Larbert_Par
Oct 24 2008, 18:08
Big game on Tuesday night as the last remaining SFL side take on United. Levein's men will be desperate to go one step further than last season in this cup, especially given recent circumstances.
While they are strong favourites, I feel we have a chance. We've had a decent record at Tannadice down the years and we're playing pretty well just now. Scott Wilson being out is a loss but hopefully we have enough in the likes of Callum Woods and Nipper to come in and deal with what is a potent United frontline.
I think this could be a really good game and as long as we go and give it a go as I'm sure we will, then the result will take care of itself. Hopefully a big Pars support are heading up- I'm going and looking forward to it. Always like Tannadice/Dens for an away day.
Come on ye Pars.
guacamole
Oct 24 2008, 20:38
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Oct 24 2008, 19:08)

Big game on Tuesday night as the last remaining SFL side take on United. Levein's men will be desperate to go one step further than last season in this cup, especially given recent circumstances.
While they are strong favourites, I feel we have a chance. We've had a decent record at Tannadice down the years and we're playing pretty well just now. Scott Wilson being out is a loss but hopefully we have enough in the likes of Callum Woods and Nipper to come in and deal with what is a potent United frontline.
I think this could be a really good game and as long as we go and give it a go as I'm sure we will, then the result will take care of itself. Hopefully a big Pars support are heading up- I'm going and looking forward to it. Always like Tannadice/Dens for an away day.
Come on ye Pars.
You're being very generous there. A potent frontline? I bloody wish.....
Think it'll be 1-0 us. I can't see there being many goals.
Grant228
Oct 24 2008, 20:57
You've got the Sandaza haven't you?
Have to say I am looking forward to this game alot
north_west_L52
Oct 25 2008, 17:18
a last minute goal at Tannacdice as always would suit me fine.
Szamo's_Ammo
Oct 25 2008, 20:07
£15 and £10 for this.
Hopefully we'll make it 6 wins in a row.
Larbert_Par
Oct 26 2008, 19:43
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Oct 25 2008, 20:07)

£15 and £10 for this.
Hopefully we'll make it 6 wins in a row.
Yes, tenner to get in- delighted.
I hope you don't make it 6 wins in a row though. Kindly move over and let us progress. Thanks.
As for United fans saying they aren't that dangerous up front, I'd disagree. United have a good quality of striker as well as goalscorers from midfield and with Wilkie will always be a danger at set pieces.
I am under no illusion as to how difficult a test this will be for us.
Fallen Angel
Oct 26 2008, 20:04
We're keeping things very tight at the back....
Although Wilson missing (although maybe not

) is a big loss for us.
We're playing with confidence.....haven't lost in seven and have nothing to lose.
United may well be wanting to win this for a certain gentleman who'll be sorely missed by more than just the United fans
Looking forward to it as long as the bloody weather improves a bit
Larbert_Par
Oct 27 2008, 14:51
Fat Boab's in Kincardine for about half 4 before our bus sets off for us tomorrow. I really am right up for this game, totally looking forward to it.
ShedruleFTD83
Oct 27 2008, 20:08
Tough game, we never have it easy against Dunfermline no matter what, didnt beat them in their relegation season, they always sneak results against us even in games we play well and they are rank which is why if i we get through tomorrow i think it will be by the odd goal in a tight game.
If the Pars bring 1000+ then i expect a crowd of between 4500-5500.
I'm looking forward to tonight, and the cold weather that's expected can only help. I love midweek games in January on those really cold, clear and still nights, and it looks like we might get one of those early for this game. Tannadice has been a decent away ground for us recently - although Utd have had some decent results in the last few weeks and are a better side than us, it's a game we have a chance to win and in a quarter final you can't get much more than that.
I'm not sure the last time we lost there. The only recent one I can think of was getting humped 3-0 (2003 I think) when Andy Tod scored one of the goals. I always seemed to miss the games that we lost there and got to the wins and draws, was there a more recent Utd win than that?
Stoo61
Oct 28 2008, 11:08
Not going to this game, dissapointing as it could be a cracker. Come on ye Paaaaarrss!!
Its really win-win, if we win great if we lose...its no biggie, we'll just come up next season and beat United then.
Larbert_Par
Oct 28 2008, 13:15
QUOTE (Socks @ Oct 28 2008, 07:24)

I'm not sure the last time we lost there. The only recent one I can think of was getting humped 3-0 (2003 I think) when Andy Tod scored one of the goals. I always seemed to miss the games that we lost there and got to the wins and draws, was there a more recent Utd win than that?
Yep, 2005/2006, a midweek game just before Christmas. It was postponed an hour and a bit before kick off on a Saturday and re-arranged to a few days before Yuletide. We lost 2-1 despite Scott Wilson equalising on the half hour mark.
Taylorboy77
Oct 28 2008, 13:28
Heres hoping for extra time and pen kicks
Seriously, aw the best to the pars as I love seeing lower league teams pumping the so called SPL big boys on their own turf
Shengus Khan
Oct 28 2008, 13:32
I think this is going to be a very tight match with United hopefully sneaking it 2-1.
I must remember to dig the long johns out tonight as it going to be fookin' freezing. Brrrrrrr.
Larbert_Par
Oct 28 2008, 13:58
QUOTE (Shengus Khan @ Oct 28 2008, 13:32)

I think this is going to be a very tight match with United hopefully sneaking it 2-1.
I must remember to dig the long johns out tonight as it going to be fookin' freezing. Brrrrrrr.
How's the weather looking up in Dundee, assuming you're there? Freezing but dry and clear? That'll do me.
Our bus now leaving the Bowling Club in Kincardine- get in- cheap pints ahoy
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Oct 28 2008, 14:15)

Yep, 2005/2006, a midweek game just before Christmas. It was postponed an hour and a bit before kick off on a Saturday and re-arranged to a few days before Yuletide. We lost 2-1 despite Scott Wilson equalising on the half hour mark.
Right enough, forgot about that one. I went absolutely mental at the ref for a 3 minute spell that night, I remember it quite vividly now that you've brought the game back to mind!
Could be a bit tight getting there tonight as I forgot that I have something on that will keep me here until the back of 5 instead of my normal 3.30pm finish. If there's one night when it would be very bad indeed for there to be an accident on the Forth bridge, this would be it...
Larbert_Par
Oct 28 2008, 14:07
QUOTE (Socks @ Oct 28 2008, 13:59)

Right enough, forgot about that one. I went absolutely mental at the ref for a 3 minute spell that night, I remember it quite vividly now that you've brought the game back to mind!
Could be a bit tight getting there tonight as I forgot that I have something on that will keep me here until the back of 5 instead of my normal 3.30pm finish. If there's one night when it would be very bad indeed for there to be an accident on the Forth bridge, this would be it...
I'm sure the referee was utterly horrendous that night. I don't remember much about the game apart from Wilson's bullet header and it being extremely cold!
shedboy82
Oct 28 2008, 14:14
Looking forward to what should be a tough match. Dunfermline seem to have got their act together under Jim McIntyre. It'll be good to see him back at Tannadice - one of United's best servants of the last decade (although, it must be said, there's not much competition). Freezing midweek fixtures and Dunfermline just seem to go.
Anyway, I'll go for 2-1 United (O'Donovan 34, Gomis 80 - Kirk 49).
Shengus Khan
Oct 28 2008, 14:27
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Oct 28 2008, 13:58)

How's the weather looking up in Dundee, assuming you're there? Freezing but dry and clear? That'll do me.
I'm a 5 minute drive from Dundee just now and it's a glorious day as always up here. Perfect footballing conditions.
gingapar
Oct 28 2008, 14:33
Tannadice is one of my favourite away grounds (along with tynecastle) nice and tight and prone to a decent atmosphere. looking forward to a proper cup tie and it's good this season to not be angered by players putting a shift in in the cup without backing it up with a bit of league grit.
glasgow loon
Oct 28 2008, 20:24
1-0 united robertson 16mins
shedboy82
Oct 28 2008, 21:46
Decided to swerve the game tonight. Messrs Spence and Duffy saying we deserved the win.
Thoughts?
magoo82
Oct 28 2008, 22:16
Utd unsurprisingly played the better football but Zaluska still had to make some smart saves.
Dunfermline look like a useful side but Utd managed to grind it out.
Szamo's_Ammo
Oct 28 2008, 22:19
Cold. Good goal by Robertson. Hit the woodwork twice, had another few good chances. Dunfermline had a few chances themselves and Zaluska made two or three good saves. Ref was shite.
Good enjoyable game, exactlly what a cup tie should be all about. One of the most open ones I've seen for a while, and although Utd possibly just had the better of it, I don't think there was al that much in it. When the goal went in, we had certainly been the dominant side up to then. We really needed to score when we wer eon top at the start though and didn't quite manage it.
The ref was pretty pish in the second half. A lot of wee things both ways, but also an absurd decision to blow for a non-existant foul against Kirk when the Utd defence made an arse of it and left him space to run through from the halfway line. you could say I wasn't best pleased at that one...
I can't be upset with my team though - they tried and made quite a few chances (I know Utd did as well) but just didn't get a break. So it goes. An enjoyable game and pretty decent atmosphere in the away end tonight, so although disappointed to go out, certainly not the worst night at the fitba. Great weather for going to a game as well, as well as getting to stand up pretty much all game which is very rare at Tannadice!
magoo82
Oct 28 2008, 23:10
QUOTE (Socks @ Oct 28 2008, 23:04)

The ref was pretty pish in the second half. A lot of wee things both ways, but also an absurd decision to blow for a non-existant foul against Kirk when the Utd defence made an arse of it and left him space to run through from the halfway line. you could say I wasn't best pleased at that one...
Didn't look like a foul to me either tbh. Like you said it seemed to be the defenders getting in eachothers way.
You would have had a better view of the Gallacher incident than me because I was sitting behind the other goal and couldn't really see if he was the last man or not. Was the defender in a position where he could have dealt with it or should it have been a red card?
Fallen Angel
Oct 28 2008, 23:11
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Oct 28 2008, 22:19)

Cold. Good goal by Robertson. Hit the woodwork twice, had another few good chances. Dunfermline had a few chances themselves and Zaluska made two or three good saves. Ref was shite.
Just about sums it up...Had kirks deflected sclaff that hit the post gone in it would have set up as good game.
Thoroughly enjoyed tonights game....bloody frozen but a great atmosphere fromthe Pars fans in the lower Deck who, once again were picked on by the security morons
Ref was shite towards both teams again....not surprising...we left our substitutions to late
Congratulations on the win you Arabs and here's hoping you can go on and win it for Eddie
WullieBroonIsGod
Oct 28 2008, 23:44
QUOTE (Fallen Angel @ Oct 28 2008, 23:11)

Congratulations on the win you Arabs and here's hoping you can go on and win it for Eddie

well said!
False Light
Oct 28 2008, 23:48
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Oct 28 2008, 22:19)

Pretty much sums it up. We were pretty pish but we did just enough to get the win. Really hope we get Falkirk in the semis.
ShedruleFTD83
Oct 29 2008, 00:23
Decent game, and very good result, got a bit nervy the last 5 minutes when Dunfy forced a couple good saves out of Zaluska and had a few corners, we could have had a couple more goals earlier aswell.
Just glad we done enough to get through, Robertson's goal was a very good finish, he has been a great signing so far, credit to Dunfermline aswell i thought they looked good tonight and they had a goos support through.
I suppose both ourselves and Falkirk will want to avoid the Old firm and draw each other(providing Killie dont put Celtic out)
Happy_Gilmore
Oct 29 2008, 07:56
Dunfermline aquitted themselves well although I never felt as though we were in any danger of losing. It was almost as though we were able to go up through the gears when we wanted to.
gingapar
Oct 29 2008, 08:31
QUOTE (magoo82 @ Oct 28 2008, 23:10)

Didn't look like a foul to me either tbh. Like you said it seemed to be the defenders getting in eachothers way.
You would have had a better view of the Gallacher incident than me because I was sitting behind the other goal and couldn't really see if he was the last man or not. Was the defender in a position where he could have dealt with it or should it have been a red card?
aye, all three players were in line when Gallacher collided with the forward, a booking was the correct decision really. one of very few!
Lambo1885
Oct 29 2008, 08:43
QUOTE (magoo82 @ Oct 29 2008, 00:10)

QUOTE (gingapar @ Oct 29 2008, 09:31)

aye, all three players were in line when Gallacher collided with the forward, a booking was the correct decision really. one of very few!
Aye, I thought a booking was the correct decision (one of the few McDonald made).
Don't think we deserved to get beat, but didn't do enough to win, extra time would've been fair IMO. Enjoyed the game though end to end with a few decent chances for each team, happy with our performance against one of the better SPL sides.
The Chef
Oct 29 2008, 08:59
Good game which I really enjoyed. I thought we might just have done enough to force extra time but it wasn't to be. We had good chances though and were unlucky hitting the post and Zaluska having a couple of great saves. Good support up (1,000+) who made a bit of noise. Referee was truely dreadful, summed up by his decision to award a freekick when the 2 Utd defenders collided and Kirk was clean through!

Nothing much between the teams overall although Utd bossed the midfield for spells.
Good luck to Utd and hopefully you can go on and win it for Thomson.
Shengus Khan
Oct 29 2008, 10:09
QUOTE (False Light @ Oct 28 2008, 23:48)

Really hope we get Falkirk in the semis.
Yip. Falkirk at McDiarmid please.
I thought it was a really good game to watch. It was pretty much end to end stuff for 90 mins and although we just about scraped it on chances, there certainly wouldn't have been any complaints if Dunfermline managed to sneak an equaliser at the end. Zaluska (surely the best Polish 'keeper in Scotland) made a couple of outstanding saves to thwart the Pars.
Good goal from the Scottish Gerrard as well. He really struck it well and gave Gallacher no chance. Hopefully he can carry this on as we really do need to start getting goals from the middle of the park. The return rate last season from that position was absolutely woeful.
Oh, and credit to the Pars fans. They turned up in big numbers and made a lot of noise. I also noticed that you caught the attention of the Tayside Gestapo
yamsta
Oct 29 2008, 14:33
I was there. fookin freezing.
Good enjoyable game. Nice goal. Some nice saves too and a bit of controversy. Excellent.
Grant228
Oct 29 2008, 17:50
QUOTE (Shengus Khan @ Oct 29 2008, 10:09)

Oh, and credit to the Pars fans. They turned up in big numbers and made a lot of noise. I also noticed that you caught the attention of the Tayside Gestapo

Tbh everything was going swimmingly until the polic just started chucking anyone out for doing nothing out of the ordinary
ShedruleFTD83
Oct 29 2008, 23:40
QUOTE (The Chef @ Oct 29 2008, 08:59)

Good game which I really enjoyed. I thought we might just have done enough to force extra time but it wasn't to be. We had good chances though and were unlucky hitting the post and Zaluska having a couple of great saves. Good support up (1,000+) who made a bit of noise. Referee was truely dreadful, summed up by his decision to award a freekick when the 2 Utd defenders collided and Kirk was clean through!

Nothing much between the teams overall although Utd bossed the midfield for spells.
Good luck to Utd and hopefully you can go on and win it for Thomson.
Was around 800 fans you brought according to the turnstyles you had 700 at kick off time.
Still a very healthy support and you lot did play well last night, started well then we upped it and scored, it got kind of nervy towards the end with the series of corners and couple saves Zaluska had to make.
Larbert_Par
Oct 30 2008, 10:49
Enjoyable game on Tuesday, alas sadly the result didn't go our way.
I thought we started off well but we lost a bad goal- no closing down and slack marking and bang we have it all to do. Credit to the players though, they dug in and were never out of the game.
Second half United had a few chances but we had to take chances and pour players forward and in the end we were unlucky it didn't pay off. I'm still raging at McDonald- the incident where Kirk made Gomis and Wilkie look hopeless and yet they got a foul turned the game. Had Kirky ran through and scored, it's a different game. McDonald incidentally was hopeless all night, but then what's new?
Good team performance and we just needed a wee bit more craft up the top end of the pitch to hurt United more. Good Pars support and atmosphere and the team deserved their applause at the end.
Good luck to United- out of the teams left I hope you go and win it.
ShedruleFTD83
Oct 30 2008, 20:34
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Oct 30 2008, 10:49)

Enjoyable game on Tuesday, alas sadly the result didn't go our way.
I thought we started off well but we lost a bad goal- no closing down and slack marking and bang we have it all to do. Credit to the players though, they dug in and were never out of the game.
Second half United had a few chances but we had to take chances and pour players forward and in the end we were unlucky it didn't pay off. I'm still raging at McDonald- the incident where Kirk made Gomis and Wilkie look hopeless and yet they got a foul turned the game. Had Kirky ran through and scored, it's a different game. McDonald incidentally was hopeless all night, but then what's new?
Good team performance and we just needed a wee bit more craft up the top end of the pitch to hurt United more. Good Pars support and atmosphere and the team deserved their applause at the end.
Good luck to United- out of the teams left I hope you go and win it.
Cheers, i also couldn't understand why a foul was given when Kirk ran clear.
parslad
Oct 30 2008, 20:47
Hope United win it as well.Dislike the old firm and Falkirk winning it is too horrible to think about.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.