tam the bud
Oct 24 2008, 07:24
Wee fannybaws want to place for Scotland

Since he had lived in the country for nearly 8 years he now qualifies for a British passport. He could always take Boyd place on the bench
Ally's honest man
Oct 24 2008, 08:43
QUOTE (tam the bud @ Oct 24 2008, 08:24)

Since he had lived in the country for nearly 8 years he now qualifies for a British passport. He could always take Boyd place on the bench

What makes him think he could get called up. Oh wait a minute he plays for the OF. Automatic pick from now on
Says he would "probably" go for it if Burley was to call him up. If Burley really really thought he could help, would he have the guts to go for it ? Considering Nacho's internationally renowned reputation and hatred from everyone outside Rangers.
It'll be a strange world when one of the very few players from Rangers in the Scotland squad will be Spanish !
...lots of other countries do it, wouldn't see it as being problematic.
SGMilne
Oct 24 2008, 10:36
I've never really had a problem with this.
If Scotland qualified for a major tournament thanks to goals from a guy who's lived here for years and wants to play for Scotland, who is really going to care.
dougalldogg
Oct 24 2008, 10:49
Fair enough a lot of people dont like him, but if he showed the same heart for Scotland as he does for Rangers then that cant be bad for our country, given he isnt the best player in the world, but like Broadfoot he gives it his all.
keyser_soze
Oct 24 2008, 10:50
IMO we don't really have an abundence of high quality players, therfore if a player is eligible and good enough then pick them, no problems at all with that. Anything to help the national team works for me.
ClydeNewcomer
Oct 24 2008, 11:28
QUOTE (tam the bud @ Oct 24 2008, 08:24)

Dont be ridiculous hes about as scottish as nelson mandela's last jobby
ClydeNewcomer
Oct 24 2008, 11:29
Hes Spanish end of story!!!
What a ridiculous thread this is
north_west_L52
Oct 24 2008, 11:31
As much as i would love to see him in a scotland top, its just wrong! He is Spanish! i hate all this passport pish!!!
Your from one country or another!!
diamonds2002
Oct 24 2008, 11:36
People seem to be over looking the fact that he is garbage!
Jim Pansy
Oct 24 2008, 11:38
Is he better than what we already have? Absolutely. I have no problem at all with Nacho Novo playing for Scotland. I've never seen nationality as a permanent thing, nor do I have problem with dual nationality.
Colin M
Oct 24 2008, 11:48
As much as I despise the little turd, if he's eligible and wants to play then I don't mind him being considered.
That said I don't know that he'd really be likely to figure. He's probably a better option than say James Morrison, but I don't think he's better than McFadden, Miller, Maloney, or the others likely to come through like Fletcher, Riordan (now that he's getting games again), McCormack...
uberman
Oct 24 2008, 11:50
The day Scotland starts picking any Tom, Dick and Harry just because they've lived here for 8 years or whatever is the day I stop supporting the national team.
He's absolute garboose, apart from anything.
Then again if he was elgible I'd have him in the squad because we are also waash.
Toma_BullyWee
Oct 24 2008, 12:19
Like someone else said, Other countries do this kind of thing, we're in no position to oppose this.
Novo is decent enough i suppose... It won't happen, But if it did i wouldn't exactly be angry about it.
Xbass Threepwood
Oct 24 2008, 12:20
No problem with it, but if Kris Boyd was not being played because he wasn't a regular part of the Rangers team....
EastFootball
Oct 24 2008, 12:30
"Traitorhun" doesn't quite have the same ring to it.
KnightswoodBear
Oct 24 2008, 12:30
I don't think he's good enough, and I don't really agree with players qualifying just because they've stayed here for a while, but and it is a big but, if you look at the other top nations at the moment most of them are full of players who were born in other countries.
It's very noble of us to say that you should at least be Scottish by a relative, but are we cutting off our nose to spite our face? I mean would Portugal be a better team over the last few years without Deco? Look at the French squad!
I for one would be willing to be part of the first wave of men to emigrate to Brazil and shag for the good of my nation! In 17 years we could have a squad full of Samba stars!
ClydeNewcomer
Oct 24 2008, 12:37
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Oct 24 2008, 13:30)

I don't think he's good enough, and I don't really agree with players qualifying just because they've stayed here for a while, but and it is a big but, if you look at the other top nations at the moment most of them are full of players who were born in other countries.
It's very noble of us to say that you should at least be Scottish by a relative, but are we cutting off our nose to spite our face? I mean would Portugal be a better team over the last few years without Deco? Look at the French squad!
I for one would be willing to be part of the first wave of men to emigrate to Brazil and shag for the good of my nation! In 17 years we could have a squad full of Samba stars!
Who cares what other countries are doin its wrong!!!.
I wouldn't want Ronaldo and Messi playin for scotland if they were eligible. I would rather have scott booth up front than fernando torres!
International football is becoming absolutely absurd
thisal
Oct 24 2008, 12:44
If someone has played his football and lived in this country for 8 years I would say he has more of a case than someone whos granny is Scottish. Novo though!!?
ClydeNewcomer
Oct 24 2008, 12:45
QUOTE (thisal @ Oct 24 2008, 13:44)

If someone has played his football and lived in this country for 8 years I would say he has more of a case than someone whos granny is Scottish. Novo though!!?
Och shut up ya thistle trumpet
QUOTE (Ally's honest man @ Oct 24 2008, 09:43)

What makes him think he could get called up. Oh wait a minute he plays for the OF. Automatic pick from now on
HERE HERE!!!!!
He is better than fanny baws (Boyd)
It could be worse I mean Sebo might apply for British Passport (I know he has left Rangers)
seamus
Oct 24 2008, 12:52
Surely Scotland has better than Novo.This could open the floodgates though for more of this type of thing.
thisal
Oct 24 2008, 12:52
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Oct 24 2008, 13:45)

Och shut up ya thistle trumpet
Seriously why should someone who has never set foot in Scotland but has a Scottish granny be considered ahead of someone who has lived and worked here for almost all his proffessional career? and leave my trumpet out of it.
Raul Duke
Oct 24 2008, 12:53
nationality is just a man-made concept anyway.
but Novo really is a horrible wee jobby.
AllanJM
Oct 24 2008, 13:00
My view of Novo will always be coloured by the 20 goals he scored in a season for us (even though we still got relegated) so I actually like him. Having met him a few times in Kirkcaldy he always seemed like a decent guy too.
However, he isn't scottish and shouldn't be allowed to play.
Shengus Khan
Oct 24 2008, 13:03
1. He's not Scottish
2. He's fucking rotten.
3. He's a rodent.
Get him to f**k.
blue ayr
Oct 24 2008, 13:08
QUOTE (uberman @ Oct 24 2008, 12:50)

The day Scotland starts picking any Tom, Dick and Harry just because they've lived here for 8 years or whatever is the day I stop supporting the national team.
Exactly how I feel.
diamonds2002
Oct 24 2008, 13:12
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Oct 24 2008, 13:30)

"Traitorhun" doesn't quite have the same ring to it.
whatbout traitorBEAR?
lzreid
Oct 24 2008, 13:16
Novo is a far better goal score than any of our forward line, he's quicker and he can also pass a ball better than Miller.
I have no problem with it whatsoever.
seamus
Oct 24 2008, 13:17
He is better than Iwelumo but thats not good.
If I didnt hate him so much, I'd be quite happy about it. He is better than we have.
Michael W
Oct 24 2008, 14:32
He's certainly better than a few of the players that have made the squad recently. I don't have a problem with him not being Scottish either. He's stayed in the country for a good few years. Some of your "granny card" players have probably never set foot in Scotland in their life.
Burley's choice at the end of the day.
To be honest as well, if he scores the winner against Holland, people wont be giving two fucks about how much of a scumbag he is.
Other countries exploit the naturalisation route, so we should definitely do it too if we get the chance.
Don't agree with this one bit, for two reasons...
1) I still believe that to play for a country you should be born in that country or have parents born in that country. Nothing more. No grandmothers or nationalisation. Period.
2) I think, due to his past and reputation, he would be more divisive than productive.
Obviously (1) is just a principle. We've seen many good "Scottish" players who were no more Scottish than some bloke walking down the Champs-Élysées. (2) is not necessarily his fault, but is a sad fact of life in this media goldfish bowl.
The bottom line here is Burley is not showing the necessary abilities that will take us to South Africa. Bringing Novo into the team would seem like a cry of desperation from a drowning man. Novo's pick, for me, would be the death knell of the little support Burley has from me just now.
Zahana-Oni
Oct 24 2008, 15:09
Who else would be eligible for Scotland under this rule?
Mikel Arteta? He wont get in Spain squad
Maleybhoy
Oct 24 2008, 15:15
Get the wee rat to f**k, i'd rather have Robert Mugabe qualify for scotland than that wee cock
MC Pee Pants
Oct 24 2008, 15:16
the only players who should be playing for scotland are the scottish ones.
Günther
Oct 24 2008, 15:22
QUOTE (thisal @ Oct 24 2008, 13:44)

That's my thinking. I'm not 100% about it all to be honest. Novo is a great player and if he was born in Scotland I'd have in straight in the team.
But I think Novo has a better case than the granny rule though. He has lived in Scotland for 8 years and knows what Scotlands all about. He also knows Scottish Fitbaw inside out. That's shitloads more than yer James Morrisons, Kris Commons and that Scouse fucker who played for Derby whatever his name was.
I would welcome him to the Scotland team, but not entirely sure about it all. Though he is more "Qualified" to play for Scotland than TraitorBhoys McCarthy and McGeady are for Oirland
QUOTE (Ric @ Oct 24 2008, 16:05)

Don't agree with this one bit, for two reasons...
1) I still believe that to play for a country you should be born in that country or have parents born in that country. Nothing more. No grandmothers or nationalisation. Period.
Fuxake, first the banks noo the Spanish. Are we poor taxpayers having to cough up for this an aw?
QUOTE (yohan @ Oct 24 2008, 16:26)

Fuxake, first the banks noo the Spanish. Are we poor taxpayers having to cough up for this an aw?
Heh...

...sorry, naturalisation (or whatever term is the correct one).
BluebirdTon
Oct 24 2008, 15:31
Poland have a Brazilian in their team thats lived in their country for all of about half an hour. The rules shouldn't alow this. Novo and the said Brazilian are not Scottish or Polish respectivly and therefore shouldn't be eligible to play for that country, end of - tough f**k if you're not good enough for your own country.
The rules are so fucking idiotic you can bend them and twist them in whatever way you like these days and you can basically pick whatever country you wish.
Mozzamozza
Oct 24 2008, 15:34
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Oct 24 2008, 14:12)

whatbout traitorBEAR?
What about StreetRatCunt?
SteveVoom
Oct 24 2008, 15:35
i think nationality is worthless in todays game just like most things that people should be proud of but at the end of the day if he's lived here for so long he clearly loves the country (or the wages he gets here) but even still i wouldnt give him a game cause i hate him. but i wouldnt kick up a fuss if he did play for us
Jim Pansy
Oct 24 2008, 15:36
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Oct 24 2008, 16:31)

Poland have a Brazilian in their team thats lived in their country for all of about half an hour. The rules shouldn't alow this. Novo and the said Brazilian are not Scottish or Polish respectivly and therefore shouldn't be eligible to play for that country, end of - tough f**k if you're not good enough for your own country.
The rules are so fucking idiotic you can bend them and twist them in whatever way you like these days and you can basically pick whatever country you wish.
No, you can't. Everybody has the right to change their nationality - an entirely meaningless concept anyway - but it's a long process. Footballers are no different.
I tend to think there are some people who think the Scottish national team should be reserved for guys called Wullie, Bruce and Ruraidh or only those born in Anniesland. Anyone who wants to play for Scotland should be welcomed with open arms. Obviously not patently shite players, but anyone good enough.
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Oct 24 2008, 16:31)

This lad:
Roger GuerreiroQUOTE
He was granted Polish citizenship on April 17, 2008. Roger received the citizenship in a speedy procedure, and was guaranteed a place in the Poland's football team for the 2008 European Championships (coached by Leo Beenhakker). He made his debut in a Poland shirt in the game versus Albania on May 27, 2008.
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Oct 24 2008, 16:36)

No, you can't. Everybody has the right to change their nationality - an entirely meaningless concept anyway - but it's a long process. Footballers are no different.
I tend to think there are some people who think the Scottish national team should be reserved for guys called Wullie, Bruce and Ruraidh or only those born in Anniesland. Anyone who wants to play for Scotland should be welcomed with open arms. Obviously not patently shite players, but anyone good enough.
Jim, got to say I don't agree. Legally, yes, you are right, most people are allowed to change their nationality, but in terms of keeping the integrity of international competitive sport I think some sort of guidelines are needed.
In this particular case, the boy was fast tracked (iirc it took all of about 18 months - although I would need to look it up), purely for sporting reasons.
I'd rather see Novo play than the English lads who get picked. As far as I am concerned he's the player he is because of Scottish football. Are there any other players who would qualify in this situation?
charlie king mvp
Oct 24 2008, 15:43
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Oct 24 2008, 16:36)

If nationality is an entirely meaningless concept then surely international football is meaningless as well.
I totally disagree with this I am proud to be Scottish and I go to Scotland games to watch the best Scottish players representing MY country. If the Scotland team was full of guys like Novo I wouldn't bother.
Scary Bear
Oct 24 2008, 15:46
Why not. If the Aussies and Irish can do it then so can we.
Plus you get a song out it, what could be more natural than men in skirts, belting out a modified Village People classic?
Hey! Hey! Hey, hey, hey!
Nacho, nacho man (nacho man)
I've got to be, a nacho man
Nacho, nacho man
I've got to be a nacho! Ow....
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.