Full Version: Calzaghe V Roy Jones Jr
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > All Other Sports
Pages: 1, 2
Bloobell
On Setanta and isn't PPV

Setanta are doing a Freeview deal just now where you get Setanta FREE for 3 months (£14.99 activation only) so if you like your boxing and want the fitba et al right through to 2009 fill yer boots folks

Click and subscribe
Reluctant Hero
I'm really looking forward to this fight. Probably the first one in ages I have looked forward to.

Really hope Calzaghe wins. I don't think he has been credited with the respect he deserves throughout his career.

Does anyone know what time the fight is due to start at?
Loki
I can't wait for the fight. It is going to be immense. Why watch it on Setanta when you can watch it Madison Square Garden laugh.gif ?
Bloobell
QUOTE (Reluctant Hero @ Oct 25 2008, 22:16) *
I'm really looking forward to this fight. Probably the first one in ages I have looked forward to.

Really hope Calzaghe wins. I don't think he has been credited with the respect he deserves throughout his career.

Does anyone know what time the fight is due to start at?

It's being widely reported as a 0045 start
ICTChris
Hibs v Caley during the day, then Calzaghe v Jones Jr at night.

Can't wait.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Bump since the fight is on Saturday.

Il say Calzaghe for the win. Will just have a bit more stamina than Jones in the later rounds. Will most likely take it on points after outworking Jones. Cannae see a KO.
DB Cooper
QUOTE (Loki @ Oct 26 2008, 02:22) *
I can't wait for the fight. It is going to be immense. Why watch it on Setanta when you can watch it Madison Square Garden laugh.gif ?

Do you know if there are any tickets left and what legitimate sites are selling them?

Deeboy
Can't see a Calzaghe win. Jones Jr has far too much speed & stamina for a slow hard hitter like Calzaghe.

Roy Jones Jr to take it in the 9th Round. wink.gif
badgers apprentice
jones to take it on points
chris123
He never fought Holyfield in the end.

That would have been mind-blowing.

Tarver made Jones look very ordinary on 3 occasions though. Haven't seen him turn it on for a long time.
therickster
QUOTE (Deeboy @ Nov 5 2008, 09:31) *
Can't see a Calzaghe win. Jones Jr has far too much speed & stamina for a slow hard hitter like Calzaghe.

Roy Jones Jr to take it in the 9th Round. wink.gif

Is this a whoosh moment? Dont think I have ever heard Calzaghe get called a slow hard hitter before.
placidcasual345
Anyone know what the undercard for this looks like?
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (Loki @ Oct 25 2008, 22:22) *

I'm going as well!
Deeboy
QUOTE (therickster @ Nov 6 2008, 12:53) *
Is this a whoosh moment? Dont think I have ever heard Calzaghe get called a slow hard hitter before.

I meant his rhythm of throwing punches is slow. Calzaghes definitly is a hard hitter, much of the same mould as Jones Jr.
I hope the fight goes most of the distance and Jones Jr to take it, I've not got anything against Calzaghe I just prefer Roy Jones Jr's fighting style.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (therickster @ Nov 6 2008, 12:53) *

When Calzaghe beat Hopkins it was down to the amount of punches he got on him, and not down to the damage he inflicted. This might of been a one off but i'd tend to agree that Calzaghe is not a slow hard hitter..
st jjp
Calzaghe a slow hitter???

Unbelievable comment! Calzaghe's workrate and number of punches per round far outstrips RJJ.

That's why I believe Calzaghe will win on points.
H_B
QUOTE (Deeboy @ Nov 6 2008, 19:31) *
I meant his rhythm of throwing punches is slow. Calzaghes definitly is a hard hitter, much of the same mould as Jones Jr.

Have you ever seen Calzaghe fight? huh.gif

Much of his success has been on the back of having light-middleweight speed and super middleweight size.

Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
He is definetely a quick hitter for a man of his size. Thats why I predicted a points victory. His speed will outwork Jones who will tire in the later rounds and Calzaghe will take it comfortably on points.
Maleybhoy
Calzaghe to win Knock Out.....
i hope so anyway.. i think he's only had 2 KOs in his last 8 fights.. hope he finishes with a bang

minijc
Apparently Joe is 6lbs over weight, I hope this isna true as working it off could leave him drained.
ICTChris
Where did you read that minijc?

I don't think Joe will knock out RJJ but that he will outwork him.
minijc
QUOTE (ICTChris @ Nov 7 2008, 20:59) *
Where did you read that minijc?

I don't think Joe will knock out RJJ but that he will outwork him.

My mate sent me a text around 7ish, it was on the bunce show I think as my mate said he was going nuts about it. If it is true I will be a bit gutted and annoyed as he has been training out there for months.
H_B
Says on BBC website both made the weight.

Looks like a pish rumour.
Ade Eyemond
I think a prime Roy Jones would beat Calzaghe, however as he's not at his prime I reckon Calzaghe will win a pretty boring but comfortable decision.
keithgy
What time is the fight due to start at?
Bloobell
QUOTE (keithgy @ Nov 8 2008, 00:13) *
What time is the fight due to start at?

according to this link they'll touch gloves between 0345 and 0415

setanta linky
Dee4Life1893
QUOTE (Bloobell @ Oct 26 2008, 10:42) *
It's being widely reported as a 0045 start

Was really looking forward to watching this fight after reading this post. Reported widely, fucking where exactly??

I have to be up with the kids at 7 so there is no way I can watch it.

Erse!!
Myers
Go to your bed, set the alarm for 3.30 then when it's finished you'll still get a couple of hours in.

sainteesean
cant wait smile.gif
keithgy
1st undercard fight went to points
stuart.
I feel as though I may go to bed, this blows.
G_Man1985
Time fight start at roughly?
keithgy
QUOTE (G_Man1985 @ Nov 9 2008, 03:25) *
Time fight start at roughly?

About 04.15am
G_Man1985
Thank you smile.gif
keithgy
I love getting Setanta free
G_Man1985
QUOTE (keithgy @ Nov 9 2008, 03:35) *

Me too

Is great
keithgy
That was a decent fight
albo
Think it could be closer to half four as there's another fight on the undercard

G_Man1985
QUOTE (keithgy @ Nov 9 2008, 03:35) *

How do you get this free? Just out of interest
keithgy
QUOTE (G_Man1985 @ Nov 9 2008, 03:48) *
How do you get this free? Just out of interest

Virgin give it free with the XL package
albo
Think you get it free with BT vision

Try the following link for a live stream:- www.myp2p.eu
G_Man1985
I get it free also, just a different way of getting it free on tv.
albo
I'm the only daft fecker that pays for it!!
keithgy
Oh FFS will someone please knock someone out,This has been a snore fest so far.
keithgy
That is a bad cut
albo
Yeah looks a sore one - thought the ref would have stopped it
G_Man1985
going to be up for a while sad.gif
ICTChris
How can the ref not sto pthat on that cut? Any deeper and you'd be able to see his brain.
G_Man1985
Come on Wales
ICTChris
Great win for Joe Calzaghe, especially after getting dropped (again!) in the first round. I scored it 117-110, gave Joe every round after the first two.

Joe's greater workrate and combinations did it for him. RJJ only looked dangerous on single shots and was dominated by the busier and stronger Calzaghe. There was a bit too much hands-down show-boating from Joe - no need for it! I was also surprised that the ring doctor or the referee didn't look at Jones' cut more closely it was a bad one.