Full Version: Legends
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
el Gringo
I'm hoping to set an online t-shirt store aimed at supporters of scottish (primarily lower league) clubs. My initial line is going to be "legends" t-shirts, like the ones you always see around with Bruce Lee, Jim Morrison etc.

To get started, I want to do three for each club, then I'll start doing individual requests if anyone wants anything specific. Here's an example of one I've already done.

So, I'm looking for each club's three biggest legends. I would also like their usual shirt number, which will be in place of the airdrieonians badge in this example, as current club badges are protected by copyright.

For example, Airdrie's legends would probably be:
9. Owen Coyle
1. John Martin
10. Hughie Gallacher
Nocturnal Groove
On a personal Level for me its:

Henry Templeton
Craig Nelson
Ian McAllister

Although outwith my time supporting the club Peter Price and Jimmy Smith have to be in there with a shout as legends of the club.
Paisley Plumber
I'd say

7. Cutty Young

9. Dixie Ingram

6. Dougie Mitchell (Christ do Ayr need some like you again, Aitken is not fit to shine your boots)
waspees
7 Peter Lamont
8 Spider Ramsey
9 Wullie Irvine
WullieBroonIsGod
I guess a lot depends on how old you are, therefore who you remember fondly

Personally, I'd love

9 Robert Scott
6 Willie Brown
4 Dave Beaton

But thats because of my age and who i remember playing when I first started to go.

I'm sure Fife fans will have different players from me
Whistle Blower
Paul McStay
D.Armour Appreciation Society
QUOTE (Nocturnal Groove @ Oct 23 2008, 22:18) *
On a personal Level for me its:

Henry Templeton
Craig Nelson
Ian McAllister

Although outwith my time supporting the club Peter Price and Jimmy Smith have to be in there with a shout as legends of the club.

I can sell you a Henry Templeton signed League winning 86-87 reproduction t-Shirt.
Hedgecutter
Even though he's our all time top scorer, doubt I'll be asking for an Ian Campbell t-shirt. sad.gif

Big Roddy Grant however... biggrin.gif
Hedgecutter
Suppose after a signature like this, I should really nominate Charlie King of course... rolleyes.gif
drs
9 - Willie Watters
9 - Willie Irvine
1 - Gordon Arthur
St. Starko
1. Juan Guerrero
2. Sean Kilgannon
3. Jonathon Smart
Dink
QUOTE (waspees @ Oct 23 2008, 22:53) *
7 Peter Lamont
8 Spider Ramsey
9 Wullie Irvine

Did Willie not more often wear the number 10 shirt? I always think of the team of that time with Irvine at 10 and Simpson/Dwyer/McKechnie/Cameron at 9.
Beren
Paul Ritchie
David Watt
Harry Cairney
north_west_L52
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Oct 24 2008, 11:11) *
1. Juan Guerrero
2. Sean Kilgannon
3. Jonathon Smart

HahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahaha
hahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahaha
h
ahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahah
a
hahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahaha
H
ahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahah
a
hahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahaha
h
ahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahah
a
hahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHa
h
ahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahah
a
haHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahaha
h
ahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahah
a
hahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHaha
h
ahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahah
a
h
ahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahah
a
hahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahaha
h
ahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaH
a
hahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahaha
h
ahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahah
a
hahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahaha
h
ahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHah
a
hahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahaha
h
aHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahahahahahaHahahahahahahah
a
h
a
H
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
H
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
MarvMarvSuperMarv
Please f**k off to your own forum and stop leaving posts like that! wink.gif
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Oct 24 2008, 12:28) *
h
a
H
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
H
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
H
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h
a
h

Whoooooosh
St. Starko
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 24 2008, 12:43) *

Whoooooosh

smile.gif
renton
bodge

Get a t-shirt with his famous "I hope you die of colon cancer" slogan on it laugh.gif
keyser_soze
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Oct 24 2008, 09:45) *
Paul McStay

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
CALDERON
QUOTE (renton @ Oct 24 2008, 12:53) *
bodge

Get a t-shirt with his famous "I hope you die of colon cancer" slogan on it laugh.gif

Was it now Bowel?

Theres a whole collection of Bodge moments.

"f**k off Kojak" , to Ayr's No 4 on Saturday laugh.gif

"Eat Glasss ya gypsssssy cccccuuuuuuuuuunts"

Also the whole Gray, heart attack think :L
BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!!!!!!
In my time of watching Stranraer i would class Davie Graham, Alan Jenkins, Ian Harty, Frazer Wright as legends in my opinion.

All time Club legends would be Derek Fry, Jimmy McCabe, Tucker Sloan and a few more biggrin.gif
Jimmy MCcabe
Lollly McCutcheon, Jimmy McCabe, Freddie Frye, Lex Grant, Tucker Sloan, Allan Jenkins and Davie Graham.
Scary Bear
Front: Ronnie 'Baresi' Coyle

Back: D'oh!

All you need is a decent photo of him with his head in his hands after his latest f**k up. Should be easy. Check for Bayern Away pics, Rangers home pics (that was a good one).
Scary Bear
Or how about Craig Brewster the 30 yard goal specialist.

Front: Craig Brewster

Back: Boof! Eat my goal!
renton
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Oct 24 2008, 13:12) *
[b]Was it now Bowel?[\b]

Aye you are right. still a t-shirt of him, red hair and purple cheeks, a pie in either hand screaming profanities, why, they'd sell like hot cakes!
printer
QUOTE (Dink @ Oct 24 2008, 11:12) *
Did Willie not more often wear the number 10 shirt? I always think of the team of that time with Irvine at 10 and Simpson/Dwyer/McKechnie/Cameron at 9.

Depends which Willie Irvine Waspee means. You could make a case for either.

Difficult to pin down three favourites. Certainly Spider and big Peter are hard to displace. I think my third would be "4. Vally".
Whistle Blower
The one and only, Sir Jimmy Nicholl.
turboshandy
QUOTE (renton @ Oct 24 2008, 13:44) *
Aye you are right. still a t-shirt of him, red hair and purple cheeks, a pie in either hand screaming profanities, why, they'd sell like hot cakes!

Put me down for one. smile.gif
Convenor
Ross Caven and Darren Mackie
Waspie
QUOTE (printer @ Oct 24 2008, 13:48) *
Depends which Willie Irvine Waspee means. You could make a case for either.

Difficult to pin down three favourites. Certainly Spider and big Peter are hard to displace. I think my third would be "4. Vally".

By the same logic though Vally would surely have to be number 6! A Vally legend top with him throwing himself into a last ditch tackle would be great thumbup2.gif . Would also agree with Dink, if its Warder Wull then it has to be number 10. The Spider one would also be a winner.
rw89
QUOTE (renton @ Oct 24 2008, 12:53) *
bodge

QUOTE (CALDERON @ Oct 24 2008, 13:12) *
Was it now Bowel?

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Get intae these fucking... fucks!!!! Bodge is a legend!
Rinky Sidebottom
14th July 2007:
Stirling Albion v Hibs

Half time trialist came on and in less than 20 seconds was absolutely knackered. He "played" on for about 7 minutes, before Alan Moore removed him. One moment of brilliance when he volleyed the ball sky high whilst trying to defend. A legend, sadly without a name.
Javier Mascherano
Harry Cairney
Chris Templeman
Dick Campbell
Roddy Grant
Marc Millar
Andy.C
1) Gordon Dalziel wheeling away after scoring the equaliser in the cup.

2) Gordon Arthur being Gordon Arthur.

3) Shaun Dennis doing the wee salute he gave John Martin.
CALDERON
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Oct 24 2008, 19:35) *

2) Gordon Arthur being Gordon Arthur.

3) Shaun Dennis doing the wee salute he gave John Martin.

biggrin.gif
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Oct 24 2008, 19:35) *

I'd buy one of those.

I'd also like to add, Scott Thomson running away and looking at the ref after saving McStay's PK.
Andy.C
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Oct 24 2008, 21:29) *
I'd buy one of those.

I'd also like to add, Scott Thomson running away and looking at the ref after saving McStay's PK.

Good shout.

One with Sincy and 'Sincy, Sincy punch his pus' written on it would also be class.
waspees
QUOTE (Dink @ Oct 24 2008, 11:12) *

Aye he probably did, not really the point of the post though, and it would have messed up the nice number sequence that i had going on there:L
Would it not be more appropriate to comment on my choice of players instead of being petty and trying to show the world how smart you are and how good your memory is? Do you agree with my choice of players? If not who would you have went with?
Angusfifer

1 Charlie Fleming
2 Henry Morris
3 Davie Clarke

Incidentally, someone wants to remind this Bodge character that he used to be a regular at Tannadice (according to my wee brother).
He was a blawbag even back then...
Andy.C
QUOTE (Angusfifer @ Oct 24 2008, 22:39) *
Incidentally, someone wants to remind this Bodge character that he used to be a regular at Tannadice (according to my wee brother).
He was a blawbag even back then...

In Bodges defence, he's been going as long as I can remember and that's coming up for 23 years.
Ever the Optimist
Interesting one at the start with Owen Coyle on the Airdrie T-shirt, however surely Owen Coyle's picture would have to show him lying on the ground where he spent most of his footballing career, having tripped over his shoelaces/daisy/worm/molehill* (*Delete as appropriate)

For me Ayr Leg-ends in my time would be

Ian McAlistair - Club stalwart. Gave his all every game and a good defender into the bargain. When will we see the likes again.

Henry Templeton - Again when will we see the likes again.

Andy Walker. He was only with us one season, but in that season he was a pivotal member of the best footballing team I have ever seen at Ayr...and as the years go on, probably the best football I am ever likely to see. Just a shame we didn't have a decent manager to go with the team.

Honourable mentions also go to John Traynor, Jimmy Cowell(Cult Hero), Craig Nelson, Duncan George and last but not least Louis Thow
printer
QUOTE (Fernando Torres @ Oct 24 2008, 17:53) *
Harry Cairney
Chris Templeman
Dick Campbell
Roddy Grant
Marc Millar

No Ian Campbell?

What type of player was Dick Campbell, as his boy is playing for us just now?
Jimmy85
One question for the Rovers fans...why no mention of Andy Tod? Easily one of the best players in Britain if not Europe for the last 10 years.

ANDY TOD IS A FUCKING LEGEND!

Scary Bear
QUOTE (Jimmy85 @ Oct 25 2008, 10:26) *
One question for the Rovers fans...why no mention of Andy Tod? Easily one of the best players in Britain if not Europe for the last 10 years.

ANDY TOD IS A FUCKING LEGEND!

Have a word with your manager and get him re-signed. wink.gif

He's 6ft odd and shrinks to 5ft odd when he goes for a header. He's a washed up townie who should of been jetisoned at the end of last season.
Jimmy85
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Oct 25 2008, 11:10) *
Have a word with your manager and get him re-signed. wink.gif

He's 6ft odd and shrinks to 5ft odd when he goes for a header. He's a washed up townie who should of been jetisoned at the end of last season.

I'd take him back in an instant. The second division is no place for a player of his undoubted talent to be playing.

By the way townie has to be the least insulting insult of all time.
albion20
QUOTE (Fernando Torres @ Oct 24 2008, 16:53) *
Harry Cairney
Dick Campbell
Chris Templeman
Roddy Grant
Marc Millar

Slightly of topic, I was at a speakers evening last night, Dick Campbell was there telling some of his football stories and he was absolutely hilarious.
Scary Bear
QUOTE (Jimmy85 @ Oct 25 2008, 11:20) *
I'd take him back in an instant. The second division is no place for a player of his undoubted talent to be playing.

I reserve the real insults for games against Dunfermline...in fact, it's been that long i've forgotten what the insults are. East Fife are the big derby game again.

I've noticed people using 'Parsy Hoor' on here. Surely that's the silliest and least insulting insult.

Andy.C
QUOTE (Jimmy85 @ Oct 25 2008, 11:20) *

What does Townie actually mean?

If I'm slagging the fans of the 2nd biggest team in Fife I want my vitriol to be scathing.
davidkennedyshand
1-Henry Templeton
2-Duncan George
3-Ally McLeod

Oh and David Kennedy.In fact we should get Kennedy to recreate his famous Hand of David Save for the t shirt.

I would also recommend Ayr fans buying the signed Henry tops from the Trust.I have one and i have to say i was f*ckin delighted when i got it.Of the 2 prizes our team won that night(the other being the framed and signed Ryan Stevenson top) i think i got the better one cool.gif

Ah the memories

http://www.dsargent.co.uk/Historical/1988_...mage_02_jpg.htm
Jimmy85
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Oct 25 2008, 11:32) *
I reserve the real insults for games against Dunfermline...in fact, it's been that long i've forgotten what the insults are. East Fife are the big derby game again.

I've noticed people using 'Parsy Hoor' on here. Surely that's the silliest and least insulting insult.

laugh.gif Brilliant. That has to be the funniest insult!

QUOTE (Andy.C @ Oct 25 2008, 11:37) *
What does Townie actually mean?

If I'm slagging the fans of the 2nd biggest team in Fife I want my vitriol to be scathing.

I think you're a tad confused son. cool.gif