folk stand with a biscuit tin placed on a table at the top of the slope and refuse to issue tickets. Any time the Rose visit a counter has to be placed at the entrance to take note of the customers. Surely if you are participating in the big Scottish, a better means of telling the attendance and therefore the takings should be in place.
Lochee play a direct, pacy game for a junior team. They are by no means dirty, but boy do they know how to moan.
Middleton the main striker continually backs into the defenders at high balls, or simply walks into defenders and goes down protesting and asking for fouls.
The pie hut is not very good, things tend to be defrosted and not cooked properly, but the committee folk are friendly.
2 or 3-0 to AU.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (Ronson @ Nov 17 2008, 23:06) *
Could anybody who is attending the game please report back as to the issuing of tickets. As there are no turnstyles, a couple of committee folk stand with a biscuit tin placed on a table at the top of the slope and refuse to issue tickets. Any time the Rose visit a counter has to be placed at the entrance to take note of the customers. Surely if you are participating in the big Scottish, a better means of telling the attendance and therefore the takings should be in place.

You'll find it's no better at a lot of the smaller senior non-league sides.
lyt
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 17 2008, 23:18) *
You'll find it's no better at a lot of the smaller senior non-league sides.

doesnt make it right tho
chee4life
QUOTE (Ronson @ Nov 17 2008, 23:06) *
<br />Could anybody who is attending the game please report back as to the issuing of tickets. As there are no turnstyles, a couple of committee folk stand with a biscuit tin placed on a table at the top of the slope and refuse to issue tickets. Any time the Rose visit a counter has to be placed at the entrance to take note of the customers. Surely if you are participating in the big Scottish, a better means of telling the attendance and therefore the takings should be in place.<br />Lochee play a direct, pacy game for a junior team. They are by no means dirty, but boy do they know how to moan.<br />Middleton the main striker continually backs into the defenders at high balls, or simply walks into defenders and goes down protesting and asking for fouls.<br />The pie hut is not very good, things tend to be defrosted and not cooked properly, but the committee folk are friendly.<br />2 or 3-0 to AU.<br />
<br /><br /><br />

Fans will be segregated and seperate turnstiles are in place for both sets of fans so you can stop moaning about how many people are there.
Auld Heid
QUOTE (chee4life @ Nov 18 2008, 22:20) *
<br /><br /><br />

Fans will be segregated and seperate turnstiles are in place for both sets of fans so you can stop moaning about how many people are there.

Yes I had heard that all the Lochee fans are being accomodated within the home dugout for this game laugh.gif laugh.gif
lochee
QUOTE (Auld Heid @ Nov 19 2008, 07:42) *
Yes I had heard that all the Lochee fans are being accomodated within the home dugout for this game laugh.gif laugh.gif

probably still no fill it! biggrin.gif
lyt
QUOTE (chee4life @ Nov 18 2008, 22:20) *
<br /><br /><br />

ffs a kin just see the big line of tables.left to the banking for ayr and right to the pie hut for lochee laugh.gif
cripple
lochee will give ayr a good game dont worry about that, fuk lithgae and the rest they r jealous we r in big scottish smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
HTG
QUOTE (cripple @ Nov 23 2008, 19:21) *
lochee will give ayr a good game dont worry about that, fuk lithgae and the rest they r jealous we r in big scottish smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

Cripple, you haven't a clue have you???? huh.gif

Everyone I know at Linlithgow will want Lochee to win on Saturday. Off the park, we have some excellent banter with the Chee lads.

The jealousy is just coursing through us. rolleyes.gif We were in the big Scottish last year (did you know that??) and we had a great time. Those whom we talk to at Lochee wished us nothing but success and in our turn, we hope that the Lochee supporters have a great time this weekend. If you get as far as we did, that will be a real achievement because you're playing a better standard of team than we did in the first 3 rounds.

I'd suggest that only a "big team" supporter would assume that the rest of the junior game is jealous of you and wishing your team ill on Saturday. Are you glory hunting this weekend by any chance???
cripple
QUOTE (HTG @ Nov 23 2008, 20:01) *
Cripple, you haven't a clue have you???? huh.gif

Everyone I know at Linlithgow will want Lochee to win on Saturday. Off the park, we have some excellent banter with the Chee lads.

The jealousy is just coursing through us. rolleyes.gif We were in the big Scottish last year (did you know that??) and we had a great time. Those whom we talk to at Lochee wished us nothing but success and in our turn, we hope that the Lochee supporters have a great time this weekend. If you get as far as we did, that will be a real achievement because you're playing a better standard of team than we did in the first 3 rounds.

I'd suggest that only a "big team" supporter would assume that the rest of the junior game is jealous of you and wishing your team ill on Saturday. Are you glory hunting this weekend by any chance???

no glory hunting go to a few games, lochee will get a draw biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif