Full Version: Livingston 1-0 Morton
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
The Naitch
Haven't so much as picked up a point at Almondvale in all the games we've played there, so we're definetly due something. wink.gif

The squad confidence has picked up over the last two games (couldn't get any lower, mind) and will go into this game in relatively 'good' form. Livingston have stumbled in the last 2/3 weeks and haven't built on their good start.

I'll happily take a point from this one.
Millartime
1-0 Ton with Big Dom bagging his 1st goal for the club wink.gif
Stadio Delle Almondvale
Out of form team v In Form team. I'm afraid that I can't see anything other than three points for Morton.

At leat we will still be ahead of Partick come 5pm on Sunday.

BluebirdTon
Being skint this season has worked out well so far, as we've been beaten in every league outing i've missed. I don't like going to Livi, our record there is shite and so is the atmosphere of the place itself. This one I must go to though, I think we'll finally get atleast a point there and its also a match that will truely tell us if we can turn the corner.
Dunning1874
Let's face it, even though our 2 wins and clean sheets have came against the worst team in the league and the team in the worst form, we're now playing with confidence and passing it about nicely at times, with the team believing they can win, while Livingston have hit a bad spell and are there for the taking. If we can't finally manage something other than a defeat at Almondvale now, we never will.
Nizzy
If conditions are 'right' then Livi will win by three or four goals.
MCL
A nice warm sunny day is forecast so an easy win for the Lions. tongue.gif

I voted for Alex Rae to be first manager to lose his job and I think Davie Irons will be next. This could be the game that sends him on his way.

Dunning1874
QUOTE (MCL @ Oct 28 2008, 15:56) *

I voted for Alex Rae to be first manager to lose his job and I think Davie Irons will be next. This could be the game that sends him on his way.

I doubt he'll go if we lose this one. If we lose our next two maybe, but a defeat on Saturday won't see him being sacked after 2 wins and 2 clean sheets out of 2.
snorkie
Wee sparky and Elliot will hopefully both start in their 1st game together so it will either be 5-0 to livi or 1-0 to morton huh.gif
TON of memories
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Oct 28 2008, 16:33) *
If conditions are 'right' then Livi will win by three or four goals.

so they can only win in good conditions.?
MCL
QUOTE (TON of memories @ Oct 28 2008, 18:17) *
so they can only win in good conditions.?

No, we can win in bad conditions too if we take all our chances, the opposition miss all of theirs and their keeper has a stinker.

Think that about covers it tongue.gif
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (MCL @ Oct 28 2008, 16:56) *

And what happens when your players don't get paid on Friday? Will they still turn up (well Innes won't anyway)? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
mozam76
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Oct 28 2008, 19:39) *
And what happens when your players don't get paid on Friday? Will they still turn up (well Innes won't anyway)? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I can dream.

Continuing with the dreaming, Livi to win 2-1. Another huge step forward in the quest for Champions League fitba'.
MCL

They will be paid from the personal Ūkio bankas account of Angelo Massone as usual. tongue.gif

Tonsilitis
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Oct 28 2008, 20:39) *

Is there any reason to doubt that? I thought that the new owners were going after Pearse Flynn for debts they thought he should be liable for (and I hope they are successful if they do!) but I was not aware that they had any money troubles of their own!

As for the game, I'm hoping for something from it but we have the worst away record in the league and Livi are our one of our bogey teams. Still we dealt with one bogey last weekend so maybe we can do something this week.
Nizzy

Clueless. But then, we already knew that.
Livi_Lyon
I think we'll turn our poor form around in this game. Having sparky back in the team will make a huge difference. 2-0 Livi
Mr.Blue
ill take a sneaky wee draw. 1-1
vikingTON
I think we'll win 3-0.
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Oct 28 2008, 20:48) *
Is there any reason to doubt that? I thought that the new owners were going after Pearse Flynn for debts they thought he should be liable for (and I hope they are successful if they do!) but I was not aware that they had any money troubles of their own!

As for the game, I'm hoping for something from it but we have the worst away record in the league and Livi are our one of our bogey teams. Still we dealt with one bogey last weekend so maybe we can do something this week.

Yep. Livi players' wages were 3 days late last month. Moreover, Pearse Flynn stated publicly at the weekend that he no longer had any responsibility for any outstanding debts at Livi (including a substantial amount owed to WL Council) and hence why he had sold the Club for a token £1 to the current owners. Seems to make sense to me. wink.gif
LIVIFOREVER
McPake in defence, Sparky back, plus Elliot playing alongside him, no gales and pissing rain and we'll win this easy. dry.gif
northernlivifan
Don't think we'r gonna win, it's been a bad run, I reckon we'l score and they'l equalise, 1-1, bad result for us that would be! Hope we win tho!!!

BluebirdTon
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Oct 28 2008, 14:48) *
Being skint this season has worked out well so far, as we've been beaten in every league outing i've missed. I don't like going to Livi, our record there is shite and so is the atmosphere of the place itself. This one I must go to though, I think we'll finally get atleast a point there and its also a match that will truely tell us if we can turn the corner.

f**k that.

Cardiff are on skypsorts 1 on Saturday. Its either waste my money on a trip to football's very on stadia version of a public library or watch some quality football with a few beers.

No-brainer i'm afraid.
McB
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Oct 31 2008, 02:15) *
f**k that.

Cardiff are on skypsorts 1 on Saturday. Its either waste my money on a trip to football's very on stadia version of a public library or watch some quality football with a few beers.

No-brainer i'm afraid.

See, this was my quandry. Sort of. Almondvale is an atmosphere vacuum, plus llike just about every other all seater stadia it appears to have been designed for midgets. And I'll probably be a jinx (as if we needed one...)

*But* with living dahn sarf I've only made one game this season. Plus going to the game gets me out of going to the boyf's parents' for tea ph34r.gif

Tbh, the fitba's looking like an increasingly sensible option...

Anyway, as to how we'll do, I have no idea. I heard encouraging reports following the Clyde game, but as said reports came from people who may have had a beverage - or ten - their veracity is questionable.
Morton for a flukey 1 - nil win, how's that for a totally groundless prediction?
gmfc
QUOTE (Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Oct 29 2008, 21:58) *
Yep. Livi players' wages were 3 days late last month. Moreover, Pearse Flynn stated publicly at the weekend that he no longer had any responsibility for any outstanding debts at Livi (including a substantial amount owed to WL Council) and hence why he had sold the Club for a token £1 to the current owners. Seems to make sense to me. wink.gif

If they new owners did indeed bought the club for a quid I don't see how they can persue Flynn for any debts as they must also have looked at the books. But then again most Italians are tight fisted.

Morton to win this one 0-1 or 1-2
StevenC
5-1 Livi.
LIVIFOREVER
QUOTE (McB @ Oct 31 2008, 05:14) *
See, this was my quandry. Sort of. Almondvale is an atmosphere vacuum, plus llike just about every other all seater stadia it appears to have been designed for midgets. And I'll probably be a jinx (as if we needed one...)

*But* with living dahn sarf I've only made one game this season. Plus going to the game gets me out of going to the boyf's parents' for tea ph34r.gif

Tbh, the fitba's looking like an increasingly sensible option...

Anyway, as to how we'll do, I have no idea. I heard encouraging reports following the Clyde game, but as said reports came from people who may have had a beverage - or ten - their veracity is questionable.
Morton for a flukey 1 - nil win, how's that for a totally groundless prediction?

what heights a midget? I'm 6 foot and one of the lads that sits beside me is 6 ft 4 and we both sit without a problem, now at your ground is another story, seats are so close you can't sit with your knees straight infront of you and after half an hour you lose the feeling in your legs.
Greenocktony
QUOTE (StevenC @ Oct 31 2008, 16:16) *
5-1 Livi.

I seem to recall previous attempts to defeat Livi has been difficult at home due to some resolute defending by McPake and co - our record at Almondvale is pish however the wee man Grady could well make the difference and get us a point or maybe all three. A real team effort is needed to get us off the bottom of the league.

As an aside did Livi go bust when Intelligent Finance were their sponsors ?
Livi
QUOTE (Greenocktony @ Oct 31 2008, 19:51) *
As an aside did Livi go bust when Intelligent Finance were their sponsors ?

Went into Admin yes rolleyes.gif
ton1901
How much will it cost to get in the away end 2moro?
midTONs
QUOTE (ton1901 @ Oct 31 2008, 23:30) *
How much will it cost to get in the away end 2moro?

Adults: £16
Concessions £7 (under 16s and OAP)
ton1901
QUOTE (midTONs @ Oct 31 2008, 22:33) *

cheers
Swampy
I'm not going because I fucking despise Livingston (and we'll probably lose)
SaltyTON
QUOTE (midTONs @ Oct 31 2008, 23:33) *

Nae student gate Jim?

I'll go as it's cheap to get to, but I'm not gonnae get enough sleep to manage to pose as under 16, and the eye liner may not come off in the morning! laugh.gif
ClydeSI
QUOTE (LIVIFOREVER @ Oct 31 2008, 17:17) *
now at your ground is another story, seats are so close you can't sit with your knees straight infront of you and after half an hour you lose the feeling in your legs.

Thats bollocks. I'm sure you get enough room for you all to spread out. You might even get a row each to yourselves.

I know we do anyway.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Nov 1 2008, 03:20) *
Nae student gate Jim?

I'll go as it's cheap to get to, but I'm not gonnae get enough sleep to manage to pose as under 16, and the eye liner may not come off in the morning! laugh.gif

The concession gate should include students.
BluebirdTon
Just fucking brilliant, Shimmin's out, so we've got that big fucking waste of space McManus in instead.

We're fucked !
SaltyTON
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Nov 1 2008, 13:57) *
The concession gate should include students.

But didn't. mad.gif I had too much too drink last night to attempt getting rid off the bags under my eyes, to attempt the weans gate today.

£16 and no complimentary blanket!!! mad.gif
Dunning1874
It appears that no one can be bothered making a post match thread(one will probably be there by the time I finish this post) so we may as well have the post match talk here too.

Those Morton fans who weren't at the game; guess which Morton player played a big part in their goal? dry.gif

That said, it was McManus' best game yet for us, not that that's an acheivement.

I thought a draw would have been a fair result based on the play today, although it was clear we were beaten after Livi took the lead, and if one team did deserve a win it was them. We could have still taken a point if wasn't for that bellend of a linesman though. More on him later.

The first half was a fairly dull affair. Livingston had more possession but rarely reached the final third. We got to the final third moe often, but never created a real chance. The only events of the first half were Finlayson's tussle with a Livingston player, and Brian Winter's utter ineptitude. Looked like Finlayson should have been sent off from where I was but it was hard to make out what was going on, the highlights should show what went on there. I just saw Finlayson and a Livi player squaring up, then Finlayson stumbled backwards, then the Livi player was on the ground. Booking for both players in the typical referees reaction to such an incident.

Winter was frustratingly inconsistent throughout the half, penalising both teams for absolutely f**k all at times. There was one occasion when Livingston got a freekick(correct on that occasion IMO) for McManus climbing. When we got the ball clear less than a minute later, McPake climbed in exactly the same way as McManus did. No freekick. One of many perplexing decisions. In the second half there was a blatant obstruction by Innes yet Livi got the freekick, then 30 seconds later there was a blatant obstruction by Finlayson yet Morton got the freekick. Truly bizarre.

Anyway, the second half saw the introduction of Griffiths, and he started to carve out openings for Livingston. He's a damn good player. Morton also had a few chances of their own as the game went on, with Finlayson fluffing a shot in space in the box and Grady putting it wide when the ball fell to him most notably.

It was a good game with end to end stuff after a poor first half. We had a stonewall penalty turned down when Jenkins burst through the middle and Innes tripped him. A definite foul, the only way it wasn't a penalty was if it was outside the box which a few around me thought it was, but it looked inside to me. No freekick says our esteemed referee.

Livingston had stretched our defence a fair few times, taking advantage of us having two naturally central players at full back. Cuthbert pulled off save after save, but it was a centre back who ballsed up when the goal came. McManus had the chance to header it clear, but nodded it to Griffiths IIRC(sound familiar?) who knocked it to Elliot and he hit a great strike into the far corner of the net from 20 yards.

Questions have to be asked of Irons for not making subs before this; it was clear that Jenkins wasn't keeping up with the pace of the game and needed to come off, but he stayed on and their midfield kept finding space. McAlister was having a terrible game and Finlayson wasn't up to much, but they were still on, and we stopped creating from out wide. Weatherson just looked knackered and needed off, but he stayed on. we let Livingston take a hold of the game because we didn't change things when that started happen, and it cost us.

Howevere, now we come to that wee scrote of a linesman. Now Brian Winter was incompetent. I can handle that. It's bloody annoying and ruins the game, but it evens itself out pretty much. This linesman however, wasn't just incompetent. He was either blind, biased or just doesn't know the rules of football. I'm going to guess at doesn't know the rules, unless Livi's new owners have brought over that Italian way of buying the referees, which let's face it, they haven't.

This incident was irrelevant in terms of impact on the result, but highlights this wankstain's fuckwittery, and also how Chris Innes is a cheat and a pathetic excuse of a professional. Iain Russell had came on as a sub(too late), and was chasing every ball. He'd closed down Innes who had nowhere to go, slid in and took the ball without touchinghim, and it went out for a Livingston throw. Innes stands still for a whole second, then yelps and flings himself in the air like a fucking Aiden McGeady impersonator. The linesman was two yards away and had a clear view of it, as did those in the stand behind him. Does he call the ref over and tell him Innes blatantly dived and should be booked? No, he indicates for a Livingston freekick and gets Russell booked.

Nothing on his next display of uselessness. Russell skins Talbot, cuts into the box, knocks it past McPake and is about to cut it back to where Weatherson and Wake are standing for a great chance for an equaliser. Innes slides in and takes him out, no intention of taking the ball. As stonewall a penalty as you'll ever see. Now, you can forgive Winter missing this, as he's quite a distance away and could well have players blocking his view. The linesman however had no players blocking his view, and he was looking right at it, 10 yards away. All the Morton players and Livingston players look to him, and what does he do? Gives a fucking goal kick. The Morton players naturally go over to him to protest, and then Talbot had the cheek to go and say Russell should be booked for diving. Then McPake charges over, when he should have just been grateful his team hadn't lost two points due to his teammates stupidity, and screams at the Grady and Russell "Get to f**k, get to f**k, get to f**k!" p***k.

I thought a draw would have been a fair result, but if one team edged it was Livingston. That said, we could have taken something if Irons would ever make substitutions when we're not losing and if the linesman knew what a foul is. But at the end of the day, we lost and there's nothing we can do.

I just hope to god Shimmin's back next week.
HardingsHamstring
Aye, but what were the officials like?
Dunning1874
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Nov 1 2008, 19:39) *
Aye, but what were the officials like?

I should probably make it clear, I'm not blaming them for us losing - the blame for that goes to us for not clearing our lines properly, not converting the chances we had and not creating enough chances when we did have the ball in good positions often but did bugger all with it. And of course, Livingston having some good players who got the better of ours when they had to. They just didn't help, and that linesman was utterly useless.

We need to sign some wide players who can cross the ball.
el bawbag
didnt see the penalty claim where all the morton players went ape due to players blocking the view but imo the ref was gash(mainly for all the wee things he got wrong for both teams). Still think over the course we deserved to win because of our 2nd half performance(first half was a snorefest apart from the Morton boy that the ref bottled sending off).

EDIT:Morton look a lot better than they did earlier in the season
ianton
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Nov 1 2008, 21:00) *
didnt see the penalty claim where all the morton players went ape due to players blocking the view but imo the ref was gash(mainly for all the wee things he got wrong for both teams). Still think over the course we deserved to win because of our 2nd half performance(first half was a snorefest apart from the Morton boy that the ref bottled sending off).

EDIT:Morton look a lot better than they did earlier in the season

your dirty cheating b*****ds
EdinburghLivi
laugh.gif Dirty? How hypocrital.

I'll post my match thoughts later on.
el bawbag
QUOTE (ianton @ Nov 1 2008, 21:10) *
your dirty cheating b*****ds

and your junkie greenock b*****ds smile.gif
ginge123
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Nov 1 2008, 20:22) *

Now that's not fair , most Morton fans are all right in my opinion just some, like there is in every support, are arseholes.
Satans_Husband
I think a draw would have been a fair result but we never really made any great chances despite having by far the better of the first half. Some shocking decisions by the officials but that happens every week though the Russell booking was something else.

Greenocktony
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Nov 1 2008, 20:22) *

They will not be many junkies in West Lothian - ah right !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

On a more relevant point looks like Livi got off the hook with the Tons penalty near the end - reference Livi's club website

Let's face it Innes is a cheating bugger - has been throughout his career long before he pulled on the Lions shirt
GrantR
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Nov 1 2008, 20:33) *
Then McPake charges over, when he should have just been grateful his team hadn't lost two points due to his teammates stupidity, and screams at the Grady and Russell "Get to f**k, get to f**k, get to f**k!" p***k.

He was actually shouting at Jason Talbot telling him to get away from the linesman. Quite clearly shouting 'Jase, get to f**k' etc. But I won't let that fact get in the way of your story. I thought it was a stonewaller.

snorkie
fair result in the end with wee sparky running the morton defence ragged in the 2nd half.It could have been 3 or 4 had sparky taken his chances.Possibly 1 decent shout for a penalty when Innes stood his ground and the morton player went to ground rolleyes.gif the 2nd incident i honestly thought the linesman had seen something from his side of the pitch and was going to award the penalty...ach well swings and roundabouts a suppose biggrin.gif